Customer Reviews


335 Reviews
5 star:
 (243)
4 star:
 (71)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


168 of 180 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The new benchmark in platform gaming has arrived.
Well if there was any doubt that the PS3 would be able to hit a homerun and kick start the console those fears can be laid to rest as Insomniac delivers one of the finest games to grace any console.

Ratchet and Clank Future: TOD will go down as one of those games that changed the landscape for platform games. Why? Well for one if you have ever had the dream of...
Published on October 24, 2007 by All Powerful Wizard Of Oz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite alright for a used product...
The product arrived within two weeks. Minor scratches on the cover, albeit still looking in good condition. The manual came with the game so it was welcomed.

However in-game there was quite a problem as the cutscenes were buggy by either the glitched voices or slow animation time which did not match the voice timing. Otherwise the gameplay was great no...
Published 5 months ago by Calvin Ng


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

168 of 180 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The new benchmark in platform gaming has arrived., October 24, 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ratchet and Clank Future: Tools of Destruction - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Well if there was any doubt that the PS3 would be able to hit a homerun and kick start the console those fears can be laid to rest as Insomniac delivers one of the finest games to grace any console.

Ratchet and Clank Future: TOD will go down as one of those games that changed the landscape for platform games. Why? Well for one if you have ever had the dream of wanting to actually play a Pixar movie this is as close as you're going to get. The graphics are nothing short of amazing and truly shows off the real potential of what the PS3 is capable of producing. If you have an HDTV set that can handle 720p or higher you are in for a real treat as your TV is going to be bursting with smooth frame rates, tons of characters on screen and loads of beautiful colors. It's just total eye candy at every single turn. You will be blown away.

The game play is smooth as butter too. Smashing enemies and blowing things up is a real joy in this game and the action never lets up, not for a bit. The game has a pace to keep even the most hardcore gamer on their toes moving faster then a Lombax with his tail on fire it just keeps the adrenaline junky satisfied. You will not get bored playing this game.

Humor wise this is one of those rare games will you be laughing out loud to. This is like I stated above playing a Pixar movie. Not only for the graphics but the actual content of voice acting and story line. It's just fun all the way around.

One thing I wanted to point out that had me smiling from ear to ear was the sound. WOW! If you have a 7.1 system you will be blown away by the uncompressed 7.1 PCM that this game delivers. This is what your home theater system was bought for and it really shines in this game. Totally immersing and very impressive down to the last bolt pinging across the room in glorious 7.1!

In closing this is without a doubt a must have game. This is the type of game that can and will sell systems. PS3 owners can breathe a sigh of relief that all the promise of the great next gen games that were coming for the PS3 have finally started to arrive and Ratchet and Clank is a benchmark of excellence that will be leading the way into the holiday season.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In One Word: WOW, October 29, 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ratchet and Clank Future: Tools of Destruction - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I have always been a little slow on getting into platformers. Usually my intrest wains after a few hours. As beautiful as this game is I was thinking I would fall into the same trap. So I decided to give it an hour. I couldn't put the controller down. The problem became so bad that I couldn't get up. Yes it is that addictive.

What makes this game a masterpiece is not just the beautiful graphics or the exciting storyline. The fun characters keep it going but what really impresses me is the diversity of each level. I have played this game for over six hours and each level looks completly different from the next. From being in the asteroid belt to going to a destroyed city and then travelling thru a prehistoric land.

Ratchet & Clank Future: Tools of Destruction should be on everyones buy list. This is what gaming is all about. For children or adults this game doesn't discriminate. Never overlly difficult and not to simple. This game does it well on all levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pixar graphics!!!, October 25, 2007
By 
J. Noriega (New York, New York United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ratchet and Clank Future: Tools of Destruction - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
This is arguably best platformer I have ever played. This game really captures the feel of a pixar movie and throws in great gameplay. If you have a PS3, you owe it to yourself to buy this game. If you do not have a PS3, well you're just crazy ;) this machine is pure class.

This is the best looking game 'til date on any platform. I literately just stop playing and admire the beautiful environment.

Pros
+ Best graphics this generation so far. This is Pixar quality people!
+ Gameplay is very well done.
+ Very fun to play
+ Crazy weapons that will have you trying different things out for days. Groovitron will rock you!
+ Good Lasting Appeal. Like all Rachet and Clank games this one will give you alot of mini games and reruns to keep you busy.
+ 12-15 hrs of regular game without counting the extras.

Cons:
- If your played the previous games, it may not seem as original...
Yeah I really have to reach to come out with a negative, sorry there just isnt much wrong with this game.

Don't believe me? How about the critics?

100/100 - GamePro
An amazing PS3 game that fully leverages the power of the console. It sets the bar high for not only the series but for all PS3 games to come. It is, without a doubt, reason enough to buy the system.

100/100 - GameTap
It's rare that a game critic feels the way I do about this game, but in all honesty, I find it really difficult to find something that's not to like. The controls feel great. The graphics look great. The score sounds great. The weapon selection alone make me want to play the game over and over again, just to test out all the cool offered.

95/100 - PSM Magazine
Combines absolutely jaw-dropping graphics with familiar platforming/shooting mechanics and genuinely funny humor to make one of the PS3's few true masterpieces.

94/100 - IGN
Not only has it supplanted Going Commando as the best title in the franchise, it's also the best game of any series on the PlayStation 3 thus far -- and that's saying a lot when you're up against Oblivion, Ninja Gaiden, Warhawk and Insomniac's very own previous effort, Resistance: Fall of Man.

New York Times - "This is like playing a Pixar movie"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's about time, October 24, 2007
By 
A Regular Joe (A Regular City, MI) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ratchet and Clank Future: Tools of Destruction - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Let's face it - you love the PS3 and everything about it, except the games that are out. You were wondering - when is that game going to come out that is going to make it truly irresistible to own the PS3 for those who are hesitant buying it just for the blu-ray movie value. This is that game! Our family has always been fans of the R&C series and own all the games except the PSP "Size Matters" game.

The graphics and sound are truly stunning in this game. I agree with the other reviewer who died looking at the backgrounds - you will keep falling off the map watching the graphics in the game. With this R&C you believe you are playing in a Pixar movie.

This is the game we have been waiting for - one that is truly playable and looks and sounds amazing. It's time to buy that PS3 if you don't own one already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a single player game that is a MUST OWN!!!, October 24, 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ratchet and Clank Future: Tools of Destruction - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I have a blast it's colorful the landscapes are amazing. Sometimes I died because I was too busy looking at the backgrounds. The PS3 finally has a chance to show its power. All in all it is a easy game to get into and is eaasy to play and understand. Great for all ages and levels of gamers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laughter is the best medicine. Ratchet will be your family doctor, October 24, 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ratchet and Clank Future: Tools of Destruction - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
This game probably has the highest production value and polish, comparing to any thing out in the market. A very clear example of how a game can be as fun as a Disney ride. Every chapter is different.. amazing environments, superb narration. Most importantly it is a very family friendly game. No non-sense vulgarity/violence. Every one in the family can sit and play together. So may times it will force you to put the controller down to laugh or you get mesmerized starring at the TV.

There are questions if this is a PS3 seller. I dont know the answer. But sure this is a HDTV seller. It will force you to sell your house to pay for 100000000" TV.

Probably this is the year for the return of good old school games. With Super Mario Galaxy coming in the next few days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, it is here!, October 28, 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ratchet and Clank Future: Tools of Destruction - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I waited impatiently for LAIR, and wasn't as pleased as I thought I'd be. I'm a HUGE Ratched & Clank fan, and I've been waiting for Future: Tools of Destruction for nearly as long.

I was NOT disappointed! In fact, it's taking a few extra towels to clean up the drool!!

This game is incredible fun, and incredibly beautiful! It sounds wonderful, and has great depth in the environments. This is definately the current crown jewel for the PS3, and is a MUST BUY for anyone w/ a PS3.

Insomniac has YET to let the Playstation community down, and this just proves they keep getting better.

BUY THIS GAME!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best PS3 game thus far, one of the best games overall, October 31, 2007
By 
D. Roberts (San Diego, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ratchet and Clank Future: Tools of Destruction - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I believe the game took me about 12 hours of gametime to beat and when I did, I immediatly started playing it again in challenge mode which is more difficult, you keep your weapons and armor but get to upgrade them more along with some other extras and hidden stuff. The graphics are superb. While I'd say maybe not quit as good as heavenly sword in terms of visual quality, overall it's better because the game runs at a rock solid 60fps and feels silky smooth the entire time. The sound is wonderful and you never feel alone because there's always dialogue with Clank or other characters in the background or cut scenes. The story is very funny and uplifting, it really makes you feel like you're watching a Pixar movie.

The game is one of the best game I've ever played. My all time favorite game is Super Metroid (SNES). I have loved many Sony, MS, and Nintendo games in the past so I'm no fanboy. If you're wondering if this is enough to buy a PS3 my response is a "qualified" yes. I would never spend $399 on a console for one game but, tons of other great games have recently been released or are coming soon.

You have:
Warhawk, Ratchet, Heavenly Sword, Ghost Recon, Rainbow Vegas Six, Guitar HeroIII, Oblivion and more now... and right around the corner you have Assassin's Creed, Uncharted: Drake's Fortune, UTIII and much, much more...

For those of you more interested in family gaming my four year old watched and was completely entertained the whole way through. Once the game was finished he responded with only one word: "Again". If you like this title for family gaming you'll be happy to hear there's a bunch more family oriented games on the way including what will be the most innovative title in years: Little Big Planet. It's coming around January and has already won several awards.

In conclusion, Ratchet and Clank Future: Tools of Destruction is a incredibly fun, attractive game that will put a smile on your face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just awsome, October 28, 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ratchet and Clank Future: Tools of Destruction - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
i can't even believe how good this game is. but its not just me, look at some websites that thought so too.

"In its own colorful way, this is as impressive as BioShock or Gears of War," Gameinformer.

"Ratchet Future is one of the best looking titles of 2007 and is easily the most attractive PlayStation 3 game to date,"IGN

"this is as much pure fun as you'll have this fall playing a video game," Gameinformer

"Starting with the opening cinematic to the very last moment, the game is a prime example of what developers can and should do with the platform,"
Gamepro

now some reviews so far:

5 out of 5 gamepro
9.25 gameinformer
9.4 out of 10 ign
9.0 EGM
9.5 PSM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You won't be able to stop playing.....it's THAT addictive!, May 8, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ratchet and Clank Future: Tools of Destruction - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I'd never played any Ratchet & Clank games before giving this one a test drive - and now it looks like I'll have to add the other games to my library. I can barely sit here and write this review, because I want to keep playing!

You play as Ratchet, the last known survivor of a catlike race known as the Lombaxes. Clank is your robot buddy, who spends most of his time strapped to your back, offering advice, or using a well-placed propeller to slow your fall. Your nemesis is Tachyon, the last survivor of the Cragmite race, who will accept nothing less than the complete domination of the universe.

Most of the time you'll be running around as Ratchet, trying to collect bolt points or Raritanium crystals to power up and purchase new weaponry. Every once in a while you get to play as Clank, and unlike other games where secondary characters may not be very fun to play, Clank has unique abilities like being able to slow time and control other characters. With a seamless menu, you can choose weapons, deploy items, wear costumes, take flight, and more. Your goal is to discover the Lombax secret, and stop Tachyon's tyrannic reign of terror.

Pros:

(1) The graphics are very crisp and clear, even on a non-HD television. The visuals are similar to the type used in the original Crash Bandicoot game, but with a Blu-Ray redux and a 3-D environment to explore.

(2) There is little bit of every kind of gameplay. Want to lay waste to hordes of enemies with a flamethrower? You can do that. Want to collect trinkets to upgrade your weapons? You can do that. Want to dance like a pirate and shake your booty? You can do that. Want to go rail-sliding like a skateboarder? You can do that. Want to avoid surface-to air rockets with the Sixaxis controller while free-falling? You can do that. Want to shoot down enemies in a spaceship? You can do that. Want to make your enemies dance to a disco ball before sending them to meet their maker? Yep, you can do that too!

(3) Having infinite lives. This game is designed to keep you entertained and keep you playing until the story ends... with infinite lives, you can keep trying to jump that chasm, fight that boss battle, or duck that laser until success is in your grasp. Kudos to the game designers for including this feature.

(4) The humor. From the computer countdown "Oops...3-2-1!" to Qwark's pleads of "I'm too handsome to die!", Ratchet & Clank had me chuckling all the way from the opening credits to the end titles. Some of the jokes remind me of the game Blasto - and there's more than one character presenting the jokes here.

(5) The secret goodies. It's no surprise that video games are less about high scores and more about unlocking secrets these days. There are secret weapons, character skins, hidden areas, and using a style similar to Resistance: Fall Of Man, there is a long list of "skill points" to unlock, which skyrockets the replay value. The requirements are not always clear, but there are more than enough internet sites to help you out.

Cons:

(1) The camera angles. Unfortunately, there are a few places where the "behind the back" camera angle can get stuck and the shaking becomes nauseating. Thankfully there aren't many of these, so it can be overlooked.

(2) The skill points. Yes, this is a positive, but it is also a negative. Most of the skill points are really fun to earn, but a few are next to impossible to achieve without an astronomically high level of patience. Those infinite lives will come in handy for the hardcore gamers.

(3) Weak boss fights. Almost every boss in this game can be defeated with little difficulty. While some people may feel games like God of War are too difficult, I think there should be a middle ground - and this game almost feels too easy at times.

In closing, if you had fun playing games like Blasto or Crash Bandicoot, you'll have a great time with Ratchet & Clank Future: Tools of Destruction. The rating of E+10 means that pretty much anyone can play the game and enjoy it.

And enjoy it you shall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ratchet and Clank Future: Tools of Destruction - Playstation 3
Ratchet and Clank Future: Tools of Destruction - Playstation 3 by Sony Computer Entertainment (PlayStation 3)
$24.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.