Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great occult horror film, especially for an Indie!
I've watched a fair amount of independent horror films and I have to say that the production values on this one were much better than the standard fare.

Story line was great, I loved the plot twists... especially the early and unexpected one. Acting was pretty darn good too, these aren't of the caliber of your multi-million dollar actors, but it was good...
Published on July 8, 2011 by M. Steinmeyer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sets good tone from the start... Bam!
Ratline is a great example of independent and low-budget film making. Deadwood Park and Ratline are the best Eric Stanze Wicked Pixel Cinema films I have seen. Eric Stanze and company get better with each film the produce. Ratline is definitely worth your time delivering an awesome opening 20 minutes and a very interesting albeit complicated plot. The ending whiffs a bit...
Published 21 months ago by Luis Velazquez


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great occult horror film, especially for an Indie!, July 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ratline (Amazon Instant Video)
I've watched a fair amount of independent horror films and I have to say that the production values on this one were much better than the standard fare.

Story line was great, I loved the plot twists... especially the early and unexpected one. Acting was pretty darn good too, these aren't of the caliber of your multi-million dollar actors, but it was good work.

The makeup and special effects were a highlight of the film, frankly some of the best makeup and best looking corpses I've ever seen.

Last but not least the soundtrack was awesome, I especially loved the ending. Whoever picked the music did a superb job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not that gory, but a great indie film, June 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ratline (DVD)
Takes a implausible story line and really makes it work. Camera work and acting for a indie film was really first rate. Don't be sucked in by the supposedly extreme gore scenes claimed by other reviewers, it is not that bad. The filmmaker set out to do a really good horror/suspense indie B-Film and succeeds in spades. I definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sets good tone from the start... Bam!, December 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ratline (Amazon Instant Video)
Ratline is a great example of independent and low-budget film making. Deadwood Park and Ratline are the best Eric Stanze Wicked Pixel Cinema films I have seen. Eric Stanze and company get better with each film the produce. Ratline is definitely worth your time delivering an awesome opening 20 minutes and a very interesting albeit complicated plot. The ending whiffs a bit but that should not detract you from giving the film a viewing and enjoying it. Check it out. CouchZombie.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gore, boobs and Nazis ? Yes please., August 13, 2012
By 
Baub (Austin, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ratline (Amazon Instant Video)
This is schlock horror , legit. Initially a perplexing story line not short on the gore and full frontal nudity.Once you get past the "just make it up as you go" Satanic ritual you get an interesting tale of Nazi occultism and peculiar synchronicity.There are some genuinely disturbing moments with and without gore. The acting is decent , nothing horribly awkward, the actress portraying Penny stands out above the rest of the cast, acting far more natural and believable than her fellow thespians ...that and she's ridiculously cute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Horror Junkie's Review: Surprise, surprise, quite good for my tastes..., July 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ratline (Amazon Instant Video)
I love occult, especially Satanic themed movies. Not so much the latter here but definitely the former. Yes, its a lo budget, indie flick. No, its not in the horrorible subgenre. The camera work is competent, and the visual and audio quality is totally adequate. Hooray- there's an actual, fully fleshed out story here. Somebody wrote a whole script and a good one at that! The acting ranged from competent to eh but the latter wasn't distracting. I knew nothing about the story line going in and I'm glad, as half the fun and the impact of the film was the gradual reveal of what was going on. Hint, hint, when the movie description doesn't identify itself as a "zombie", "possession", "Nazi (ahem)," "_____________" movie, it may just be because the movie maker doesn't want to ruin it for the audience. Especially, when the issue is gradually revealed, quite carefully, and intelligently, so that when the curtain is finally ripped wide open, there's an actual IMPACT! Putting that in the review, and even worse, in the headline for the review, is just.... lame. I don't want to trip the Amazon censors so I'll be nice. The main protagonist is great. I really loved her and loved rooting for her. The one who steps up to be the co-protagonist also did a fine job. They had chemistry and the actresses had a gift for understatement and communicating emotion subtly. I enjoyed watching them. The main antagonist was a worthy one and carried his role well. I loved how the film kicked off, with the lame-o wannabe Satanists running into their intended victim. Hahahahaha! That was a great scene. And I love, love, loved the dialogue in the scene that introduced them. The sacrifice in particular. I was thinking the same thing before the character even said it: Satan would definitely NOT be pleased by an animal sacrifice. So, grow a set, Satanists. Stop picking on the helpless animals that, if you believe in that kind of Satan, i.e. the one born out of the Christian bible, animals who don't even have a soul anyway, so what's your point?! (That's not my worldview... just saying, where's the logic if its yours?) Anyway, overall, well done. I was satisfied by the ending as well, though I did feel sad when... well, can't say it because it would spoil it. Good job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All the disgusting joy and familiar frustration that comes with independent horror, May 7, 2012
By 
This review is from: Ratline (DVD)
Director Eric Stanze's Scrapbook and his latest offering Ratline are perfect examples of why independent horror films have a passionate but limited fanbase. Shocking moments of hardcore violence, graphic nudity, plus dark, intense storylines that might make you mess your shorts. Barf baggin good sick times.

Budgets for these types of flicks are usually hard to muster up though. Acting is usually atrocious. The stories often don't flow evenly. Plus there will likely be some groan-inducing moments that defy all logic. Like the vulcan neck pinch or one punch knockout scenarios. Everybody turns into ninja Mike Tysons in many of these flicks, and sometimes it causes some unintentional laughter.

Well, you can expect all of that type of stuff in this movie. Devil worshipping, full frontal nudity, decapitations, bloody mayhem with an evil Nazi backstory...all of this offset by horrid acting, a few slow moments, and some questionable developments that are kinda hard to buy into.

So expect to cringe, to cheer, to chuckle, and probably shake your head. This doesn't come close to the uncomfortable realism that Scrapbook obtained, but stepped up with some bloody action and kills. All in all it's a great attempt at something original that will please many low budget horror fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellence from Wicked Pixel, August 4, 2011
This review is from: Ratline (Amazon Instant Video)
If you want to experience something different than your usual horror fair, Ratline is right up your alley.

If you want to see real film making, don't grab the latest rehashed multimillion dollar Hollywood nonsense, take a look at Ratline. You won't regret it. It starts off with the slam bang drop-you-into-the-story style that was really popular in the 70's. Then get set for the slow burn. Slow burn isn't an accurate description because it implies there isn't a lot of action going on. Quite the contrary.

If you haven't experienced a Wicked Pixel movie, this is a good start. I would recommend Deadwood Park as a must view after this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Suspence and horror rule!, March 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ratline (Amazon Instant Video)
Kudos all around to those involved in this modern day psycho drama! Eric Stanze's direction is spot on and Emily Haack and Jason Christ deliver stand out performances! Check this film out! If you like an intelligent thriller as well as suspence and twists then you are in good company!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, October 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ratline (DVD)
Ordered this movie because I met Jason Christ, He was telling me about several of his movies that he was in or he was the screen writer on them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nazi's Decapitations and Nudity Oh My !, June 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ratline (Amazon Instant Video)
This film was nuts. Very low budget but well done effects and the acting was good. The actors have no qualms about how they are portrayed which frees them up to go anywhere. I really enjoyed the strangeness of the film and the script kept me guessing. If you are a fan of freaky weird stuff, I highly recommend Ratline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ratline
Ratline by Eric Stanze (DVD - 2011)
$26.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.