Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a 1st Class true "Day Hiking" book for Yellowstone
This guide was an invaluable resource for making the best of a week at Yellowstone. It was like carrying a park ranger in your pocket (just much less weight). First of all, the first few pages have trails listed by both (1) location in the park (Yellowstone is LARGE) and by difficulty. These lists include highlights of each trail. Approximately 30 trails are described...
Published on November 30, 2003 by adamgator

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Essential Guide to Yellowstone
I bought this book along with the Top Trails Yellowstone and Grand Tetons and would up using this one more often. I was frustrated by one hike, though, when the description of the trail was insufficient and I finally turned back. The author should use terms like "east" and "south" instead of "by the trees" because there were trees in every which direction! It seemed at...
Published on November 2, 2010 by Pat McMahon


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a 1st Class true "Day Hiking" book for Yellowstone, November 30, 2003
By 
adamgator "adamgator" (Gainesville, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Ranger's Guide to Yellowstone Day Hikes (Paperback)
This guide was an invaluable resource for making the best of a week at Yellowstone. It was like carrying a park ranger in your pocket (just much less weight). First of all, the first few pages have trails listed by both (1) location in the park (Yellowstone is LARGE) and by difficulty. These lists include highlights of each trail. Approximately 30 trails are described in detail. For each trail, roundtrip distance, elevation change, difficulty level, and expected duration (hours) is listed along with a brief description, potential hazards, direction to the trailhead, and best times of year to hike. Subsequently, a detailed naturalist's description of the trail is provided. These notes are perfect for planning your hikes of using as a step-by-step guide for reading as you hike. The authors provide details about wildlife, flora & fauna, geology, history, and scenery along each trail. Each trails has a full-page easy-to-read contour map that provides the hiker with information on elevation changes and other useful details. As if the trail descriptions didn't already make you want to hike every trail, the guide provides a color photo from each trail making me wish I had time to hike the entire guide. The Anderson book also provides lists of what to bring on day hikes as well as tips for hiking in grizzly country. If a day hike for you is 15-20 miles or more, consider the Marschall book on Yellowstone trails (keep in mind, the first description of a trail often comes 5-10 miles into it). Trails you don't want to miss: Mt. Washburn, Storm Point, Avalanche Peak, Yellowstone Grand Canyon Rim (either or both), Pelican Creek, Trout Lake. We had the pleasure of meeting Ranger Carol Anderson (co-author) at the Lake Visitor Center - she spent an hour reviewing hikes with us. These folks know their stuff - I highly recommend this book for the average day hiker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best guide to Yellowstone day hikes, October 26, 2004
By 
Arthur Digbee (Indianapolis, IN, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Ranger's Guide to Yellowstone Day Hikes (Paperback)
This guide includes 29 day hikes, well organized by park region. Its 28 pictures also provide a nice glimpse into some of the terrain you'll see on those hikes. It's small and easy to carry in your pack, but it covers a relatively small number of hikes in the park.

Each hike listing provides the usual driving and hiking directions found in guide books. Unlike the other guidebooks here, each hike also includes a topographical map of the hike. (The Falcon Guide includes elevation information on a separate chart but I still find the topo easier to use.) This makes the book very useful for armchair planners who haven't yet taken my advice to buy the Trails Illustrated map.

In addition, each hike includes a brief "special attention" section that is surprisingly helpful. For example, if a given trail is closed in early summer for bear management, you'll see that fact highlighted here instead of being hidden in the text.

The best part of the book is the "naturalist notes," however. The selling point of this book is that it is written by two rangers who are used to sharing their knowledge along a trail. That's exactly what they do here. As a result, it is easier to visualize the trail experience from this book than from any of the other guides I've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See the Real Yellowstone With Only Moderate Exertion, October 27, 2007
By 
This review is from: A Ranger's Guide to Yellowstone Day Hikes (Paperback)
As a veteran of more than 35 years of wilderness backpacking in all kinds of weather and every season of the year my brother-in-law and I decided to shoot HD video in Yellowstone.

We did not want to do a wilderness trek on the first time out with all new video gear so decided day hikes were best. We did 20 of 29 of the hikes in "A Ranger's Guide to Yellowstone Day Hikes" in 7 days and covered 70 miles on foot.

This is a great book, one of the best I have seen in my years of hiking and backpacking. Each trail is unique and amazing. Some are tough but even the steepest trail was not so bad for a 54 year old with 35 pounds of video gear on his back. Trail ratings are true, so you will NOT be surprised by a gargantuan climb that is rated as moderate. Strenuous ratings wisely reflect both length and elevation change.

If you have room for only one day hike book in your travel gear this IS the book. If you are a seasoned backcountry expert or a beginner you will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Essential Guide to Yellowstone, November 2, 2010
By 
Pat McMahon (Fort Worth, TX USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Ranger's Guide to Yellowstone Day Hikes (Paperback)
I bought this book along with the Top Trails Yellowstone and Grand Tetons and would up using this one more often. I was frustrated by one hike, though, when the description of the trail was insufficient and I finally turned back. The author should use terms like "east" and "south" instead of "by the trees" because there were trees in every which direction! It seemed at times that he was so familiar with the trails that he assumed too much instead of looking at it from the eyes of someone new to the area. It was good for organization of the trails and for helping me to figure out which ones to consider and which to pass by based on the time of year or the weather conditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of its kind, August 1, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Ranger's Guide to Yellowstone Day Hikes (Paperback)
The twenty-five years of cumulative ranger experience of the authors really shows. Yellowstone hiking guides by Bill Schneider and Robert Stone contain more hikes (with much briefer descriptions) and guides by Tom Carter and Mark Marschall are fine books rich in description but the Andersons' book of 29 hikes is the "gold standard." It combines accuracy, useful topographic maps, interesting naturalist information, and excellent color photographs at a great price. It even makes a good souvenir to keep after you've hiked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, July 30, 2007
By 
C. Tucker (Midlothian, Va USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Ranger's Guide to Yellowstone Day Hikes (Paperback)
Having just returned from Yellowstone, I have to say what a great help this book was to us. I bought 4 books with me, but this one was The Book.
It was helpful planning the hikes, then while on the hike was a great asset. I recommend it highly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Hikes, Great Notes, March 17, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Ranger's Guide to Yellowstone Day Hikes (Paperback)
I tip my Gortex hat to Roger and Carol Shively Anderson for hiking every mile of the trails featured in their book, "A Rangers Guide to Yellowstone Day Hikes." Because they roamed up and down all over America's first national park, their personal experiences and expertise guarantee you will get an accurate description of every trail in their guide.

Their guide's helpful format features notable highlights, a trail route contour map, and parameters. For quick reference, all twenty-nine hikes are organized by: level of difficulty; distance; elevation change; duration; best time of year; trail head; hiking directions; special attention; and naturalist notes.

As you walk along, you may wonder, did famous men like John Muir or Jim Bridger follow this trail? Or what's the difference between granite and rhyolite? The Anderson's marvelous Naturalist Notes are included with many of the hikes -- spotlighting fascinating local history, personal observations, insider tips, and not to be missed opportunities to experience nature.

Are there more hikes near Mammoth Hot Springs or Old Faithful? You will have a general area map of Yellowstone National Park showing the location of each trail head.

Wondering which hikes are too hard? All the trails are broken down in groups of easy, moderate, and strenuous hikes, and which area of the park they are located in. Also listed are round trip mileage and a short highlight description of each. Most hikes average 2-3-4 miles roundtrip.

Hikers new to the area will find four pages of trail tips covering the topics of "What to Bring, Hiking In Bear Country, Wildlife Etiquette, and Lightning."

How do I know the hike is worth doing? The Anderson's have included twenty-nine scenic color plates taken along the featured trails.

Roger and Carol Anderson, also authors of Yellowstone: The Story Behind the Scenery, promise that if you are in reasonably good health, you will see the major scenic highlights and have a great experience with nature in Yellowstone National Park.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible of Yellowstone Hiking Books, July 3, 2008
By 
Panky2 (Portland, OR USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Ranger's Guide to Yellowstone Day Hikes (Paperback)
We have been hiking the National Parks in the West for almost 20 years and this is the most valuable trail book I own. The information on each trail is completely accurate with respect to distances, maps, directions, etc., and the naturalist notes are very informational. We have completed 75% of the hikes in this book and have enjoyed every single one - some have even been done two or more times. The book is small enough to carry in a fanny pack. I have thrown away all of my other Yellowstone hiking books as this has become affectionately known as "The Bible".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have, December 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Ranger's Guide to Yellowstone Day Hikes (Paperback)
This book is a "must have" for Yellowstone travelers who plan on getting out of their cars and out into the wilderness. There are hikes in this book for different difficulty levels, so if you are a beginner there are easy hikes, but if you want a real challenge there are strenuous hikes as well. We have used this book for the past two summers to hike in Yellowstone and have enjoyed many different trails. There are great tips on safety, points of interest, trail distance, and difficulty level. There Is a handy map where you can find trails by location in the park, so if you are in a certain area of the park and want a nearby hike the map makes it easy to find one that is close. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent hiking guide, March 11, 2008
This review is from: A Ranger's Guide to Yellowstone Day Hikes (Paperback)
This is an excellent guide to relatively short day hikes in Yellowstone. Provides good descriptions on what you will see on the trails and it's small enough to take along on your hike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa47f36b4)

This product

A Ranger's Guide to Yellowstone Day Hikes
A Ranger's Guide to Yellowstone Day Hikes by Roger Anderson (Paperback - April 1, 2000)
$12.95 $10.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.