Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars42
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$15.92+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 23, 2013
All the books written by Dan Gutman make for an excellent library series. I bot these for my son who teaches third grade and his better readers can handle these books and he reads the others to the class.I would highly recommend these series as I read the one about Roberto Clemente.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2014
Ray Chapman was the only person ever killed by a baseball (at least in the major leagues.) Ever wonder why they all have to wear helmets now? They're all grownups, after all. In this book you'll learn the tragic story of Ray, and of the poor guy who threw the ball. A great pitcher, but never remembered for anything else, unfortunately for him. Another excellent Baseball Card Adventure!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2010
.....Dan Gutman's "Ray and Me" is an excellent baseball fantasy story. The story follows Joe Stoshack, better known as Stosh, who has the ability to travel back to any point in time by holding a baseball card from that year. After his Little League coach, Flip, asks him to pitch instead of playing shortstop, he is hit in the head with a baseball and wakes up from a coma two weeks later in the hospital. Flip, now sorry he insisted Stosh play pitcher, tells him about Ray Chapman. Chapman was a major league baseball player who, on August 16, 1920, was hit in the head by a pitch from Carl Mays and died that night. That one pitch ended Chapman's life and essentially ended Mays's career. Knowing about Stosh's powers, Flip gives him a Carl Mays baseball card and encourages him to travel back and try to save Chapman's life. He is shocked to realize his power no longer work. It is only after a few weeks of recovery that the tingling sensations from holding a baseball card return to Stosh, and his powers work again. He immediately goes back in time using the Mays card. He tries to save Chapman's life, bringing a batting helmet with him (a safety device that didn't exist in the 1920s).
.....This story is a fantastic combination of baseball history and time-traveling fantasy. It combines the life of Ray Chapman, a real person who is the only major league player to die from a pitch, with the life of Joe Stoshack, a fictional Little Leaguer with the power to travel back in time. It fantastically depicts what might have happened on August 16, 1920. This is why I think "Ray and Me" deserves five out of five stars.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2014
My son is a good reader, but would much rather be outside playing than reading. That being said, he has thoroughly enjoyed this series! He has read all of them, loving the non - fiction component of these real sport hero's lives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2014
This is another baseball fantasy story. While holding up his magic baseball card, Stosh travels back in time to try and save Ray Chapman who dies after being hit by a pitched baseball. Wow!
The reality of this exciting baseball thriller is when Stosh becomes a pitcher for a Little League team after playing third base.
Back in time Stosh takes a batting helmet with him as a safety device that didn't exist back in the 1920's. It's hard for me to believe sometimes that batting helmets is a necessity in baseball today. I suppose when I see a baseball player wearing a batting helmet I merely take it for granted.
This is a fantastic baseball story that combines baseball history with traveling back in time. Chapman is the only person that I know of who ever died after being hit by a pitched baseball. Kids won't want to put this story down until they read the last page. I strongly recommend this book for kids of all ages. I give "Ray & Me" five stars and I'm Marvin P. Ferguson, author of THE UNKNOWN BASEBALL PLAYER.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2013
My 11 year old loved this books. He loves sports, and hates reading. These Dan Gutman books have him enjoying reading again! Since school started a month ago, he has gone through 3 and 1/2 Dan Gutman books so far. I am so happy to see he has an interest in reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2016
I have so many reasons why I loved the book Ray and Me by Dan Gutman. Dan Gutman has a way to connect to all readers of any level or interest and make them want to keep reading! In the book Ray and Me, Dan writes about a true character but gives it a twist. Dan also writes about historical things such as Babe Ruth's "Called Shot" but then gives a resolution to what really happened.

I love how this book connects to more than just baseball fans and makes the reader want to keep reading. The book Ray and Me has many exciting moments. It is unpredictable on what will happen. In Ray and Me, a main character Joe, has compassion for Ray and tries to save him from dying by getting hit in the head with a baseball. Joe has compassion for Ray because Joe has been hit in the head with a baseball. Luckily people wear helmets now unlike back in the books setting.

In the book Ray and Me, Dan writes about historical things but gives it a twist by adding different character that don't exist but add so much to the story. Dan Gutman makes the characters seem as they are right next to you playing catch or running from trouble. In the book Joe has a weird time adjusting to the way people lived back then. Joe tried his best to not bring up T.V.'s or modern things like that.

I highly recommend this book to everybody no matter how old you are or what you interests are. Dan Gutman defiantly directed this book to more than just baseball fans. This is a book that all people from ages around 10 and older can read and talk about because of the way it was written. I also highly recommend checking out more of Dan Gutman's books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2013
Purchased several in the same series and all are great for middle schoolers who like sports books with a twist. I put them on Kindle so that we read a chapter aloud and then listen to a chapter. Reluctant readers who enjoy baseball will enjoy these books. I tutor an 8th grader and we both enjoyed the books. The main character in the book is about to travel back in time to meet the specific player. Books always start with the main character involved in his own baseball game. He travels back in time using a baseball card of the famous player and has a current day card in his possession to enable him to return to present day. The book includes many true facts about the players.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2014
I like this book because Dan Gutman makes everyone enjoy his books. I personally don't like baseball but i enjoy this fictonal story about a boy with the power to travel through time with baseball cards and tries to save Ray ftom dieing from a hard pitch. RAD THIS BOOK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2013
I Love the book! it's awesome!5th by showing :-) the party of Canada to be in it was a science teacher who have been a science teacher in it is going through my first post on in a while you smell the environment and you something to be in it was the build
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse