Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great resource for real estate professionals
Real estate agents certainly have a much harder job today than they did in the pre-Internet days. I often wonder how so many of them continue to make a living when there are a variety of online solutions for buying and selling a house. How do they justify their commission? Stand out in the crowd?

One way to become better known as the local real estate...
Published on January 3, 2007 by Joe Wikert

versus
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A focus on all the wrong things
I delayed buying this book, hoping that it wouldn't be as bad as it proved to be.

It's a muddled brain dump of both good and bad advice about blogging, but with a focus on all the wrong things.

The single biggest problem is that it panders to the standard real estate agent thinking that there's a magic bullet out there that will give the agent an...
Published on March 25, 2007 by Joseph Zekas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great resource for real estate professionals, January 3, 2007
This review is from: Realty Blogging: Build Your Brand and Out-Smart Your Competition (Paperback)
Real estate agents certainly have a much harder job today than they did in the pre-Internet days. I often wonder how so many of them continue to make a living when there are a variety of online solutions for buying and selling a house. How do they justify their commission? Stand out in the crowd?

One way to become better known as the local real estate expert, and a very good one, I might add, is to consider getting into the blogosphere. Become the well-known real estate expert in your community. Offer all sorts of great insight on how to prep your house for sale or what to look for in your next home purchase.

If you're in the real estate business or know someone who is, Realty Blogging is a "must read." The authors do a fantastic job of putting everything you need to know about blogging in general, but aimed at the real estate market, in a book that's less than 200 pages long. Much of their advice can also be applied outside of blogging (e.g., positioning yourself as the expert and exploiting niches). Another nice touch is that they not only offer coverage of the more popular blogging platforms, they also set up their own, where readers can start a blog in an environment that's very realtor-friendly.

The best real estate agents also seem to be outstanding at personal networking. Blogging is a natural networking extension, but with the added benefits of being much broader and offering 24/7 access. I know a lot of the real estate agents out there are "old school" and all, but I think any agent without a blog is really missing a huge opportunity. If you're the new real estate agent in the area, what better way to build brand recognition and a following than starting a blog to share your real estate wisdom and advice?

I also like the form factor of this one (small trim size, less than 200 pages, inexpensively priced) and wonder what other vertical segments might be right for a blogging book like this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A focus on all the wrong things, March 25, 2007
This review is from: Realty Blogging: Build Your Brand and Out-Smart Your Competition (Paperback)
I delayed buying this book, hoping that it wouldn't be as bad as it proved to be.

It's a muddled brain dump of both good and bad advice about blogging, but with a focus on all the wrong things.

The single biggest problem is that it panders to the standard real estate agent thinking that there's a magic bullet out there that will give the agent an edge over his or her competitors. The current magic bullet is blogging.

Left out of the books is any serious discussion of what should have been the starting point: a blog can't attract an audience without a focus on delivering something of value to a targeted audience.

The authors pay modest homage to this concept, but virtually everything they write undermines it. They encourage agents to write about anything and everything, and tell them what they want to hear: you can be an expert simply by claiming to be one and having a blog.

Agents should spend the time learning something substantive that consumers want to know instead of reading this book.

The popularity of this book will do much to undermine any potential value that real estate blogging has to those agents who want to pursue it as a way of developing, honing and communicating real expertise. An army of idiot brokers will, on the advice of the authors, be babbling on with no focus and will discourage anyone from even looking at the occasional good real estate blog.

Real estate blogging, if the authors of this book find an audience that follows their advice, will be just as useless a field of garbage as real estate agent Web sites have become.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Latino Niche, January 19, 2009
By 
Golden Lion "Reader" (North Ogden, Ut United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Realty Blogging: Build Your Brand and Out-Smart Your Competition (Paperback)
1. The market is splintered into millions of pieces

2. People are inundated with disruptive messages.

3. Blogs help focus on a small subset of people. The blog content reflects what you are good at; what you enjoy; what are your strengths.

4. Blogging at its heart is an exercise in openness, "speak from your heart".

5. A blog in the Blogsphere should be a place to learn and not be sold; a place to provide timely information to the public; a place to entertain your web guests.

6. Create you personality online. Loyal fans will communicate with, as if they know you. Blogs are a retention tool. They use pull marketing rather than push marketing. Give the customer information they want and they will return.

7. Long-term relationships are established through strong interpersonal communication skills.

8. Effective blogs are good lead generators.

9. Effective blogging is characterized returning loyal readers; controlled flow of relevant and niched information; strong promotion of business events; and the establishment of unique character and writing style.

10. The Latio niche represents one of the fastest growing market segments. By 2050, there will be 103 million Latios in the US. In 2007, Latio buying power was $200 billion. By 2010, Lation buying power will by $12 trillion, more buying power that all of Mexico.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT STARTER IF YOU'RE NEW TO REAL ESTATE BLOGGING, January 10, 2008
This review is from: Realty Blogging: Build Your Brand and Out-Smart Your Competition (Paperback)
This is the first book I read before I started blogging. I am a Realtor and have been blogging for almost two years.

When I picked up this book I was looking for a system to start of my blogging strategy. This proved to be a good material for it touches all the essential parts of being successful in the blogosphere.

If you're worried that the lessons found in this book might be "too general",then it might be. But based from my experience the lessons found in this book are at least one year's work.

What you will soon discover after you start blogging is there's so many opinions and strategies out there on what you NEED to do in order to be successful.

Many of which are true, but because we only have limited hours to work in a day you need to choose one stable system. It does not mean that you have to stop there. I'm just saying you need to choose one system to start of, then ONCE you master it then you can move on from there.

This is a good book to start of your real estate blogging strategy.
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have for Any Bloggers' Library..., January 3, 2007
By 
Mariana Wagner "Mariana" (Colorado Springs, Colorado) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Realty Blogging: Build Your Brand and Out-Smart Your Competition (Paperback)
Man! I thought I was inspired to be a Blog-master before the book showed up on my front porch! Even after I read only a few chapters my mind was about to *POP!*- but in a good way... Realty Blogging was referred to my by a fellow blogger, so I ordered it right away. See, I am new to the Blogosphere and am NOT very tech-savvy, not even a little bit. So, there were a lot of "unknowns" to me about blogging. Besides the fact that this book was crammed packed with useful information, what I LOVED was that it was not written in "Geek-Speak" -I could understand everything. (Yay!) I also appreciated how it broke down all the different facets of blogging- what it is, why a real estate agent should do it, and how to effectively maintain a blog... It is a valuable reference book for any real estate agent in any stage of blogging. Because it was so packed with info., I will be able to reference it again and again as I grow as a blogger. Buy it. Read it. Keep it handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent source for Real Estate Bloggers, April 27, 2007
This review is from: Realty Blogging: Build Your Brand and Out-Smart Your Competition (Paperback)
There are many great books on blogging, this book in particular was extremely helpful to me as a new blogger not only because it relates specifically to my field, but because it helped me with basics and it was easy to read and follow. The book is up-to-date, filled with great resources and examples and recommend it to anyone who is considering blogging. It talks about subjects like finding your voice to finding your audience in order to be successful at blogging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book got a lot out of it., May 27, 2013
By 
Lewis Kaplan (Deerfield, il United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Realty Blogging: Build Your Brand and Out-Smart Your Competition (Paperback)
Outstanding book I got a lot of useful tips. Would recommend it to anyone. Thank you for the great service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, by now getting outdated, January 7, 2012
By 
Sahne (Washington) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Realty Blogging: Build Your Brand and Out-Smart Your Competition (Paperback)
This was a great book when it came out and some of it is still absolutely valid. However, it's better if you seek a more updated version to get your blogging advise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blogging Captures the Imagination of the Real Estate Industry, March 20, 2007
This review is from: Realty Blogging: Build Your Brand and Out-Smart Your Competition (Paperback)
In 2004, however, blogs unexpectedly vaulted into the forefront of major media, and today there are thought to be more than 30 million bloggers contributing on some kind of regular basis - a community that grows by the thousands every single day.

Blogging is rapidly developing into an instrument whose purpose, among others, is to establish an online presence, improve visibility, build a sense of community, maintain an open dialogue for clients and prospects, and offer valuable information - all of which is accomplished in a facade-less, unfiltered, much more candid way.

Therefore, by definition blogging has a huge potential in real estate - both for brokers and agents. It is another untapped, powerful tool for the tech-savvy agent, another hi-tech weapon in the real estate sales arsenal that should be used in tandem with the myriad of Internet-related innovations like websites, search engine optimization, and video and audio broadcasting, to strengthen the agent's overall marketing package and enable him or her to present a homes sale or purchase experience that leaves client expectations in the dust.

As more traditional marketing avenues and vehicles continue to lose market share to their digital cousins, the real estate industry would be wise to gain as much understanding as we can about all of the potential advantages inherent in the organic World Wide Web, and all the new strategies, including blogging. In this new book, Richard expertly details and clarifies this new phenomenon for real estate professionals. It is the best book on blogging for real estate professionals.

Embrace, explore, and engage it. Conquer its intricacies, share in its knowledge base, maximize its huge potential and then set a path to become the real estate blogging authority in your local market.

Stefan Swanepoel

Thirteen time author including

Real Estate confronts Reality (1997) Real Estate confronts the Future (2004) and Swanepoel Trends Report (2007)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Realty Blogging: Build Your Brand and Out-Smart Your Competition
Realty Blogging: Build Your Brand and Out-Smart Your Competition by Richard Nacht (Paperback - November 29, 2006)
$18.95 $14.45
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.