Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reissue of country duets album
Most of the albums in the Super hits series of albums are greatest hits collections, but this is a straight re-issue of Ray's 1984 album of duets with country singers, originally titled Friendship. It was originally released on vinyl, then later on CD with the same artwork. That version of the CD was replaced by this album, but the title Super hits is very confusing...
Published on September 30, 2003 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Country, Country, Country...
My favorite part of this CD is the first fifty seconds of "This Old Heart". I was looking for recent blues work and discovered Ray Charles from Tony Bennett's "Play'n With My Friends...". I immediately wanted to hear more of that kind of Ray Charles, but this release is all C&W style. If you don't like the C&W style then you probably won't...
Published on November 21, 2001 by Justin Cook


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reissue of country duets album, September 30, 2003
This review is from: Ray Charles & Friends: Super Hits (Audio CD)
Most of the albums in the Super hits series of albums are greatest hits collections, but this is a straight re-issue of Ray's 1984 album of duets with country singers, originally titled Friendship. It was originally released on vinyl, then later on CD with the same artwork. That version of the CD was replaced by this album, but the title Super hits is very confusing. (More recently, the album has been re-issued again, this time with the original artwork and title but re-mastered and with two bonus tracks.)

It is fitting that Ray should have recorded this album - after all, he recorded R+B versions of country songs back in the sixties and took them high in the pop charts including I can't stop loving you, a number one in Britain and America. Those records didn't sound country, but twenty years later, here is Ray singing country and having a great time doing it.

The big hit here (a country number one) is Seven Spanish angels, the duet with Willie Nelson that closes the album. I love all the songs but I particularly like Who cares (with Janie Fricke, the only female singer featured), Two old cats like us (with Hank Williams Junior) and We didn't see a thing (with George Jones and Chet Atkins). Other guests include Johnny Cash, B J Thomas, Ricky Skaggs, Merle Haggard and the Oak ridge boys.

This is an upbeat country album that shows just how talented Ray Charles was - one of the few singers equally brilliant in several different genres of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME CD, October 29, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Ray Charles & Friends: Super Hits (Audio CD)
This CD is one of the best CD's I've ever purchased. If you're a Ray Charles fan, it's a must for your collection. Also, it's extremely hard to find in stores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seven Spanish Angels Worth the Price of the Entire CD, July 18, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Ray Charles & Friends: Super Hits (Audio CD)
I remember in my youthful drinking days that the bartenders knew when to start calling the cabs...it was the 7th chorus of Seven Spanish Angels.
Hearing that song again sung by the Genius Charles and the master Nelson brought back so many memories.
They make it a beautiful wondrous song once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great, fun Country & Western album, October 4, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Ray Charles & Friends: Super Hits (Audio CD)
A few people, Frank Sinatra, Willie Nelson, and Ray Charles are such brilliant musicians that when other people play with them the other people sound better than they normally do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My entire family's favorite album!, June 13, 2003
By 
C. Muckle "PepperFan" (West Covina, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ray Charles & Friends: Super Hits (Audio CD)
Young or old you just won't be able to resist the great energy of this album!
Even the more soulful cuts will leave you taping your toes. Get it today. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Country, Country, Country..., November 21, 2001
By 
This review is from: Ray Charles & Friends: Super Hits (Audio CD)
My favorite part of this CD is the first fifty seconds of "This Old Heart". I was looking for recent blues work and discovered Ray Charles from Tony Bennett's "Play'n With My Friends...". I immediately wanted to hear more of that kind of Ray Charles, but this release is all C&W style. If you don't like the C&W style then you probably won't enjoy this. Not to say the performances aren't excellent. Next time i'll, bite the bullet and install RealAudio so that I can listen to the song samples BEFORE purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, January 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Variety of songs with a variety of singers and sound good music.
Besides, one of my friends plays lead guitar solo on one of the songs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ray Charles & Friends super hits, February 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ray Charles & Friends: Super Hits (Audio CD)
I really enjoy Ray Charles' music anytime and with his "friends" the music is even better. I like music that is soothing to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ray Charles Superhits, December 11, 2012
By 
R. East (Old Monroe, Mo.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Having been a fan of Ray Charles for many years I'm very happy with this purchase. I've enjoyed it very much. I'd recommend to any fan of Ray Charles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great music, December 9, 2012
By 
Chaco D. Rathke (New Orleans, La USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very nice music with excellent beat.
Been listening while driving and got me addicted.
Looking forward to listening to more of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ray Charles & Friends: Super Hits
Ray Charles & Friends: Super Hits by Ray Charles (Audio CD - 1998)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 2 to 3 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.