Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Review
Personally, I have found Goljan's review texts much easier to read than BRS. I actually stay engaged while reading it. If you listen to his audio lectures you can tell he is very passionate and involved in teaching pathology, and this comes across in Rapid Review.

This text in many ways follows the same information as First Aid, but with more wordage. If you...
Published on June 5, 2011 by Sailing123

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but dense.
Pros:

Detailed

Cons:

Not very engaging

I am a huge fan of the illicit Goljan audio. I think what makes the audio so great is that Dr. Goljan is an engaging lecturer who peppers his talks with anecdotes and makes the content interesting. I bought this book hoping that it would provide a format that allowed for very high yield...
Published on March 17, 2012 by Cinrac


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, April 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rapid Review Pathology Revised Reprint: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e (Paperback)
I've been using this as a supplement to reading my PATH Robbins (8e) text. It doesn't quite follow the text completely. There is a decent amount of additional information and there is missing information. In other words, if you wish to expand upon your knowledge of pathology, this text is good because it includes images and extra information. If you are like me and just wanted an outline of the text, I'd recommend purchasing Robbin's pocket pathology book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, June 20, 2011
This review is from: Rapid Review Pathology Revised Reprint: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e (Paperback)
Much more than it seems. Don't let the outline format fool you.

This concise volume goes into more detail than you might think, and will actually answer your Qs on WHY things happen!

Goljan is also great at organizing the material in a way that's easy to conceptualize, and therefore retain. The heme chapter is a great example of this. With other books, sure, the same details might be there... but you will have to dig for them, and in the process, most likely lose track of what's important and what's not so important.

Goljan does the work for you, and helps you "memorize" the material by giving you the understanding so that you will rely less on rote memorization ;)

I can't say enough about this book. If you truly master it, you will understand far more than what a typical MSII curriculum will teach you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Essential Book, May 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rapid Review Pathology Revised Reprint: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e (Paperback)
This is THE book for understanding medicine and pathology. I guarantee that if you understand everything in this book you will absolutely destroy the path section of STEP 1, or any pathology course you take. Goljan is THE authority. It's a much clearer book to understand than Robbin's and has less errors. I recommend using this together with first aid (which is much less detailed).

Some people don't like the outline format, but it makes for a great reference, when you need further clarification, or to quickly look something up. It also makes everything super clear, and has good explanations and charts to help you understand, not just memorize why things are a certain way.

I only wish Goljan would write a physiology book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A+++++, April 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rapid Review Pathology Revised Reprint: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e (Paperback)
Highly recommend for USMLE step 1 studying if you want a very in depth understanding of medicine. You can also use it as a reference book for USMLE Step 2 studying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good if it works for you, March 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rapid Review Pathology Revised Reprint: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e (Paperback)
This book is great if you can learn well from an outline format. However, this format is not great for everyone. It does hit a lot of high yield. Only neg is that the binding is kinda flimsy so pages starting falling out after a fair amount of use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Pathology Resource for Medical Students, hands down, February 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rapid Review Pathology Revised Reprint: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e (Paperback)
This text goes well beyond Pathology and does an excellent job correlating biochemistry, genetics, micro, immunology, etc. with pathology, all with a the clinical perspective. This text is probably great for Step 2 as well. My only complaint is the epidemiology feels dated, like maybe a 4th edition is needed soon. Still by far the best (yes, better than Pathoma).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for med school and for USMLE, February 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rapid Review Pathology Revised Reprint: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e (Paperback)
i bought it becasue i am studying for my steps and it helps alot with my goljan videos ! A must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, November 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rapid Review Pathology Revised Reprint: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e (Paperback)
Just about the best M2 pathology text out there! Works great with Pathoma and First Aid! Also useful as a companion to Robbins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's like someone else's notes for med school, October 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rapid Review Pathology Revised Reprint: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e (Paperback)
Very good resource. Written as though it was some ones notes from class, just thorough. Some overlap between sections but I use it all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Pathology Book, September 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rapid Review Pathology Revised Reprint: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e (Paperback)
This book is a must have for Pathology course in Medical School and for Step 1 test. Is a very good complementary book for the class and it has very good questions to practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xd9dcae78)

This product

Rapid Review Pathology Revised Reprint: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 3e
Used & New from: $7.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.