Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Complete
Because the Pi is a fully functional PC on a little board, with many features (including multimedia!) in the class of Arduino and Propeller, most project books don't have the space to get into the basics of Pi, like loading the O/S and many other details. Since this is a UK unit, many of the websites (even though this is all open source) are a chore to sort out. Getting...
Published 16 months ago by Let's Compare Options Preptorial

versus
12 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed, returned after reading about a third.
I was really frustrated with this book. For one thing, all the code samples are carelessly laid out, with essentially no attention paid to line wrapping--considering the book is an unweildy 8"x10" that's just bizarre. There's also a tendency to introduce a ton of background material that doesn't really help you achieve the project, then lots of handwaving on how...
Published 14 months ago by Jeremy Wadhams


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Complete, September 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Raspberry Pi Projects for the Evil Genius (Paperback)
Because the Pi is a fully functional PC on a little board, with many features (including multimedia!) in the class of Arduino and Propeller, most project books don't have the space to get into the basics of Pi, like loading the O/S and many other details. Since this is a UK unit, many of the websites (even though this is all open source) are a chore to sort out. Getting the free downloads shown in this book is worth the price of the book itself, DO NOT pay for the O/S on a site, it is free on many others, as shown in this fine little gem!

True to the evil genius series, this book is an exception to the completeness issue! Not only are the projects fully detailed, with carefully tested code that works without glitches, the author also takes the time to go over the basics of Pi as well, including getting up and running before the project phases. The book has something in it for everyone because of that, from beginners to advanced designers and hobbyists. As a roboticist and teacher, I'm using the Pi more and more in place of Arduino programs (called sketches) because the motor controls are much more like the most advanced robotics, which often use Linux. The Department of Defense uses Linux in some of their drones! VERY scalable system.

A great way to learn not only Pi, but electronics, programming and much more, from grade school to graduate engineer. And in case you're new to Pi, many folks are actually making the cheapest PC's on the planet with this little monster, INCLUDING HDTV interfaces for their monitors! The (non profit educational) Pi developers were smart enough to include multi media, which is amazing for a chip this size. If you want to go "big time" you can even combine it seamlessly pin to pin with Arduino for automation, or Propeller for multi processing. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beside private use, recommended for schools to intrigue students to start thinking creatively and make practical work themselves, September 10, 2013
This review is from: Raspberry Pi Projects for the Evil Genius (Paperback)
"Raspberry Pi Projects for the Evil Genius" by Donald Norris is an interesting book that introduces reader to Raspberry Pi that is regardless of its small size fully operational computer working on Linux operating system.

Inside the author presented 12 practical construction projects (robot car, MP3 player, camera controller, earthquake detector, GPS...) that showed Raspberry Pi's capabilities from the simple ones to the most advanced and complex.
For each project author stated its requirements, both software and hardware, together with describing whole making process in details, including pictures and schemes.

As author said, the Raspberry Pi is currently a most inexpensive computer that offers such level of functionality and is freely available on market.
Its concept was introduced 7 years ago on Cambridge University in order to make an inexpensive computer that will allow experiments unlike high-end expensive PCs that people for fear of damage don't dare "to play" with.
As a result, the Raspberry Pi was created that allows even small kids to play and experiment, and while they are learning to program they are also able to make things without a fear that something expensive will be damaged or broken.

"Raspberry Pi Projects for the Evil Genius" is nice book for all inventors or device constructors, regardless of their age, although I would strongly recommend it to the teens that will learn a lot while they'll use it.
In an extremely simple and graphically interesting way, with a lot of details the author manages to intrigue the reader not only to make herself/himself these 12 featured projects, but to soon try some own project using the principles learned from the book.

Therefore I recommend this book not only for private use, but also for the schools because it will intrigue students to start thinking creatively and make practical work themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well thought out, defined text on getting to know the RasPi, October 20, 2013
By 
Simon Chantrill (Brisbane, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I gave this rating because of his easy style, well thought out approach to interfacing the RasPi.
He explains why the things done in the book are done this way, with plenty of warnings that if YOU DO IT WRONG you will damage the RasPi.
The software for the hardware is explained quite well, with links to other documentation for more advanced reading.
No hard core maths or stuff to detract from an enjoyable learning experience.
It would appeal well to the newbie who is capable, but a novice with this device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not really evil, October 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not evil, rather some really interesting internals and unusual uses. Not hard (for a programmer) to follow.
I don't know of another source of this particular information. I've had it for about 2 months and give 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of great ideas, November 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Raspberry Pi Projects for the Evil Genius (Paperback)
We bought a Raspberry Pi so that our kids would have a platform to learn about computers. We wouldn't have to worry about them wrecking our laptops or desktops either. This book has plenty of good ideas for somebody that is new to Raspberry Pi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect answers when I needed them, February 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had started playing with the Pi, reading the blogs, and visiting sites to learn what I could .. by which time I had the Pi running with my own 16GB class 10 chip, with Raspbian, and running the gui desktop. Still, as I looked at the samples from this book, I decided to get the Kindle edition, and am happy I did. It reinforced what I already knew, filled in some missing blanks, and promises to be a nice guide to some fun projects. To be sure, I am an old time PC person (DOS), and am familiar with MAC and Linux, but this Pi and its GPIO is new [fun] stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for working with kids, June 11, 2014
By 
Mark (Columbia, MD, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There are several projects in here that I'll be doing with my sons. We started our Pi adventures with a PiCraft Minecraft server, then realized there was so much more potential, and bought this guide.

The projects are laid out from easiest to most involved and include detailed parts lists and approximate costs. Most parts can be had right here on Amazon.

Highly recommended for anyone wanting to get more out of their Pi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book!, October 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Raspberry Pi Projects for the Evil Genius (Paperback)
Author explains concepts well. Good value for the price. I needed a book which went into explaining the GPIO pins and how to interface with them. It does that well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book for Pi experimenters, October 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Raspberry Pi Projects for the Evil Genius (Paperback)
I think the book is well thought out and brings a good feature selection of the Pi right to the reader
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun but the printing quality leaves much to be desired., September 27, 2013
By 
AgedWireHead (Houston TX USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Raspberry Pi Projects for the Evil Genius (Paperback)
Some of the "Evil Genius" series better typifies the "evil" connotation than this book. However it is filled with real projects that will actually work and do real things. Not sure what is "evil" about this...

The printing quality is mostly a problem in random number of the illustrations, especially the pictures and screen shots. Contrast and blurring makes it impossible to get any useful information out of them. And the size of some important illustrations is too small. For example, the "Project hardware layout" picture, figure 9-15 on page 121 is almost useless. A RaspberryPi is shown with a ribbon cable to a breakout board all sitting next to some other board that cannot be identified on top of what looks like more breakout board, perhaps all mounted on a Lexan or Plexiglas sheet. Considerable study of the text is needed to guess at the meaning of the picture, and I am certainly left with a concern that I am still missing something important.

In the following chapter, "1-Wire Weather Station", many pictures are uselessly dark, but much of this can be "replaced" with web searches.

Still, if you want to do real things with the RaspberryPi, here is a place to start. Perhaps the "evil genius" is that you will need to do a lot of outside research to complete some of these great projects. However, all of the projects are possible even for those of us who are neither evil or geniuses. However, don't start if you aren't determined to "git-er-done."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Raspberry Pi Projects for the Evil Genius
Raspberry Pi Projects for the Evil Genius by Donald Norris (Paperback - August 14, 2013)
$25.00 $14.64
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.