Canon Rebel XT DSLR Camera with EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 Lens (Silver) (OLD MODEL)
Used & New from: $145.00
Rebel XT vs XTi Is it worth paying almost an extra $200 to get the XTi? I'm debating whether to get the Rebel XT or XTi, and really can't decide...
asked by S. Huang on August 14, 2007
Sort: Most Helpful first | Newest first | Oldest first
Showing 1-8 of 8 answers
A
votes
I'm no expert, but during my research on the same question I found the following:

1) The difference between The 8MP on the XT and 10MP on the XTi is virtually undetectable until you attempt very large prints. At standard sharp resolution (300 DPI) even a 7.2 MP camera will give you an excellent 8X10 print. You really need 12MP over an 8MP camera to see results in smaller prints. Unless you think you'll print larger than 12X16, your eye likely won't detect any difference in quality between the XT and XTi.

2) The XTi has more Megapixels on the same sensor - this can add more noise at higher ISO settings and from my research it seems the XT may actually take a sharper picture in many cases. But for your own opinion - here is a head to head XTi - TX picture comparison: http://www.dimagemaker.com/article.php?articleID=732

3) Opinions on the noise levels of the XTi vary, here is a good conversation on the subject, some here own both XT and XTi: http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp?forum=1031&message=20548088

4) The XTI's dust cleaning system is as yet unproven - meaning that many owners of the XTi (professional and otherwise) are not exactly convinced the dust removal feature does what its supposed to.

Over all, I found that some people were rather irritated with Canon - theorizing that Canon simply put out an XTi 10-mega pixel model with a few bells and whistles to compete with the other manufacturers. In effect, canon created technologically superior camera that may take inferior photographs. The XTi is an excellent camera, but perhaps not a clear upgrade over the XT.