Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating
Aside from David Rieff's overly meddlesome editing, this collection of journals is a penetrating, deeply personal portrait of the late Susan Sontag. Perhaps what is most astonishing in this scattering of notes, commentaries, and lists, is Sontag's astonishing precociousness. Her entries at the age of 16 bear the mark of a burgeoning intellectual of the first order. We are...
Published on December 28, 2008 by Steiner

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Susan's Closely Held Cards
Always loved the cover photo of Susan Sontag. Too bad the writing inside is very serious with no lightheartedness at all. For a young person, Susan comes off as very sober and melancholy much of the time. The cover photograph offers a clue. See how she stares at the person taking the picture with haughty disdain? Susan looked down on the world from an intellectually...
Published on March 22, 2012 by Suzinne Barrett


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, December 28, 2008
By 
Steiner (Philadelphia) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Aside from David Rieff's overly meddlesome editing, this collection of journals is a penetrating, deeply personal portrait of the late Susan Sontag. Perhaps what is most astonishing in this scattering of notes, commentaries, and lists, is Sontag's astonishing precociousness. Her entries at the age of 16 bear the mark of a burgeoning intellectual of the first order. We are granted access (perhaps for the first time)to Sontag's personal life, and given her reclusive nature I couldn't help feeling that I was reading something that should not have been published. Still, what is most interesting here is Sontag, the young collector of ideas and works of art, living life the only way she knew how-with intellectual and moral "seriousness" and undying passion. A fantastically entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars son of an author, June 3, 2009
the editing is maddening. i have no tolerance for it. i love the journals and the notebooks, their halting unrestrainedness (as if she planned for them to be read), their candor, their (at times) bombast and naivete, but i become so frustrated with the editor's interference that at times, i have to put the book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great diary, which could have been better edited!, February 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really loved Sontag’s diary. It reveals her as a passionate intellectual, in pursuit of full living, one could even say of having it all – loving both sexes, reading all that she can get her hands on, coping with her wish to write, become an author herself. She also revealed herself as an uncertain woman, a woman who doubts her choices and has a hard time making decisions. But I really had trouble with the editor’s interventions. Having read a lot of published women’s diaries, I have never seen an editor’s commentary intervene with the author’s text. The editor’s comments should have been written in endnotes or footnotes, and should not have made a mess of the original text. I do not think the editor had bad intentions, but the result is really troubling, and it sometimes even made me mad! Nonetheless, I am looking forward to reading the second part of the journal, As Consciousness Is Harnessed to Flesh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Dissociative Faits Accomplis, July 20, 2012
By 
Mary E. Sibley (Medina, Ohio, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Her son notes that Susan Sontag's diary filled about a hundred notebooks. When she was ill she made sure her son knew where her diaries were kept. The diaries are self-revealing. The son has misgivings.

The diaries are filled with people, social engagements, musings, comments about literature and philosophy. Sontag's favorite high school teacher was blacklisted a few years after she graduated. Susan Sontag wondered how to make anguish metaphysical.

In a somewhat fictionalized version of her life, Sontag asserts she had always had a desire to go to Europe. Watching dancers she opines that every person has a mystery. A friend complains that Susan Sontag is not very sharp about other people, what are they thinking and what are they feeling. Her reading is hoarding.

The ideas and people Susan Sontag selects to focus on are described in lively fashion. The editing is perfect, unobtrusive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars insight, May 20, 2013
By 
Ruff Life (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Reborn: Journals and Notebooks, 1947-1963 (Hardcover)
direct insight into the blossoming of an intellectual. and an outsider, from girlhood. riveting, expansive, helplessly sad. particularly poignant when writing about sexuality and love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Words of Wisdom, February 27, 2009
By 
N. Wong (HONG KONG, HONG KONG Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It depends on what you want to get from the memoirs of Sontag. I bought this book for two reasons: 1. I wanted to know more about her lesbianism in her early days; 2. I was fascinated by occasional witty (if not cynical) entries. Her words offered me unique insights and visions that could only come from an intellectual and educated scholar.

However, many of the entries recorded many banal and meticulous details that would only amuse Sontag scholars. And they in turn become the tedious part that kills the joy of reading this significant book published after her death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Susan's Closely Held Cards, March 22, 2012
Always loved the cover photo of Susan Sontag. Too bad the writing inside is very serious with no lightheartedness at all. For a young person, Susan comes off as very sober and melancholy much of the time. The cover photograph offers a clue. See how she stares at the person taking the picture with haughty disdain? Susan looked down on the world from an intellectually privileged cliff. Yes, she was a noted thinker who affected a striking presence, and I've been intrigued w/ her for a while. No doubt about it she was an enigma. Sadly, her writing leaves me cold, and cold she was. Usually, I love reading journals because they often offer a valuable glimpse into a person's psyche. Superior journals and highly recommended would be those written by: Kenneth Tynan, Sylvia Plath and John Fowles. The single revelation of this book is Susan Sontag's lesbianism. She battles with it and never came out during her lifetime even though she was urged to do so. Therein lies the problem. The ultimate responsibility for any artist is to be true to themselves. Authenticity is paramount, and the emotional core of the individual seals the deal. The woman had a heavy dose of attitude, that's for sure, and no detectable sense of humor. Everything is serious and high brow all the time - like living inside an Ingmar Bergman movie. If she ever lightened up - and I assumed she did - that never enters into this journal. Also, Sontag was very much European in her brain, and her tastes consistently travel in that direction: European music, literature and film.

I echo the other reviewer's comments about the heavy editorial hand Susan Sontag's son, David Rieff, plays in this journal. He is overly intrusive and explains many things which are quite apparent. Like an overly attentive waiter who keeps stopping by your table, Mr. Rieff keeps interjecting where there's no need for his guiding hand.

I love reading journals, but this is just very spare, and Susan Sontag never reveals anything of much substance. I wanted to discover more about this person, but this just wasn't that kind of journal. Ultimately, journals are written for the individual writing it and not for any reader who comes by after the fact. So, considering the journal's true purpose cancels out any criticism anyone may have.

Lastly, consider this entry "Was going to take a shower and wash my hair, but felt too indolent." Fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sontag before she was Sontag, February 16, 2012
I can't imagine Susan Sontag as a young person because I've always encountered her as the staggering, cultured-to-the-umpteenth-degree uber-cosmopolitan critic that she is in her essays. It's hard to imagine someone like that ever being a kid. The journals in Reborn start when she's fourteen and she's already more complicated, moody, and painfully self-conscious than most people four times her age. You don't really see a development here as much as you get these brief, staccato flashes of intensity and yearning as she struggles to interrogate literature, film, her husband, her lesbian affairs, being a single parent, ad infinitum. She has the same voracious, uncompromising intellectual commitment to dissecting her personal life as she does to dissecting culture and art. And she never criticized anything as harshly as she went after herself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars private Susan Sontag, February 13, 2009
Journals and diaries are different from novels. There are no 'interesting' characters in this book apart from the diarist herself: that goes for (soon-to-be) famous people who make a brief appearance (Herbert Marcuse, for example), and it goes for Sontag's various lovers. Sontag was a famous intellectual so we read about her shopping lists for movies, books, plays - not laundry washing, packing the fridge, looking after children.
Some journals and diaries clearly have possible publication in mind. Sontag's are not among them. They are very private.
So what interests? Sontag is passionately interested in sex. Although not with her husband, the once relatively famous Philip Rieff, who is down wingeing most of the time, and son David, the editor, gets his boot in for a final kick: 'Freud - the mind of the moralist', was really jointly written with Susan.
Is David doing Susan a favour by publishing these fragmentary, private journals? A famous intellectual who had a sex life, too? Surprise, surprise. There are very few sustained passages of analysis or commentary that compares with the published stuff. What's the point?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WARNING, May 8, 2009
Be Careful. I gave this book to my girlfriend for Easter, and after she read it she was so inspired.. tried to break up with me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Reborn: Journals and Notebooks, 1947-1963
Reborn: Journals and Notebooks, 1947-1963 by David Rieff (Hardcover - December 9, 2008)
$25.00 $20.03
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.