Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward with subtle humor
My baby (10 months old) loves Lois Ehlert's vivid collages. He really enjoyed Red Leaf, Yellow Leaf with its crumpled tissue leaves and real tree tags along with charming representations of people, trucks, etc. For the adult reader, there is subtle humor in the inclusion of what look like real tags from trees, and the attribution of homesickness to the tree (just when...
Published on November 20, 1997

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but nothing special
I purchased this book after seeing it recommended on a list of classic children's books. Unfortunately, I was rather underwhelmed by the book.

The text is very plain and straightforward. And unfortunately, much of it is no longer accurate as nurseries rarely get their seedlings from the woods as they used to. This is even pointed out in small print in an...
Published on December 3, 2010 by HeatherHH


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward with subtle humor, November 20, 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Red Leaf, Yellow Leaf (Hardcover)
My baby (10 months old) loves Lois Ehlert's vivid collages. He really enjoyed Red Leaf, Yellow Leaf with its crumpled tissue leaves and real tree tags along with charming representations of people, trucks, etc. For the adult reader, there is subtle humor in the inclusion of what look like real tags from trees, and the attribution of homesickness to the tree (just when it was getting settled in, they dug it up and took it to the garden center...). Older children just learning to read will probably get a kick out of the inclusion of "hidden words"... tiny scraps of text set right into the pictures, saying things like "bird treat" and "squirrel"... There's even a recipe for the bird treat in the back of the dust cover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and Striking, November 1, 2004
By 
Allison L. Shaw (Sacramento, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Leaf, Yellow Leaf (Hardcover)
A child recounts the life of a maple tree selected from a nursery to grow in the family's yard. Although it's narrated by a person, the natural world or plants and animals are the primary focus. Hands involved in the various stages of planting are the only human elements included in the illustrations. Taking the tree from a tiny seed in a maple key, to a young seedling, to a leafy haven for birds, to a glorious display of autumnal reds and yellows, Ehlert uses simple cut paper and textured collage against primary backgrounds to illustrate this simple story that's rich in color and love of nature. Following the story Ehlert includes simple scientific facts and illustrated information about trees as well as detailed instructions for planting a tree and making treats for the birds. An excellent addition to a fall story time or classroom science segment. Ages 3-6.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for fall themes, December 6, 2003
By 
D. Bell "D. Bell" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Red Leaf, Yellow Leaf (Hardcover)
This is the book to use when launching your fall themes. Every fall I read this book. The children listen intently and are drawn to the bright vivid colors. They love to predict and actively participate in the word patterns. There are so many lessons that you can use from this one book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice design and educational story about trees., November 14, 2004
This review is from: Red Leaf, Yellow Leaf (Hardcover)
What first caught my attention, was the bright textured orange cover. Simple, but beautiful.

The illustrations are collages of real objects, leafs, and colorful paper cut outs.

The design is unique, with 2 of the pages having leaf-shaped holes on them.

The story is about a kid and his/her tree and the last 4 pages have very interesting information on trees, seeds, and even how to make a bird treat.

If your kids love trees and nature, this book is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book for Children, January 15, 2004
By 
Holly Mace (Snow Hill, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Red Leaf, Yellow Leaf (Hardcover)
I think that this book is a great book for children. Not only does it tell the story of how a tree comes to be, it also has detailed pictures with captions. In the back of the book there is more detailed information on how trees grow and how to make special bird treats. This is fun for the whole family and could possibly be your childs favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Myriad of illustrative techniques. Informative book about leaves., September 18, 2006
This review is from: Red Leaf, Yellow Leaf (Hardcover)
The illustrator uses vivid photographs, paper cut images, nature colors and pressed leaves to illustrate a child's description of a seed growing to a sapling. The writing consists of nice large letters and smaller typed descriptions of 'bird treat' or 'sugar maple', 'round-pointed spade' or 'downy woodpecker'. The last four pages of the book are an indepth look at leaves, buds, roots and sap, bar, seeds, etc. Great book to read to kids in the fall days. Good to use with an exercise of asking kids to go outside and each bring in something different. As you read the book to them, they will have a tactile example to go along with the pages in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My Kids Love It!, September 10, 2006
This review is from: Red Leaf, Yellow Leaf (Hardcover)
This book is a must-read every autumn in our home and was purchased for us by Grandma who saw how enthusiastically one of her other grandchildren responded to it. When I surprised them with it last night at bedtime, (along with When Autumn Comes, also recommended) they hung on every word. This book is both colorful and educational and has become a "classic" seasonal book for our family. My daughters (now age 9) plan to read it to their 5-6 y/o school book-buddy this year. You can't go wrong with this selection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I use this book with science activities about leaves., October 6, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Red Leaf, Yellow Leaf (Hardcover)
Great Book for using with science experiments about autumn leaves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but nothing special, December 3, 2010
This review is from: Red Leaf, Yellow Leaf (Hardcover)
I purchased this book after seeing it recommended on a list of classic children's books. Unfortunately, I was rather underwhelmed by the book.

The text is very plain and straightforward. And unfortunately, much of it is no longer accurate as nurseries rarely get their seedlings from the woods as they used to. This is even pointed out in small print in an author's note on the copyright page.

The text is large black font placed on very brightly colored backgrounds, which can be a bit hard on the eyes. The illustrations are relatively plain as well. Overall, it gives the impression of starkness, despite the bright colors.

Overall, both the text and the illustrations were fine but nothing special. I'm getting rid of this book to make way on my shelves for better ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The story of a sugar maple tree that is also very educational., July 25, 2014
This review is from: Red Leaf, Yellow Leaf (Hardcover)
This story, told in the first person, explains how a sugar maple tree grew, starting off with the seed falling to the ground, shooting up and then being picked as a sprout by the nursery workers. What happened after that? The nursery workers tended the tree until it was big enough to be uprooted again, packed and taken to the garden center. That is where it was purchased by the father of the narrator and we follow the tree through spring, summer and fall.

At the end of the book there are two double page educational spreads: all the parts of the tree and then how to plant a tree. What a great reference for young children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Red Leaf, Yellow Leaf
Red Leaf, Yellow Leaf by Lois Ehlert (Hardcover - September 15, 1991)
$17.99 $13.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.