Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent visual and text supplement to the Whydah exhibit., January 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A great story for history and/or pirate buffs. The recovery of the Whydah yielded a wealth of new and specific knowledge of pirate culture. Kids who read well and are interested in the details of history may love this book. We bought a copy after seeing the Whydah exhibit in Denver in 2011. My then-10-year-old son read it daily for quite some time. We misplaced the book during our move last fall. We thought it well worth replacing with a new copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book to accompany the museum exhibition., April 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very interesting story of early pirates and the recent find of their ship and booty. Well done and is a perfect accompaniment to the exhibition if you get a chance to visit a museum that has it on display.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Coffee table reading, February 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very interesting with appropriate illustrations/pictures. The book was physically difficult to read because the binding was so stiff. A good read on a table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars get it, December 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a very interesting read. There are many facts that are usually unknown to most people. If you like this time in history, get it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book Filled With Historical Information, December 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great history of this ship and lots of pictures. Very well put together. The binding is very nice and the pages are heavy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go see this exhibit if it comes to your city, November 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I went to see the exhibition in Kansas City and this was a perfect way to remember all the information I had seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting!, December 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This National Geographic Society masterpiece, written by Barry Clifford (the explorer who discovered the Whydah Galley) and the late great Ken Kinkor (noted pirateologicst and the chief project historian for Clifford's Expedition Whydah), gorgeously presents the history and discovery of the world's only fully authenticated pirate ship wreck.
Though it does fully function as a companion to National Geographic's "REAL PIRATES" traveling Whydah artifact exhibits, as it was originally designed to be, it stands on its own as a true work of piratical history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lot of information ..., March 12, 2013
By 
Maria E. Sanchez (Ann Arbor, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This short book is ideal for older children to learn about pirates although adults will also learn from it. The presentation has many helpful illustrations and the final section discusses the methods of maritime archeology in a very clear way. The books dispels some misconceptions associated with pirates and their life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice and fun to read, January 1, 2013
I call this book "a light reading". Lots of images with very simplified language. The information which it contains about pirates were shocking and new to me. I really recommend buying this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great reading, December 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Real Pirates: The Untold Story of the Whydah from Slave Ship to Pirate Ship (Paperback)
Great reading on the latest finds. Documenting the recovery of artifacts from the waters off Cape Cod. Of interest to sailors, reenactors, sailors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Real Pirates: The Untold Story of the Whydah from Slave Ship to Pirate Ship
Real Pirates: The Untold Story of the Whydah from Slave Ship to Pirate Ship by Barry Clifford (Paperback - September 18, 2007)
$19.95 $17.15
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.