Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb value for the price, and fun!
An excellent, fun tool for speedy animation production, with nearly all the rough edges knocked off. Do you want Maya-quality rendering? Then feel free to spend twenty times the price of iClone 5 on the industry-standard Maya, and a shiny PC to run it. Feel free to take twice as long in learning Maya, and to wait 100,000 times longer for each of those pretty-pretty Maya...
Published on September 26, 2012 by Stokie Dave

versus
17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheap '90s video gamey results - NOT an alternative to Maya or MAX
I made the mistake of wasting quite a bit of money on this software before fully realizing what I had done.

Just know that this "3D rendering" product uses a cheap video game engine to generate 3D visuals, and doesn't use any raytracing or any real rendering that produces any level of realism whatsoever. This means your output will be really low quality, ultra...
Published on September 10, 2012 by R. L. Hodges


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb value for the price, and fun!, September 26, 2012
This review is from: iClone5 PRO - Win (Software)
An excellent, fun tool for speedy animation production, with nearly all the rough edges knocked off. Do you want Maya-quality rendering? Then feel free to spend twenty times the price of iClone 5 on the industry-standard Maya, and a shiny PC to run it. Feel free to take twice as long in learning Maya, and to wait 100,000 times longer for each of those pretty-pretty Maya test-renders. The rest of us will use iClone, which renders images in 'real-time' (just like a videogame does). iClone's comes with a free 3DXchange module, which is a simple importer for vast amounts of quality free 3D models from the likes of DAZ, Poser, and Google 3D Warehouse. 3DXchange bypasses Reallusion's rather expensive (but royalty-free) 3D characters and props, but they're there if you want them. Sure, like any powerful 3D software, iClone does take some time to learn properly. I'd say you may have to put in a few months, on and off, to learn the Pro version. But there are plenty of excellent video tutorials out there. Plus a friendly and helpful community (one that, unlike many 3D hobbyist communities, has many women in it). I've used most 3D packages over the last 15 years. So I know iClone is far less complex than beasts such as Blender, 3DS Max, Maya, and similar - learning these is usually like trying to drive a nuclear submarine. iClone, on the other hand, is built from the ground up as a superbly fast and fun movie-making tool. That means it doesn't have to be 'all things, to all 3D people'. The developers have obviously learned a lot from what DAZ, Poser, and the 'big beasts' of the 3D world have got wrong, and version 5 of iClone gets a whole lot of things very right indeed. I think another area where a lot of people go wrong with iClone, is that they want extreme photo-realism - without realizing the oodles of time and processing power that raytracing takes on an average desktop PC. If I render something in Blender at 3600px (as I'm often forced to, much as I loathe the software), then I can't expect much more than a little light Web surfing, as Blender hogs the PC to grind through 30-40 minutes of render time. With iClone I can still use Photoshop, and all my usual desktop stuff, at the same time as running iClone. If you do misguidedly try for photo-realism, then iClone doesn't have the graphical reach (although you can push it remarkably far, once you know what you're doing). If on the other hand you want a stylised look (toon, silhouette, videogame machinima) then you can get great results with iClone. Having started as a hobbyist I now use iClone 5 Pro commercially every week, and am still blown away at the features and capabilities that you have at your fingertips for such a low price. Note that there's now a free full 30-day demo of the 5 Pro version, which anyone thinking of buying should try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars iClone5 - The Best 3D Animation Software Available Today, October 4, 2012
By 
This review is from: iClone5 PRO - Win (Software)
For years I tried just about every 3D software package available. Then I found iClone and my search for the perfect animation software was complete.

With iClone you don't need to spend hours setting up a basic scene, or even worse wait more hours for a single render of your work. With iClone you can be up and running in minutes and turning out professional level animation and effects in no time at all. And what is so great is that iClone works in real-time. So what you see is what you get. You don't need to render just to see how your scene will look.

Using iClone is really like having your own movie studio on your computer. Everything is available to create your own movies. Just drop in your actors, props, scenery. Then add lighting, cameras and effects. It's all there. You can give your actors motions with just a click, or if you want something special you can create your own.

What I especially love about iClone5 is that you are not expected to be some 3D animation expert or a film school graduate just to make a movie. Using the incredible time saving features such as MixMoves or Puppet Motion, you can bring your actors to life with just a few clicks. All the hard work is done for you. All you need to do is select from a number of presets and away you go. MixMoves in particular will automatically blend a variety of different motions into the most realistic animations you could ever want.

For the actors themselves, it is very easy to add your own photo and create custom characters with incredibly realistic results. Making them talk is just as easy. Open a sound file or record your own voice and your character will speak the words with perfect lip-sync. Just like that.

Now that I have found iClone, I rarely use any other 3D software. If I do it is normally to transfer content into iClone where I can animate it much easier than before. To do this you will need a companion program to iClone5 called 3DXchange5. 3DXchange5 is available from the Reallusion website and I would recommend getting it if you can. With this great little program you can bring in actors, props and motions from almost any other software package, or from free model resource libraries such as the Google Warehouse. You will find it quickly pays for itself as it opens the doors to an unlimited library of new content.

I couldn't finish this review without mentioning the new Physics engine that comes with iClone5. With physics you can just lose hours experimenting. It's so much fun. Want to see a car smash through a brick wall, or create a castle and have a catapult knock it down, then you can do it easily. You will literally find yourself thinking of new crazy stuff to try out, just to see what happens.

I have to say that I `am amazed at some of the comments by other users with regards to technical problems. I can honestly say I have never encountered any problems installing iClone or running it on my own mid-range system. It's always worked first time every time for me.

Overall I would wholeheartedly recommend iClone5 to anyone who is a budding movie maker or has an interest in the world of 3D animation. It really is incredible fun and the only limitation will be your own creativity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iclone5 is great!, September 25, 2012
This review is from: iClone5 PRO - Win (Software)
I can tell everyone and anyone that Iclone 5 is a great program for professional animation.

I can also tell anyone and everyone that the tech team at Iclone are some of the finest people in the world and they listen to their customers and constantly improve their products. They are a dream come true to work with.

And if you think I'm kidding, I can also tell anyone and everyone that I've been in professional entertainment production for 60 years and that we have just finished a major film production using Iclone 5 and we are going to do at least 9 more films with IClone 5 and whatever the future updates/upgrades to Iclone 5 are.

And you can take that to the bank.

Oh, and one more thing, I burned out a Blu-Ray DVD of our new Iclone 5 film last night and the playback quality is out of this world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For amateurs and Semi-pros, March 26, 2013
This review is from: iClone5 PRO - Win (Software)
If you are just a bit curious about 3D movie making, if you want to create you own production without having to attend Full Sail, If you want to create a fast animation without breaking your savings then this is for you. its a great easy to learn and very well supported software that Reallusion keeps up to date with add-ons, User Boards, tutorials, Tips and tricks and many may others development. You can start producing right out of the box or you can immerse yourself even more by obtaining 3dXchange 5 and really import/export other characters and objects from and to the major 3D designers (Maya, 3Ds Max, Poser, etc.) Iclone 5 comes loaded with several characters but only 2 of them are sort of High definition(G5s), you can, up to a point, change their features and clothes, you can add your own voice and they'll Lip-sync, you can even can modify the lip-synced mouths to your delight. Characters come with their basic animation which is extensive for most projects but after a while it becomes repetitive and easy to recognize as Iclone built in animations. There is a HUGE market so you can buy characters, animations, props and things only a large production will need. You can even create realistic flowing clothes and hair for your characters by obtaining additional software.
I would summarize that there is no limit to what you can do with Iclone 5.
Being experience with several 3D animation packages I can say that you have to watch for the following:
1. A complicated Timeline, its a bit difficult to learn from the get-go
2. Animations sometimes become jerky if you do not spend enough time trying to smooth them out, and I mean a long time.
3. Iclone 5 renders to AVI so for the average user is a bit of extra work if you want to post an MP4 on YouTube or on any mobile media.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheap '90s video gamey results - NOT an alternative to Maya or MAX, September 10, 2012
By 
R. L. Hodges (Layton, UT, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: iClone5 PRO - Win (Software)
I made the mistake of wasting quite a bit of money on this software before fully realizing what I had done.

Just know that this "3D rendering" product uses a cheap video game engine to generate 3D visuals, and doesn't use any raytracing or any real rendering that produces any level of realism whatsoever. This means your output will be really low quality, ultra low poly count, extremely unrealistic, very cheap, and video gamey. And I'm not talking modern video games - I mean video games from the 1990s. I am not joking.

It brags about virtually zero render times that other 3D software products are known for. The trade-off is the abysmal output quality. What you are actually doing/getting is setting up a scene in a video game engine and then recording/exporting the playback of that scene ("real time"). That's it. No raytraced output, no realism, etc. This software product is a time machine back to the 1990s. If you need any clue as to the realism this product produces, it makes use of Microsoft DirectX gaming technology. But not Windows 7's DirectX 11. Not even Windows Vista's DirectX 10. It uses DirectX 9 from Windows XP, dating back to 2002.

This is kiddieware, and cannot be used for any professional work that demands photorealism or any level of visual quality. Do not purchase this software thinking otherwise. It's a very clever concept and is perfect for playing around and making content that is not intended to be taken seriously. Just remember this and you'll probably be fine.

Sadly, however, it does actually get worse. The 3D content you are forced to buy for this product (characters, props, clothing, scenes, etc) are insanely expensive compared to far more capable and realistic looking product families like DAZ3D's products. The selection is also extremely limited. Worse is that they look horribly unrealistic - you're not even going to get close to producing anything that even resembles the quality of one of those Barbie movies for 6 year old little girls.

The only thing good I can say about this product is that it has a wonderfully clever and effectively capable motion capture capability using the Microsoft Kinect sensor (the expensive Windows version for developers, not the limited XBox version). And that's another $230 for the sensor, another $200 for the plug-in to use the sensor, and if you want to import/export 3D rigs to/from other 3D software like 3DSMAX and others, it's another whopping $500. Read that last sentence over and over until this sinks in, because you're looking at spending an ADDITIONAL $1,000 on extras and content to really be able to do anything with this software the way it's advertized.

A very sad challenge to make: Get on YouTube and see if you can find anything that looks visually acceptable that was produced with this product. This includes content that was made using all the extra expensive add-ons and content. Then start looking at stuff made with real 3D products, like 3DS Max and Maya. The comparison is like swatting a fly with a baseball bat. And no amount of money, which you WILL be spending with the misguided dream of creating better looking 3D content, will ever make it look any better.

Another thing you'll learn the hard way: Reallusion's online marketing videos make these products look like they are a snap to use. That is not the case. iClone is an incredibly complex product and a lot of the tweaking and adjusting and scene animation setup is commonly not included in their "look how easy it is" videos. What you see is a soccer mom and her child seemingly making these movies on a whim. Then I bought and tried the software myself. Totally different experience. You do in fact spend a tremendous amount of time scouring the forums and YouTube to learn the ropes of this software - and that' seven on top of how the training DVD comes free with this software (at least at the moment).

If you want to use this product, keep your output quality expectations EXTREMELY low, and make sure you've got a gazzillion dollars in your pocket for all the additional content, products, and add-ons you're going to have to purchase to get it all up and running the way they advertize.

NOT happy. 5 stars for clever software. Minus 3 stars for this software being a total money pit and far more complex than advertized.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A good idea, but unbelievably shonky., February 18, 2014
This review is from: iClone5 PRO - Win (Software)
Anyone considering buying iClone 5 pro might like to see the route it took me down. I purchased iClone 5 pro as it looked good on paper. I soon realised that buying Reillusion's 3DExchange was hardly an optional extra, so I purchased that. It's inconsistent and erratic behaviour (which we don't need when trying to learn complex software) made me wonder whether my pc (well within spec) was realistically too slow, so I purchased a pc with an AMD 6 core processor.

So, after spending well over £1,000 on this 'affordable' package, I still have an animation package that is flakey to say the least.

Hopefully, other people have had a better experience with it, Or are happy just to tinker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Program! Easy to get started but may take some effort to use the advanced features., December 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: iClone5 PRO - Win (Software)
I love iClone 5 Pro. There are a lot of great features that come with this program, right out of the box. there is also a lot of content you can buy online to add to it. They really make it easy to get started in animation. However, it could take a while to get really good at using a lot of the program's features. Luckily enough you can get a highly detailed user manual online that covers a lot. There is no shortage of documentation. It's easy to get started and easy to navigate. It's just that some of the really good features might require a little more effort and some reading but when all else fails, read the manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Be careful on this product, June 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: iClone5 PRO - Win (Software)
The ad for the product is misleading. Their customer service is e-mail only and I am not used to spending more for product s features to get it to work like their advertising says it will . I saw this after I received, and immediately returned to Amazon for a full refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Dirty Truth about the REAL ILLUSION called Clone 5 Pro!, August 25, 2012
This review is from: iClone5 PRO - Win (Software)
UPDATE: In response to commenters doubting the accuracy of my original review, I REWROTE my review to clarify my reasons for asserting that REAL ILLUSION IS CHEATING CUSTOMERS BY SELLING PATCHED OLD TECHNOLOGY, as follows:

iClone 5 requires Windows XP's DirectX 9 in order to work in Windows 7. DirectX 11 is Windows 7 technology.

Reallusion didn't bother to write new code to make iClone 5 work with W7's DirectX 11. XP's DirectX 9 components are installed during installation of iClone. That means instead of writing new code for W7, Reallusion used a cheap 'workaround' to get iClone 5 to function 'OK' in W7. That method of developing a 'new' version prevents iClone 5 from unleashing and using the full power of W7 technology. Yes, iClone 5 works OK in W7 but at the expense of performance...thus shortchanging iC5 users.

Run iClone 5 in XP SP3 x32 and compare its performance against iClone 5 in W7 x64...you will notice iClone runs faster and smoother in XP. (I, myself, use iClone 5 in XP rather than in Windows 7. I have a dual OS Windows PC--both XP & W7. I would gladly run iClone 5 in W7 if it performed better in W7.)

Reallusion's patch job might work OK in W7 x64. BUT for $180 to $200, Real Illusion should have re-written iClone for W7 technology, not patching XP technology to work in W7. A patch job is dirty code; and clean code works more efficiently than 'dirty' patched code...ask any software programmer! Real Illusion took the cheapo developer's path at the expense of their customers.

Reallusion didn't officially make iClone 5 compatible with W7 64-bit until late June 2012 with release of v5.3--OVER two years after the release of W7! AGAIN, instead of writing new code, Real Illusion just patched their old technology to function OK in a 64-bit OS. I can cite other instances of programming shortcuts taken by Real Illusion to transform XP's iClone 4 into the bastardized version called iClone 5.

What happens now in Windows 8? Will XP's DirectX 9 work in Windows 8? If not, forget using iClone 5 in Windows 8. But if Reallusion had written iC5's code for W7, then iC5 would already be compatible with W8.

Hey, if you don't mind buying yesterday's technology for big bucks, more power to you. But I am a consumer who feels that for $180, I should get a truly new product rather than an old product with a new facelift.

*** ORIGINAL REVIEW ****

The DIRTY TRUTH is Reallusion could have developed iClone 5 for Windows 7 x64 but did not!

In Reality, Reallusion patched up iClone 4 for Windows 7. Then Reallusion renamed version 4, calling it iClone 5!

In Other Words, iClone 5 is not actually a major new version created specifically for Windows 7. iClone was created for Windows XP and then PATCHED for Windows 7. And they did a poor patch job too!

Clone 5 Pro and Windows 7 SP1 x64 are NOT Friends!

iClone 5 Pro requires the user to install Windows XP's DirectX 9. If you don't, iClone will NOT work.

DirectX 9 was the version for Windows XP. DirectX 11 is Windows 7's version. And iClone REQUIRES installation of DirectX 9 in Windows 7! (I wonder how iClone will work in Windows 8!)

Microsoft claims DirectX 11 is backwards compatible for OLD games and OLD software that require DirectX 9. Microsoft even recommends against installing DirectX 9 in Windows 7 with DirectX 11. Microsoft DownloadS' web installer refuses to install DirectX 9 in Windows 7. (It is possible to install DirectX 9 in Windows 7 but only if you manage to find a 'redistributable' package.)

As a general rule, it is a bad idea to install old operating system components into a newer operating system. Yet, that is exactly what Reallusion wants you to do.

Under the hood, iClone 5 is nothing more than iClone 4 with additional features. iClone 4 was developed for Windows XP technology; therefore, iClone 5 fundamentally remains XP era software. Even Reallusion more or less admits such!

The Reallusion senior technician wrote this: "We can totally understand your frustration in using iClone5 on Windows 7. And actually our development team also considers upgrading DirectX to newer version. But because of many reasons, we didn't do this update in iClone5. However, they still consider to update it in iClone 6."

iClone 5 was released almost two years after the release of W7. Reallusion had ample time to properly update iClone 5 for DirectX 11 of W7. Instead they chose to patch iClone 4 to sort of work with W7 x64. (iClone 4 was developed for Windows XP and DirectX 9.) The patch job called iClone 5 does not take full advantage of W7's power and capabilities.

iClone's performance in Windows 7 suffers as a consequence of using OLD technology. That fact can be seen in the poor quality of iClone's output.

iClone 5 can do amazing things with animation, but the animation output looks like something from the 1990s.

Animated people do not look realistic. They look like mannequins in a clothing store. Their facial expressions are blank and dead. But what can be expected when Reallusion iClone 5 continues to rely on OLD technology to produce animation?

iClone 5 has Bugs in Windows 7 x64

Reallusion did a lousy patch job to make iClone work in Windows 7 x64. Consequently, iClone 5 suffers from several significant 'bugs' in W7 x64.

First of all, Reallusion does not warn you in advance that it must install DirectX during the iClone installation!

DURING installation of iClone, a message pops up and tells the user that he must install DirectX 9 in his W7 PC--that is a very rude surprise!

My first and second installations of iClone 5 Pro failed on account of issues with DirectX 9.

Yes, I managed to get iClone 5 Pro to finally install in W7 SP1 x64. BUT it is a patch job¡­ and as such, iClone works like crap now.

iClone 5 Pro fully opens up OUTSIDE of the right edge of my monitor screen. That means the Minimize & Exit buttons in the upper right corner can't be accessed.

The close button of the iClone icon on Taskbar doesn't work. Also, the 'close' item on the dropdown menu in the upper left corner under the Reallusion icon does not work.

It is tough closing out iClone. I have to 'force close' it using Windows Task Manager. That really sucks!

Some features in menus won't launch by mouse click, ­but will open if the correct hot key is used. That sucks too.

I can name other issues to, ­but there is also a bitter irony involved too.

Since iClone didn't perform so well in W7, I installed it on XP. My PC is dual OS--XP Pro SP3 x32 and W7 Pro SP1 x64.

Ha, ha, iClone 5 Pro works like a champ in XP x32 (if you don't mind using a nearly obsolete OS and getting limited to 3 GB of RAM).

Bad performance in W7 but good performance in XP should tell you something about iClone.

OVERALL, I am unhappy with my purchase of iClone 5 Pro. I didn't want to use it in XP!

Reallusion Does Not Update Its Other Software Too!

The same lack of proper development can be seen in OTHER Reallusion software.

I cite WidgetCast Pro, which is a companion software for iClone. The last update for Widget was released in 2010.

WidgetCast's tech specs warn customers that not all features work in Windows 7.

WORSE YET, Reallusion is a liar!

Reallusion continues to aggressively market WidgetCast even though they stopped updating it in 2010. EVEN MORE HORRIBLE, Reallusion boldly advertises WidgetCast as compatible with Windows 7...even when Reallusion's own spec sheet says otherwise.

Oh yes, I bought WidgetCast too and discovered the hard way that it doesn't work in W7 x64! But all features work in Windows XP!

It wasn't until current version 5.3 that iClone was officially made compatible with W7 64-bit--and v5.3 was just released within the past month or so! Unfortunately, the latest version still doesn't work quite right in Windows 7 x64 (see above for my report about bugs in iClone 5.3).

The REAL ILLUSION is Reallusion's claim that iClone works well in Windows 7 x64! And the Real Lie is the claim that iClone 5 was a NEW major version!

Reallusion is a lazy, lying developer--and that is the Real Truth behind the Real Illusion!

POOR TECH SUPPORT

Reallusion tech support is a Real Illusion. They are quick to offer excuses. But they don't provide meaningful support that actually fixes anything.

This summarizes Real Illusion's concept of tech support: 'Our software is perfect. But you are not! And that's the Real problem!

REPEAT -- Remember This Before You Buy iClone 5:

1. Reallusion did NOT fully update iClone for Windows 7. Reallusion did a lousy patch job to make iClone work in Windows 7 x64. And iClone's performance in Windows 7 is poor. And thus its animation output look badly outdated.

2. iClone employs OLD XP technology! Don't buy old technology!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

iClone5 PRO - Win
iClone5 PRO - Win by Reallusion Inc. (Windows 7 / XP)
$199.95 $159.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.