Rapid Review Biochemistry and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering
Sell Us Your Item
For a $5.74 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading Rapid Review Biochemistry on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Rapid Review Biochemistry: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e [Paperback]

John W. Pelley PhD , Edward F. Goljan MD
3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14 customer reviews)

Buy New
$40.80 & FREE Shipping. Details
Rent
$17.00
Only 9 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
In Stock.
Want it Monday, July 14? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Free Two-Day Shipping for College Students with Amazon Student

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $24.49  
Paperback $40.80  

Book Description

September 10, 2010 0323068871 978-0323068871 3

Get the most from your study time, and experience a realistic USMLE simulation with Rapid Review Biochemistry, 3rd Edition, by Drs. John W. Pelley, and Edward F. Goljan. This new reference in the highly rated Rapid Review Series is formatted as a bulleted outline with photographs, tables, and figures that address all the biochemistry information you need to know for the USMLE. And with Student Consult functionality, you can become familiar with the look and feel of the actual exam by taking a timed or a practice online test that includes 350 USMLE-style questions.

Author, John Pelley, wins 2010 Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award

John Pelley PhD, an associate author of two popular medical review titles, Rapid Review Biochemistry, and Elsevier's Integrated Review Biochemistry has won the 2010 Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award. The award was established by the AOA medical honor society in 1988 to recognize faculty members who have distinguished themselves in medical student education. He is nationally known for applying concept mapping, a learning technique that focuses on building patterns and relationships to concepts, to medical education. 

  • Review the most current information with completely updated chapters, images, and questions.
  • Profit from the guidance of series editor, Dr. Edward Goljan, a well-known author of medical review books, who reviewed and edited every question.
  • Take a timed or a practice test online with more than 350 USMLE-style questions and full rationales for why every possible answer is right or wrong.
  • Access all the information you need to know quickly and easily with a user-friendly, two-color outline format that includes High-Yield Margin Notes.
  • Study and take notes more easily with the new, larger page size.
  • Practice with a new testing platform on USMLE Consult that gives you a realistic review experience and fully prepares you for the exam.

Frequently Bought Together

Rapid Review Biochemistry: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e + BRS Physiology (Board Review Series) + Rapid Review Pathology: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 4e
Price for all three: $133.04

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details

  • Series: Rapid Review
  • Paperback: 208 pages
  • Publisher: Mosby; 3 edition (September 10, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0323068871
  • ISBN-13: 978-0323068871
  • Product Dimensions: 10.6 x 8.3 x 0.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 14.4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #19,787 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

John W. Pelley, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Cell Biology and Biochemistry, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Lubbock, TX; and Edward F. Goljan, MD, Professor and Chairman of Pathology, Oklahoma State University, College of Osteopathic Medicine, Tulsa, OK.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is it October 26, 2010
By C. Liu
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Lippincott's illustrated review is too wordy. This is what I need to prepare for the boards. good charts and short, concise bullet-pointed contents makes review fast and easy.

con: costs too much for a 150 page book.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars worthless January 26, 2012
By M. Goss
Format:Paperback
There's a distinction between an excellent, well written and well organized summary vs. pages of poorly written scribbles. This book can't be used to study for Biochemistry. It has no clinical correlation. It has few diagrams and those in there are black and white and poorly illustrated. The book supposedly included practice question but to access any of those you have to register your book online and you get only 12 months to practice after which the questions you supposedly paid for are wasted. Worthless book. Does not deserve to be included in the Rapid Review series.
Was this review helpful to you?
17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I really wanted to like this book ... February 1, 2012
By MD_too
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I used this book Pelley 3ed and Champe 4ed as fundamental preparation for Step1, which I recently passed (Jan 2012). I feel that the foundation provided by the Bchm review allowed me to proceed through the other topic areas without always having that nagging feeling as to what was being talked about when a reference to Bchm was made in the discussion.

I spent about 15 intense days of review in both books. I augmented the book reviews with about 20 Bchm questions from USMLE World every other evening or so. World has about 200+ questions classed as Bchm.

Neither the Champe or Pelley/Goljan texts are complete. Also I must say that the absolutely the best reviews and explanations came from USMLE World during their answer explanations. Go figure ...

As an example consider the topic, metabolism. Champe covers the standard information in 5 or 6 chapters. Very basic clinical correlations are included and go into sufficient Bchm detail to be of value in understanding the issue. Also more complex Bchm processes specific to the particular metabolic process being discussed are introduced (ie, signal transduction) are introduced and explained in glucose metabolism. This can be helpful or distracting depending on your background.

Champe's last chapters on metabolism cover nitrogen/protein metabolism. And at least to me never really finish an adequate overview on aspects on protein metabolism, particularly on integration with other macronutrients. Champe includes a chapter on insulin and glucagon, as well as a chapter on integration of glucose, lipid and nitrogen metabolism as a whole. The integration chapter is probably the most incomplete and I had to go constantly to Wikipedia for even "general details" particularly regarding the influence of protein metabolism ...
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great review April 6, 2011
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
One thing I have always loved about Goljan's review books is that they are easy to read and stress a good conceptual framework. He uses an outline format but they are mostly complete sentences.

My only criticism is that Rapid Review Biochemistry feels a little rushed and like it doesn't have 100% attention to detail, especially in the tables. To compare, Rapid Review Pathology is a little more of a polished book. For instance, under cobalamin deficiency (Table 4-1), achlorhydria is listed as a sign/symptom. Okay, if you have cobalamin deficiency secondary to pernicious anemia that's definitely true, but it's not quite true as written. Small things like this add up. Still one of the better biochem review books in my opinion.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, concise book for Step1 Biochem Review May 16, 2012
By JP
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
First off, if you aren't a fan of the Rapid Review/Goljan outline formatted text, proceed with caution. It's definitely not for everyone.

I used this book as a supplement for Step1 studying with my First Aid. It was a great review of all things biochem that I had forgotten since early first year. It's definitely not the most substantial biochem book available, but I thought it was very useful for Step 1. Step 1 doesn't require PhD-depth of knowledge of biochem (which we were all probably taught as fist year med students). So this book was useful in cutting out the excess we were all taught and gets down to the important enzymes, reactions, co-factors, and such. There are also useful clinical correlates.

Overall, I thought this book was EXTREMELY useful as a supplement to the lacking First Aid. I actually wish I had this book first year, as it would have clarified many topics.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best review book ; fully integrated biochem April 29, 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
The book contains "Most" of the information you may need for undergrade biochem "1st~2nd yr"
It contains "The Best" flow diagram for metabolic pathways that depict succinct pictures.
I have tried many, many ways to reduce down, and integrate metabolic pathways, but this book has those well in well organised manner, which helped me to fully integrate everything.
Another thing, It contains very good summery of metabolite diseases you need to relating biochemistry, However, again it is not a full list, it contains "Most" of what you need to know, but not all,

because it may lack "details" you may need to know, by saying that, Knowing everything in this book will not mean that you will get 95% above from exam, It does lack a few stuff that you may need to know ;
I advise that you "Annotate" this book, and Add more stuff in it "it has good amount of rooms on edges" with your lecture notes and textbooks to prepare for undergrade exams or usmle.

Also, it is a review book, so I advise not to study from it, only recall info from it.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!
This book has made learning biochem very easy. I wished I had purchased it during my first year of med school. I'm using it now for boards and it is very easy to follow. Read more
Published 4 months ago by Eneida Miranda
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay
Product arrived on time. I did not use it much during my biochemistry course but it was helpful at times when I was searching for answers.
Published 4 months ago by El Señor
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for boards review
To be honest, I'm not a fan of the board review series with the exception of this book. As you know biochem is one of those subjects that can stand alone or be incorporated into... Read more
Published 6 months ago by Capt. Jake Sparrow
2.0 out of 5 stars Decent information, not well laid out
Informational, but not great. I am not a big fan of the outline/order.

Lots of text, not enough images, no concept maps, and not enough help with mnemonics. Read more
Published 6 months ago by Christina Roberts
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed
I was very happy with this book. I appreciate how it just gets to the point on everything and there is no BS. It is well organized. Read more
Published 17 months ago by MedStudent79
5.0 out of 5 stars biochemestry demystified
we all learnt biochemestry at our various universities and used some books for reference but this biochemestry review is presented in a such away you are able to pick up difficult... Read more
Published 24 months ago by kalonji
5.0 out of 5 stars Great review for usmle
With all those books out there, rapid review Biochmeistry and pathology are the best for usmle review. I highly recommend these books for anyone at any stage of usmle prep. Read more
Published on December 19, 2011 by Conquerer
2.0 out of 5 stars not great
I have rapid review pathology which is amazing. This just doesnt compare. Its ok, but not great. It lacks diagrams and is too detailed for step 1. Read more
Published on December 3, 2011 by ejhasan
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 



Look for Similar Items by Category