Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book of Strenth and Hope to All
Recovery from Panic Disorder gives strength to all those who struggle to get from point A to B in their daily lives. Daily activities such as carpool, school, pets, driving and friendships can be interrupted by the crashing waves of panic. Those with panic disorder know how difficult it can be to accomplish and even function on a day-to-day level. Eileen McPhillips...
Published on March 3, 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Gift for a Friend
I purchased this book as a gift for a friend who suffers from panic attacks, and she has thanked me over and over again. She said it was the first book she's read on the subject where she felt the author personally understood the terror of this disorder. She was also impressed with the large number of practical steps that were offered, many of which she's now tried with...
Published on February 24, 2004 by Konilu


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book of Strenth and Hope to All, March 3, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Recovery from Panic Disorder: A Therapist's Transformation as Both Patient and Healer (Paperback)
Recovery from Panic Disorder gives strength to all those who struggle to get from point A to B in their daily lives. Daily activities such as carpool, school, pets, driving and friendships can be interrupted by the crashing waves of panic. Those with panic disorder know how difficult it can be to accomplish and even function on a day-to-day level. Eileen McPhillips Portner, therapist and the author of RFPD, knows all too well what it feels like to be hit by this mentally debilitating disorder and has written a book from the point of view of both patient and healer.
Unlike other books written by therapists, Recovery from Panic Disorder is user-friendly and an easy read. This book speaks to you as a friend, giving you the knowledge and comfort and tools that you need to take the steps to recovery. Through personal stories and real life examples, Eileen McPhillips Portner bridges the clinical distance that is felt between therapist and patient, and her book creates an emotional bond between reader and author by beginning with the author's own experience with panic disorder.
Recovery from Panic Disorder offers the realistic hope of recovery for the many people who suffer from overwhelming, frightening panic disorder. It also offers practical and useful advice for those who suffer from general controversy and stress resulting from everyday life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Instrumental Book For Panic & Self-Recovery!!, February 25, 2004
By 
Blanca Beyar "Lavanya" (Staten Island, New York United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Recovery from Panic Disorder: A Therapist's Transformation as Both Patient and Healer (Paperback)
"Recovery From Panic Disorder- A Therapist's Transformation as Both Patient and Healer" is a compassionate and powerful book that will assist countless of individuals who are plagued by the crippling condition of panic disorder.
Ms. Eileen Portner delivers a compelling composite of the symptoms that signal the commencement of panic disorder and offers her own testimonials as both a victim and conqueror of this monumental physical, mental and emotional condition.
In a world that is filled with fear of ridicule, it is refreshing and inspiring to experience the courage and fervor Ms. Portner displays in her writing and professional endeavor to assist humanity. After reading this book, I was reminded of how powerful we really are when we are guided to unveil our true nature.
I highly recommend this book to anyone who is suffering from panic disorder or anyone who wishes to experience the guidance of a teacher and healer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Journey, February 26, 2004
By 
C. J. Bair (Austin, Texas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Recovery from Panic Disorder: A Therapist's Transformation as Both Patient and Healer (Paperback)
Ms. Portner takes the reader on an amazing journey through her own personal hell and her seach toward freedom from this prison she found herself in. A must read for those who feel trapped with no possible means of escape from the desperation they are experiencing from the devastating effects of this disorder, it gives hope for a way out. It gives the reader who doesn't suffer an understanding and a compassion for those who do. Kudos Ms. Portner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recovery from Panic Disorder: A Therapist's Transformation, February 24, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Recovery from Panic Disorder: A Therapist's Transformation as Both Patient and Healer (Paperback)
Recovery from Panic Disorder, a Therapist's Transformation as Both Patient and Healer, is a lifeline for anyone suffering from this highly misunderstood condition. Drawing on personal experience and professional expertise, Eileen McPhillips-Portner, a psychotherapist, chronicles her own journey into the debilitating disorder. Her insights are unique as she recounts events and situations leading to the attacks and her eventual triumph over them. Well-researched and poignantly humorous, the book is an oasis for panic sufferers seeking answers and reassurance.
Often misdiagnosed or dismissed by doctors, the feelings of fear, heart palpitations and sense of dread that constitute panic are frightening and interfere with the everyday flow of life as it was. The great hope in Portner's book is that treatment can benefit everyone with this condition.
I found Recovery from Panic to be an excellent resource - and an uplifting personal account that does much to inspire self-education and courage in facing and overcoming the adversity of panic attacks. With depth of insight that only a fellow panic sufferer can have, Portner includes accounts of real thoughts and fears - not just clinical observations. Her descriptions of the physical and emotional changes that can occur for the panic sufferer lead to a thorough discussion of both traditional and alternative treatments. A chapter by Portner's husband on how living with a mate with panic disorder changed their lives and relationship, is upbeat and insightful.
If you or someone you know has suffered from Panic Disorder - read this book. It is full of valuable information, advice, and the encouragement you need to help yourself. In the author's own words, " We are responsible for our own healing."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read for Panic Disorder Sufferers, February 25, 2004
By 
This review is from: Recovery from Panic Disorder: A Therapist's Transformation as Both Patient and Healer (Paperback)
Recovery from Panic Disorder: A Therapist's Transformation as both Patient and Healer by Eileen McPhillips Portner is unique in that it covers a disease that afflicts thousands of people, but approaches it from the viewpoint of a sufferer and a therapist. Having family members and friends who suffer from this terrifying and debilitating disease, I know how important it is to have all the critical information on handling the disease that Ms. Portner imparts in her book. Her approach of using techniques that are both traditional and holistic makes this an excellent resource for both patients and therapists.
This book is written with compassion and humor that comes across through her very personal anecdotes. I especially liked the chapter written by her husband, as it emphasizes how everyone in a family is deeply affected by the family member with Panic Disorder.
I highly recommend that therapists who treat this disease read this book. It will make them better and more empathetic counselers.
This book gives all the aides you need to get through your panic attacks, but does it in such a warm, comforting way, that you know you're not alone and there is help out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Gift for a Friend, February 24, 2004
By 
Konilu (Indio, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Recovery from Panic Disorder: A Therapist's Transformation as Both Patient and Healer (Paperback)
I purchased this book as a gift for a friend who suffers from panic attacks, and she has thanked me over and over again. She said it was the first book she's read on the subject where she felt the author personally understood the terror of this disorder. She was also impressed with the large number of practical steps that were offered, many of which she's now tried with success. The one thing she mentioned that I remember was a simple trick of standing in front of an open freezer door. The coldness of the air calmed her down tremendously. Since I don't suffer from Panic Disorder, it's hard for me to appreciate the value of this, but my friend had all kinds of complimentary things to say about this book. I think it's the most appreciated gift I've ever given.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening and Comforting, February 24, 2004
This review is from: Recovery from Panic Disorder: A Therapist's Transformation as Both Patient and Healer (Paperback)
Having suffered from panic disorder, I was both educated and comforted by Ms. Portner's courageous and revealing story. Her book connects with the reader in a personal way that most self help books (which tend to lecture) don't. This books breaks down the seemingly irrational horror of panic into a rational and supportive framework from which we panic sufferers can draw knowledge and strength. The intimacy and understanding with which this book is written is a huge comfort. Without question, this is a 'must read' book for anyone who either suffers from panic disorder or loves someone who does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Book For Our Time, February 25, 2004
This review is from: Recovery from Panic Disorder: A Therapist's Transformation as Both Patient and Healer (Paperback)
As we continue to recover from the devastating wounds of recent world events, countless of indivduals are consumed with fear and despair...the very symptoms that define panic disorder.
Eileen Portner has composed a touching and helpful book that provides invaluable insight on the subject of panic disorder.
Her professional and personal guidance is impressive and promising. The affirmations listed throughout the book were very helpful.
After reading this book, I experienced a sense of freedom and new-found strength. Thank you Eileen, for such a wonderful contribution to mankind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recovery from Panic Disorder: A Therapist's Transformation a, February 25, 2004
By 
"hrh-1" (Austin, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Recovery from Panic Disorder: A Therapist's Transformation as Both Patient and Healer (Paperback)
One of the most important works I've read. Truly a blessing to those afflicted with this terrible disorder. The humor and common sense approach make this a must have to understand self, friends, and loved ones struggling with panic disorder. This author is truly a "wounded healer" and her ability to communicate with the reader is wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a must read for people with panic or anxiety., February 24, 2004
This review is from: Recovery from Panic Disorder: A Therapist's Transformation as Both Patient and Healer (Paperback)
This is book of hope and healing for the people who suffer such misery and lonliness with this miserable disorder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Recovery from Panic Disorder: A Therapist's Transformation as Both Patient and Healer
Recovery from Panic Disorder: A Therapist's Transformation as Both Patient and Healer by Eileen Mc Phillips Portner (Paperback - January 24, 2004)
Used & New from: $76.56
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.