Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Reason Why It's Not a 5 Star Product....
It doesn't have the reunion!!!!! I was very dissapointed to see that it wasn't there.
The Real Housewives of Orange County is the one that started it all, but now it seems like there the most tame girls. It's a very good show to get into and I got addicted immediately after downloading the first FREE episode on iTunes. Watching this almost six years later shows that...
Published on February 18, 2011 by Stephenn (:

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Have to give credit
This franchise is amazing. A group of women, either rich or living as though they are, get together and talk about each other, form cliques, bicker, fight and generally behave in the way that normal people do... when they're in junior high, that is. Status is everything to them- without it their lives would be meaningless. They gladly let cameras follow them around and...
Published on March 2, 2011 by John D. Muir


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Have to give credit, March 2, 2011
This franchise is amazing. A group of women, either rich or living as though they are, get together and talk about each other, form cliques, bicker, fight and generally behave in the way that normal people do... when they're in junior high, that is. Status is everything to them- without it their lives would be meaningless. They gladly let cameras follow them around and see how shallow and foolish they are. As long as they are on TV, it's all good. The series reveals in all its ghastly detail the fact that it's possible to be wealthy and yet completely emptyheaded.

Why two stars instead of one? Because I have to give credit to whichever genius thought up the idea. It has spawned numerous spin-offs, each with equally vacuous participants and each eagerly followed every week by the viewing public. My wife, who is intelligent, well-read, empathetic (in fact everything these women are not) loves it. This might be the most successful cable franchise ever, and it's based on a bunch of bimbos whose lives are bounded by social 'occasions' and plastic surgery. They have now been immortalised on DVD, no doubt to their complete satisfaction.

Buy this if you want to see a group of people to whom you can feel superior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Future Denizens Of Hell, December 22, 2009
By 
Whenever I watch this show, and I've only seen it on DVD, I can't help but picture each of these cast members burning in Hell, which is odd, because I don't particularly believe in Hell, but surely in the universe there is SOME form of punishment awaiting such vain, shallow, covetous, beauty-obsessed, greedy life forms, right? OK, I confess, this series is peculiarly watchable, even enjoyable, but it's those things in spite of rather than because of the cast members, who are unpleasant to the last. Breasts so inflated with saline they surely require back braces to support them? Faces so immobile with injected toxins ("I'm always gonna look 32...") that to watch one of them try to weep is to witness a statue begin to crumble? I'll take my future wrinkles any day!

Somewhere around episode five it pierced my brain to wonder how someone becomes like these monstrous women. They were once babies, innocent children, youngsters with hopes and dreams and (one presumes) personalities. Now they lack souls and just embody a limitless black hole of cosmetically-augmented avarice. I don't know if this series is shown around the world but if it is then no wonder so many people elsewhere have such a poor impression of Americans. Well, attention world, we're not all like this. Some of us don't get Botox and only have experiences of botulism after eating at truck stops!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Goldiggers R Us!, November 21, 2007
What really makes me angry about this show are the kids! They live in multi-million dollar homes, have everything anyone could possibly want, totally funded by their parents.....except ambition, the most valuable asset they could give their children, not free BMWs!

Easy living kills all ambition in rich kids. Don't think so? Just look at the Ozzie Osbourne spawn! They have the funds and chance to become anything of value in life such as doctors and other high paying professions, but just become slugs and drones, parasites living off their parents well into their young adult years (Tamra are you listening? Kick the young bloodsucker OUT!)

And the women, OH, where to start.

I did like Vikki, the insurance company owner, at least she works for her money, not marrying it. But in Season 2 her huge mouth which is constantly going started to grate real bad. We have dubbed her "La Pie Hola Grande" and every time I think of her I see the gaping, yapping mouth.

JO: A supposedly college degreed woman who can't quite read the instructions on the back of a fast food package, can't sing, wants to sing, but does not know music related terms, has no interest in learning. Her speaking voice peeled paint. I don't think she'd actually make it through the first round of American Idol.She stated on the show, she HATES responsibility. Does not want to raise her rich ex-boyfriend's kids, would rather spend, spend, spend than work, stay out all night, and pretty damned young to be such a serious boozer! She's no doubt searching for her next sugar daddy.

JEANA: A successful working lady with disasterously raised children! Her daughter seems like the only one with manners or ambition of any sort; her old sons are basically large toddlers who bad mouth their mom who just stands there and passively takes it; brutish kids who would rather spend a lifetime of partying and basically being stuck at a 16 y old mentality. I just shriveled up like a bug on a hot rock when she said she bought each kid a million dollar home! What did these parasitical kids do to DESERVE that!!! Talk about the age of entitlement!

TAMMY: A minor train-wreck, but a train wreck. Illegitimate child with boyfriend, one ambitionless bleached blond, tatooed daughter living with a scummy tatooed biker type who breeds pit bulls ( oh, yeah, Riverside, Calif area needs more of THOSE!)

TAMRA: I like her. She has worked for what she has, but parenting skills to oldest son the PITS! Oldest son is 21 going on 14. Homeless, jobless, ambitionless, living on the dole with parents, the hardest part of his day is figuring out what time to wake up. Step-dad Simon really stepped up to the plate and got him into a Mercedes Benz workshop going into sales. He sits at home whining that he has no job because "opportunity hasn't come his way." Kid, I have news, opportunity does not find YOU!! You find IT!!!!! Oh, what a hard thing life is for this poor boy! I applaud every nasty dig his step dad gives him for being a slug and drone (Drone: An adult male bee that lives in the hive, does nothing for its keep, while the rest of the hive goes out and makes livings every day.)
Tamra: Do the kid a favor immediately, give the kid a deadline to get ANY job, then kick his lazy a$$ out! You do him no favors and are crippling him. At least Burger King would teach him to get up and out of the house EVERY day. Yes, that's what a job is.

Tamra is married to joyless Simon who must think smiling causes impotence. He gave her a $40,000 rolex for her 40th birthday. He sells Mercedes Benzes. Note to self do NOT buy a car from this dealership. He's either selling a lot of cars or they're over priced. He also says he can't sell a car unless he has sex every day. Gee the rest of us just have to go to work every day without sometimes. We still are able to do our jobs. What does he do when she's out of town? Guess he doesn't sell anything.

LAURI: Last and least. Nothing about this aging wannabee 27, 47 year old post menopausal woman is authentic! Fake blond hair, fake over done nose and lips, fake breasts. She's on the prowl for a rich husband. With her druggie son who is frantically trying to get her attention by constantly getting in trouble with the law. But mom's so blinded by dollar signs in her eyes, she doesn't seem to see the kid. And the ambitiousless older daughter who can't even pick up the cat poop in the condo she's sponging off her mom with or even bother to make car payments. Lauri comes with more baggage than LAX!!

I really wonder if boyfriend is serious about an engagement, or just wants to be on TV and once the series is over, engagement is over. Hurry Lauri, before he finds a younger blond thing with less baggage and gets away!!!! Three words for George: Pre-nup, pre-nup, pre-nup!

As Season 4 approaches here's some clues on what might happen:

Laurie and George's made in Heaven wedding turns into the Marriage from Hell. As it dissolves into a knockdown dragout through divorce court, Laurie has time to audition for the Batman sequel as The Joker, or at least as Mrs. J. She already has the face (attention Nancy Grace, better find out what really killed Heath. Sorry, couldn't resist.)

All of the slug kids are still sitting around waiting for someone to hand them a living.

SEASON 4:

New Golddiggers.

Gretchen: Likeable, pretty, not apologizing for being an obvious G.D. Has a rich sugar-daddy who is dying of cancer. She got him to take her to the jewelry stores before he went to die in the hospital. With all the publicity of the show, she'll find another daddy if this one does not get her to the church on time.

Lynne: Poster girl for WHITE CHICKS GET TOO MUCH SUN!! By the age of her kids, she's probably in her late 40's, looks 54. It won't be long until she's looking like a Kennedy matron, like, say Maria Shriver's mom who resembles a breathing mummy. And like the chubby cougar from last year who they dropped from the show, Lynne is extraordinarily BORING! I don't know why there wasn't someone else in Coto who could have spiced things up a little. I predict this is the LAST season. And that's not a bad thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Catch as catch can, December 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This collection is 5 hours long. It is exactly like the old arcade game with the claw that you use to get that toy in the bin. It almost works and you almost get it till it falls. Another fifty cents. These shows are what the Brits call a 'lorry load' where they just dump whatever into the camera field and hope it's entertaining. What you get, then, is some humour, some drama, a lot of bitching (the best part), some old-fashioned gossip, and even some PG13 sexiness. The problem is that there IS a camera and it isn't invisible or hidden. How sincerely happy, sad, funny, or sexy could YOU get with a lens recording it for the nation? Yes, I thought so.

This is strictly for 'Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman' fans, if you know that reference...

If you enjoy spying on people or like soap operas, then grab this up. If not, save your money and get real (i.e. scripted) entertainment...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Reason Why It's Not a 5 Star Product...., February 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It doesn't have the reunion!!!!! I was very dissapointed to see that it wasn't there.
The Real Housewives of Orange County is the one that started it all, but now it seems like there the most tame girls. It's a very good show to get into and I got addicted immediately after downloading the first FREE episode on iTunes. Watching this almost six years later shows that so much has changed!!!
I love all of them except Jeanna. In this season she was pretty chill but after awhile she got to me. Shane & Colton need to treat there mom better and Kara displays a good product mom created.
I really admire Lauri! She's such a strong girl and she is a girl that deserves everything. She is a total package; Brains, Looks, and a Great Attitude!
Jo to me is amazing!!! I really like her but most of the reasons why I like her is because I wish I was in her position...EVERYTHING IS TAKEN CARE OF! But I agree with her 100% on why she wanted out.
Kimberly to me is someone I would love to be my mom!! She is a very sweet girl with lots of intentions of making people happy. Her skin condition made me cry when she was looking back on how its affecting both her children and family.
And Vicki is so rad. She is a hard working girl that loves to take charge and I love that about her :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, January 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Real Housewives of Orange County Season 1 (Amazon Instant Video)
As a longtime fan, it was refreshing to revisit the first season. The show today is so different than season one where the women in season one had no agenda and real friendships.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guilty viewing pleasure!, June 17, 2012
By 
What happens when you throw together wealthy, attractive Orange County women? Drama, naturally. Add a healthy dose of alcohol and the claws come out! It's a guilty pleasure to watch the women spar with each other in one cat fight after another. Watch for utterly mindless entertainment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gotta Love NOT being these people....., June 3, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is entertainment. I love the fact that these women and their loser husbands are so entertaining. Love the drama and self pity lifestyle. The whining, wimpy loser husbands even make it better. Are ALL women in OC blonde? It's like they were all molded the same way.....like Stepford Wives...LOL. I know it's reality TV, but my life looks SO much better than their lives, so it's fun to watch. Especially given the fact they have NO relationship with their own family and are so self centered and now many of them are broke etc. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to the first installment of The Real Housewives franchise that started it all!, August 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Take a glimpse into the lives of these 5 RHOC Women as they open their gates, and give us tv viewers an opportunity to vicariously live through them as they enjoy life's guilty pleasures of the Orange County lifestyle. Although season one isn't as glamorous as its other installments, it's definetly a must see, as each lady individually battles their physical beauty, with the desire to remain as young and attractive as possible, with frequent visits to the gym, plastic surgeon, to the pressures of maintaining a household, to Vicki and Jeana proving that hard work pays off in the professional world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luv me some O.C., February 22, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I just kind of got on the RHWOC bandwagon and I love it. I can't wait until the second season comes on dvd. I just thought hey they are rich they shouldn't really have real big problems.. NOT.. they have the same drama going on as the rest of us.. we may not have all the dough... :) but I still love them..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.