Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remote Car Starter Model 24921
Very good remote starter (I got 3 of them) and is inexpensive. I went ahead and had all three professionally installed so I could get the maximum range AND warranty coverage. All three work great. This tip may help you guys that installed it yourself get better range...instead of mounting the antenna under the hood somewhere, they mounted all of mine on the inside of the...
Published on December 30, 2011 by Remote Starter

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy.
I put this starter in a 2003 Mercury Mountaineer and it works well. It does have limited range. The add-on bypass module (separate purchase) was a must, but easy to install. The instructions were a bit simplified, and they refer you to a technical website that seems to not exist (I did not call the tech support line).
This was one of the more user friendly models...
Published on March 17, 2009 by Buff Orpington


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy., March 17, 2009
This review is from: DEI Ready Remote 24921 Car Auto Remote Start System (Electronics)
I put this starter in a 2003 Mercury Mountaineer and it works well. It does have limited range. The add-on bypass module (separate purchase) was a must, but easy to install. The instructions were a bit simplified, and they refer you to a technical website that seems to not exist (I did not call the tech support line).
This was one of the more user friendly models I've installed and I would buy one again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remote Car Starter Model 24921, December 30, 2011
This review is from: DEI Ready Remote 24921 Car Auto Remote Start System (Electronics)
Very good remote starter (I got 3 of them) and is inexpensive. I went ahead and had all three professionally installed so I could get the maximum range AND warranty coverage. All three work great. This tip may help you guys that installed it yourself get better range...instead of mounting the antenna under the hood somewhere, they mounted all of mine on the inside of the windshield next to where the rear-view mirror is mounted (right below the headliner in your car). So small you can hardly see it. I get really good range with mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to install & Great Help, October 4, 2009
By 
Van "Van" (Baltimore, MD) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DEI Ready Remote 24921 Car Auto Remote Start System (Electronics)
This starter is probably one of the easiest to use and install on the market. The on the phone help is pretty great and the wire diagrams you get on design tech's site with the crash code make it easier to install and save time and DVD explains alot. All parts come complete and these new starters are much smaller & compact that previous ones that I got in 03'. Many people complain that the install is difficult but that's because they don't have extra tools like relays and socket wrenches which some cars need and install experience ( you need a good background in electronics). They only thing is that you need the time (like a day off) to install it. Also Beware many cars have immobilizers that contain a starter kill. Look up you car on their web site and see if it has one. If it doesn't, installation should be a breeze, but if not it will take you about 30 mins more. My only complaint, it has a 6 inch antenna, which is powerful, but range gets to be 150 ft, so mount it 8 inches away from the firewall. ( if you get one that can open doors model 24923, take more time.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Have to stand next to the vehicle., February 13, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DEI Ready Remote 24921 Car Auto Remote Start System (Electronics)
This device does not provide any sort of antenna, just a short "pigtail" wire. Unless you are standing within 10 feet of the vehicle, it will not start the car. What's the point of a remote starter if you have to go outside to use it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works perfectly; except very limited range, August 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DEI Ready Remote 24921 Car Auto Remote Start System (Electronics)
From opening the package, reading the manual, watching the DVD, calling Tech Support, start to finish; about an 8 hour proposition. Tech support, despite the reviews stating otherwise, was stellar. All of the information is in the manual; all of it. I can only assume those with problems in the installation process either were overly confident and just skim-read the booklet or had no business attempting it in the first place. Let me stress that I have a passing familiarity with auto audio systems but had never attempted an auto-start device install. All in all, the system worked as advertised, other than the limited range of the fixed antenna. I played around with extending it but saw no improvement. How limited? Won't transmit through the kitchen and garage doors, if both are closed, a total of about forty feet. If either door is open, however, it works, so I am satisfied based on my requirements. In open ground, transmission range is about 60-feet. Far short of the suggested 500, but again, works for my requirements. 96 off-road Jeep Cherokee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars remote starter, December 13, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DEI Ready Remote 24921 Car Auto Remote Start System (Electronics)
product was as described, and arrived in time and in good condition. installation instructions are written more for individuals who are moderately familiar with automotive systems. they are not as explicit as they could be. the product also only works with vehicles without factory security and other built in security items. additional items would need to be purchased for these vehicles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible range, December 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DEI Ready Remote 24921 Car Auto Remote Start System (Electronics)
The range on this starter is around 20 feet in an open field or 8 feet when parked in a garage. No attempts to relocate the 6 inch antenna resolved the issue. I finally gave up and bought the Audiovox Prestige APS901C and now the car will start with the garage door closed from a full block away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, December 8, 2012
This review is from: DEI Ready Remote 24921 Car Auto Remote Start System (Electronics)
It works well for my application and it was easy to install, I like it because of the price and the options it has to keep the car running enough to warm it up and just it down very nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not good at all, November 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DEI Ready Remote 24921 Car Auto Remote Start System (Electronics)
very easy to install BUT the range is just horrible - would only start if i was right next to my car. emailed the company and they said there was no way to increase the range

have since removed this from my car and installed the Avital 4103lxl. works perfectly

please save yourself the trouble and do not buy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, April 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: DEI Ready Remote 24921 Car Auto Remote Start System (Electronics)
This is the first remote starter that I have ever purchased and installed. On a college budget, this product is great. Only took 2 hours from start to finish and worked the very first time! Will be installing one in my girlfriends car in a few weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

DEI Ready Remote 24921 Car Auto Remote Start System
Used & New from: $39.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.