Customer Reviews


562 Reviews
5 star:
 (314)
4 star:
 (116)
3 star:
 (47)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (55)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just another remix album
Linkin Park's "Reanimation" is a remarkable CD. Many people I know said they wouldn't buy it because they assumed it was just a collection of extended, watered-down versions of their originals. Untrue. Each song is completely unique from it's parent, often times barely resembling it. With each song they took it to the next level, sometimes rerecording/rewriting...
Published on June 5, 2004 by Robert Graves

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent.. but this isn't Linkin Park!
"Opening" is beautiful. It raised my hopes... probably too much.
As much as I'd like to say this is a fabulous album, it's only "good"--and that's gotta hurt, coming from a real Linkin Park fan.
What was good? When the electronics got used to their full capability in songs like Pts. Of. Athrty, Wth>You, Frgt/10, By_Myslf, and especially...
Published on May 26, 2003 by David Michael Cook


‹ Previous | 1 257 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just another remix album, June 5, 2004
By 
Robert Graves (Thompson Station, TN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reanimation (Audio CD)
Linkin Park's "Reanimation" is a remarkable CD. Many people I know said they wouldn't buy it because they assumed it was just a collection of extended, watered-down versions of their originals. Untrue. Each song is completely unique from it's parent, often times barely resembling it. With each song they took it to the next level, sometimes rerecording/rewriting the entire vocal or rap section to make it different from the original. "Pushing Me Away" comes to mind as a great example of this. So there's the first thing - this is not just a pale reflection of "Hybrid Theory"; it's completely fresh takes on the songs, including some previously unreleased cuts only available to LP fan club members.
Although they used a dozen different producers throughout the CD it has an amazing continuity to it. The same melodic string and piano motifs appear throughout each recording, connecting it in a surreal way. There is only one production that seems out of place to me, and it's on the worst possible song - "In The End." This was their biggest hit from "Hybrid Theory" and fans were expecting more out of it than any other cut on the record (at least I was). They destroyed it. The producers gave the song a shuffle feel and laced it with the "yo-yo-yo" street thing, rather than the more rapcore attitudes that permeate the rest of "Reanimation." Terrible.
Fortunately, though, the rest of the CD shines. This may be the first record, with the exception of "Hybrid Theory," that utilizes the newest technology for the good of music, not for the worse of it. Here's a brief explanation.
Music is done entirely on computers today. There is no more tape. Only hard drives. We can now work with music in a similar way that a writer works with a word processor - just cut and paste. The result has been the demise of music. We now have tools of unbelievable power, undreamt of only ten years ago, yet the quality of music has steadily gotten worse. Why? Because the tools are so powerful and simplified that unqualified musicians can now use them. Performances can always be "fixed later" so a good performance doesn't really matter anymore. The vocals can be tuned, the drums can be put in time - not need to waste precious studio time on perfectionism. That's if you're lucky enough to be in a studio. Most of these systems are in the producer's house, which brings us to the second reason for demise - location. We no longer need 84 channel consoles and racks upon racks of outboard gear. It's all in the computer. Anyway, I'm going off a little too much. The point is, music quality is declining because enormous power is now in the hands of people who aren't qualified to have it.
Linkin Park, however, has used this power for good. They've managed to use it to produce new sounds we've never heard before and to overall improve the quality of their sounds. On "Reanimation" the editing is used as an instrument as much as anything else.
Make sure to stick with every song because they often turn midway through into some new, amazing section. Track 7 comes to mind as a production with a less interesting first half that ends up providing the best moment on the album in the outro. If you liked "Hybrid Theory" I can't imagine you wouldn't love "Reanimation."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Musical Masterpiece, August 22, 2002
By 
Lorraine (Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reanimation (Audio CD)
Like most people, hearing that Linkin Park were releasing a remix version of the their debut album "Hybrid Theory" ,I didn't expect it to be much different except for a few differnt beats thrown in here and there. I didn't believe it could be possible for them to turn the greatest album ever, "Hybrid Theory", into an even bigger success.....But they have. From the moment these 20 powerful masterpieces poured through my headphones it brought me to a world of Musical Excellence. Linkin Park have built this world with their creative intelligence, masterful lyrics, and controlling beats that grip you from the moment they sound. It's the most amazing compliation I have ever heard. They are true Masters.
The album opens with the powerful remix of 'PTS.OF.ATHRTY' which takes you deeper into the whole atmosphere of the song.
'ENTH E ND' is stripped of its hard metal sound but its the beat and the updated wording of the song that grips you.
'FRGT/10' is transfromed into a much deeper statement and is more dramatic.
'P5HNG ME A*WY' is a remix of the beats and vocals and is more enjoyable to listen to.
'PLC.4 MIE HED' is also just a updated version of the original but very entertaining.
'X-ECUTIONER STYLE' is a compliation of different beats remixed with Black Thought providing the vocals.
'H!VLTG3' has a jazzy type feel to it and although I prefer the original mix its still an interesting listen.
'WTH>YOU' is brillant, with a strong rock feel to it, its very powerful to listen to.
'PPR:KUT' updated with cool voals, beats and guitars, its excellent.
'RNW@Y' is stronger than the original and more meaningful.
'MY<DSMBR' I also prefer the original version of this song but this remix of it isn't to be disgarded.
'BY_MYSLF' is gripping with its harsh guitar sound and the vocals are updated for the chorus.
'KYUR4 TH ICH' is just remixed with additional beats and sounds for effect.
'1STP KLOSR' is one of my favourites with Jonathan Davis contributing his own unique sound to this unique track. There is almost a two minute build up to the explosive main tune and is much stronger and deeper than the original. Brilliant.
'KRWLNG' this is another of my favourites and is also the finale to an awesome collection of tracks. Aaron Lewis provides vocals alongside Chester Bennington and the pair come together on a level of musical brillance in this masterpiece.
Overall you can't put down anything that Linkin Park put their intelligence to. They are the true Musical Masters and this album is a definite recommended buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's got a lot Hybrid Theory didn't., July 31, 2002
This review is from: Reanimation (Audio CD)
Hybrid Theory was, in the opinion of most, an excellent album, and was certainly a financially successful one, especially considering it was the first serious recording venture made by the California band. The songs were usually bitter, often sorrowful, but seldom really angry in the dark, Nine Inch Nails sense of the word. NIN and bands like it have demonstrated that you don't have to be loud to be bitter and brooding, and Linkin Park has embraced this theory in Reanimation. By and large, the tracks on Reanimation are much quieter than their Hybrid Theory counterparts, but they are much darker. The effect complements the original album very well. The remixes themselves are very masterfully done, most notably 'Enth E End' (the almost jazzy new piano sample will catch your attention right away) and 'Krwlng' (Staind's Aaron Lewis lends himself very well to the song). The remixes of 'Place For My Head' and 'Pushing Me Away'--to which Korn's Jon Davis lends his considerable talents--and the previously unreleased track 'My December' are also well done. However, if you didn't care for Hybrid Theory, don't expect to enjoy Reanimation. Listening to the CD, I found myself preferring and disliking the same songs that I had when I got Hybrid Theory. Overall, though, it's certainly worth your money and an excellent CD to have, especially if it's to complement Hybrid Theory. Just as a brief aside, if nothing else go to a store and look at the back of the CD. You can have a little fun trying to decipher the twisted takes on the names of the original songs. 'Frg/10' gave me fits until I figured it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Remix CD, But No Follow-Up, July 30, 2002
By 
Ashton (Pago Pago, AS USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reanimation (Audio CD)
If you like Linkin Park's original CD, "Hybrid Theory", you'll probably like their remix CD, "Reanimation". Linkin Park brought in a slew of DJs and rappers to help them bring out a CD that would hold fans over until their second "true" CD comes out in about six months. Some remixes turned out really great, standouts include "By Myself", "Place For My Head", "Pushing Me Away" and, of course, their single, "Points Of Authority", which came out with some harsh beats and more speed to them. However, the great dissappointments of the CD were their original singles. The remix of "In The End" sounds faster at best, nothing much has changed. Although they did change many of the lyrics of the song, the song sounds too similar to the original, with only real noticeable difference to the song being in the chorus, where the tune becomes more muddled and crowded. "Crawling" sounds similar as well, the beat is changed very little, sounding more like a rehash than a remix. A new, rapid fire verse is added, which is a nice addition, but not enough to make me like it as much as the original. "Papercut" was my biggest disappointment. Being my favorite song on the "Hybrid Theory" CD, I was excepted a great remix, if nothing else at least a good one. However, I was disappointed, as they just put out the exact same song, with the tiny change of making the song sound a little more electronic, not remixed at all. I could do the exact same thing with the original version of "Papercut", all I'd have to do it put it on really poor speakers and turn up the static. "One Step Closer" is the only decent remix of their singles, which is a true remix, but instead of speeding it up, they slowed it down and put a lot more emphasis on the beat, so the vocalists are overshadowed by the beat. I find this to be one of the average remixes on the CD. With the "Cure For The Itch" remix, you'll find more of the same, great DJing, but a variety of new samples have been added to his old ones. "With You" is also slowed down and lengthed, I would say the same thing about this one as the "One Step Closer" remix. Along with the "Hybrid Theory" remixes, you get remixes of a variety of remixes of songs from their first EP. "High Voltage" was a good song originally, but the has a much stronger beat as well as a featured rapper added to it. I have not listened to the songs of "My December" or "X-ecutioner's Style" enough to get a good grasp of what I think of them, but what I've heard of them, they aren't really stand-outs of the album, but aren't disappointing either, don't buy the album to hear these song though. Really, it's a really good album, but don't think of it as a follow-up to "Hybrid Theory", it's not that. What it is, though, is a little treat for those of us who like remixes and something to hold all of Linkin Park's fans until they release their next CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wtf, May 17, 2006
By 
This review is from: Reanimation (Audio CD)
i rarely review albums unless i read something so stupid it bears responding to. this MPD 360 cat or whatever the hell his/her/its name is is a flaming retard. why? let me break it down really quick:

a.) he cites Linkin Parks' monotony...and then suggests Underoath as an alternative...Underoath is one of the most monotonous emo-rock bands ever...and every single member of the band looks like a clone of one guy who cuts himself, wears sweaters and doesn't like to be able to see through his dirty blonde hair.

b.) he complains that the songs don't sound like the originals...what retard buys a remix album to hear the original versions?

c.) he somehow manages to miss the fact that Linkin Park is heavily influenced by hip hop...and complains about there being MCs on this project...maybe he never heard the rapping on the original version, noticed the band has a DJ, or heard of them doing collaborations with Jay-Z on the Collision Course EP, and Dan The Automator on the Handsome Boy Modeling School albums...maybe he just doesn't know. SOMEBODY ought to tell him, then.

d.)he says Linkin Park uses simplistic chord structures and melodies and layers...whether they're top 40 or not, Linkin Park has one of the most multilayered and densely mixed sounds I've ever heard in my life...and I get paid to review albums.

The verdict? this guy is a retard.I think I'm a bit biased, I assumed as much as soon as I heard him pimping Underoath...how someone insults a band for lacking creativity then lists Underoath as a favorite, I have no idea. But that's beside the point. Screw this kid, he has no idea what he's talking about...probably because his sweater is too tight and the blood loss from the last time he cut himself is starting to make him dizzy. As for the record itself, it's very well done. I think the mixing done for Collision Course was a little bit better, but that was done by one or two people, this is an entire rogue's gallery of hip hop quotables and well known alternative musicians and singers. Personally, I could have done without Jonathan Davis on one of my favorite Linkin Park songs, though. I will say that, while I love how far the remixes deviate from the originals, you lose a lot of the feeling put into the originals and the emotion gets muddled by the mixing and cutting and pasting...but it's a good album as far as remixes go. If you like this...check out the Jay-Z/Linkin Park Collision Course album, or the Handsome Boy Modeling School album "White People" there's a song on there that features both Mike and Chester, as well as DJ Shadow and someone else, I forget who the other MC is at the moment. But check that out if you love good collaborations. And anyone else who has a thought process similar to this MPD 360 cat or whatever the eff his name is...some things are best left kept to yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Amazing-They did It again!, August 13, 2002
This review is from: Reanimation (Audio CD)
Wow! This CD is great! I had great expectations for Linkin Park's new CD. I waited so long. Well, they sure met them my standards. A very nice follow-up remix CD of their other cool Hybrid Theory album. Reanimation was tranformed into a rock-rap mix, with electronic sounds and voices. Just like Hybrid Theory, every song was outstanding. To tell you the truth, I didn't want to buy this CD at first. I thought ithe songs would just be a repeat. But the "reanimations" were extraordinary. No need to worry about profanity, if you do. They don't use any. Reanimation is just as good as Hybrid Theory. Here's an overview of the songs.
1-Opening-A nice calm instrumental tune.
2-Pts. of Ahtrty-great song, great video (comes in CD)
3-Ent hE Nd- a cool rap remix of the the original single
4-Chali-a message on a phone
5-Frgt/10-takes you to another world of occasional electronic sounds
6-P5hng Me A*wy-Cool rock remix
7-Plc. 4 mie head- nice mix of the original
8-X-ecutioner style- a mix of all songs, with DJ work and rap.
9-H! Vltg3-Another rap mix
10-Riff Raff-message on phone
11-Wth>You- a harder rock song mix of the original
12-Ntr/Mission- an instrumental tune
13-PPr. Kut- a cool mix of the original, with electronic sounds
14-Rnw@y-A rock mix witrh rhythm, of the original.
15-Stef- message on phone
16-My Decmber-Relaxing slow song by Linkin Park.
17-By_Myslf-Almost like the original, with a different tune
18-Kyur4 Th Ich-Instumental DJ song with a strong beat
19-1stp Klosr- More guitar strums/intsruments, almost like the
original
20-Kwling-A mix of the original, taking you to another world with a duet chorus and electronic sounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reanimation is Underated!, July 30, 2006
This review is from: Reanimation (Audio CD)
The people who take the time to write bad reviews for albums such as this one have to remember that nobody cares what they think, and that they don't have to buy the album themselves. As a fan of Linkin Park I think it is my duty to let those people know that Reanimation is not a money making scheme to fill the financial gap in between Hybrid Theory and Meteora, it is a chance for other fans to see the potential of the amazing songs that are in Hybrid Theory. I don't know of many other albums that you can remix like that.

And as for the whole "hip hop is crap" thing, Linkin Park has always had a hip hop influence as well as it's more prominent metal edge. If you expect a band to produce the same type of music all the time then you'd be mad, what's wrong with a band trying to reach out to a wider audience? And besides, the following album, Meteora, restores the delicate balance of metal and hip hop that we all came to love in Hybrid Theory, so I don't know what the fuss is all about.

And yes, I agree, some of the songs aren't as good as thier origionals and the message recordings are a little pointless, and that's why I only gave it 4 stars. But if you really appreciate music and the effort that is put in to produce it (both the origionals and the remixes), then I would encourage you to buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true reanimation., December 4, 2004
This review is from: Reanimation (Audio CD)
The remix album is often frowned upon, as most of the time, it's just the same vocals over a new beat which sucks more than the original. This album, however, is a different story.

Like many aspects of their music, Linkin Park went all-out on this 'reanimated' album, breaking down familiar hits and not-so-familiar ones into a different animal. Reanimation truely shows the creative side of the band and their tastes in music.

From orchestrated performances to rock song turned hip-hop, it's all here. Ever wanted to hear In The End turned into a hip-hop song? Done. A redone beat, new lyrics, and collaboration with Motion Man make this mosh song into a hip-hop head nodder. The fast-paced Forgotten gets an interesting twist as everything has slowed down into a less-rash rap song, with a guest appearance from Chali 2na, of Jurassic 5 fame.

But for those who enjoyed LP's rock side, there's no lack of that either. The reanimated Pushing Me Away is a classic song that is even better than the original. The new chorus along with new vocals from Stephen Richards makes this possibly the best remix on the album. However, the last 3 tracks of the album take the cake.

In Hybrid Theory, the song 'Cure For The Itch' was a strange affair, from the very beginning sounding like a showcase of scatching skills and a very laid back beat. The treated version of it is possibly the most changed of the lot; something you might possibly hear in a club. Unlike the first, the reanimated version is danceable/break-able.

One Step Closer and Crawling, two of the most successful songs on LP's debut, have been broken down into two emotional pieces. One Step Closer gets an urban/jungle feel to it, with a new atmospheric intro that sets a whole new tone to the piece. Crawling gets a string orchestra put to it, creating an emotional and climactic end to an already great album. Both tracks blow the rest out of the water in length; both come in at over 5:30 each.

As a whole, Reanimation is not just a remix album. It's a look into the creative minds and outlet of a band once thought to be one of the most "corporate" bands in existence, and prove that, like their debut album title suggests, Linkin Park is truely a hybrid of a different sort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From Rock to Rap, August 7, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Reanimation (Audio CD)
Linkin Park's new CD "Reanimation" is much different than their first Cd "Hybrid Theory". I love "Hybrid Theory"! None of the songs ever get old no matter how many times I listen to it. A great rock/rap album. "Reanimation" focuses mostly on the rap side of Linkin Park. They traded in their guitars for turn tables. That makes this album less appealing to me, a rock fan. I give this album 4 stars for two reasons: The guest apperances by people like Korn's Jonathan Davis and Staind's Aaron Lewis and the creativity. They added some great new lyrics and sounds. I don't recommend this album to anyone who dislikes rap, hip hop, or techno. For a strict rock fan, this CD will disappoint you and probably make you lose some respect for Linkin Park as a rock group (If the airplay they get on popular radio and the Nsync fans loving them hasn't already done that for you.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reanimation is even better...WAY better, November 3, 2005
This review is from: Reanimation (Audio CD)
WOW...I got this CD and was just FLOORED at how much DIFFERENT this CD was than Hybrid Theory. This is not just songs with a new rap or a different bridge...These are brand new songs with different beats and different lyrics and AMAZING guest spots. Ever better than the original!

1. Opening - I love the violins here in the open and in the close...very serene and just set the tone. Linkin Park is such a unique band that plays on every facet of music...very talented band

2. Pts. Of Athrty (Feat. Jay Gordon of Orgy) - I was not a fan of the original, but this is one awsome song...Orgy did good.

3. Enth E Nd (Feat Kutmasta Kurt & Motion Man) - I hated In The End as well, and as much as I think this is a supperior version it's still one of the weakest on the CD

4. Chali - An intro, Chali on the tellie

5. Frgt/10 (Feat. Alchemist & Chali 2na) - GREAT SONG, darker than the original, real gangsta :P

6. P5hng Me A*wy (Feat. Stephen Richards of Taproot) - Awsome...I did feel that the chorus was a little lacking...I would have aranged it a little different so that Chester souded slightly more melodic...

7. Plc.4 Mie Haed (Amp Live Remix Feat Zion Of Zion I) - One of the best on the album...perfect song and a great club song

8. X-ecutioner Style (X-Ecutioners Feat. Black Thought) - I love it, just wish it weren't edited

9. H! Vltg3 (Feat. Evidence, DJ Babu & Pharoahe Monch) - Hate it

10. Riff Raff - Another teliphone message

11. Wth>You (Feat. Chairman Hahn & Aceyalone) - Great reinvisionment of this song. I kinda like the origional a little better, but I'm a little pregudice there.

12. Ntr/Mssion - Just as the name says, just an intermission

13. PPr:Kut (Feat. Rasco & Planet Asia) - LOVE IT, Planet Asia has one of the coolest rap voices...he just nails it here

14. Rnw@y (Feat. Backyard Bangers & Phoenix Orion) - One of the best songs here

15. My{Dsmbr - The original is MUCH BETTER!!!

16. Stef - Another tele message

17. By_Myslf (Remixed by Josh Abraham & Mike Shinoda Feat. Stephen Carpenter of The Deftones) - Close to my favorite song here...I listen to this ALL THE TIME!!! Great song and way better than the origional!!!

18. Kyur4 Th Ich - Just some mad DJin skills here...like the predesesson just longer

19. 1stp Klosr (The Humble Brothers Remix Feat. Jonathan Davis of KoRn) - AWSOME...FLAWLESS...GREAT TRIBUTE TO A GREAT FIRST SINGLE

20. Krwlng (Feat. Aaron Lewis of Staind) - The best on the CD...Easily my favorite Linkin Park song ever...And this version is just another awsome song...they are great rivals for the top... My only regret is that Aaron Lewis doesn't sing as much as I'd like him too...Screw Chester, let Aaron sing the song...

Awsome...

Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 257 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Reanimation
Reanimation by Linkin Park (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.