Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the gold standard in western excellence
The greatest western there has ever been or ever will be is Rawhide!
Outstanding western series! Keep them coming Paramount! It's true that Gil and Rowdy rule and Rawhide is #1!

episodes for the second half of Season 2 are
39. Incident at Tinker's Dam (2/5/1960)
40. Incident of the Night Horse (2/19/1960)
41. Incident of the Sharpshooter...
Published on September 9, 2007 by pen name

versus
15 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rawhide doesn't Ride Tall
I could be urged to give 5 stars to this show, but I just can't do it. Rawhide was one of the best western series for television and it sure deserved 5 stars... but not the product released by greedy Paramount. For it, only 1 star, nothing else. Two volumes for a complete season 2 at $38.99 each (official price) means $ 77.98 for a single season! This is a very high...
Published on October 26, 2007 by Luiz A. Sampaio


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the gold standard in western excellence, September 9, 2007
This review is from: Rawhide: Season 2, Vol. 2 (DVD)
The greatest western there has ever been or ever will be is Rawhide!
Outstanding western series! Keep them coming Paramount! It's true that Gil and Rowdy rule and Rawhide is #1!

episodes for the second half of Season 2 are
39. Incident at Tinker's Dam (2/5/1960)
40. Incident of the Night Horse (2/19/1960)
41. Incident of the Sharpshooter (2/26/1960)
42. Incident of the Dust Flower (3/4/1960)
43. Incident at Sulphur Creek (3/11/1960)
44. Incident of the Champagne Bottles (3/18/1960)
45. Incident of the Stargazer (4/1/1960)
46. Incident of the Dancing Death (4/8/1960)
47. Incident of the Arana Sacar (4/22/1960)
48. Incident of the Deserter (4/29/1960)
49. Incident of the One Hundred Amulets (5/6/1960)
50. Incident of the Murder Steer (5/13/1960)
51. Incident of the Music Maker (5/20/1960)
52. Incident of the Silent Web (6/3/1960)
53. Incident of the Last Chance (6/10/1960)
54. Incident of the Garden of Eden (6/17/1960)

All episodes are excellent. Some early highlight include Night Horse which is packed with action from both man and beast! Sharpshooter is a timeless classic.
After so much waiting and the cruel betrayal of Columbia House, who had started making DVDs available in 2003, uncut and in series order but then abruptly stopped August 2004, Parmount has come to the rescue!
Eric Fleming is amazing as Gil Favor in this seris, there's no one else like him. Rowdy is also incredible in this series. The details of the old west in this series are fantastic. They don't make anything like it nowadays and we'll probably never see anything like it again.
Thank you Paramount!

Here's a great editorial review for Rawhide below

Like anyone growing up in the late fifties and early sixties I watched as much television as possible. Remember that this was the era of the eleven inch, black and white screen, the single three inch speaker and the universal remote was the youngest family member who had to get up to turn the knobs. This was also the golden years of television. The series that were around back then created the genres that are still around decades later. There was also something special about TV back then, it was the era of the western. Every single boy had a cowboy hat, boots and play six shooter. Even the girls refused to be left out and clamored for a fringe skirt cowgirl outfit and hat. The vast majority of television programming was dedicated to the American old west. Every network, all three of them, filled their schedules with one variation of the theme after another. Most of those series are now only a small footnote in the history of television. Several remain today as cult classics and the undisputed leaders in this field. After `Gunsmoke' one TV western still stands above the rest `Rawhide'. This was `THE' show to watch back then. We kids would put on our cowboy gear, make the coffee table into a covered wagon and sit there mesmerized by the action. This is more than an old television show; for many of us this is a piece of our personal history.
The folks over at Paramount Pictures have the most incredible vault of classic television series imaginable. Anybody would love to be able to sit there for a month or two watching the myriad of shows they have on tap. Since this is not a likely prospect it is very fortunate that Paramount has been in a sharing mood. Lately they have been bringing out DVD set after set of series from these golden years. Now they have the second volume of the second season and like the previous ones, it is fantastic. The thing about `Rawhide' is it may have been one of the most famous television westerns but it was not very typical of the genre. Most westerns had the required action. There were good guys with white hats and bad one wearing black and the Native Americans, `Indians' back then, where rarely more than savages. Rawhide took a different slant. It was a dramatic series that just happened to be set in the old west. The six-shooter was there but not as important as the moral and emotional dilemmas the characters faced each week. The stories were centered on the characters over mindless action. It was possible to do this back then. Now so much of television has degenerated into mindless pap that it is easy to forget just how powerful this medium is. In those days everything was new and the studios were willing to take a chance. Rawhide stands the test of time because it dared to be different. So bring in the youngsters and let them see television the way it was meant to be. If they complain just make them stand behind the TV holding a set of rabbit ear antennas like we had to.
The premise of the series is elegant in its simplicity following the lives a group of cowboys working on a cattle drive. Many westerns showed cowboys riding around, shooing cattle now and again but it always felt like the cowpokes really didn't have a whole lot to do. This series depicted the arduous struggle to move a heard of cattle from one location to another. It was a daily hardship battling the weather, rustlers, the cattle and even each other. The drama of the series came organically from the realism of the characters and stories. These were the kind of men that built the west. At the head of the chain of command is Gil Favor (Eric Fleming), the trail boss. He is the one in command of the drovers and support staff on the drive. He is a man who has been around and seen it all. Although he is grizzled and tough he is also fair. His right hand man is Rowdy Yates (Clint Eastwood), the ramrod. It is up to him to work along side the men making sure they do things right. While the men keep the cattle in line it is up to Rowdy to keep them moving in the right direction. Also in constant attendance is Wishbone (Paul Brinegar) the camp cook. He you are responsible for providing a group of hungry cowboys with chow you have to be ready for just about anything. He depends on his assistant Mushy (James Murdock). One of the senior wranglers is Hey Soos (Robert Cabal) he is not a stranger to getting into trouble. Usually there to scout out the land ahead is Pete Nolan (Sheb Wooley).
This series doesn't look or feel like a television show at all. It is more like short, 50 minute, movies. The production quality here is spectacular. There is more emphasis on the plot than action. The fight scenes are just a small part of the series and this set it apart from the large pack of westerns back then. Life on a long cattle drive was shown in a realistic fashion. On such a trek boredom was the real enemy. Cowpokes looking for some excitement on their down time would head off to the nearest town and typically get into some mess or another. There are also plenty of slice of life shots. In one the men side around the chuck wagon, the center of cattle drive society, and grab a snack, mend their clothes, get in a snooze or tend to their saddles. These quite times were usually disrupted by some form of mayhem. Either it is a group of cattle rustlers out to steal the heard or an Indiana attack that forces the cowboys into action. Each episode was titles `Incident at ...' which is extremely fitting. These stories are notable incidents on an otherwise routine cattle drive.
Every episode begins with Gil waxing philosophically about some aspect of his line of work. Whether it is how the good Lord swells a little stream so it takes days to cross or the economics of bringing in the heard on time and in sellable shape Gil gets to show off his deeper side. This was also the series that made a star out of Clint Eastwood. He is more than an actor; he is a true renaissance man who has achieved fame as an actor, director, jazz musician, composer and even a politician. This is where it all began for him. He could stare down the meanest bad guy with a single stare and if necessary back it up with his six-shooter. Also gaining a good deal of fame here was the singer of the theme song, Frankie Lane. This song has lived on long after the series was cancelled and is known throughout the world.
Paramount certainly took care of the original elements of this series. The black and white full screen video is incredibly clear. There is a little speck every so often but over all the video is excellent. This is better than I remember the show ever being. the Dolby 2.0 mono is clear and without flaw. These episodes are completely re-mastered and it shows. Typical of an older television set for Paramount there are no extras included. That really doesn't matter here; the series is a great buy on its own. This is a must have for everyone that appreciates quality television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the show, don't care about the cost., December 21, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rawhide: Season 2, Vol. 2 (DVD)
I just don't get all the snivveling about the price...the complete set of season two at Amazon's price costs me $5-10 more (depending on the day) than filling the gas tank in my TRUCK! I can attest that this series will be in my posession a lot longer than a tank of gas in my truck & I'll for sure get much more enjoyment from it. :D

As always, I love the series & am thankful that it's being released for my (our) enjoyment. Thank you, Paramount & keep 'em commin!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two gorgeous men, November 2, 2007
By 
Original fan (Killingworth, CT, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rawhide: Season 2, Vol. 2 (DVD)
Two gorgeous men on horseback. What's not to love? I fell in love with Gil Favor as a teenager watching Rawhide as it was first run on tv. I'm just thrilled that Paramount is making Rawhide available again in all its glory. I hope Paramount keeps rollin', rollin', rollin' the seasons out as soon as possible until I can finally have the complete set of the series. But they better hurry up. After all, many potential customers who saw Rawhide when it was first broadcast may start dying off soon. Roll 'em out, Paramount, please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, December 19, 2007
By 
This review is from: Rawhide: Season 2, Vol. 2 (DVD)
Impressed with Rawhide! I'm buying this for myself and several more as Christmas gifts including the second season 2 pack! Highly recommended! The first season and the first installment of the second season had me sold! I'm eagerly waiting for season 3 now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff, March 23, 2008
This review is from: Rawhide: Season 2, Vol. 2 (DVD)
This is much better than the reruns you see on TV. The clarity is so good that you will really enjoy and see how great a show rawhide was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Head 'em up and move 'em out! More please!, April 26, 2008
By 
D. E. Young (Halstead, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rawhide: Season 2, Vol. 2 (DVD)
I waited years to get my hands on the complete series' of this all time great western series RAWHIDE. Eric Fleming was a great star and actor. I understand that HE was the original one who was asaked to play "The man with no name" - he passed on it and handed it to Clint to see if it interested him - the rest is history. Of course this was a few more years down the line, there are many more great episodes and seasons to enjoy yet. Can't wait to get my hands on season 3. It's a bit of a shame that Clint is given the highlight on the covers when to be honest it was Eric Flemings AND Clint's show ... in that order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rawhide: A Classic Western, September 17, 2007
By 
This review is from: Rawhide: Season 2, Vol. 2 (DVD)
The good thing about our country is that everyone is entitled to their own opinion. In my opinion, I am thrilled to know that the Rawhide series continues to be offered. It far outshines many series being offered today on DVD, and it is my hope that, eventually, the entire series will be available. I anxiously await the release of Season 2, Volume 2, and would encourage any fan of Westerns to purchase the Rawhide series for timeless enjoyment of a real classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gil Favor rides again- and I can't wait!, September 21, 2007
This review is from: Rawhide: Season 2, Vol. 2 (DVD)
I can't wait to get my hands on volume 2 of season 2 of the finest ever western series RAWHIDE. It will be great to have pristine quality prints of each episode and to see Eric Fleming as tough as nails Trail Boss- Gil Favor. There's never been anyone close to him. I don't think the price is high at all. I live in the U.K. and it costs more for me to order it in from the USA- it's worth every cent ( penny in U.K) I really do hope they release every season. They will providing all the true fans get out there and buy it.If you don't buy it we won't see more will we? The trouble with reviewers telling us not to buy,it just to complain is that they are not grasping the solid fact that to do so will stop the release of further Rawhide sets, we, Rawhide true fans can't do that- we want these sets asap, and they are such good value for money no matter what others say, compare these prices to the old video, 2 episodes at a time and much, much more expensive. Let's be grateful for these releases, let's support them and keep 'em coming, I want to see all 8 seasons of Rawhide asap , so let's get out there and buy these sets of this terific show.Poor Eric Fleming died tragically and at last we can relive his classic portrayal of trail boss, Gil Favor , and in such superb quality. We are lucky to be able to do so., let's not ruin the opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Cowboy With Real Cows, May 24, 2009
This review is from: Rawhide: Season 2, Vol. 2 (DVD)
This classic television series holds up quite well, all things considering and especially in comparison with later products like The Wild Wild West, which were very obviously shot on back-lots or locations in the near vicinity of Griffith Park. No expense seems to have been spared for "Rawhide" as regards to locations, props and the essential livestock. It became a bit of a joke later on, for TV westerns to be ostensibly set on a cattle ranch with never a cow actually to be seen, but this series managed to escape that "stock" situation. Just as well, considering that it was supposed to take place during a cattle drive from Texas to rail heads in Kansas just after the Civil War, and the movement of a large group of cattle is absolutely central to much of the various episode plots. Quite a lot of action takes place out of doors, on horseback and in conjunction with the aforementioned herd of cattle, and such location shoots are integrated fairly seamlessly with the sound-staged moments. Oddly enough, the fact that it is in black and white lends something of an air of realism to the show; everyone generally appears authentically grubby, sweaty and hard-working.

The episodes contained in this four-disc collection were originally broadcast in 1960. In many ways the show is in peak form; the characters of tough and gritty trail boss Gil Favor (Eric Fleming) and his drovers are well-enough developed, but not yet worn out. There are all kinds of fresh angles to find out about the characters - Wishbone the cook (Paul Brinegar), Pete Nolan (Sheb Woolley) and cowhand Rowdy Yates (Clint Eastwood - yes, that Clint Eastwood). Eastwood is not actually the top bill in the series credits - the appearance of the box cover art to the contrary. Eric Fleming was very much the series star; the series was canceled very shortly after he departed the show in the mid 1960s. While watching this series, my daughter and I wondered why we had never seen him in anything else; he played an immensely likable and complicated character, and the show was popular all during its' eight season run. It turns out that he was drowned in an accident on location for another adventure show within a year or so after leaving the cast of "Rawhide".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rawhide's worth it, October 19, 2007
This review is from: Rawhide: Season 2, Vol. 2 (DVD)
Rawhide is by far the best of all the TV westerns. The only one with this much gritty, trail-weary realism -- and with the superb Eric Fleming, who leads the drive in the role of trailboss Gil Favor. For the Eastwood fans, there's the opportunity to not only watch their hero in the role that made him famous, but also to watch him develop a character over the long term. His Rowdy Yates character never ceased to evolve throughout Rawhide's long run. And this set contains some of the series' best episodes -- made when the show had truly hit its stride, when the characters had been fully fleshed out, and before the series had lost Sheb Wooley as trail scout Pete Nolan. In short, buy this -- You won't be sorry you did. There's only one warning that should be given to those unfamiliar with Rawhide: This series is highly addictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rawhide: Season 2, Vol. 2
Rawhide: Season 2, Vol. 2 by Clint Eastwood (DVD - 2007)
$39.98 $20.14
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.