Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive overview
Dale Jamieson coherently covers a lot of ground in this book and has many good footnotes. He explains the history of climate change politics and economic shortcomings well, but his consideration of the causes and of climate change philosophy differentiate it from others in the climate policy field.

I especially liked Jamieson's description of the role of...
Published 7 months ago by Jenny B

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This book contains some interesting discussion of our politics, ...
This book contains some interesting discussion of our politics, but as a philosopher, Dale should know that when the basic premise is false, interesting discussion loses it's point. Reason dictates that data be explained. When the data indicate that after 24 years of warming from 1976 to the millennium, atmospheric warming suddenly stopped for a human generation, reason...
Published 1 month ago by Gordon Lehman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive overview, April 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Reason in a Dark Time: Why the Struggle Against Climate Change Failed -- and What It Means for Our Future (Hardcover)
Dale Jamieson coherently covers a lot of ground in this book and has many good footnotes. He explains the history of climate change politics and economic shortcomings well, but his consideration of the causes and of climate change philosophy differentiate it from others in the climate policy field.

I especially liked Jamieson's description of the role of science in US society. He notes the gulf in perspective between scientists and public policy makers caused by the requirements for "success" in their fields. An amusing anecdote about the Supreme Court case for the EPA's regulation of CO2 was also apt; Jamieson explains that Justice Scalia mixed up the words 'troposphere' and 'stratosphere'. After being corrected by a scientist, he replied, "Whatever. I'm not a scientist," to laughter among the "sympathetic" audience of lawyers and journalists (62). Jamieson considers how the audience would have taken a similar quip if it had been about a basis of economics or politics, such as "Supply and Demand. Whatever, I'm not an economist." He asserts that US society generally doesn't prioritize scientific bases, and our ignorance "can lead people to both overestimate what science can do and feel betrayed when it fails to live up to these pretensions" (63).

Two parts of the book stood out to me as having room for improvement. In his explanation of climate change philosophy and values, he focuses exclusively on human impacts for future generations and for people in developing countries. His being an environmental philosopher, I thought it was interesting that he never mentions philosophical ideas related to ecological and non-human impacts in the present and future. This significantly narrows his focus to human society, as may have been his preference. Jamieson also refers several times in the book to the "biggest problem" in addressing climate change: a psychological component. While he explains other factors in some depth, he addresses this in only two pages. Mentioning some of the research in environmental and climate change psychology and communication (Robert Gifford, Kari Norgaard, Susan Moser) could have significantly contributed to this section.

Jamieson concludes that we will continue to address climate change in a piecemeal and messy fashion. Overall, I think he does a great job in explaining many aspects of climate change with thought and depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's time to wake up, July 8, 2014
Reason in a Dark Time: Why the Struggle against Climate Change Failed—And What It Means for Our Future
By Dale Jamieson
ISBN: 978-0-19933-766-8 (Oxford University Press, 2014)

It's fairly easy to see that we have a serious climate problem on our planet. But what's not so easy to see is why we are not responding to this appropriately. Global climate change will undoubtedly affect the way we live and where we live. … And if we live. Yet our political systems are totally inadequate to take appropriate steps and to be truthful with us about this situation. This book goes deep into the psychological reasons this is so and why we still need to make a significant response to this problem. If you've ever wondered what you can do as an individual or why you should even try, this book is a must-read for you.

Rahasya Poe, Lotus Guide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enlightenment ideals for a new age, September 13, 2014
By 
Ideophile "Idea Lover" (Colorado, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Reason in a Dark Time: Why the Struggle Against Climate Change Failed -- and What It Means for Our Future (Hardcover)
Jamieson points a critical eye toward where we find ourselves with respect to climate change, how we got here, and what we can do going forward. The basis of his thinking can be boiled down to this: human ethics, morality, and institutions were never designed to handle problems such as climate change where cause and effect are distributed across space, time, and actors. For example, it's really hard to think ethically when the impacts of decisions made today may be a thousand years in the future; it's really hard to feel morally culpable for turning up the thermostat even though collectively this may result in the suffering and/or death of uncountable people; and it sounds a bit off when our best economic models claim that European explorers got a raw deal when they bought Manhattan for $24. Human beings were built to react to cause and effect when and where they see it - so one of the key problems with climate change is that it's so hard to see the when and the where (let alone the who).

As far as presentation goes, the bulk of his book reflects on how we got here. Jamieson takes us through the early days of climate science, the recognition of climate change as a problem, and the institution of climate diplomacy. He discusses how climate diplomacy failed due to the disconnects between politics and science, the disconnects between public good and corporate good, etc. He also discusses the limitations of economics when applied to climate change, especially when it comes to valuing present and future lives. The takeaway is that since diplomacy and economics have failed to solve the climate change problem in the past we shouldn't expect them to be the solution going forward.

The next subjects he takes up are ethics and morality. As with diplomacy and economics, he discusses where human ethics and morality fall short when it comes to climate change. He surveys a variety of recent attempts at establishing a new ethics for climate change, but identifies a range of challenges that each must address before any of them can be considered coherent.

The last part of the book looks forward. Unfortunately, this is the shortest (and in my opinion the weakest) part of the book. The chapter titled "Living with Climate Change" is by far the shortest chapter in the book. Jamieson's reflections on measuring meaning in terms of activity (vs. results) and cultivating a respect for nature seem less convincing than any of his earlier arguments (even for someone like me who would emphasize the same). The final chapter provides a Confucian-like "rectification of names", a discussion on how future policy discussions may play out in terms of those names, and also introduces Jamieson's seven principles for the way forward. Readers with an activist bent may find this chapter useful in that it points out how people in climate change discussions often talk past each other by using the same names to mean different things as well as how the conversation will likely turn toward emphasizing "adaptation" and "geoengineering" now when in fact "abatement" and "mitigation" remain critical elements of any solution. His seven principles for the way forward, however, are similar in brevity to his earlier discussions of meaning and respect for nature - so while my previous education allows me to agree with each of his principles, they're not quite the arguments you might use to sway a fence sitter (let alone a staunch denier).

All in all, a great discussion on how we got to where we find ourselves with respect to climate change. The latter part of book that deals with the way forward, while a little weak, can itself be taken as outlining a way forward for further reading (as opposed to being a final word on the subject).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It does an admirable job of explaining how we have ..., October 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It does an admirable job of explaining how we have been led astray by the radical commercialists who pass for conservatives these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read for non-specialists, April 13, 2014
By 
Marc Bekoff (Boulder, Colorado USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reason in a Dark Time: Why the Struggle Against Climate Change Failed -- and What It Means for Our Future (Hardcover)
This is a great book for non-specialists as well as those whose research centers on climate change - it's easy to read and very well referenced - a most welcomed addition to the growing literature on what's really happening to our one and only precious planet ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No page numbers, April 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This looks to be a great book, but it is mis-advertised. The Kindle version does NOT have "real" (or any other sort of) page numbers, a serious problem if you are buying this for scholarly reasons, as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This book contains some interesting discussion of our politics, ..., October 23, 2014
This review is from: Reason in a Dark Time: Why the Struggle Against Climate Change Failed -- and What It Means for Our Future (Hardcover)
This book contains some interesting discussion of our politics, but as a philosopher, Dale should know that when the basic premise is false, interesting discussion loses it's point. Reason dictates that data be explained. When the data indicate that after 24 years of warming from 1976 to the millennium, atmospheric warming suddenly stopped for a human generation, reason dictates that we take a step back and examine the original premise.

Dale is far from alone in this. Institutional science is only just beginning to take this step back even as data begin to indicate the likelihood of cooling in the decade ahead similar to the cooling that took place from 1945 to 1976. It is a dark time because institutional science has failed to reason. It is a dark reminder that for all our scientific achievements data can still be ignored, and we have progressed far too little since the time we would just sacrifice a goat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This book came to me via the strong recommendation of ..., August 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book came to me via the strong recommendation of a respected friend who said the author explains why there has NOT been a public response to the global climate change crisis. I've only just begun reading this, but in the first 50 pages I feel the author takes too long to get to the point. I'm sure he will, and I'll change my rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Reason in a Dark Time: Why the Struggle Against Climate Change Failed -- and What It Means for Our Future
$29.95 $24.63
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.