Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for Ascaso Dream owners., January 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rattleware 57-Milimeter Aluminum Tamper (Kitchen)
- "expensive" burr grinder: Check.
- "expensive" espresso machine with cheap plastic tamper: Check.
- Fresh coffee beans from a local source: Check.

The ability to get the elusive "23 second press": Nope. :(

If you have an Ascaso Dream espresso machine, you have a 57mm portafilter and the "norm" is 58mm. This limits your choices and increases the cost of admission. The Rattleware tamper is as utilitarian as you can get, and it was the cheapest 57mm tamper available (at $20). It's solid, machined aluminum (flat bottom) and anodized clear. Before buying this tamper, I couldn't get tight enough pack on the coffee in my portafilter. I surfed grind size, but everything ended up being too fast and my espresso wasn't coming out right. The tamper was the key and let me get a decent press time.

It fits the portafilter well and you can feel safe in tamping your coffee and not breaking it (like the plastic one included with the Dream). If you need a heavy tamp on your coffee, I recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, effective device, April 6, 2010
By 
BigDaddyP (Houston, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rattleware 57-Milimeter Aluminum Tamper (Kitchen)
This is a very simple tamper. It looks exactly like the picture and looks well machines. There aren't sharp edges and looks like a nice piece of aluminum. One thing to keep in mind is that it is very light and it takes more force to actually get 30 pounds of force on your filter. So, make sure to try it out with a scale first and learn how it feels to put 30 pounds of force.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good investment, November 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rattleware 57-Milimeter Aluminum Tamper (Kitchen)
I am using this with Ascaso Dream. This provides concistancy with tamping as compared to the cheap plastic piece that I was using prior to it. It has made a big difference in the taste of my espresso shots. It feels solid. Only drawback is that some grinds tend to stick on the bottom and need to be wiped after each use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does the job and a reasonable price, June 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rattleware 57-Milimeter Aluminum Tamper (Kitchen)
A tamper isn't rocket science. You are basically buying something that fits in your portafilter and does the job - it doesn't have to be fancy. This tamper is light but works perfectly well. You can get heavier and prettier, but you'll pay for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for the price!, November 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rattleware 57-Milimeter Aluminum Tamper (Kitchen)
What can I say, it's a good tamper and it's cheap(er than most) other tampers I've seen...fits the Ascaso Dream portafilter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nice weight, comfortable, September 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rattleware 57-Milimeter Aluminum Tamper (Kitchen)
I picked this up for my La Pavoni which has a 57mm basket.

This is a good item, solid and well constructed. I'd give it 5 stars if it was 1/2 mm larger in final dimension, but it's better than anything else I've found!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it.., July 29, 2013
By 
Tony G. (Montreal, QC Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rattleware 57-Milimeter Aluminum Tamper (Kitchen)
Couldn't find any decent 57mm tamper locally for my Mokita Super Inox Combi unit (found plenty of 58mm and plenty of 56mm, but everyone looked at me funny when I'd ask for a 57mm)..
Ordered this one.. price was right, and fit like a glove.. Have had it for just over 3 years, and still works like a charm and still looks like new..

Nice solid feel to it.. Great tamper if you need a 57mm unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Works with Ecopads, September 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rattleware 57-Milimeter Aluminum Tamper (Kitchen)
I use mine to tamp coffee into ecopads for use with Senseo pod machines. While I think the thing is a bit over-priced, the 57mm size is an exact fit and it works very well. I guess that makes it worth the money and a 5 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, November 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rattleware 57-Milimeter Aluminum Tamper (Kitchen)
Great feel. Heavier than I expected being aluminium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rattleware 57-Milimeter Aluminum Tamper
$28.11
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.