Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another wonderful Shannon K Butcher book
Razor's Edge is another great book by Shannon K Butcher. I love her strong female characters. Her sexy male leads aren't bad either.

I thought the determination of Razor in finding and saving her friend was fitting with her personality. She is fiercely loyal to those she loves.

I highly recommend this series if you want a good read.
Published on December 20, 2011 by itzrissa2u

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Heroine is Annoying
Summary:
Roxanne ("Razor") is on a job to catch the thief in the act of stealing corporate data. She fails. Her boss, Bella, believes that Razor is being stalked by Razor's ex-boyfriend and assigns Tanner to babysit her. Tanner has returned from the Special Forces after the deaths of his brother and father and request of his remaining brother.

Razor...
Published on November 21, 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Heroine is Annoying, November 21, 2011
By 
This review is from: Razor's Edge: An Edge Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Summary:
Roxanne ("Razor") is on a job to catch the thief in the act of stealing corporate data. She fails. Her boss, Bella, believes that Razor is being stalked by Razor's ex-boyfriend and assigns Tanner to babysit her. Tanner has returned from the Special Forces after the deaths of his brother and father and request of his remaining brother.

Razor soon realizes that the stalker is actually from a secret military organization that is sent to retrieve information. Over the course of the book, Razor works with Tanner and others to verify the information and save her best friend, Jake, from the military organization/rogue group.

Review:
The plot was well-developed and action paced. Tanner's character was believable, likeable, and heroic. Razor, on the other hand, was not.

I hated Razor because she has a tendency to run off on her own when she knew that she was being targeted by the military organization. In addition, Razor always was ready to charge off into a situation to save Jack and leave Tanner behind if he could not stick to her schedule. Her plans though were often poorly thought out and would have gotten them killed. She demanded to be the one to question a member even though she had no experience in interrogation. Plus, Razor rested very little and her lack of mental alertness could have risked the team. Her only theme was: "Must save Jack; Jack can't be compromised; Jack will always act in my best interest; I will do anything to save Jack."

I kept wanting to say: "Leave the job to the professionals! No, don't charge off into that area. You are providing no back up for Tanner."

Ms. Butcher has created a character, who is so stubbornly selfless (but constantly places others at risk), that Razor is completely unbelievable to me. I cannot imagine how Razor survived as a covert agent, particularly when she is scared of handling knives and would have difficulty killing someone if she were threatened.

Thankfully, Tanner wasn't hurt. Otherwise, I think Razor would've had no back up plan and would've immediately left to save Jack so soon as Tanner was picked up.

**Spoilers**
*
*
*
I cannot believe that as a covert agent, Razor has never been trained or taught about mental reconditioning or brainwashing. Members of the organization, including Jack, are brainwashed. Jack was given the directive to kill Razor. Tanner had to shoot Jack multiple times so that both Tanner and Razor could escape. Immediately at the hospital, where Jack was brought for his injuries, Razor demanded to see Jack (against her superior's advice) and saw Jack. She enraged him and finally left when he made an explicit death threat. I found Razor's behavior extremely inconsiderate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great series, March 6, 2012
By 
Sandy S. (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Razor's Edge: An Edge Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
RAZOR'S EDGE by Shannon K. Butcher

RAZOR'S EDGE, released November 2011, is the second book in The Edge series by Shannon K. Butcher. A romantic suspense series, The Edge novels focus on a group of elite, military trained personnel who have all been `conditioned' and `trained' as killing machines, and are somehow linked to a 20 year old experimental operation known as The Threshold Project. The Threshold Project was a failure that left many children, who are now adults, on the brink of psychological collapse and physical destruction. The Edge is a private security company backed by Payton Bainbridge and owner Bella Bayne..

Roxanne `Razor' Haught is a operative working for The Edge.--A group of trained security experts, in the field of military and corporate espionage. But when an assignment goes wrong, Razor's supervisor Bella Bayne is pissed. Razor is assigned a partner, a babysitter in one--Tanner O'Connell. An ex-military man, Tanner has returned state side, on compassionate leave, due to a family accident, that killed his father and brother, Tanner needs this job, to help pay for his mother's expenses and his sister in laws family and children. So under the guise of training, Razor is expected to train Tanner in the ways of The Edge.

With her ego hurting, Razor makes several attempts to elude Tanner, and takes him on a wild ride through downtown Dallas, but a burglary that destroys her childhood home, and an explosion that rocks her new place turn a lesson in self-pity, into a search and rescue. Razor realizes that she has become a target. When a mysterious, encrypted email arrives, from her best friend Jake Staite......saying to `burn everything, they are coming', Razor knows that something is wrong. With Jake currently on an undercover assignment, Razor is unsure, whether the message can be true. Having not heard from Jake in months, and not knowing with which branch of security Jake is now working, Razor suspects that Jake is in trouble.

With Tanner's help, they search Jakes' possessions, only to find he has sent her a journal, documenting a series of medical mind control experiments (using powerful drugs) that are resulting in the death of his friends and those targeted by the mission. As a result of this information, Razor and Tanner, must take the journal to their superiors at The Edge, hoping that their `friends' in powerful places, would be willing to help rescue Jake. When the leads take Razor and her fellow Edge personnel to New Mexico, a series of attempted abductions and death threats, against Razor, put the team on alert. But when her supervisor Payton, discovers that the man who was tracking Razor back in Dallas, has been brainwashed and control, in similar stylings to The Threshold Project, Payton must make a decision. As a member of the original Threshold Project-along with General Norwood, it has become apparent to Payton, that Dr. Stynger, a woman who was presumed dead, is still alive and continuing to push the limits of the human mind.

We are introduced to Clay, a fellow Edge team mate, who is showing symptoms of abnormal behavior, and Reid, Tanner's brother. The anger between the brother's regarding their father and brother's death, places the team members in the unwanted position on the sidelines. But when Reid admonishes Tanner for his relationship with Razor, we see a side to the brothers, that reveals more jealousy than hate. Tanner and Razor's relationship has gone beyond partners to lovers, against company policy, and with the knowledge, that both are equally aggressive with their assignments, the others are once again, forced to watch as their team mates, play a game of cat and mouse with each other.

Jake has found a friend in Jordyn Stynger. She was the person instrumental in sending the email to Razor, but paid a high price for her disobedience. Her mother, Dr. Norma Stynger, head of the current mind control project, continues to make an example of her daughter. But after a horrific demonstration of torture against Jake, Jordyn reveals the location of Razor to her mother, but once again, must face the consequences of her actions. It is not until Jake has been thoroughly brain-washed, and in a drug controlled stupor, does Jordyn affect his escape from the facility in New Mexico. But unbeknownst to everyone, Jake is leading Stynger and General Bower, straight to Razor and the Edge Team. Wanting Jake's journal returned and destroyed, Stynger and her team of vigilante ex- military, set a trap to ensnare Razor, for the return of the journal.

When the team finally discovers the where-abouts of Razor, Tanner is almost destroyed learning she has been beaten. Their relationship is no longer a forced partnership, but one building on love. But when a mind-controlled Jake, is told to kill them both, Tanner will stop at nothing to save the woman he has fallen in love with. With Razor's reluctant help, Tanner subdues a raging Jake, only to realize there is nothing that will stop the man, in his murderous rage. Knowing that he must take Jake down, Tanner is reluctant to kill Jake, but he must shoot the man, before he kills them all. Razor's affections for Jake are deep. She loves the man beyond measure, which leaves a confused and jealous Tanner. But as the story developed, we were witnesses to a background of love and friendship between two best friends, who would die before letting the other be harmed.

As a prolific reader of all things Christine Feehan, I could not help but make the comparisons between The Edge series and the Ghostwalkers. Although each has its' own distinctive storylines, characters and events, The Threshold Project with its' use of young children, and now adults, is comparable to Dr. Whitney's experiments on young girls and the Ghostwalker Teams.

Razor's Edge is a fast paced novel that encompasses both action and military style operations. Razor and Tanner's relationship builds quickly, as the two are put into the difficult situation of guarding each other 24/7, but their chemistry is strong and not without its' moments of lust and love. Razor is written as a strong-willed, tough character, who is continuously risking her own life, as well as those of the men around her. The Edge and its' team members have plenty of opportunity and future storylines, to search for those men and women who were once and now continue to be part of The Threshold Project.

Read all of my reviews at : thereadingcafe.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eeek...and ya gotta wonder just how true this is!, January 10, 2012
This review is from: Razor's Edge: An Edge Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Second in the Edge romantic suspense series based on the employees of The Edge in Dallas, Texas. The couple focus is on Roxanne "Razor" Haught and Tanner O'Connell.

My Take
These guys were nuts! Any chances they had to escape, they should have taken them no matter who they had to leave behind if only so they could get help and get back to free them faster!! And then the crap that Tanner lets Razor get away with. Oh man...I just want to tie that girl up and slap a gag on her!

Somebody's slipping...in Living on the Edge: An Edge Novel, the first book in the series, Tanner is already working for The Edge; now, Butcher claims he's the new guy. Although, to be fair, Bella does claim that most everyone is out on missions and she doesn't note the characters who are in that first book so maybe this one is concurrent with the first...?

WTF?? How can the guys think that the bad guys aren't going to thoroughly check Tanner out for tracking devices, etc.?? I'd'a thought they'd have had some hot tech gadgets that would get around this kind of scrutiny!

Nah, it just bugged me up the wazoo that Butcher got lazy and went for the overdone clichés just so she can get through the really dramatic action at the end. It was enough of a cliché that Tanner got all protective about Roxanne and it did make sense. Guys are just wired that way. Especially honorable men like Tanner. But her capture, Tanner's takedowns, and the eventual rescue was just too easy.

The Story
Roxanne just can't keep her mind on the job. Her ex-boyfriend keeps sending guys to follow her, harass her and Bella makes her take the week off work and get him sorted out. With the new guy along as babysitter. Can you say "not happenin"? No way is Razor letting some kid tag along with her, gettin' all up in her face. Only, she's not taking Tanner and his special op skills into account. As he pops up everywhere she goes.

It's when she answers her realtor's call that she starts to feel better about Tanner coming along. The damage is definitely not your normal B&E. Then she gets the email message from Jake, "Burn everything. They're coming." In their old code. Confused, Razor and Tanner search through the boxes of Tanner's letters quickly finding a notebook detailing a horrific experiment. Those attacks are starting to make sense. Razor has got to find Jake. She knows he's in trouble and taking his letters and the notebook back to The Edge to stash in the company vault causes a run-in with Payton. Razor's comments are enough to set his teeth on edge. Promising to store the notebook, Payton reads it and realizes just what it means.

Their fellow employees jump in to help. Mira tracks the address from the email and Tanner and Razor head out to find out what they can. It's being attacked, hearing that the doctor's killer is looking for a Roxanne, and their knowledge that the sheriff's department is compromised that brings Reid, Gabe, and Clay out to help bringing their muscle and Mira's tech savvy to track Jake down.

One plus is that Norwood and Payton realize they're running out of time and they are responsible for the mess; they must put together a special unit whose only mission is to take Stynger down.

In the meantime, Clay Marshall is breaking down...

The Characters
Roxanne Haught specializes in stealth security protection for The Edge. She has no family left except Jake, her best friend from childhood. Jake Staite believes he is participating in a top-secret unit protecting his country. In reality, he's been suckered into highly illegal, private experiments that will twist his will and change him forever.

Tanner O'Connell has retired from the military. His father and only married brother were killed by a drunk driver and his brother's family and his mother need help dealing with the bills and working at The Edge pays better than the military. Reid O'Connell already works at The Edge and recommended his baby brother.

Bella Bayne (on the List) started The Edge with an infusion of cash from Payton. Other employees include Clay Marshall (on the List), Mira Sage (on the List), Sloane Gideon (on the List)), and Dr. Vaughan.
Payton Bainbridge invested with guilt money because he was part of Threshold Project, the same highly illegal experiments that he thought had been stopped. Now he's paying in more ways than one for his participation. General Robert Norwood was involved as well. Threshold's victims were all on a List and someone is hunting them down.

Brad Evans was one of Jake's. Signing up for this special op at the same time, Brad is sent out to hunt Roxanne down. Other buddies of Jake's include Trevor Moss and Alan MacKenzie. Jordyn Stynger had mailed Jake's diary to Roxanne and the Doctor can't have that kind of evidence floating outside of her control. Nelson Bower has signed up for Dr. Stynger's operation. He'll show the military what they're missing when they kicked him out. Dr. Norma Stynger is a nightmare walking. Using drugs and brainwashing techniques, she's changing men who have been recruited into this "hush-hush operation" on the basis of protecting the United States. It's all for profit. She's even torturing her own daughter Jordyn.

The Cover
The cover is reds, yellows, and browns with a back-to-back couple dressed in camos and Kevlar packin' heat.

The title is all about Razor's Edge and the line she walks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another wonderful Shannon K Butcher book, December 20, 2011
This review is from: Razor's Edge: An Edge Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Razor's Edge is another great book by Shannon K Butcher. I love her strong female characters. Her sexy male leads aren't bad either.

I thought the determination of Razor in finding and saving her friend was fitting with her personality. She is fiercely loyal to those she loves.

I highly recommend this series if you want a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful Minds Review, December 19, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Razor's Edge: An Edge Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
"Never judge a book by its cover". What amazing words to live by. Being a Military spouse, I didn't think anything could surprise me.

Razor and Tanner are so compatible together that they leave you wondering just how two people like them could come together. Razor is amazing in her own right. Working in the undercover field and being trained in all that she is trained for, you would think facing the hostage situation involving her best friend would be a breeze right? Wrong. In comes Tanner O'Connell. Being assigned to watch over her, he is drug along in the scheme she develops to save Jake.

The story that unfolds between Tanner and Razor is one that leaves you guessing. Will they, or won't they? Right when you think they realize their feelings for one another, BAM! something happens. They both have so much to face, own up to and let go of, that they can't seem to get a handle on the important things that are in front of them.

The plot itself is full of twist, turns and OH MY GOSH! moments! Within her own agency, there are people who know secrets on what is going on, but Razor is left in the dark. Loyalty is the name of the game in this book. There was never a dull moment during this book. The plot stayed true all the way to the surprising end!

If you like books that make you want to page turn until you read it all in one sitting, this is a book for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The likeable characters together with a fast and furious plot creates a gripping, action-packed read., November 14, 2011
By 
Bookaholics Reviewer (Bay Area, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Razor's Edge: An Edge Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Razor's Edge by Shannon K. Butcher
Romantic Suspense-Nov. 1st, 2011
4 stars

Roxanne "Razor" Haught will do anything to find Jake, her oldest childhood friend and the brother she never had. When she received his diary mysteriously and a coded message telling her to burn the diary, she knows that he is in danger. Unfortunately, her boss has assigned a newbie partner for her to babysit. Tanner O'Conner is seriously attracted to Roxanne and wants to help and protect her while she searches for Jake, but can Roxanne learn to rely and trust Tanner? The trouble is Tanner could be too hot for her too handle...

Roxanne is tough but not stupidly stubborn. I really like the chemistry and camaraderie between Tanner and Roxanne. She's willing to take his suggestions and quickly realizes how valuable Tanner's help is. Also, her loyalty to Jake is admirable. Tanner is a good match for Roxanne. Like her, he is very family oriented even though he's having trouble communicating with them. I can't help but feel so sorry for Tanner and a little bit sad that his own brother doesn't seem to appreciate him.

The likeable characters together with a fast and furious plot creates a gripping, action-packed read. Highly recommended for readers looking for some mystery/action to go with the romance!

Reviewed by Pauline from the Bookaholics Romance Club
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Stopped Reading at Chapter 4, June 21, 2014
Just because her husband is a BIG-TIME author (Jim Butcher), doesn't make the wife one too.

I gave up when the mercenary male lead enters the story in the second chapter, starts having "feelings" for the "hard-as-nails" female and she can't stop thinking about his bod. These two are top notch mercenaries who act like teenagers around each other, don't follow common sense procedures for a dangerous situation, and......IT IS JUST SO STUPID AND UNBELIEVABLE!

....how I determine that I enjoyed a book...

NO: Am I glad that I PAID for the book?
NO: Was there good and realistic CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT?
NO: Was the PLOT logical and/or interesting?
NO: Would I buy the AUDIOBOOK or REREAD the story because I enjoyed it so much?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the second story of this series., March 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love this series so far! I really liked the first one and this one was almost as good. I always seem to love the first one the best. I think that the characters in this series are all very well done. The author is good at getting you to connect to the characters! Good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Review of Razor's Edge, March 17, 2013
This review is from: Razor's Edge: An Edge Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
I jumped into this series starting with book 2 because it was available as an ebook from my library. I thought I'd take a chance to see if the Edge series was worth pursuing. For me, it is. Now, I'll back up and start with the first in the series, Living on the Edge. Here is a simplistic summary of the book: The plot of this book focuses on Roxanne "Razor" Haught who is an agent with Edge security. After her recent mission fails, her boss Bella assigns her a "babysitter" named Tanner, who is ex-special forces and newly hired at Edge. The crux of the book centers on Razor's search for her closest childhood friend, Jake, who is enlisted in the military and has been recruited to join a covert group that he believes will allow him to continue to serve his country. However, the members of this group become unwilling test subjects in a sinister project to produce killer soldiers, brainwashed to mindlessly follow commands. Once Razor discovers Jake is in danger, she and Tanner, along with other members of Edge team work to find him and expose those responsible for what becomes known as the Threshold Project. The chemistry between Tanner and Roxanne kept me engaged and motivated to keep reading to see how their relationship will develop. There is no nice tidy ending here only more questions and anticipation for what's next. Edge of Sanity continues the plot line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What I asked for and on time, January 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Razor's Edge: An Edge Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
The book was great. It was by an author I like and it arrived on time. What more can you ask
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Razor's Edge: An Edge Novel
Razor's Edge: An Edge Novel by Shannon K. Butcher (Mass Market Paperback - November 1, 2011)
$7.99 $7.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.