Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like action and suspense read Ransom
I read the book Ransom by Lois Duncan. I want to review it because it was very exciting and suspenseful. It is about a group of high-school teenagers that are from rich families. One ordinary Friday the kids got on their bus, but the bus driver wasn't the usual. The kids thought it was a substitute, but it actually was their kidnapper. The kids were taken up to the top...
Published on June 9, 1999

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This was good, but not enough action
I did this book for a book report and it was good, but I didn't think it had to much to do with a REAL ransom. In one part, the group tryed to escape and the kidnapper- Buck left them with I think the wife who just let them do what the pleased. Probably in a real kidnapping, Buck would have killed them. I am interested in books like this one that have action. This is...
Published on September 19, 1999


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like action and suspense read Ransom, June 9, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Ransom (Mass Market Paperback)
I read the book Ransom by Lois Duncan. I want to review it because it was very exciting and suspenseful. It is about a group of high-school teenagers that are from rich families. One ordinary Friday the kids got on their bus, but the bus driver wasn't the usual. The kids thought it was a substitute, but it actually was their kidnapper. The kids were taken up to the top of a mountain and held ransom. The kids go through hard times in a cabin in the winter. Do you think the high-school students can escape? You can find out by reading this book. I recommend this book because it has a strong plot, with well developed characters, but it gets to the action quick and the action lasts for the rest of the story. If you like suspenseful, action packed stories read Ransom by Lois Duncan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS WAS A GREAT BOOK!, March 6, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Ransom (Mass Market Paperback)
I thought that the book Ransom, by Lois Duncan, was a great story and had a suspenseful theme. Lois Duncan is a very thoughtful writer, and I loved the way she wrote the suspense into the events, like when she vividly explained every detail of how the kidnapping took place and how she went over all of the possible ways to get out of it without having to pay the ransom, and why it wouldn't work. I also liked the way that the characters had seperate personalities and their actions matched. An example is, Dexter, one of the children who has been kidnapped, has a very short temper, and is always being upset and angry for one reason or another in this sticky situation. I think that almost every kind of person would enjoy this book because the children in this book that were kidnapped can relate to everyone. It shows how they dealt with the situation they were given. I certainly recommend this book to anyone who likes suspense and mysterious plots.
The kind of person who is curious and likes to get to the end of the book would also find this hard to put down. Overall this book was worth the time I took reading it. The only part I didn't fully enjoy was the very depressing mood, because it was about five children that were kidnapped and their parents couldn't get enough money to pay the ransom. Also it was kind of confusing because the setting switches back from place to place, so it isn't that easy to follow. Other than those two problems I thought that this is one of the best books I've ever read because, overall it is thrilling, and keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole time. I hope you will agree with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very exciting, one of her best, April 24, 2001
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Ransom (Mass Market Paperback)
Ransom is one of my favorite books by Lois Duncan. It's a bit slow through the first two chapters, but the rest will keep you on the edge of your seat. You won't be able to stop reading. This is not only probably the best book Lois Duncan wrote, it's the best book I ever read. It all starts with a simple bus ride home from school. But, when the kids realize that they have a very suspicious bus driver..... I recommend this book for any reader, especially those who love suspence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chilling and suspenseful!!!, July 30, 2005
This review is from: Ransom (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was really good. It has a pretty basic plot: 5 high school students named Jesse, Bruce, Dexter, Glenn and Marianne all got on the school bus and were kidnapped by a fake bus driver because they came from a rich neighborhood, and it was figured that they would be able to pay a high ransom. Unfortunately that wasn't the case. Most of the kids parents were unable to pay. The 5 of them tried to escape, but their plan backfired and Dexter got shot. Things progressed slowly, but it was still good and although the plot was relatively simple, Lois Duncan packed it with her typical unexpected twists and the charicters were very well fleshed out and all of them, except Marianne who seemed perfect, had weaknesses and really had two different sides to them. Romance was also present as you would expect in a book geared towards a teen age-group.

Each character was very different. Here is a summarization of each one: Jesse: A girl who had never really had friends or a strong home environment because her father was in the army and they had to constantly move.

Dexter: A guy who kept to himself as he was ashamed of the fact that one side of his body was smaller then the other due to an accident or something (I don't really remember what happened to cause this because I read it a while ago). Dexter lived with his uncle who was always on business trips or out partying.

Glenn: A football player who always wanted to be in the middle of things and likes to be in the lime light and get praise. He thinks he is about the best person in the world and is extremely self-cantered. All the girls love him though, especially Marianne.

Bruce: Glenn's clumsy younger brother who idolizes Glenn and has always had to live in Glenn's shadow.

Marianne: A glamorous cheerleader who's mother has gotten remarried after a previous divorce. Marianne doesn't like this new addition to her life and strongly believes that her real father will come through and save her from her kidnappers, but she is greatly disappointed.

This book was really suspenseful and makes you never want to stop reading it till the end and even them you want more. The only problem I have with it is that they were kidnapped on their school bus, and school is going to be starting up soon, and I'm gonna take the bus this year,.... and.......uh.....NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!! MOM!!!!! YOU DRIVE ME TO SCHOOL THIS YEAR!!!!!!!!!!!!! PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, December 11, 2000
By 
This review is from: Ransom (Mass Market Paperback)
Lois Duncan's Ransom is one of the best books to hit the shelves. It not only keeps you interested but gives you a full, detailed description of what is happening throughout the story. The story is told by a "third party" that moves from place to place and person to person. The story line goes like this. Five students are kidnapped and held for ransom in an old cabin in the mountains. Two if these are brothers, Glenn and Bruce. Dexter, a straggler, lives with his uncle who is away on business and doesn't even know he is missing. Jesse is the daughter of a colonel and Marianne is a cheerleader that doesn't believer her stepfather will come through on the ransom money. The story goes through different twists and turns as well as surprising gunshots and arguments. This is a book that is hard to put down due to its suspenseful moments. Make sure you start with hours to spend reading it. It is definitely not a book to rush through. Overall the book is a great way to pass time and will always deserve the opportunity to be read over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This was good, but not enough action, September 19, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Ransom (Mass Market Paperback)
I did this book for a book report and it was good, but I didn't think it had to much to do with a REAL ransom. In one part, the group tryed to escape and the kidnapper- Buck left them with I think the wife who just let them do what the pleased. Probably in a real kidnapping, Buck would have killed them. I am interested in books like this one that have action. This is not what I would call a book with so much action you can not put it down. I of course, don't have the same opinion as everyone, but if you would like an action- packed book, I would suggest that you don't read this. But, if you don't want to be scared out of your mind, the is the right book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book will keep you on the edge of your seat!, March 16, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Ransom (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is one you can't put down. It tells the story about 5 kids who get kidnapped right of their school bus, and how their families are struggling to get the money to get their kids back. It also tells the bravery of the kids, and how they try to escape danger. The ending will suprise you the most. The last one who you think can save the 5 kids, does. If you want a book that will keep you in suspense, on the edge of your seat, and one that leaves you with a cliff hanger at the end of every page, this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OH MY GOD!!!!:), May 12, 2004
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Ransom (Mass Market Paperback)
Do you like mysteries? Do you like excitement, action, suspense?Then you should read "Ransom," by Louis Duncan. It is about 5 kids who get kidnapped, and the parents have to pay the ransom of $15,000 for EACH kid in order to get them back. Not only does it have mysteries, action, and suspense, but it has somewhat of romance and sadness. 2 of the kids start to fall in love with each other after something extreme happens to one of them. I'm sure you won't be able to put this book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ransom, November 5, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Ransom (Mass Market Paperback)
Have you ever wondered how a kidnapping happens and ever thought about the thoughts abnd feelings of the vitcims in the kidnap? Ransom by Luis Duncan, is a fictional book based on a true everyday situations. Five teenagers,Glenn, Bruce, Jesse, Marianne, and Dexter experience a kidnapping, but only start supspecting something when they realize their bus driver is missing. When they arrive to the place the kiddnappers are keeping them hostage, they immediatly start thinking of stratiges to escape and arrive home safely. There only problem is there are 3 people in charge, Buck, Rita and Juan and they are always on the lookout. Juan made the phone calls to the families demanding 15 thousand dollars from each family. When the teens finally try an attempt to flee the cabin and run for their lives, Buck goes crazy and shoots his pistol out of rage and fury.I reconmend this book because its based on everyday life and it made me want to read more and more every time. If you like this book or just suspence in general, I suggest you check out other books by Luis Duncan such as The Summer of Fear, Killing Mr.Griffin and I know What You Did Last Summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Coming home from school and the bus goes the wrong way!, February 1, 2002
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Ransom (Mass Market Paperback)
Coming home from school riding on the bus and suddenly the bus goes the wrong way. You get this feeling that something is wrong when there are five people left on the bus and they all live on the same road. Then the bus stops and picks up a man walking on the road and you're wondering where is our regular bus driver. Then you're coming up to a house-like lodge and these people you don't know tie you together. You start to realize you have been kidnapped.
That's how the book Ransom starts out. It's a mystery and adventure about kids who live on a road where only rich kids live. The people who took them start to call their parents saying, "If you want your kids back you have to pay."
You should really read this book if you're into adventures and mysteries. I would recommend this book from ages 10 to adult. If you like to go on adventures, then take a ride with Glenn, Bruce, Dexter, Marianne, and Jesse...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ransom
Ransom by Lois Duncan
$5.38
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.