Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Ravi Shankar In Portrait: Between Two Worlds / Live in Concert
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
8
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$16.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 16, 2009
Disc 1 is great, with Ravi explaining the structure of classical Indian music, his relationship with his students (including his daughter, who performs with him on disc 2) and his school; you'll also meet Mrs. Shankar and see their obviously loving relationship. Disc 2 is the reason you want this. It features two long ragas performed in concert, and they're quite astonishing. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is a personal hang up I have about film directors cutting to extreme close ups of musicians every time they smile or nod. Fortunately, that doesn't happen too often, but there it is. The concert was filmed in a beautiful place and the sound is also wonderful.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2013
A big deluxe chocolate-box of Shankar-related goodies: a full-length film/autobiography (you even get to see/hear brother Uday Shankar's dance troupe performing, with teenage Ravi on sitar), a concert of two ragas, with daughter Anouska not doing much but holding a sitar beautifully and smiling warmly on Daddy; Shankar's relaxed and informative lecture on "What Is a Raga", and more, MORE! Glittering stuff. Whether you're seeking an introduction to North Indian classical Music, or you've been into it ever since your hippy youth and fancy yourself a connesseur (albiet with with Western ears), here's a double-disk to treasure.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2016
I was a bit disappointed with this DVD purchase. It has over 3 hours of recordings on two discs, but only one hour of his actual concert. The rest is documentary stuff, like the theory of Indian Classical music, which does not interest me. The one hour of concert is almost worth the price of this DVD though. Those who want to dig deeper into Indian Classical music and into Ravi Shankar's long career will get their money's worth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2012
The first disc tells the viewer quite abit about Shankar's early life which was very interesting. It also tells us about the Senia Maihair Gharana, the school of playing that Shankar was educated in. It has some great shots of India. The sound and videography is excellent.

The second disc is concert footage. It is recent and Shankar is quite old. He does not display the same level of virtuosity as he did in the past, but he displays playing of great beauty and taste. I really enjoyed it, but it is not enthralling as a younger musician with reserves of strength and passion would display. If memory serves me correctly, one is a jugalbandi with his daughter.

One of the things that you see with Hindustani music is that the Gharana and the performing musician as the "family business" is really business is jealously protected. The younger musicians are very much promoted by the famous and more established musician. I cannot help but think that the featuring of Anoushka Shankar fits this mold. She is okay and very pleasant to look at, but she does not strike me as a formidable sitar player at this time. It is also fun to have two tabla players playing off each other.

I highly recommend this set.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2013
The late RAVI SHANKAR's music will be missed,i saw him at the carnegie hall while back and it did opened my soul about his musical art with his sitar,his daughter ANOUSHKA was by his side and together they played for us beautiful themes,i do really love his music,so peaceful and evasive and so deep,God bless him,thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2015
Have been fans since the 60's and are so glad to have him on video
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2014
Nothing much than expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2009
Very wonderful, informative, and enjoyable DVD.

Some history of Ravi and how he came to play the sitar.

Told who he influenced. Showed his wife and daughter/
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.