Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for programmers and their managers
As a developer, you have been on that project.  The one that seems that it will never end. Requirements change daily, testing seems to discover new bugs faster than you can fix them, release dates come and go and noone seems to know when the project will be completed. If you're like me, maybe you thought that was just the way software projects were.
And then I read...
Published on July 26, 1998 by TrustNoOne

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Heavily outdated
I didn't finished the book so maybe it has something at the end.

The fact of the matter is. This book is outdated. It is only useful in the archaeological sense when you want to review the failed waterfall methologies of the 1990ies in comparison with the new methologies of the 21th century.

IBM, Microsoft, Apple and the rest of the world have, since...
Published 9 months ago by Johan S


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

82 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for programmers and their managers, July 26, 1998
This review is from: Rapid Development: Taming Wild Software Schedules (Paperback)
As a developer, you have been on that project.  The one that seems that it will never end. Requirements change daily, testing seems to discover new bugs faster than you can fix them, release dates come and go and noone seems to know when the project will be completed. If you're like me, maybe you thought that was just the way software projects were.
And then I read this book. Chapter 3 contains a case study of classic mistakes.  It sounded like every project I had ever worked on. Steve McConnell shows you how to avoid those mistakes, and how to leverage best practices in planning and development to achieve maximum predictability and control over your software schedule.  This should be required reading for all software project managers, technical leads and top management.  
While it's a long book, it lends itself to easy browsing. You can almost dip in at random and find some useful tip on how to improve your chances of bringing your project in on time and unde! r budget. But you'll want to read it straight through at least once. The last section of the book is devoted to individual Best Practices.  Each practice is explained along with its risks and benefits. Not all practices will be applicable to all projects, and the book guides you through when each is appropriate along with what practices it compliments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical Guide With Real Life Examples, August 3, 2003
This review is from: Rapid Development: Taming Wild Software Schedules (Paperback)
Steve McConnell's books have always displayed a remarkable degree of practicality and readability. This book is no different.
The author says at the outset the Purpose of the book is to answer issues about trade-offs. The author says that software can be optimized for any of several goals: lowest defect rate, lowest cost, or shortest development, etc... Software Engineering is then about achieving tradeoffs, and this is what this book is primarily about.
Because the book is so big, it has been broken into sections that can be read selectively and quickly. A short book would have oversimplified things to the point of uselessness.
Organization of the book:
Parts 1, 2 deal with the Strategy and Philosophy of rapid development, while part 3 covers Rapid develoment best practices
In chapter 3 the author talks about 'Classic Mistakes'. He calls them 'classic' and 'seductive' because they are so easy to make that they have been repeated in countless projects. The classic mistakes number 36 (though Steve M points out that a complete list could probably go on for pages and pages):
Undermined motivation, Weak personnel, uncontrolled problem employees, Heroics , Adding people to a late project , Noisy crowded offices , Friction between developers and customers , Unrealistic expectations , Lack of effective project sponsorship , Lack of stakeholder buy-in , Lack of user input , Politics placed over substance , Wishful thinking , Overly optimistic schedules , Insufficient risk management , Contractor failure , Insufficient planning , Abandonment of planning under pressure , Inadequate design , Planning to catch up later , Code-like-hell programming , Requirements gold-plating , Feature creep , Developer gold-plating , Push-me, pull-me negotiation , Research oriented development , Silver bullet syndrome , Overestimated savings from new tools or methods , Switching tools in the middle of a project , Lack of automated source-code control , Shortchanged quality assurance , Omitting necessary tasks from estimates , Shortchanged front end upstream activities.
He categorizes these classic mistakes into four sets : People related, technology related, product related, and process related.
Part 2 covers rapid development issues in greater detail.
Core issues like Estimation, Scheduling, Lifecycle Planning, etc.. are covered. `Soft' issues like Motivation, Teamwork, Customer Oriented Developmentare also covered.
Part 3 is a compendium of best practices. There is a summary table of the each best practice, and the efficacies, major risks, major interactions and trade-offs listed.
Some candidate best practices not included are getting top people
, Source Code Control, Requirements Analysis.. These are listed as fundamental to a software project.
The Best Practices listed are
JAD, Spiral Lifecycle Model, Theory W Management, Throwaway Prototyping, Staged Delivery, Voluntary Overtime, Miniature Milestones, Outsourcing, Reuse, User-Interface Prototyping, Change Board, Daily Build and Smoke Test, Tools Group.
As an example, Steve McConnel covers 'Inspections' stating the
chances of its long term success are excellent, it reduces schedule risk, its improvement in progress visibility is only fair, has no major risks, it can be combined with virtually any other rapid development best practice
The book has a very engaging style of writing...
Some quotes...
- Projects can look like a tortoise on valium to the customers, but as a rapid-development death march to the developers.
- The team ranks so low in the company that it has to pay to get its own team t-shirts.
- Rapid development isn't always efficient.
- Run every software project as an experiment (`Hawthorne Effect').
- If Las Vegas sounds too tame for you, software might be just the right gamble.
- The most common (and incorrect) definition of estimate is: `An estimate that has the most optimistic prediction that has a non-zero probability of coming true' - Tom DeMarco
All in all, a fully deserved five stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended reading -- Great reference, October 31, 1999
This review is from: Rapid Development: Taming Wild Software Schedules (Paperback)
The author of this book does not present "the one and only rapid development process". Instead the book presents in great detail over 20 good practices that are known to speed up development. The reader is expected to combine these practices to get a good combination for the current project.
The language in the book is smooth and the author really tries to explain in a simple and easy to understand way. I still needed a lot of time to read the book, simply because of the enormous amounts of information in the book.
The book includes a lot of statistical data. This is really great to have if you get into an argument with management about if the schedule is achievable.
The book is published by Microsoft Press. As I am very far from being a Microsoft fan, I was very sceptical at first. But the book is really great and applicable to all software development projects, including those on UNIX and embedded systems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RAPID DEVELOPMENT: The project manager's Bible, December 31, 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Rapid Development: Taming Wild Software Schedules (Paperback)
I work for an Internet software development company, and I have made this book required reading for every project manager and technical lead in our company. McConnell's combination of conceptual knowledge, supported by hard facts, is a rare thing in software development "how-tos."
The best-practices section at the back of the book is an invaluable reference. His "bad" case studies depressed me sometimes -- mainly because they were too close to my own projects -- but the "good" ones have become the scripts for my presentations to clients. He has a way of capturing the essence of the atmosphere in a development shop, so the case studies feel as if they took place in your own office.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone whose job is managing the development process, whether that be in a technical lead or a project management position. Maybe if more people read this book and follow its guidelines, we could all stop working weekends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bible of project management, August 30, 2005
This review is from: Rapid Development: Taming Wild Software Schedules (Paperback)
I have bought this book occasionally because of the well-known name of Steve McConnell. Originally I was confused by the title that seemed to indicate another super methodology that promised heavens. No need to say that I was skeptical about it. Do not look at the title, although this book emphasizes its value for the fast paced projects, it is THE BOOK on project management as a whole. In general, the book comprises practical knowledge of generations of project managers. Do not miss your chance to get it now easy in few days what took some people's life time to learn! Amidst lots of practical examples, you will also find an exciting style and lots of must-know suggestions on small, middle and large size projects. I believe that any project manager must read this book if she/he has not done it yet. In addition to what is covered in the book, the author provides lots of links and references in case you need to explore the area in more detail. The time you will save after reading this book is worth much, much more than this book costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rapid Team Development with ColdFusion, March 8, 2000
This review is from: Rapid Development: Taming Wild Software Schedules (Paperback)
I read Michael Dinowitz's review of Steve McConnell's Code Complete in last week's issue of Fusion Authority, and wanted to tell you about another great book by him called "Rapid Development". This one is good for team ColdFusion projects on a short deadline (and what ColdFusion project is not rapid development!). The sub-title "Taming Wild Software Schedules" sums it up.
The book covers both technical ideas (such as estimation, risk management and mini milestones) and the psychology of both programmers and teams. The latter may be particularly useful on the high burnout 12-hour-a-day work cycle of many ColdFusion programming teams I have seen. Keeping everyone motivated and working together as a team is often more important than technical programming tricks on a large project.
Project Management Cookbook
The second half of the book, "Best Practices," is a cookbook of 36 techniques for project leaders designed to stop overruns and control those out-of-control, large ColdFusion projects. I have been developing for over 20 years, and nearly all of McConnell's tips ring true. The book is not about ColdFusion per see; it concerns any Rapid Development language.
I liked the fact that he rated each of these cookbook methods by the following criteria:
Potential reduction from nominal schedule Improvement in progress visibility Effect on schedule risk Chance of first time success Chance of long-term success
Here are some of the 36 classic mistakes that McConnell describes in detail:
People Related Mistakes Heroics Adding people to a late project Politics placed over substance (etc.) Process Related Mistakes Abandonment of planning under pressure Planning to catch up later "Code-like-hell" programming (etc.) Technology Related Mistakes Silver-Bullet syndrome Overestimating Savings From New Tools or Methods Switching Tools in the Middle of a Project (etc.)
If you are like me and have been involved in a few "projects from hell" then I am sure you recognise some (or all) of the above!
There are also fun sidebars from the trenches of real development teams, both successes and disasters. Twenty real-life case studies round it out.
This is a long book (650 pp) but I have found myself dipping into it for new insights in my daily work as a ColdFusion project manager.
Review by: Michael Smith, TeraTech
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Project Management Reference for ALL Software Professionals, April 4, 2003
By 
Harinath Thummalapalli (Austin, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rapid Development: Taming Wild Software Schedules (Paperback)
Anyone who has ever been on a software project is initially confused by all the chaos involved. When Ford can churn out good quality and inexpensive automobiles and McDonald's can serve millions of satisfied people around the world, and we can put man on the moon, why do the most reputable companies struggle to deliver even the simplest of software projects?
After being on two new model launches at Ford that went smoothly, I moved into IT at the beginning of the economic boom in the mid-nineties and asked the same question. Why is the IT world so inept at managing software projects? My boss at the time quickly whipped out this book and asked me to read it cover to cover before asking any more questions or wasting any more time trying to figure this out. I did as I was told and found the answers I was looking for. I also found answers to questions I hadn't asked yet but I would have eventually. I instantly purchased a copy of this book for my long term personal book collection.
The book contains a thorough discussion of various software development practices and their effectiveness using case studies very extensively. These case studies stick in your mind really well and drive home the point that the author is trying to make. The book also talks about the most classic mistakes on any software development project and then details several strategies to avoid them altogether on your own project.
I still refer to this book whenever I feel nervous on a software project that something's not right. You don't need to be technical to understand the book and the book is written for anyone on a software project - from the project manager to the developer to the tester. I can't believe the pricing on the book. I am always comparing the value I get from any book I purchase and this is one of the most reasonably priced books for the 600 + pages of wisdom it provides. Share this book with your colleagues and friends, they will definitely thank you for it. Get a copy and start taming those wild software schedules!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Source Book for Software Project Planning & Management, July 20, 2004
By 
John Nolley II (Fairfax, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Rapid Development: Taming Wild Software Schedules (Paperback)
Those who have worked in the software industry are all too aware of the impacts of poor project planning and management endemic to their field: long hours of overtime, burnout, poor and difficult-to-revise code, etc. Even those outside the industry itself suffer from delayed product delivery, excessive bugs, and lack of product functionality due to shortcomings in project management. Rapid Development by Steve McConnell is the solution!

This isn't a book about how to program but rather how to plan to program and how to manage the tasks of development during programming. McConnell identifies some of the worst and most common mistakes made in project planning and describes their impact: ambitious deadlines cause high stress, coding errors, and usually cause the project to be completed way behind schedule; lack of communications between involved parties (users, managers, testers, developers etc.) leads to unrealistic expectations and missed goals; lack of proper planning and "coding like hell" lead to unmaintanable software, increased product bugs, etc.

Although to many software developers it may sound like McConnell is simply preaching to the choir, he offers solutions to each pitfall, many in the form of "best practices" with thorough analysis as to the appropriate use and any downsides of each. McConnell speaks from experience, having worked in development, management, and as a consultant for firms including Microsoft. Best of all, most of his solutions and practices he offers are simple to implement and pay off enormously over the lifetime of a project.

If more software companies followed the advice of McConnell's excellent book, software development might be a much more enjoyable profession, companies would save both time and money, and even the general public would be more satisfied with computer software whose headaches all too often stem from the poor development practices of the industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprised, March 15, 2001
By 
This review is from: Rapid Development: Taming Wild Software Schedules (Paperback)
For the past few years I have been working as an in house system developer for a major communications company. Recently I decided to delve into project management fundamentals because I may want to lean in that direction in the near future. Sooo...I ordered this book because of rave reviews on Amazon. Let me just say that although I haven't read through every best practice in the book's last section, this is the best book on software development I have ever read by far. I have never had the pleasure of working on a well managed project. I don't know where the company I work for gets it's software project managers but they don't seem to spend any time learning project management. This book has me on my way back to sanity and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have book for managers/tech leads/senior developers, July 27, 2005
By 
smart geek (Bay Area, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rapid Development: Taming Wild Software Schedules (Paperback)
Having seen quite a few projects go haywire; reading this book

made me pinpoint exactly all the faults those projects had. The

good thing about this book is that its complete. Some books cover

some areas and some others, but this covers all. For eg., if you

just read the first few chapters and decided to apply techniques

learnt to your project, you might not apply them correctly as you

you didn't read the whole book to get a complete picture of

rapid development.

This books is good for people working in startups. Developers

should also read this book so that they can help avoid mistakes

of managers/tech.leads in a fast-paced environment where things

can get easily missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rapid Development: Taming Wild Software Schedules
Rapid Development: Taming Wild Software Schedules by Steve McConnell (Paperback - July 12, 1996)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.