Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good for questions that will make even Christians think
This book is a "godsend", if I can put it "punfully". It details a history of Mohammed and the influences of his culture at the time and his personal life I didn't know. More than that, the book is very fair in stating how much more the Muslims in general venerate their Koran, while relegating the Bible to a secondary category, as they consider the Bible to be...
Published on November 27, 2002 by Ruth Sprague

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not the best way for evangelizing Muslims
I don't really see the point of this book. If you want to share the Gospel with your Muslim friends, I don't think that this book will help you much if at all.
The book presents the major topics related to Islam, including Allah, Muhammad, the Quran, sin, salvation and afterlife, and tries to prove them wrong with the Bible.
Rhodes is clearly preaching to the...
Published on October 1, 2010 by a Christian family


Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good for questions that will make even Christians think, November 27, 2002
By 
Ruth Sprague (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reasoning from the Scriptures with Muslims (Paperback)
This book is a "godsend", if I can put it "punfully". It details a history of Mohammed and the influences of his culture at the time and his personal life I didn't know. More than that, the book is very fair in stating how much more the Muslims in general venerate their Koran, while relegating the Bible to a secondary category, as they consider the Bible to be error-prone. The author takes all this into consideration, even though the title would suggest that one is only going to use the Bible for "reasoning" with a Muslim. Ron Rhodes is a fine Biblical scholar, and is known for many other books and articles.
From there, the author delves into the differences between the Koran and the Bible. With each chapter, there are questions in a rectangular box to ask a Muslim to make him or her start questioning some of the "truths" in the Koran. This is extremely helpful, and I really like this feature of the book. Even though other books are helpful, a witnessing tool like this really lays the groundwork for real communication, instead of merely "arguing past a Muslim", with no penetration whatsoever. I did do a review of another book, "Islam Revealed", by Shorrosh, and while it is a really good book for a perspective from a Arab Christian's point of view, "Reasoning" is really a more helpful book for actual witnessing. Even if a person of the Muslim persuasion won't accept some of the arguments, the questions will make even a stubborn one stop and think.
I understand Dr. Shorrosh's point that he tried to make in his book "Islam Revealed", because he became frustrated when he heard a debate between an uninformed Christian and Muslim, where the Christian lost the argument, in Dr. Shorrosh's mind. That was the reason for his writing the book "Islam Revealed", and it relates the debate that he partook in with the same well-educated Muslim, a Dr. Deedat, who had trounced the former well-intentioned, but misinformed Christian. It is a very good book, and I'm sure that any Christian interesting in witnessing would want "Islam Revealed", as it is a very well-known book now, but it comes up short with actual questions for witnessing helps.
This book, "Reasoning", not only shores up this shortcoming, it roars past it. Buy this book, it is worth your while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Answers, June 27, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Reasoning from the Scriptures with Muslims (Paperback)
In this book, Ron Rhodes does an excellant job of outling the Muslim world view and the Muslim perspective on Christianity. He also poses questions that a Muslim apololgist might pose to a Christian and then proceeds to give historical, scriptural, and/or logical answers in support of Christianity.
The questions leveled at Christianity by Muslim apologists are often the same questions posed by other Non-Christian critics and since this book answers these questions with sound research and logic, the usefulness of this book goes beyond the dialogue between Christians and Muslims with respect to Christian theology, historical validity, and interpretive integrity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enlightening book!, January 5, 2004
By 
Richard Messmann (Yorba Linda, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reasoning from the Scriptures with Muslims (Paperback)
This book helped me in understanding Islam from both a historical and theological viewpoint. The author not only gives a thorough background of the subject but also answers questions that Evangelical Christians would be confronted with in their personal witness to Muslims. Although the book is written for a lay person, the author makes very sound, easy to understand intellectual arguments. Not only did I enjoy reading this book, but I plan to use it as a future resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not the best way for evangelizing Muslims, October 1, 2010
This review is from: Reasoning from the Scriptures with Muslims (Paperback)
I don't really see the point of this book. If you want to share the Gospel with your Muslim friends, I don't think that this book will help you much if at all.
The book presents the major topics related to Islam, including Allah, Muhammad, the Quran, sin, salvation and afterlife, and tries to prove them wrong with the Bible.
Rhodes is clearly preaching to the choir with this book, and I believe that this way of evangelizing Muslims is absolutely non-effective, as Muslims do not believe in the Bible. The most likely reaction from a Muslim will simply be getting offended, and this will make your effort of leading him/her to Christ ineffective.
The Word of God is incredibly powerful and speaks to the heart, but I think that an all-out Bible-bash won't do any good; on the other hand, telling people about your wonderful, personal relationship with Jesus and showing Christ-like love is the best way to go.
However, like in every other book by Dr. Rhodes, there are some interesting features, like a few thought provoking questions and simple explanations to Muslim beliefs, but overall I am not very impressed .
REMEMBER, THESE KIND OF BOOKS MIGHT BE HELPFUL TO GATHER INFORMATION, BUT WHEN IT COME TO WITNESSING, THE HOLY SPIRIT WILL BE YOUR GUIDE. JESUS WILL GIVE YOU WORDS AND WISDOM IF YOU ASK HIM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I thought this was a great source, August 30, 2007
This review is from: Reasoning from the Scriptures with Muslims (Paperback)
I purchased this book as an added resource. Overall, I thought this was a great book, being a former Sunni Muslim there was a lot that I was able to relate to. In addition, many aspects of the religion that I was ignorant to, that were made clear such as History, and the bases of the fundamental beliefs. I enjoyed this book so much; I was able to read it in its entirety in a matter of days. The only aspects I did not really like, was the fact that at times, I felt that the Authors personal opinion, rather than a biblical perspective, was overly exerted. So anyone reading thins book needs to be well versed in the word of GOD, so that they do not get side tracked in feed into the opinions of man. Rather focus on the things of GOD; this is from where clarity comes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another piece of work from Rhodes, October 12, 2005
This review is from: Reasoning from the Scriptures with Muslims (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. I have briefly studied this faith and since I had read the Reasoning with Mormons book I figured this one would be just as good. It was. It was extremely informative. One thing I love about Ron Rhodes "Reasoning" books is that they are not negative in any way. They are explanatory. This is what they believe and this is what the bible teaches. It is a non-bashing book. Anyone who wants to learn more about this faith or any other should pick up his Reasoning from the Scriptures books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great resource, April 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Reasoning from the Scriptures with Muslims (Paperback)
Ron Rhodes does a great job using Scripture to support his points. Great way to understand the differences in Muslim religion and find out how to point out it's errors according to the Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Perspective..., July 11, 2011
This review is from: Reasoning from the Scriptures with Muslims (Paperback)
First and foremost, I must mention that I was raised Roman Catholic, with devout Catholic parents. I still follow the faith, but like Luther, I have also felt something wrong with certain Catholic doctrines and traditions. I have had questions regarding these doctrines and traditions for a long time, and I feel that this book does a good job to cover many of these topics.

As a Catholic, growing up reading the Bible, it was clear to see that some of the things the Catholic Church teach are nowhere to be found in the Bible. I am not saying that I have converted to Protestant, for that would easily be dismissed as a biased opinion. All I am saying is as one Christian to another Christian (whether Catholic or not), the Bible is the final authority because that is what Christianity was built on from the beginning. The Bible was canonized in full by the fourth Century (363 A.D.). It was only years after that certain Catholic Doctrines came into effect such as: Celibacy of Priests, veneration of Mary, Sacramentalism, etc. Many Catholic teachings are NOT found in the Bible which only confuses and questions the Catholic Churches authority. As a Catholic growing up, without 'taking sides', its hard not to disregard some of these Catholic practices without questioning 'WHY' if it is not found in the Bible in the first place. It is easy not to think that these Catholic doctrines and teachings were created for the sake of the Church's own interests, however Jesus himself states from Isaiah's prophecy that other teachings are only from men. (MATT 15:9).

I am not saying that one Church is better than the other. To me thats Heresy. I am just challenging Catholics alike like myself to open up their minds to what the Catholic Church is teaching and if it was being represented to us by Jesus to begin with. Both Catholics and Protestants got it right by being saved through Christ, but we must not 'ADD' or 'EDIT' scripture for his or hers interests. The only reason that I did not give this book a 5 star rating was that I felt that there were more topics that could have been covered that werent, but I guess it would of made it a longer and more exhaustive read...Ron Rhodes cover's the more important issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad, though room for much improvement, November 26, 2006
This review is from: Reasoning from the Scriptures with Muslims (Paperback)
I have read a number of books by Ron Rhodes, and only know too well the double standards and scriptural eisegesis he engages in, alongside the type of logic that would result in an F in any Logic 101 examination. I say this after having read his books on The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and macro-evolution.

This book by Rhodes, instead of being deceptive and very weak, scrapes the barrel as being decent, though there is a heck of a lot of room for improvement, something I doubt will occur in his forthcoming "The 10 most important things you can say to a Muslim."

The good points of this book is that Rhodes answers the criticisms forwarded by Muslims against the divine Sonship of Jesus Christ, the accuracy of the passion accounts, and other elements Muslim apologists misinterpret/misrepresent in their literature against Christianity. Furthermore, he does blow holes into a number of claims Muslims make for the authenticity of the Koran, such as Muhammad's alleged illiteracy, and how the Koran misrepresents Orthodox Christianity, such as the Trinity per "Orthodox" Christianity (the differentiation between "person" and "being" is a Nicene construct), with the Koran confusing the Trinity with Modalism, no doubt influenced by the fact that Muhammad's first wife was an Ebionite Christian.

The more weaker arguments forwarded by Rhodes in this text is his incessant use of so-called Messianic prophecies being fulfilled in the New Testament, "proving" its divine inspiration. For instance, Micah 5:2 is *not* about Jesus. "Bethelehem-Ephrate" is not the suburb of Jerusalem but a tribe or a person (see 1 Chronicles 4:4). Moreover, Jesus did not free the people from the Assyrians, so how could he have fulfilled this "prophecy"? What Rhodes ignores is that the New Testament authors engaged in a Midrashic interpretation of Old Testament pericope, often resulting in texts being wrenched out of context to suit the New Testament authors' pre-conceived beliefs.

Much more could be said about this text, but this should be enough to show that there as many problems as there are positive points about this text. One using this text should approach it with some caution.

I welcome sincere feedback at Robert.S.Boylan@nuim.ie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Reasoning from the Scriptures with Muslims
Reasoning from the Scriptures with Muslims by Ron Rhodes (Paperback - July 1, 2002)
$14.99 $12.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.