Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.

Used - Good | See details
Sold by RentU.
Access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.
 
   
Sell Us Your Item
For a $2.00 Gift Card
Trade in
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tell the Publisher!
I'd like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Rapid Review Pathology Revised Reprint: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e [Paperback]

Edward F. Goljan MD
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (92 customer reviews)


Available from these sellers.


Free Two-Day Shipping for College Students with Amazon Student

There is a newer edition of this item:
Rapid Review Pathology: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 4e Rapid Review Pathology: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 4e 4.3 out of 5 stars (65)
$49.18
In Stock.

Book Description

April 29, 2011 0323084389 978-0323084383 3

Get the most from your study time...and experience a realistic USMLE simulation! Rapid Review Pathology, by Edward F. Goljan, MD, makes it easy for you to master all of the pathology material covered on the USMLE Step 1 Exam. It combines an updated outline-format review of key concepts and hundreds of full-color images and margin notes - in print and online - PLUS more than 400 USMLE-style online questions! Rated A+ in First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2012!

  • Access all the information you need to know quickly and easily with a user-friendly, two-color outline format that includes High-Yield Margin Notes and Key Points.
  • Practice with our testing platform on USMLE Consult for a realistic testing experience that fully prepares you for the exam.
  • Tailor your exam by category, subcategory, or keyword: you can include new, corrected, or all questions, and you can take the exam in test or practice mode.
  • Review the most current information with completely updated chapters and more than 675 images.
  • Take a timed or a practice test online with 437 USMLE-style questions and rationales for why every answer is right or wrong.

Maximize your study time and boost your USMLE performance


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Editorial Reviews

Review

A+  "A comprehensive source for key concepts in pathology, presented in a bulleted outline format with many high-yield tables and color figures. Features detailed explanations of disease mechanisms. Integrates concepts across disciplines with a strong clinical orientation. Lengthy, so best if started early with coursework. Includes access to online Qbank." First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2012

"Each chapter is packed with information. As well as the bullet-point formatted text, the authors frequently use non-fussy, two-tone tables to provide more in-depth information on single topics...In conclusion, this book is a 'high-yield', 'rapid review' of pathology packed with information in a well-presented, concise format. I would recommend it to final year students or junior doctors as a revision tool." The Bulletin, October 2010 (review of previous edition)

Book Description

Get the most from your study time . . . and experience a realistic USMLE simulation!


Product Details

  • Series: Rapid Review
  • Paperback: 656 pages
  • Publisher: Mosby; 3 edition (April 29, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0323084389
  • ISBN-13: 978-0323084383
  • Product Dimensions: 0.9 x 8.4 x 10.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 3.2 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (92 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #63,083 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

An Elsevier Author, Dr. Edward Goljan serves as Professor and Chair of Pathology at Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences. He is a renowned lecturer and well-published author who has won a number of awards, including the Distinguished Service Ward in Pathology from the Oklahoma State Osteopathic Society, the Gender Equity Award from the American Medical Women's Association at OSU-COM. He has also been honored for teaching excellence by various institutions including Oral Roberts University and OSU-COM.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Review June 5, 2011
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Personally, I have found Goljan's review texts much easier to read than BRS. I actually stay engaged while reading it. If you listen to his audio lectures you can tell he is very passionate and involved in teaching pathology, and this comes across in Rapid Review.

This text in many ways follows the same information as First Aid, but with more wordage. If you study this text early, and then First Aid before Step 1, you will find that you already know a good chunk of First Aid. Because Rapid Review goes into more detail, it is a good text to start early. I do not recommend this book if you feel you are short of time in studying for Step 1 since it is more verbose. Sometimes Rapid Review seems like it is also preparing you for Step 2. It is all useful information but it is important to realize this isn't the best high-yield cram right before Step 1 resource out there.

Honestly my only criticism is that this is not comprehensive enough. You will need First Aid on top of this. Even for Pathology, there are a few First Aid facts not in here. Nonetheless, after reading this cover to cover, reading First Aid, and doing USMLE World qbank I went from 220 to 260 over 3 months, and I definitely feel that Rapid Review is part of that response. It is a good book.

Again, read this book early in your studying.
Was this review helpful to you?
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but dense. March 17, 2012
By Cinrac
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Pros:

Detailed

Cons:

Not very engaging

I am a huge fan of the illicit Goljan audio. I think what makes the audio so great is that Dr. Goljan is an engaging lecturer who peppers his talks with anecdotes and makes the content interesting. I bought this book hoping that it would provide a format that allowed for very high yield learning that could hold my attention. I found though, that each section is very dense and hard to read in the outline format. I now mostly just read first aid, listen to the audio, and leave this book at home.

I would not recommend this book for someone looking only for high yield facts, or for those who need a more narrative style of writing.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Goljan = Success January 17, 2012
Format:Paperback
I know that there are many competitors these days with RR but if the way you learn is by truly understanding the mechanisms and theory then this is your book (you know you are because once you learn something because it is taught well, you will understand it and won't easily forget it). If you are more the associations/mnemonics quick-fix with multiple repetition + doing tons of qbanks type of learner then you might have more success elsewhere.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This is an excellent book for coursework, and good reference for the boards.

But it is overkill, and full of low yield material.
No one has time for it.

Stick to First Aid and question banks. If you are lacking concepts in pathology run through the pathoma vids, or maybe goljan's audio. Worst comes to worst go throught kaplan lecture notes once to get the gist of underlying concepts and MOVE ON to first aid and qbanks.

Master a few things.
Don't major in the minors.

Good luck. You'll do great. Believe.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource for the USMLE step 1 April 28, 2012
By M. S.
Format:Paperback
This is one of the best resources you can use for Step 1 prep! On one hand the book is long (some students say it is best to read the chapters along side your course material throughout the year - so you are familiar with the book when it comes time to cram for the boards), on the other hand this book is fantastically concise when you think about all of the material that it's covering (pathology, relevant microbiology, '1st 2nd and 3rd most commons' by age group and immune status). If you have time to add Rapid Review Path to your study schedule it's well worth it!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Resource for the USMLE April 12, 2012
By Patrick
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Great book that reviews not only pathology but other clinically/board relevant information. As other reviews state, Goljan tries to help you understand concepts not memorize them. Highly recommended.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars goljan the one April 11, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition
its best book i have gone through . sometimes i wish i had it before . dont read it before exam its too much to finish . altough best thing in this book is that its all high yield only . goljan is right the usmle integrate subjects and here is where goljan comes to save you.i got a 247 i think most of my exam i remember goljan coming back to me .
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good book April 1, 2012
By stowe
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I had the old version of this book and I was very dissapointed...very erratic and hard to fallow. The new version it is great, concised and much more information. Do not regret buying it again
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars sincere seller, I am grateful
despite the time took the book to arrive, which was around 7 days, still I'll give you 5 stars, bcuz I wasn't on hurry for it, and I don't blame you for that. Read more
Published 2 months ago by ahmad abdulkarim
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for USMLE Step 1, Equal to or Better than First Aid
Everybody focuses on First Aid as the best resource for Step 1. I am not going to argue that you shouldn't read First Aid. Read more
Published 2 months ago by Gratefulmed
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for Pathology
This is a great follow up to look into some of the concepts that you didn't understand through the bootleg Goljan audio. Read more
Published 5 months ago by Dr. Naveen Vijay
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book
Book arrived in great condition. Great at covering topics. A small bit squished and text is compact. Great for summary. Read more
Published 8 months ago by D
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent STEP 1 Source
This is one of the best books out there for medical school review. At first glance, the book is packed with a ton of information and seems a bit too verbose to be useful. Read more
Published 8 months ago by Robert Knotts
5.0 out of 5 stars expectations
The book was just what I expected and more.. Excellent! The online portion is excellent!. IT is a great pathophy book and review,
Published 9 months ago by Anna Waldner
3.0 out of 5 stars The book is fine, but be careful who you buy from
Many of my medical school classmates used Goljan path review and did well on the comp. I wanted to buy a new one to study for step. Dailydealusa (listed as 97% positive! Read more
Published 10 months ago by John D. Townsend
5.0 out of 5 stars Very detailed
I bought this book initially to be used to help study for step 1, I found the book to b too detailed during my dedicated board studying month. Read more
Published 10 months ago by brad
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of information but a complete book overall
I used this book during my pathology class and also for my Step 1 preparation. I prefer this book over pathomas even though pathomas is awesome (because Goljan not only goes over... Read more
Published 10 months ago by MDLes
4.0 out of 5 stars Wife's Gift
My Wife would like to get more knowledge in Pathology and so she requested me to buy it and she used the most of the book by reading it
Published 11 months ago by Naveen Morisetti
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

Forums

Have something you'd like to share about this product?
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions


Look for Similar Items by Category


Want to discover more products? You may find many from ecg scan shopping list.