Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The return of the Funk Doc
A full six years since his last LP, Redman finally dropped what is probably hip hop's most delayed album not named "Dretox." "Red Gone Wild: Thee Album" is a completely refreshing, hilarious, and satisfying release from a hip hop legend that totally stands tall even when compared to his 90s classics. What I have always loved about Redman is that the more things change,...
Published on March 27, 2007 by ctrx

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3-1/2 stars -- The doctor is in
The last time Redman made a proper album was back in 2001, the aptly titled Malpractice (afterwards, even Red himself said the album was bad). Then, mistakes like How High and Method & Red proved point blank that rappers acting doesn't work for everyone (although the How High SOUNDTRACK wasn't all that exciting either). Well, Red finally came back with Red Gone Wild: Thee...
Published on October 27, 2007 by Anthony Rupert


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The return of the Funk Doc, March 27, 2007
By 
ctrx ('bout to show you how the EAST COAST rocks...) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Red Gone Wild (Audio CD)
A full six years since his last LP, Redman finally dropped what is probably hip hop's most delayed album not named "Dretox." "Red Gone Wild: Thee Album" is a completely refreshing, hilarious, and satisfying release from a hip hop legend that totally stands tall even when compared to his 90s classics. What I have always loved about Redman is that the more things change, the more he stays the same. His hilarious punchlines, wild flow, and unique quirks never grow old, although this album is very fresh sounding and sounds quite updated. Erick Sermon handles most of the production, which I was ecstatic about, because he is one of my favorite producers and he and Redman are a match made in heaven. Scott Storch and a Pete Rock, among others, also contribute beats. His funky, bass-heavy, and upbeat productions bring nostalgia of Def Squad's heyday but mostly just entertain. It wouldn't be a great Redman album without Soopaman Luva, and he appears in all his greatness on the album's last songs. The skits are hilarious, especially "Mr. Ice Cream Man." In the way that Ghostface Killah introduced his Theodore Unit Crew on "Fishscale" and "More Fish," Redman takes the opportunity to present his young rap posse, the Gilla House. These rappers appear on a good deal of the songs, and shouts of "Gilla House!" and "Brick City!" are heard throughout the album. While these rappers are all okay, they can't touch Reggie Noble, and I would rather hear him rap than any of them. The only other complaint I would have is the album's running length, it's a little too long and having less than 23 tracks might make it a little easier to digest. "Red Gone Wild" is the finest album of 2007 thus far and will please his longtime fans in a huge way.

The first song is the introductory "Fire," which features E3 and announces the return of Reggie Noble in grand fashion, and the punchline-filled "Bak Inda Buildin" serves the same purpose. The first single, "Put It Down," is a good mainstream track that I could see getting spins at the club, but it doesn't compromise any of his style at all and the beat is excellent. "Gimmie One" is a little odd sounding, but enjoyable. The posse cut "Sumtn 4 Urrbody" is okay, and the bouncy "How U Like Dat" makes up in its funkiness. I really liked "Freestyle Freestyle," which has a great beat and is a lyrical highlight. The Def Squad reunion "Walk in Gutta" also has an unlikely appearance from legend Biz Markie, and I just loved hearing Sermon, Redman, and Keith Murray together on the mic again, it's exactly what hip hop needs. "Wutchoogonnado" is classic Redman, sample lyric: "I'm in your college campus corridor / they should call me Uno the way I make y'all draw four." Erick Sermon's beat on "Diz Iz Brick Easy" brings to mind something off the Def Squad album "El Nino." My favorite song, though, was definitely "Rite Now," which is blessed with Sermon's best beat on the album. The Al Green sample and funky instrumentals are quintessential Erick Sermon, and Reggie totally does it justice. "Blow Treez" is an ode to weed featuring partner-in-crime Method Man and Ready Roc, with a Mike Jones-style chorus. "Pimp Nutz" is anthemic, excellent, and the aforementioned hilarious skit precedes the crazy "Hold Dis Blaow!" Another Gilla House posse cut comes before the great "Merry Jane," which features Snoop and Nate Dogg. This collaboration has a great production vibe, it's a gorgeous summertime-type cut that brings out the best in all three performers. "Gilla House Check" uses a familiar sample from Nas's "Made You Look." The most exciting part for me came at the end, which marks the return of Reggie Noble's superpowered alter-ego, Soopaman Luva, as he embarks on yet another wild and crazy adventure, and like always, I can ensure it'll have you laughing quickly. From the opening lyric ("What up, yo, it's the Soopaman Luva / I'm about five minutes from out ya baby's motha,") it's plain to see that Red is back in full effect. The album ends with "Suicide," which is based around a sample from Snoop Dogg's classic "Serial Killa."

This album was pretty much everything I could have hoped for in a new Redman album. He shows that even though his career is 15 years deep, he still is as entertaining as ever, and his fans will love it. I hope Def Jam will put some promotion behind this where they didn't for both of Ghostface's albums and Method Man's "4:21...The Day After," because it seems like those albums were ignored by the label. After this I know I'll eagerly be anticipating "Muddy Waters 2." This is a funny, musically interesting and complete work that can really only be described as a Redman album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thee album, March 28, 2007
By 
This review is from: Red Gone Wild (Audio CD)
This is a true banger and that's all I have to say still dirty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GILLA HOUSE!!!, May 29, 2007
This review is from: Red Gone Wild (Audio CD)
After making everybody wait quite a while, Redman is finally back and drops another solid album with "Red Gone Wild." Keeping it funky but not quite as grimy as his past releases, "Red Gone Wild" showcases Red's infantry of friends almost as much as Red himself. Most of the guest artists serve their purpose, however, and everything blends together rather seamlessly. Over and over again, Red and his crew chant "Gilla House!" over a plethora of prototypical Def Squad beats. When Red is at his best is when he spits the grime we've come to love from him, as on the intro track "Fire" which is one of the album's highlights.

Although "Red Gone Wild" suffers from the usual amount of filler most Redman albums have, it still holds its own as a solid "comeback" release from one of hip-hop's most consistent veterans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glad to have Red back, April 10, 2007
By 
This review is from: Red Gone Wild (Audio CD)
All I'm gonna say is why couldn't track number 22 be longer. That was my favorite track in the whole CD besides the one Timbaland produced. I hope he puts out an extended mix for it. It sounds like vintage Redman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New from Red, April 3, 2007
By 
G loc "G loc gangsta" (Vancouver,BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Red Gone Wild (Audio CD)
Red is so consistent and it stays that way with his latest release...

1. A decent track to open the album 7/10
2.Great beat but not Reds best effort 7/10
3.First single produced by Timbaland. Pretty hot 8/10
4. Nothing special 6/10
5.Just a skit
6.Heres where the album gets good. Guest apperences really make this song. Has a down south feel. 8/10
7 Gov mattic does a great job 9/10
8.Im not sure if this is a freestyle but its still a good song 8/10
9.I love the fact that biz markie is in this song 9/10
10 A slower song with an r&b hook 9/10
11.A great song going back to reds home 9/10
12.One of my favourite songs, a great beat. 10/10
13.My favourite song. Feat Ready Roc & method man, this song has a great feel to it. Reminds me of Red and Meths album Blackout 10/10
14. A good song but kind of brings the flow of the album down 7/10
15.Just a skit
16.An outstanding beat and lyrics we have come to expect from red 8/10
17.Ruins the whole feel of the album 6/10
18.My second favourite. A tribute to weed and Rick James. Nate and Snoop both deliver 10/10
19.A bit annoying 6/10
20. Just a skit
21. Reds alter ego Suppaman, but there is nothing super about this track. 7/10
22. Still alter ego, better than the previous but only about 2 minutes. 8/10
23. A good song taking after the Gravediggaz song 1-800-Suicide which is a classic. Doesn't quite live up to it. 9/10

Overall I give this album a 9/10
This album is a good introduction to Redman for beginners and will not dissapoint the long time listeners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return to old form, March 30, 2007
This review is from: Red Gone Wild (Audio CD)
Finally, Redman has returned. I was a huge fan of his 1st and 2nd albums back in the day and was disappointed by his albums after that. Given all of the mindless hip-hop that is dominating the radio, it is nice to see someone with real skills return to the scene. This is definitely a worthwhile purchase if you like real lyricists; if not, go buy Unk or Dem Franchise Boys and watch your brain cells deteriorate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Return of Reggie Noble!!!!, March 28, 2007
By 
Julius Burgess (Oxon hill, Maryland United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Gone Wild (Audio CD)
I've been eagerly awaiting this CD for some time and now that it's here, it's everything I was expecting from Funk Doc! This CD stands shoulder to shoulder with "The What" and "Muddy Waters" as Hip Hop Classics and the reason that Redman is (or should be) in everyone's top 10 ALL Time. If you are a Redman fan and you don't already have this CD... put down the sour deisel, step away from that plus size chick and get your stinkin az down to the store and get that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Redman is BACK!!!, March 21, 2007
This review is from: Red Gone Wild (Audio CD)
This album is tight...I'd probably give it a 4.5 but it rounds up to 5 so thats what I gave it. I only need to skip like 1 or 2 songs and the rest is hot...can't say that about too many CD's released recently. Great production with some sick beats makes this album one of the best of 2007 so far...just waiting for that Fab album now...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RED GONE WIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIILD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, March 26, 2007
This review is from: Red Gone Wild (Audio CD)
That renegade rapper is back with one of his illest releases in years. Redman is full of witty, well put together verses that use metaphors and similes to make a dope verse. To add to that you always get some good comedy out of redman's lyrics. To keep true to his image there is a lot of talk about weed on the album which is redmans favorite past time. Guest appearances of method man, erick sermon, keith murray, and biz markie add to the solidarity of the album. To cap off the whole album, the beats are dope as hell. I don't smoke but Blow treez is one of my favorite tracks on the album. Red gets two thumbs up on this effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good one from Redman - 4.5 stars, February 21, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Red Gone Wild (Audio CD)
About time the Funk Doc returns with a studio album, after about 6 years since he has a full length studio album, Redman finally returns, and with a very good album. After being relatively quiet in the rap game over the early part of the 2000's with movies and his TV show flop, he finally got back in the studio, he did have a few mixtapes out in this time. With 20 songs on here, you get Red to the extreme like we've all been waiting for. Of the 20, you get guests on a little over half of the songs, but it's still a very good album.. It has 2 almost classic songs, 5 ok songs, and the other 13 are good. Production is nice as well. Erick Sermon, Rockwilder and Adam Deitch & Chris Pinset all do 3 songs, Da Masoct does 2, E3, Timbaland, Scott Storch, DJ Clark Kent, Watts, Vitamin D, Compton's Most Wanted's Tha Chill, and Omena ll do 1 song. A must have album and one of the better from 2007.

#1 - 7.5
#2 - 8
#3 - 7
#4 - 8
#6 - 6.5 (f/ Blam, Runt Dog, Ready Roc, Icadon, Saukrates)
#7 - 9 (f/ Gov Matic -- nice beat)
#8 - 8
#9 - 9.5 (f/ Erick Sermon, Keith Murray & Biz MArkie -- great beat)
#10 - 8.5 (f. Melanie Rutherfird -- nice beat)
#11 - 9.5 (f/ Ready Roc -- tight beat)
#12 - 9 (nice beat)
#13 - 8 (f/ Method Man & Ready Roc)
#14 - 6
#16 - 8
#17 - 7 (f/ Saukrates & Icadon)
#18 - 9 (f/ Nate Dogg & Snoop Dogg -- tight beat)
#19 - 8.5
#21 - 8 (f/ Hurrican G, Melanie Rutherford & E3)
#22 - 8.5 (f/ Hurricane G -- good beat)
#23 - 8 (f/ Blam)

Reggie Noble -- b. 4/17/70 -- Newark, NJ
Check all my reviews
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Red Gone Wild
Red Gone Wild by Redman (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.