Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Off to College Essentials Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$12.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 5, 2014
Just finished the book and went to get some egg rolls. The fortune cookie they gave me said "The book you just read was terrible" and now my egg rolls taste like regret.
99 comments| 459 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2014
Garbage from start to finish. Don't bother wasting your time or money on this piece of trash. The trees that died to make the paper for this book would have been better off as toilet paper.
22 comments| 284 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2014
First off, reading the entirety of this novel isn't necessary to conclude how godawful it is.

Let's start with the title: Rebels: City of Indra: The story of Lex and Livia. Sure you can abridge the text when telling friends or associates about it (not that you'd desire to), but really? Having ten words and two colons in a title is futile. "Rebels: City of Indra," that should stand alone. But just because a title is lengthy doesn't mean the story is bad...but in this case...it is. "BUT YOU HAVEN'T READ IT!" I did read the first two chapters, but one could stop reading after the first page to get the gist of it.

I'm sure the ones who purchased this book either rarely read and are just big fans of the Kardashian girls, or they wanted to see how two nearly illiterate divas came about creating an entire book. I was curious as well, obviously. The Jenner sisters are famous and have a large fan base so no s*** they are going to sell books. It doesn't have to be well-written, as we can see, or have any kind of substance to it whatsoever. If their names are on it, it will sell.

Just as everyone else who gave it a one-star rating mentioned, and the one's who sarcastically gave it five stars, the story is unoriginal and cliche, and we can assume that just from the poorly written summary. If you know anything about the writing world and what it takes to get a book published, you'd know that this garbage would get rejection letter after rejection letter. The only reason it was published was simply because these two girls have connections. Do not argue with this, because you are wrong if you think there is any other reason. An agent would read their query letter, roll their eyes, and toss it in the rejection pile without a second thought.

Let's move on to the writing. It doesn't take a genius to figure out that neither Kendall nor Kylie wrote this book. I'm amazed that so many buffoons seem to believe otherwise. Are you kidding me? Here is what happened: The two girls got an idea of what would make a cool movie (and perhaps what would give them more income or make them more famous). They hired a ghost writer, young-adult writer Maya Sloan, to do all the work. And lastly, they smacked their names onto it, taking most of the credit. That is what ghost writing is. People who think they have compelling story ideas, but have no writing talent, hire ghost writers to bring that idea to life because they are incapable. There is no way these two teenage socialites managed to write a novel. Getting published as a teen is rare enough. Writing is incredibly time consuming and frustrating. They just couldn't have done it. The prose from Rebels is amateur, but not amateur enough to where it could have been written by Kendall and Kylie (girls who I can bet my bottom dollar don't even read). Basically I doubt they wrote a word of it, save for maybe the first dreadful sentence: "I'm breaking the rules, and I absolutely refuse to care." That is where you should stop reading. Ineptitude at its finest. One word to sum up the writing: awkward. You don't necessarily have to slog through it, but each paragraph is awkward. The structuring of each paragraph is awkward. The story itself is awkward. Make one of the characters Katniss Everdeen, and the other Hermoine Granger, and you have a perfect example of fanfiction: recycled characters/ideas and crumby writing (no offense to fanfic writers, I'm sure some of the writing is good), and it would be better than this dross.

As an aspiring writer, I am disgusted and offended for the obvious reasons. But you know what? If you have the talent, you will get published no matter what. You're work will not be overlooked just because talentless famous people like this are doing the same thing. But it's definitely sad that people who actually take the time, work for months or years on a story, don't get their big break. These girls can't even say they worked hard. Just because they make money off this book, doesn't mean they have been successful. Failure is success's partner in crime. There was not even a chance these girls could have been rejected; therefore, they are not successful.

Long story short, this book is a joke. The story is unoriginal. The cover is unoriginal. The prose is awkward. The world wasn't descriptive enough. The characters sounded one-dimensional from the start. But hey, if you find enjoyment whilst reading, that is perfectly okay. We are all different. But in my opinion and from all that I've learned about writing a great story, this is utter crap. Even if the writing was good it would still be pretty bad. And if the story was good, but still had the same bad writing, it would be a lot better. But in this case, bad storyline + bad writing = bad novel. Dang, they didn't even have characters to kind of make up for it.

You don't need to read the entirety of the book to give it a low rating because you can tell from the start if a book is going to be interesting or not. If you read one or two chapters and give up, that means the book has failed to grasp your attention. Books should keep you flipping pages, but this book just made me cringe and want to drub the publisher.

A side note:
Save your "jealousy" comments. No one here is jealous. They are just pissed off that two spoiled girls are sullying the literary world with this rubbish and that morons praise them for it. They literally just put on makeup, take pictures of themselves, and go to social events, while others work hard and diligently, with passion, to become successful. Of course so many people are angry. These girls are lucky, born into a rich and famous family, and that's okay. But it's not okay to be avaricious and spoiled. Kendall is great for modeling, and probably other things, but not writing a book (not sure what Kylie does). What they're doing is deluding their fans. And it's not that the reviewers have nothing better to do than to write harsh reviews. Most of us probably love to write in general, and guess what? Writing is writing is writing.
2323 comments| 286 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2014
My first thought was that there is no way either of these young women could write a cogent 200 word essay without assistance, let alone a novel. That was also my second thought. However, much to my surprise, once I began reading I discovered I couldn't put the book down. It was quite alarming. My doctor says it's arthritis, and has prescribed some naproxen. But back to the book. It has characters, and was written using words. It's a sci-fi book set in the far future, about two girls of possibly Persian or Kurdish heritage who happen to be multimillionares. They lie in the sun and go to parties, and their family has a futuristic television show, on which they are stars. But not all is rosy in Indrastan; well...actually it pretty much is, but one day they are out of of kale, and one of the sister's drops her phone in the pool. Also, one of the serving robots forgets to smile. So they have to become rebels and drive around drinking wine coolers. Saying any more would spoil the fun, so I'll stop right there.
0Comment| 145 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2014
There is no way they actually wrote this book. I'm sure they hired a top notch ghost writer. Even the ghost writer wasn't able to make their ideas into a palatable plot and story. Can't believe I took the time to read this.
44 comments| 211 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2014
I was given this book and after the first few pages threw it in the trash. I should have taken it back to the store and
exchanged it for some thing else but I felt I had already wasted too much time on this nonsense
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2014
Not only poorly written, but confusing. The dirty did not flow well, at all. It's like they took bits and pieces from other stories and tried to combine them into one, but they couldn't make it work coherently and then they published it anyway.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2014
A real "literary classic." LOL LOL This is a total joke, right? Don't waste your hard-earned money on something this blatantly stupid.
0Comment| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 5, 2014
After reading the first two sample chapters of REBELS: CITY OF INDRA, I still haven't the slightest idea why I should care about main characters Lex and Livia, much less what they're actually doing. They seem much more self-absorbed than the average person, making it hard to root for them or anything they do. (I actually rooted for the catacombs to fall on them, so I wouldn't have to read about them any more. And I've *never* done that before.)

The two "writers," the Jenner sisters, have no idea how to write or structure a book. Even the plot has been done before, what there is of it -- the original "Star Trek" had the city in the clouds where the artists and politicians and really wealthy people lived, while the grunts who did the real work lived underground. And way back when, H.G. Wells wrote "The Time Machine" about a split society with vapid socialites and grungy, animalistic grunts. Neither was worth anything, which is why Wells' time-traveler got out of there, pronto...so this plotline has been done before, done better, and actually has made sense, precisely because I cared about the actual characters Wells and the writers of "Star Trek" came up with.

I'm appalled -- frankly appalled -- that this book is currently sitting at #353 paid in the Kindle store. There are many, many, *many* better books out there than this. Please find one of them. (Hint, hint: it shouldn't be hard.)

Bottom line? Don't waste your money.

One star (only because Amazon refused to let me give this book _zero_ stars), not recommended.

Barb Caffrey
0Comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2014
Very mediocre…
A lot of telling no showing…
Terms they did not explain and no personal connection to any of the characters. Its like word vomit and they didn’t even care.
0Comment| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.