Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Recollections of Abraham Lincoln 1847-1865: Saving Lincoln Edition
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars17
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$24.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 4, 2013
Ward Hill Lamon was a friend of Abraham Lincoln long before he became our greatest president. He worshipped the man, literally sleeping on the floor outside his door in the White House
This book is a testimony to Lamon's love for our 16th president. What it may lack in balance and objectivity, it more than makes up for with anecdotes unavailable anywhere else.
A couple of things you won't read about Ward Hill Lamon in this book: he was near Lincoln in height so the two never had the one-sided relationship based on size Lincoln had with so many and, secondly, Lamon blamed himself for not being with Lincoln the night of his assassination for the rest of his life. Presumably this colored his opinion of Mr. Lincoln's attributes to a degree.
Nonetheless this is a good read. It's really an inside look at Lincoln the man and as such cannot be beat.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2013
Apparently this account has been out of print for quite q while. If you are a Lincoln fan you really should read this. I haven't seen "Saving Lincoln " yet . Perhaps that is similar to this book in content. Ward Lamon was a close friend and confidant of Lincoln for many years right up until his assasination. I really enjoyed some of the inside stories told from someone who could clear up many misconceptions about the President. Although he was an admiring friend I believe him to be basically truthful about most things even if some may be a little rosy. I never knew about the incident in the press that accused Lincoln of being indifferent to the death of soldiers. Lamon attacks this accusation and that makes for an interesting read. All in all I learned alot from a book written not too long after the Presidents death but long enough for a clearer perspective.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 3, 2007
Books about Abraham Lincoln written by those who knew him are fascinating. This one is especially so in that Lamon was not only a friend and legal colleague, but during Lincoln's presidency, his bodyguard.

"Hill," the president-elect told him before leaving for Washington, "I need you." So he went.

Of special interest are two chapters:

One, that deals with Lamon's explanation of something Lincoln was criticized for. After a particularly bloody engagement of the Civil War, Lincoln visited the battlefield and during that visit, requested that Lamon sing a few ballads for him. (Lincoln was in the habit of asking Lamon to do this, as apparently, Lamon had a good singing voice.)

And another in which Lamon tells of Abraham Lincoln's prophetic dreams, including a recurring one he'd had ever since he was a youth that presaged Lincoln's rise to the presidency and his bloody death.

As I said, there is interesting material here, the stuff of legends. Well worth the attention of any Lincoln fan, or indeed, any student of U.S. history.

Richard Salva--author of Soul Journey from Lincoln to Lindbergh [UNABRIDGED]
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2013
Written by a friend but one who who actually knew lincoln. You have to read the original sources to get a sense of how Lincoln was seen by his contempories. This is one of the better accounts although not without personal bias. Some have criticized Lamon's accounts as being unverifiable. Perhaps but I found it readable.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2015
Excellent book, written in the rather quaint language of the era. It is clear that Lamon was a close personal friend (to the extent that Lincoln had close personal friends, anyway) and admirer of Mr. Lincoln.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2013
Here is a book written by a friend of Lincoln's closee to the age of Lincoln's lifetime. You have to imagaine Lamon knew what he was talking about. Sure we probably get a rosier portrayal of Lincoln that we would have from a critic of Lincol at the time but we get a fond retelling of the real Lincoln through all of it.
It is easy for historians or anyone in general to play a sort of Monday morning quarterback and jusge Lincoln or others that lived a long time before us. But we tend to jusge them based on what we now now and on how we have progressed,. We do not look at them based on what the world was like back then. Similaryl people 100 years from now will be more critical of us for what we did ir did not do.
This is a book I highly recommend
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2013
With the movie Saving Lincoln, it makes President Lincoln as alive today as he was then. We could use a president like him today
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2013
new perspective...and interested in reading it before seeing the movie based on Lamon's work with Lincoln. This is ridcuous to have to add 4 more words.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2000
I found this book to be interesting for its personal stories and perspective, but this is also what makes its downfall. Lamon was a personal acquaintance of Lincoln's and it is evident that he revered the man greatly. This gives way to much bias being placed on Lamon's accounts, failing to mention many negative things about the assassinated president. Lamon refrains from using opinionated words in much of the biography, but his personal opinions are sometimes evident. This book is kept interesting through his personal stories and the hand-written letters that are included. It is good as a resource about Abraham Lincoln, but take Lamon's opinions with a grain of salt.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2014
I study dreams, so this book is of special interest to me. The author has written a chapter about Abraham Lincoln's life of dreaming. This is a book I will treasure. The book is as good as the cover!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.