Raygun Chronicles: Space Opera for a New Age and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$21.29
Qty:1
  • List Price: $29.95
  • Save: $8.66 (29%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
Want it Monday, April 28? Order within and choose Two-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Raygun Chronicles: Space Opera for a New Age Hardcover


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from Collectible from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$21.29
$20.64 $20.45

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

If you buy a new print edition of this book (or purchased one in the past), you can buy the Kindle edition for only $0.99 (Save 86%). Print edition purchase must be sold by Amazon. Learn more.


100 M&T
100 Mysteries & Thrillers to Read in a Lifetime
Looking for something good to read? Browse our picks for 100 Mysteries & Thrillers to Read in a Lifetime, brought to you by the Amazon Book Editors.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 360 pages
  • Publisher: Every Day Publishing (December 3, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0988125757
  • ISBN-13: 978-0988125759
  • Product Dimensions: 9 x 6 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.3 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,058,653 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

Library Journal - 12/01/13
Space opera has been likened to Westerns in space, with their emphasis on high action, "science" that is sometimes over the top, and galactic battles between good and evil. This collection of contemporary space opera brings together 24 stories, a poem, and an essay. Authors include Robin Wayne Bailey, A.C. Crispin, Seanan McGuire, and Mike Resnick. Fans of sf should enjoy this stylistically varied homage to a genre as old as the fiction of E.E. "Doc" Smith and as classic as the stories based on the "Star Wars" films.

From the Back Cover

"RAYGUN CHRONICLES breathes supercharged life into the space opera genre with exciting and inventive new tales by a superb line-up of writers. This is why science fiction will live forever!"--Jonathan Maberry, New York Times bestselling author of PATIENT ZERO.
"RAYGUN CHRONICLES is an impressive anthology with an impressive list of contributors, a real showcase of the color and scope of what science fiction can be."--Kevin J. Anderson, New York Times bestselling author of the Saga of Seven Suns
"Wonder, adventure, romance, humor-space opera delivers all of these, and this anthology brings together some of the finest talent in the business. Strange new worlds await. So lower your shields, engage your thrusters, and prepare to jump to warp speed!" -- Dave Wolverton, New York Times Bestselling author of Star Wars: The Courtship of Prince Leia
"These stories bring the reader back to the days when we dreamt of blasters and flying cars. Golden age space opera fun with a strong Western feel." -- Alex Shvartsman, EditorUnidentified Funny Objects and Official Ken Liu Hugo bearer

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 4 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Allen E. Nance on January 7, 2014
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
My wife and I first started with "Sword Of Saladin" by Michael S. Roberts because the name sounded intriguing to us.
We weren't exactly sure how the phrase "Space Opera For A New Age" would manifest itself but if haughty Pirates of the Space Seas was a mime this sure fits the bill. It's rather hard to write a comment without giving away any of the plots so in general terms, it involves humorously jargon-infested battle orders barked across a colorful cast of space-faring crewmen commanded by a sexy, proud Captain completely able to back her commands up with sheer guile and physical prowess. We were both smitten enough with the storyline that we read segments of the story to each other.
We've started in on the other stories now and, so far, we're quite pleased.
An absolute must for anyone's bedtime collection!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Gary Vandegrift on December 12, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
I don't normally read anthologies and/or collections, as I prefer novels, and even then, moreso when they are part of a series. But I pledged to this book's Kickstarter project, and I'm glad I did :) There are some really good adventure stories in this anthology, and at least one that would make a great basis for a new series (Sarah A. Hoyt's "Around the Bend"). The vast majority of the stories I rate 4- or 5-stars, and there were only a couple 3-star stories. My top five favorites, in addition to "Around the Bend," are "The Silver Dollar Saucer," "Holly Defiant," "Twilight World" (this one has me wanting to read the Starbridge series!) and "Saint Orick" (although I've already read David Farland's "Golden Queen" series, so I am familiar with the characters and world) Of course, tastes differ, so others will have their own preferences.

Some of the stories are good ol' pulp fiction like E.E. "Doc" Smith wrote, some are humorous, some are sad, some are thought-provoking, and others are great adventure. And there wasn't a bad one in the batch :)

Recommended reading!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Kathleen Mills Roberts on March 14, 2014
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
A wonderful anthology with witty and wild adventures in space. Fans of Star Wars, Star Trek, or Firefly should definitely pick up this book. There are some awesome female characters that make this a joy for the female Sci Fi readers. The humor is everything from broad (no pun intended) to subtly sarcastic. My favorite was Sword of Saladin, lots of action, humor, and a happy ending.
I believe this is the best anthology Schmidt has put together so far.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Andrew Vittoria on February 24, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition
Space Opera is one of great original sci-fi subgenres. Authors in this genre try to focus a little less on precise scientific accuracy and instead aim for excessive amounts of fun. It is perhaps the only subgenre of sci-fi that anyone can enjoy. Raygun Chronicles: Space Opera For a New Age states this is “a collection of new tales in the Golden Age style.” I was eager for just such a collection and was granted a review copy by the editor, Bryan Thomas Schmidt.

Schmidt has collected 25 tales from 24 different authors, and he has ensured there is something for every Space Opera fan here. I found the majority of the tales to be fun one time reads. There are a handful I will reread and one or two I am giving serious consideration to giving a Hugo nomination.

There is so much here that I cannot cover everything. Instead, let me highlight the best (and worst) this Anthology has to offer.

The Anthology starts off with “Frontier ABCs: The Life And Times Of Charity Smith, Schoolteacher” by Seanan McGuire. This was a wise decision as McGuire wrote one of the best tales in the volume. McGuire captured an atmosphere similar to Firefly in her story, and took us on a ride as a very dangerous woman tries to balance her past with the life she’d rather have.

Kristine Kathryn Rusch kept the strong start going with Rick the Robber Barron, a story about a female space pilot who had a bad experience with the titular captain. This story confirmed my belief that Rusch is physically incapable of writing anything that isn’t at least very good. This isn’t her best, but even her average is wonderful.

The next two, “To The Shores Of Triple, Lee!” by A.M. Stickel and “The Silver Dollar Saucer” by Lou Antonelli started slow but ended great.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Product Images from Customers

Search
ARRAY(0xa611a4f8)

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?