Start reading Recovery: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order) (Short Story) (S... on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available
 

Recovery: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order) (Short Story) (Star Wars: The New Jedi Order) [Kindle Edition]

Troy Denning , Ron Marz , Jan Duursema , Rick Magyar , Drew Struzan
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (20 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: $1.99
Sold by: Random House LLC

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

The Girl at Midnight
"The Girl at Midnight"
For fans of Cassandra Clare's "City of Bones" and Laini Taylor's "Daughter of Smoke and Bone," this is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war. Learn more | See more teen reads

Book Description

BONUS: This short story also features an excerpt from Star Wars: New Jedi Order: Edge of Victory I: Conquest.

As the forces of darkness threaten to engulf the galaxy, one last defiant spark remains.... Though the Yuuzhan Vong were victorious in their savage conquest of the planet Duro, they failed to extract sensitive information from Leia Organa Solo, who now barely clings to life after enduring the enemies' torture. Unless she receives medical attention soon, the badly wounded Princess and former head of the New Republic will surely die. Pursued by bounty hunters, Han Solo begins a race against time, only to find his urgent pleas for help rejected by planet after planet, as the Jedi are blamed for the continuing fight against the seemingly invincible aliens. Desperate, the Solos decide on a suicide mission. They must reach Coruscant, the New Republic's strife-ridden capital where traitors, appeasers, and assassins now share the same goal as the fierce Yuuzhan Vong: kill all Jedi...


Product Details

  • File Size: 1769 KB
  • Print Length: 96 pages
  • Publisher: LucasBooks; Gph edition (December 3, 2001)
  • Sold by: Random House LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B000FA64PK
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #190,678 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
(20)
4.0 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a HUGE WASTE of money June 18, 2010
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This book is actually the prologue of Star by Star, 2 books further into the series. There is no reason to buy this book when you can read this whopping 82 pages as the prologue in another book. This is not advertised anywhere in the review or information pages of this book. DO NOT BUY THIS KINDLE BOOK. Instead buy Star by Star and read it there, and get the entire Star by Star book as well. For the same price. Luckily this book beamed to my kindle before they realized my credit card had expired and I wasn't charged. Neener Neener! I'd say I won but since I already owned the Star by Star book I feel like I just broke even.

Thanks Amazon for trying to swindle me out of $2.99. Better luck next time.
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, but just buy Star by Star March 30, 2011
Format:Kindle Edition
This is a pretty decent short story. Some of the new characters, such as the salt-addicted Arcona jedi, are pretty compelling. However, the story is included in Star by Star (Star Wars: The New Jedi Order, Book 9), which is a key book in the series, so there's really no reason to buy Recovery separately.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars: The New Jedi Order: Recovery April 16, 2009
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Another well written eBook by Troy Denning, but why is it put where it is? Why not a part of Balance Point? It is well written and belongs in the new Jedi Order. I just don't think it should stand alone. It is fun and fast to read on my Kindle, but not even in paperback????
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars Han and Leia reunited and Barabel Jedi introduced March 15, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition
Troy Denning's novella Recovery was originally published in e-book form and is a short tale set after the events of Kathy Tyers' Balance Point. Han and Leia Solo's relationship was fractured early in the Yuuzhan Vong invasion by the death of someone in the family, and the books prior to Recovery, notably the Agents of Chaos duology, spent time exploring Han's journey to reclaim himself from his demons and Leia's efforts to be patient with the process. Ms. Tyers reunited the couple in Balance Point as the battle for Duros commenced, but it is in this short story that they truly begin the emotional healing process.

We start on Corellia with a battle in a hospital and an appearance from Han's rogue cousin Thracken Sal-Solo. It's good to touch base on what Sal-Solo has been up to since he fired the Centerpoint weapon earlier in the New Jedi Order. Mr. Denning uses this story to introduce a group of his preferred characters, a tight-knit group of saurian Barabel Jedi. Here they are accompanied by an entertainingly non-conventional, salt-addicted Arcona Jedi as well as a human Jedi, Master Eelysa, known for her lengthy and complicated solo missions. The Barabel come into full play in Mr. Denning's own Star by Star and are memorable characters: it's welcome, if certainly not essential, to have their background more fully fleshed out here.

In fact, the Jedi provide the most entertaining aspect of Recovery. The Solo reactions to the explicitly non-human worldview of the Barabel are genuinely funny, especially as they struggle to comprehend Barabel humor. Mr. Denning handles the evolution of their relationship and concurrent healing capably enough, although no aspect of this jumps out at me as especially memorable.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars The Solos come together January 11, 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Recovery is a novella by Troy Denning that was first published as an e-book. It takes place after the events of Kathy Tyers’ Balance Point, and the title refers primarily to the recovery of the Solo marriage. Han has been estranged from his family since Chewie’s death, and the healing process for the Solo family only really began to happen in Balance Point. Mr. Denning’s novella continues the recovery process, especially the emotional part.

The story begins in a hospital on Corellia, and we get to hear from Han’s cousin Thracken Sal-Solo. Thracken was the one responsible for the firing of Centerpoint Station a couple of books ago, an effort that ended with mixed results at best. Several other Jedi are introduced as the story moves along.

At the end of the story our heroes are making a mad dash back to Coruscant to halt or at least influence an important Senate vote. This is not surprising. Throughout the New Jedi Order series so far the Senate and the New Republic leadership are constantly causing problems and making extremely questionable decisions.

Mr. Denning has more Star Wars books coming down the road, so Recovery is well worth reading. It can give you an idea of his style and possibly a little better understanding of some of his Jedi characters.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars Recovery October 7, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I liked the story. It filled in the missing information after Leia was beaten by Tsavong Lah's amphistaf. Recovery told the nature of Leia's wounds, her initial recovery in Corellia, and brought Han into the story as he guarded her in the Bacta Ward. Naturally, there was trouble as Thracken Sal-Solo was also brougt back when his thugs, who didn't know Han was there when they tried to kidnap Leia, failed. Two new Jedi were brought into the story when the fire-fight started in the Bacta Ward, Izal Waz and Eelysia (who was also in bacta). The story broadened as the Solo's fled Corellia with Waz, 3 Barabell Jedi, and Eelysia, the Master of Saba Sebatyne. Eelysia had also been severely wounded by amphistaf. Eventually, Han and Leia go to Coruscant to stop Viqi Shesh from outlawing Jedi and/or turning them over to the Vong as a "peace offering." Their arrival sets off another set of typical Solo luck, when thugs from Shesh's office try to kill them before they can get to the meeting. They, too fail and as the meeting gets underway, Leia is escorted by her 3 children, brother and most of the Jedi on the planet. Viqi's effort fails and her minion at the meeting is found dead. Leia recovers and walks again.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!
This book is pretty great. A well-paced ebook that satisfied my want to have characters come to realizations. Recommend for any Star Wars lovers in the middle of the series.
Published 2 months ago by anonymous Star Wars fan
5.0 out of 5 stars my collection
This one promises to be another good book. I have been reading through the series and have not gotten this far yet.
Published 16 months ago by Mike
5.0 out of 5 stars Another read
I really enjoyed the book. Had the normal back against the wall moments. It even had laugh out loud moments.
Published 16 months ago by Carl craft
5.0 out of 5 stars Fits right into New Jedi Order timeline
Excellent! Very well written story, very exciting with LOTS of action. The bad guys trying to kill Leia and Han. Viki Shesh is introduced.
Published 16 months ago by Sharon Deem
5.0 out of 5 stars Recovery
Great read enjoyed every minute of it . I think it answers some questions that are out there about this series.
Published 19 months ago by dsa
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly Important
I am not for sure on how much of a difference the short story has on the overall series (I haven't read on yet), but I would recommend that anyone buy it to help them understand... Read more
Published on May 12, 2013 by Caleb Watts
1.0 out of 5 stars I bought this for a short story about Darth Maul
And that story was absolutely not included anywhere in this novel. I did an e-search of the ebook and came up with a timeline mention of Maul but no passages whatsoever that dealt... Read more
Published on April 10, 2013 by Shannon Dedmon
2.0 out of 5 stars Spelling, grammar, plot.
This book is an important link between Balance Point and Edge of Victory 1: Conquest that was poorly executed. Read more
Published on March 18, 2013 by AB
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book
Excellent, however if you haven't already read all the new jedi order novels before this one, you will be completely lost. This is also the prologue for star by star.
Published on January 25, 2013 by Josh Evans
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent
Product arrived promptly and in the advertised condition. I am very happy with this vendor and would recommend to friends and family.
Published on December 13, 2012 by wsasadav
Search Customer Reviews


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category