Customer Reviews


319 Reviews
5 star:
 (200)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (40)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's my time
After 7 years of being owned by (my suspicion) little 7 year old Asian kids. I now am the king of my online server. Thanks for making a product that allows me to destroy those little fools! FEEL MY WRATH!
Published 12 months ago by Matt jackson

versus
49 of 63 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Expensive piece of spyware, with a free mouse in the box
To use the mouse's features, you must accept a licensing agreement that grants Razer the complete right to use and redistribute any information that the mouse driver sees on your computer (and it's running in kernel mode, so it can see EVERYTHING).

Because the mouse *requires* an always-on Internet connection to function, it can phone home with anything it...
Published on November 8, 2012 by Earlysville resident


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 63 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Expensive piece of spyware, with a free mouse in the box, November 8, 2012
By 
Earlysville resident (Earlysville, VA 22936) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Razer Naga MMO PC Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
To use the mouse's features, you must accept a licensing agreement that grants Razer the complete right to use and redistribute any information that the mouse driver sees on your computer (and it's running in kernel mode, so it can see EVERYTHING).

Because the mouse *requires* an always-on Internet connection to function, it can phone home with anything it likes, at any time.

There are lots of discussions of this on gaming forums and elsewhere, including this one: [...]

Please reconsider buying anything from Razer, ever. What they're doing is revolting.

From the Razer Synapse TOS agreement:
Quote:

"User Generated Information" means any information made available to Razer through your use of the Software. Subject to the Privacy Policy mentioned above, you expressly grant Razer the complete and irrevocable right to use, reproduce, modify, create derivative works from, distribute, transmit, broadcast, and otherwise communicate, and publicly display and perform the User Generated Information and derivative works thereof in any form, anywhere, with or without attribution to you, and without any notice or compensation to you of any kind.

By using Razer Synapse 2.0 ("Synapse"), the Subscriber agrees that Razer may collect aggregate information, individual information, and personally identifiable information. Razer may share aggregate information and individual information with other parties. Razer shall not share personally identifiable information with other parties, except as described in the policy below.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 48 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DRM requires online activation or you can't use, November 4, 2012
This review is from: Razer Naga MMO PC Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
Do not buy, do not support. Purchase = their policies are OK with you.

From [...]

"Razer forces you to create an account with them before you can use the software with the mouse. You cant configure the mouse in any way until you make an account with them and activate your computer and account through their server. If they decide to take down their activation server for any reason, you will never be able to use the software. If you live somewhere without access to internet, you will not be able to activate and use the software. If you work somewhere that has a network behind firewalls, chances are even though you can download the Synapse software, the firewall may also block you from activating and using the software as well.

If your connection drops out for any reason, the Synapse software will make a habbit of locking up on you while it transitions to offline mode. During that time your settings may revert or possibly not be saved.

Yes, you can use the mouse as plug and play with basic functionality if you choose not to make an account and activate your computer, but who pays $80 for a basic plug and play mouse? The reason people buy the Naga 2012 is the configurable buttons and to change the DPI, polling rate, set up macros and profiles along with everything else. Razer has no right to lock this away from customers who paid for these features. For the Naga 2012 mouse, there is no other offline drivers to revert to. Synapse 2.0 is your only option.

Razers Synapse 2.0 software is always online. If you have an internet connection active, Razer will be constantly using it constantly downloading updates and interrupting your full screen applications. Not only that, as I suspected, the Synapse 2.0 software is spying on you."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars need contant online connection, spyware, November 7, 2012
This review is from: Razer Naga MMO PC Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
Do not buy this mouse. The required software will only work when connected to razer's servers. Also the user agreement allows the mouse to gather personal info from your computer, and use it for any purpose. It sounds so Orwellian, but check for yourself. Don't let them get away with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Evidently spyware and everything else, November 7, 2012
This review is from: Razer Naga MMO PC Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
According to some recent articles this mouse requires constant internet connections and you sign over the right for the seller to spy on you. Seriously. Read the license.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Razer Synapse 2.0 is nothing but Spyware, November 7, 2012
This review is from: Razer Naga MMO PC Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
This was taken directly from the Razer Synapse TOS agreement:

"User Generated Information" means any information made available to Razer through your use of the Software. Subject to the Privacy Policy mentioned above, you expressly grant Razer the complete and irrevocable right to use, reproduce, modify, create derivative works from, distribute, transmit, broadcast, and otherwise communicate, and publicly display and perform the User Generated Information and derivative works thereof in any form, anywhere, with or without attribution to you, and without any notice or compensation to you of any kind.

By using Razer Synapse 2.0 ("Synapse"), the Subscriber agrees that Razer may collect aggregate information, individual information, and personally identifiable information. Razer may share aggregate information and individual information with other parties. Razer shall not share personally identifiable information with other parties, except as described in the policy below.

[...]
[...]

Yes folks, to put it simply Razer Synapse 2.0 software is actively spying on you and collecting data on who knows what and they even tell you they are doing it their listed ToS. What's worse is they even say that they will probably sell it. Which I'm sure they are By the way.

You also cannot install and use any of their products what uses Synapse 2.0 with all its features without being forced to install the spyware program. If you do not have an active internet connection you cannot install Synapse 2.0 there is no way around this. Basically Razer's Synapse 2.0 software is always online and is spying on everything you do plus if you lose connection or their servers go down then you are unable to access your hardware configurations.

Purchase and install their products with extreme caution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Broken out of the box, June 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Razer Naga MMO PC Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
For starters, this is the first mouse I've purchased in over a decade as I am a trackball user first and foremost. Looking for a better input device for the impending Guild Wars 2 release, I decided on getting an MMO mouse. It was a toss-up between the Razor Naga and the Logitech g700. I went with the Naga and received a defective product right out of the box. Not a very good first impression. The left click button doesn't even click. Still, giving this a one star due to the nice packaging. Returning this and grabbing up a g700. It has fewer buttons, but at least Logitech has never let me down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


The manufacturer commented on the review belowSee comments
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars great mouse but has a huge flaw, September 16, 2013
This review is from: Razer Naga MMO PC Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
The mouse is probably one of the best mice I have ever used. However, I will never purchase another Razer mouse till they fix their horrible cords.

The good: Awesome sensitivity, high quality buttons, and very responsive.

The bad: The cord is horrible. It started failed within months after use and eventually got so bad that the mouse stopped working. I do not recommend buying this product simply for this issue. You will end up having to throw the mouse away after just a few months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

 
stem
The manufacturer commented on this review(What's this?)
Posted on Sep 19, 2013 10:29:13 AM PDT
Hi Kevin,

Sorry to hear that you are having issues with the cord on your Razer Naga. Not sure why you think you'd need to throw your mouse away, because it's covered under a 2-year manufacturer's warranty.

Please contact us at http://razersupport.com/product and we'll be more than happy to assist you.

Thank you for understanding.

Razer Customer Satisfaction
 
 

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's my time, February 2, 2014
This review is from: Razer Naga MMO PC Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
After 7 years of being owned by (my suspicion) little 7 year old Asian kids. I now am the king of my online server. Thanks for making a product that allows me to destroy those little fools! FEEL MY WRATH!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


The manufacturer commented on the review belowSee comments
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Need an internet connection to "activate" mouse. Even so, their server was down. Ridiculous, October 23, 2012
This review is from: Razer Naga MMO PC Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
This really took me by surprise. I just bought this new Naga 2012 mouse, installed the Synapse 2.0 software and get greeted by a login screen right after. No option to bypass it to use the software to configure the mouse, set the options, sensitivity, shortcuts, macros etc.

So I go ahead and create an account and try to login. Nothing. Try several more times, and nothing. Try to make new accounts with different emails addresses and it still wont work. Finally call Razer who tells me the activation server is down, and I wont be able to use the mouse until it goes back up and will only be able to use it as a standard mouse til then. I ask about a workaround to use the mouse offline and they say there is none. Supposedly once its activated on the computer offline mode will work, but it needs to upload my profile first and since their server is down its not going to happen. I ask for a supervisor to confirm this is the case and ask again for a workaround to use it offline. He said sorry theres nothing they can do, tells me the call center is closing and hangs up on me.

Im pretty shocked Razer thought it was a good idea to do this to customers. Nowhere on the box does it say anything about needing an internet connection to "activate" a mouse. If the servers go down in the future, anyone who buys this mouse is out of luck.

Honestly the last time I buy a Razer product. Absolutely ridiculous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

 
stem
The manufacturer commented on this review(What's this?)
Posted on Oct 23, 2012 4:30:41 PM PDT
Hi,

Terribly sorry that you had to deal with that issue - we can assure you that that doesn't happen often. We take all feedback seriously, good and bad, so your concerns will be forwarded to the appropriate department.

Thank you for understanding!

Regards,

Razer Customer Satisfaction
 
 

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Selling your soul, October 12, 2012
This review is from: Razer Naga MMO PC Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
Although my Naga works well, except for occassionally not responding to horizontal movements, I'm giving it a 1-star rating because once I installed it on my computer I've been constantly pestered by its parent company. Everytime I turn on my computer some sort of notification, upgrade or customization window pops up. It's extremely annoying and there is no way to block it. It feels like the software is trying to take over my computer. I'm just about ready to unistall it and throw it in the trash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Razer Naga MMO PC Gaming Mouse
$108.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.