Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A soulful, personal journey through jazz, funk and his own gospel roots.
Wayman Tisdale, a former Phoenix Suns forward and 12-year NBA veteran, has traded in his hi-tops and hoops jersey for a life in recording studios and smokey jazz clubs.
With jazz, particularly concerning the legendary scrutiny among bass players, if you don't have what it takes to play with the big boys, you get sent back to the minors. Overproduction or hired studio...
Published on June 4, 2008 by Micki Zackary

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average Rebound
I have all the work that wayman has done since power forward. His new instalment is new but does not stand out. It felt like he held back a little. I am for the opinion of cutting R&B acts of jazz albums. I would have loved to have a bass solo of never never gonna give ya up rather than it being sang. Oh the same it is worth addding to the wayman collection
Published on July 27, 2008 by G. K. Lungu


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A soulful, personal journey through jazz, funk and his own gospel roots., June 4, 2008
By 
This review is from: Rebound (Audio CD)
Wayman Tisdale, a former Phoenix Suns forward and 12-year NBA veteran, has traded in his hi-tops and hoops jersey for a life in recording studios and smokey jazz clubs.
With jazz, particularly concerning the legendary scrutiny among bass players, if you don't have what it takes to play with the big boys, you get sent back to the minors. Overproduction or hired studio guns can't cover your back if you can't play the instrument and win over a crowd. Wayman's seriousness, deep musical ability and direction have placed him far above any other sports star turned musician.
He has performed with some of the most beloved artists in contemporary music, including Steven Tyler, Run-DMC, Dave Koz, Sammy Hagar, Toby Keith, Al Jarreau and David Sanborn.
He is at the top of his game on "Rebound".
After recovering from a serious illness last year, Tisdale set about filling the aptly-named "Rebound", with joyful, laid-back grooves anchored by Tisdale's funky and melodic bass leads.
He calls on a veritable treasure trove of guests (Brian Simpson (keybords), Dave Koz (saxophone), gospel legend Marvin Sapp et al) for this fine Smooth Jazz set including country giant Toby Keith on a remake of Barry White's hit "Never Gonna Give You Up".
Grooves are the order of the day on cuts like the Gap Band's Robert Wilson "Watch Me Play Again", the soulful "Throwin' It Down" and the closer "Grateful" - with Marvin Sapp, who adds his mellow Soul/RnB tones - which also may speak implicitly to Tisdale's resolve to overcome his illness and get back to plucking his bass.
In few words, this album is Wayman's soulful, personal journey through jazz, funk and his own gospel roots.
Excellent performaces.
Have a pleasant listening experience.
Marcus
The Toys of Men
Palmystery

The album debuts at # 1 of Billboard Top Contemporary Jazz and at # 121 of The Billboard 200.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeexcellent......As Usual!!!!, June 4, 2008
By 
This review is from: Rebound (Audio CD)
Okay, I'll admit I'm not very objective where Wayman is concerned, but this is yet another quality product from an excellent bassist who has been releasing note-worthy material for quite some time now. Of course there are cuts I like better than others, which is generally the case with most projects. But, having emerged from under the shadows of obvious influences like Marcus Miller and ultimately Stanley Clarke, Wayman has defintely emerged as a premier jazz musician on his own terms and is entirely too important an artist to try to put a finger on the best "this" or the best "that." He is a consumate bassist whose projects always warrant infinitely more than honorable mention.

Nice, nice set. Wayman continues to come up with surprises....check out Toby Keith doin' Barry White!!!!! (remember a coupla football seasons ago??! - the jingle that drove ya NUTS!!!..."I'm a Ford Truck Man!!!"....yeah, THAT one.....well, HE does a rather admirable job covering Barry's "Never Gonna Give You Up" which is indeed enhanced by Wayman's magic touch. "Watch Me Play Again" is Wayman's ode to his maker for bestowing him with this awesome talent and is definitely in keeping with Wayman taking time out on EACH of his projects to do just that. "Front Runna" is smooth and funky and "In Love" is sensuous and relaxing.

Worth your smooth jazz collection?!...You better believe it!!!!

5-15-2009 - Would like to take this time to commemorate the life of a woooooooooooooooooooooonderful musician and athlete. He will be sorely missed. Would like to express my sincerest condolences to his family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wayman Tisdale: AWESOME!, August 13, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rebound (Audio CD)
I love this album just like his other albums. It's brilliant! Never thought I would love him more off the court.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wayman keepe me BEGGIN' for more!, July 6, 2008
By 
T. Thomas "smooth jazz lover" (Indianapolis, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rebound (Audio CD)
From the almost haunting "Rebound" to the inspiration filled "Grateful", Wayman's latest leaves you wanting more. I'm the first to admit that I was skeptical of the remake of "Never Gonna Give You Up. Not only does Toby Keith deliver, Barry would be so proud!! An absolute MUST HAVE for your CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome CD!, July 5, 2008
This review is from: Rebound (Audio CD)
Wayman has become one of my favorite jazz artists. His bass playing always has so much warmth and feeling, as if the listener can feel what he feels; which I feel is what music is all about. I also appreciate how he always includes at least one spiritual/inspirational song on his cd's. It's important to never forget where you come from and who ultimately got you to the place you have arrived. Keep playing Wayman!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rest in peace, May 15, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rebound (Audio CD)
I have always loved Wayman Tisdale's music; being a great basketball player was just icing on the cake. I bought Rebound never thinking that this may be his last album. I will miss him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, February 5, 2009
This review is from: Rebound (Audio CD)
Bought this CD for my husband for Christmas. He loves it as do I. Wayman does not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wayman Made a FAN Out of Me!, November 17, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rebound (Audio CD)
Before I purchased this CD, I hadn't had the pleasure of listening to much of Wayman's music. After this, I don't know what I was thinkin'! The entire album is Wonderful! The Barry White remake, Never, Never Gonna Give Ya' Up w/ Toby Keith sealed the deal! Wayman Tisdale, former NBA player, if this is what a Rebound is, I'll take it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid Bass, October 26, 2008
This review is from: Rebound (Audio CD)
This is the first Wayman Tisdale album i am purchasing and i am very impressed with what is on offer. I sampled the album before i purchased it and i knew i had to have it. This album is particularly impressive given that he recorded it during his trying times and i pray that he is on his way to a quick recovery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL, September 15, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rebound (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Wayman's since he played in the NBA. This is one of his all-time greatest CDs. God Bless you Wayman with what you're going through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rebound
Rebound by Wayman Tisdale (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.