Customer Reviews


2 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Manga!!!!!, January 22, 2006
This review is from: Ray Volume 1 (Paperback)
I fell in love with this manga instantaneously. For a while, I had been looking in vain for an anime that was in the vein of Boogiepop Phantom and Serial Experiment Lain. So many mangas have romance or magic, I was looking for something dark and sci-fi. I found it in Ray. The story is about Ray, a girl who was born on a secret "farm" where people's organs were sold. Somehow, she was rescued and given a pair of eyes that have X-Ray vision. Ray is a capable surgeon. Working at a clinic as a nurse, she takes on tough medical cases (for a high fee) on the side.

Although there are no informative sidebars, the art is very good. You feel as if you are in the streets of Japan. Some manga focuses only on character drawings, but the settings are very detailed in Ray.

All-around terrific. Mystery, medical thriller manga. Fans of Jessica Alba's cancelled FOX TV series Dark Angel will see a definite parallel between Max and Ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IS THERE AN OUTLAW DR. IN THE HOUSE?, June 15, 2005
By 
Sesho (Pasadena, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ray Volume 1 (Paperback)
Ray is a young lady who was raised on a secret "body farm", a place where human children are grown only to have their lives ended as they supply human organs to the elite of society. Ray would have died too had not a mysterious benefactor rescued her. Ray nonetheless, still lost her eyes, but she was given new ones, and these give her X-ray vision. By day she is a nurse at the Kawa Clinic, but her real profession is confronting medical problems that make even the most experienced doctors give up. Armed only with state of the art medical tools supplied by Shinoyama (he's like Bond's Q), Ray battles against elusive viruses, life or death decisions, gang warfare, and also the forces that took away her eyes. Don't get me wrong, there is a lot of action in this manga. Just think "ER" crossed with "Alias" and you'll get the feel for it. For example, while Ray is operating on a mob informant who has an almost sentient tumor, the nurses of Sawa Clinic are busy putting the smackdown with martial arts as assassins try to kill the turncoat.

Ray has great art, more Americanized than most manga (there's no big eyes in sight), and a story that at first seems a little crazy, but impresses you with its unique appeal. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ray Volume 1
Ray Volume 1 by Akihito Yoshitomi (Paperback - November 16, 2004)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.