Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Review
Personally, I have found Goljan's review texts much easier to read than BRS. I actually stay engaged while reading it. If you listen to his audio lectures you can tell he is very passionate and involved in teaching pathology, and this comes across in Rapid Review.

This text in many ways follows the same information as First Aid, but with more wordage. If you...
Published on June 5, 2011 by Sailing123

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but dense.
Pros:

Detailed

Cons:

Not very engaging

I am a huge fan of the illicit Goljan audio. I think what makes the audio so great is that Dr. Goljan is an engaging lecturer who peppers his talks with anecdotes and makes the content interesting. I bought this book hoping that it would provide a format that allowed for very high yield...
Published on March 17, 2012 by Cinrac


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Review, June 5, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rapid Review Pathology Revised Reprint: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e (Paperback)
Personally, I have found Goljan's review texts much easier to read than BRS. I actually stay engaged while reading it. If you listen to his audio lectures you can tell he is very passionate and involved in teaching pathology, and this comes across in Rapid Review.

This text in many ways follows the same information as First Aid, but with more wordage. If you study this text early, and then First Aid before Step 1, you will find that you already know a good chunk of First Aid. Because Rapid Review goes into more detail, it is a good text to start early. I do not recommend this book if you feel you are short of time in studying for Step 1 since it is more verbose. Sometimes Rapid Review seems like it is also preparing you for Step 2. It is all useful information but it is important to realize this isn't the best high-yield cram right before Step 1 resource out there.

Honestly my only criticism is that this is not comprehensive enough. You will need First Aid on top of this. Even for Pathology, there are a few First Aid facts not in here. Nonetheless, after reading this cover to cover, reading First Aid, and doing USMLE World qbank I went from 220 to 260 over 3 months, and I definitely feel that Rapid Review is part of that response. It is a good book.

Again, read this book early in your studying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but dense., March 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rapid Review Pathology Revised Reprint: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e (Paperback)
Pros:

Detailed

Cons:

Not very engaging

I am a huge fan of the illicit Goljan audio. I think what makes the audio so great is that Dr. Goljan is an engaging lecturer who peppers his talks with anecdotes and makes the content interesting. I bought this book hoping that it would provide a format that allowed for very high yield learning that could hold my attention. I found though, that each section is very dense and hard to read in the outline format. I now mostly just read first aid, listen to the audio, and leave this book at home.

I would not recommend this book for someone looking only for high yield facts, or for those who need a more narrative style of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Goljan = Success, January 17, 2012
This review is from: Rapid Review Pathology Revised Reprint: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e (Paperback)
I know that there are many competitors these days with RR but if the way you learn is by truly understanding the mechanisms and theory then this is your book (you know you are because once you learn something because it is taught well, you will understand it and won't easily forget it). If you are more the associations/mnemonics quick-fix with multiple repetition + doing tons of qbanks type of learner then you might have more success elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource for the USMLE step 1, April 28, 2012
By 
M. S. (New York USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rapid Review Pathology Revised Reprint: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e (Paperback)
This is one of the best resources you can use for Step 1 prep! On one hand the book is long (some students say it is best to read the chapters along side your course material throughout the year - so you are familiar with the book when it comes time to cram for the boards), on the other hand this book is fantastically concise when you think about all of the material that it's covering (pathology, relevant microbiology, '1st 2nd and 3rd most commons' by age group and immune status). If you have time to add Rapid Review Path to your study schedule it's well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, but this is neither Rapid, Nor is it a Review, June 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rapid Review Pathology Revised Reprint: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for coursework, and good reference for the boards.

But it is overkill, and full of low yield material.
No one has time for it.

Stick to First Aid and question banks. If you are lacking concepts in pathology run through the pathoma vids, or maybe goljan's audio. Worst comes to worst go throught kaplan lecture notes once to get the gist of underlying concepts and MOVE ON to first aid and qbanks.

Master a few things.
Don't major in the minors.

Good luck. You'll do great. Believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars goljan the one, April 11, 2012
its best book i have gone through . sometimes i wish i had it before . dont read it before exam its too much to finish . altough best thing in this book is that its all high yield only . goljan is right the usmle integrate subjects and here is where goljan comes to save you.i got a 247 i think most of my exam i remember goljan coming back to me .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Resource for the USMLE, April 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rapid Review Pathology Revised Reprint: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e (Paperback)
Great book that reviews not only pathology but other clinically/board relevant information. As other reviews state, Goljan tries to help you understand concepts not memorize them. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good book, April 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rapid Review Pathology Revised Reprint: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e (Paperback)
I had the old version of this book and I was very dissapointed...very erratic and hard to fallow. The new version it is great, concised and much more information. Do not regret buying it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I laughed, I cried, it was better than "Cats", August 27, 2011
By 
This review is from: Rapid Review Pathology Revised Reprint: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e (Paperback)
The holy grail of medical education when it comes to pathology. I would argue that listening to Goljan's lectures is not only beneficial to learning pathology, but more importantly, integrating all of the basic sciences into how it creates/presents as disease.

I have not taken Step 1 yet, but I can attest to my basic science education being enhanced by reading this book (alongside the lectures), then going back and reviewing other coursework. I am also a big fan of the outline format, which extracts the most important information so that one's brain focuses on *it*, not the author's writing style, for example; for information that needs to be committed to memory, this is simply more efficient (for me). However, the information will firstly stay in one's head (including mine, hopefully) because of how the information is laid out. My understanding of the basic sciences and how they relate to other systems in the body seems to have increased exponentially as a result of this man's work.

I heart you, Dr. Goljan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goljan vs. Pathoma?, January 31, 2013
This review is from: Rapid Review Pathology Revised Reprint: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e (Paperback)
As a second year medical student using both Goljan and Pathoma since spring of my first year, i can safely say that although pathoma is absolutely recommended, goljan is comprehensive enough to fill in the gaps that Dr. Sattar (Pathoma) leaves.

I 100% recommend you to use both pathoma and goljan together; pathoma first and then goljan to complement with more information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rapid Review Pathology Revised Reprint: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e
Used & New from: $10.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.