Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reading Comprehension
Really enjoyed the stories and activities in this book. Some of them include main idea and supporting detail, summarizing, compare and constrast, fact or opinion, referents, similies, metophors, vocabulary skills, foreshadowing, character, plot, conflict, and mixed story elements along with more. Each activity includes either one short paragraph or page of reading and...
Published on March 21, 2012 by Bonnie

versus
45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good as a daily review
For parents or teachers looking for a daily review book, this is a good choice. It has one page of stories and the second page focuses on questions. Unlike other books, the format of the questions vary, which makes it interesting for students. The content of the story is also good - a mix of history, biography, and social studies.

The only complaint I have is...
Published on October 2, 2008 by A. Hwang


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good as a daily review, October 2, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Reading Comprehension, Grades 7 - 8 (The 100+ Series™) (Paperback)
For parents or teachers looking for a daily review book, this is a good choice. It has one page of stories and the second page focuses on questions. Unlike other books, the format of the questions vary, which makes it interesting for students. The content of the story is also good - a mix of history, biography, and social studies.

The only complaint I have is that the stories themselves are too short. They are a little simplistic; I would have liked to see more complex questions mixed in with the standard testing questions as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reading Comprehension, March 21, 2012
By 
Bonnie (SPRINGTOWN, TX, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reading Comprehension, Grades 7 - 8 (The 100+ Series™) (Paperback)
Really enjoyed the stories and activities in this book. Some of them include main idea and supporting detail, summarizing, compare and constrast, fact or opinion, referents, similies, metophors, vocabulary skills, foreshadowing, character, plot, conflict, and mixed story elements along with more. Each activity includes either one short paragraph or page of reading and followed by a few questions about the passage. None of them are longer than two pages. Easy to use and I like the fact that they are reproducible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NY Mom, August 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Reading Comprehension, Grades 7 - 8 (The 100+ Series™) (Paperback)
My 12 year old son has been struggling in reading since 4th grade. This book was a great help to him. It is simply short stories, poems etc. with 8 -12 questions at the end of each. He did a story a day throughout the summer to build his skills and practice for the coming school year. I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great homework sheet, October 2, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Reading Comprehension, Grades 7 - 8 (The 100+ Series™) (Paperback)
I use this for homework for SIXTH grade and am extremely happy with the practice it provides my students in underlining, context clues, inference, and summarizing. I purposely went a grade above their level to present a little challenge. There is one section on poetry (lyric, odes, etc) I won't use for homework because it doesn't provide enough depth of information for students to feel confident of their answers. Each assignment has one page of text and one page of related questions which range from multiple choice, yes or no, to short answer and summarizing. I do each assignment to familiarize myself with the challenges the material may present to the kids which cuts down on homework review time. I can quickly point to the area that would have answered their question. Just a quick check of the answers and discussion of any problems provides immediate feedback to the kids. They get to practice test taking skills in the comfort of their homes with no time limits. I would say the average kid can complete the assignment in about 15-20 minutes. The non-fiction topics are interesting (The Irish Famine, Pirates, Mummies...) and provide a nice, consistent pattern for homework expectations from one of their five classes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good stories, good questions, July 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Reading Comprehension, Grades 7 - 8 (The 100+ Series™) (Paperback)
Short enough to keep his interest, questions are solid enough that he needs to read closely. Also, there aren't a ton of questions, which makes it easier for independent completion of one story per day. I'm using this for summer enrichment for my son who is entering 7th grade in the fall. It's a good level of challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good practice, October 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Reading Comprehension, Grades 7 - 8 (The 100+ Series™) (Paperback)
This book is really good for helping kids practice their reading comprehension. The readings are not long which help those kids that have a hard time staying on task for long periods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good passages, January 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Reading Comprehension, Grades 7 - 8 (The 100+ Series™) (Paperback)
I work with adults who are trying to improve their reading skills. The short passages are on topics that keep them interested. The questions can assess their understanding without too much burden of print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, January 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Reading Comprehension, Grades 7 - 8 (The 100+ Series™) (Paperback)
This is a book that I will use every day in my classroom as the reading level is exactly where I need it to be and the subjects are perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for kids who need reading practice, September 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Reading Comprehension, Grades 7 - 8 (The 100+ Series™) (Paperback)
I'm a private tutor and this workbook was a god send. It is perfect for practicing all of the different reading comprehension skills. It is a perfect practice workbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I was hoping for, July 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Reading Comprehension, Grades 7 - 8 (The 100+ Series™) (Paperback)
The material in this book is rated about right, at grades 7-8. I'll end up using it in the classroom for lower level 9th graders who aren't yet functioning at grade level. There are better choices to be had, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Reading Comprehension, Grades 7 - 8 (The 100+ Series™)
Reading Comprehension, Grades 7 - 8 (The 100+ Series™) by Instructional Fair (Paperback - January 1, 2003)
$12.99 $7.34
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.