Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High action, adventure - zombies and minotaurs and shapeshifters oh my
One hundred years ago, the Nor invaded Muoro, taking over the Muorokin and using them as slaves. It was all so they could have unlimited access to a drug that is only available in the sea around Muoro called ku, which can - after processing - be smoked or changed into a liquid derivative and taken on the tongue. This drug enhances the abilities of the person taking it -...
Published on July 31, 2011 by K. Sozaeva

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Action Packed Sci-Fi Adventure!
It has been over a century since the Nor army invaded Mia's homeland and gained control of the people via the Empire. Since that time, a rebel force known as The Underground have been learning the secrets of the mysterious drug "ku" and have been preparing an army of their own. The resistance's only hope lies with Mia - a young shape shifter who has extraordinary powers...
Published on October 24, 2011 by Stephanie Ward


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High action, adventure - zombies and minotaurs and shapeshifters oh my, July 31, 2011
This review is from: Red Smoke Rising (Kindle Edition)
One hundred years ago, the Nor invaded Muoro, taking over the Muorokin and using them as slaves. It was all so they could have unlimited access to a drug that is only available in the sea around Muoro called ku, which can - after processing - be smoked or changed into a liquid derivative and taken on the tongue. This drug enhances the abilities of the person taking it - the Nor use it to create Myrmidons, super-humanly strong warriors, whose brutality is infamous. Mia has disguised herself as Nor and taken advantage of the university training to advance her skills in controlling auras and has become a Master - she can change into a tiger or a horse, and also use the power to manipulate others' auras. She is a member of the Underground, rebels who are trying to drive the Nor out of the Muorokin lands.

This book is very fast-paced and action-oriented - it is a quick read and should appeal strongly to those who like near-constant action in their books. The only complaint I had is that there isn't much character development or explanation about the history of people or things - we're just sort of thrown into the middle of all of it and have to try to keep up. Fortunately, the pacing is smooth and the plot is engrossing to the point where you just decide to go with it - and what a ride it is! A stunning debut novel - pick it up and be on the lookout for more books from this highly talented writer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Action Packed Sci-Fi Adventure!, October 24, 2011
By 
Stephanie Ward (Cochranton, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Red Smoke Rising (Kindle Edition)
It has been over a century since the Nor army invaded Mia's homeland and gained control of the people via the Empire. Since that time, a rebel force known as The Underground have been learning the secrets of the mysterious drug "ku" and have been preparing an army of their own. The resistance's only hope lies with Mia - a young shape shifter who has extraordinary powers and can wield the magic of ku like no other. Together with a band of vigilante Masters and Trademasters, they will overthrow the Empire's rule or die trying.

This story is an action packed sci-fi adventure full of shape shifters, zombies, trolls, and all manner of otherworldly characters. Anthony brings the dystopic setting to life and the reader becomes part of the Underground's cause while they struggle to overthrow the Empire. Characters in the story are separated into caste systems with those who know how to work the magic of the drug ku and are able to manipulate auras and enhance things at the pinnacle. This novel is a tale of survival, fighting for freedom, and a wonderful example of doing what you believe is right. The story was an easy read and flowed well. Any fans of science fiction and fantasy should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fast-paced action-packed book!, February 1, 2011
If you enjoy science fiction and fantasy books like I do, then "Red Smoke Rising" by Rick Anthony will not disappoint you. The action starts right from the very beginning and continues throughout the entire book! I found myself not wanting to put it down as I read of the adventures of Mia and the battle for the possession of Ku, the powerful and magical drug that gives its users super human powers including shape shifting. Take this fantastic journey with Mia as she transforms into a dragon and fights with the Underground against the Myrmidons. A real page turner that will keep you on the edge of your seat from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fast paced sci fi fantasy adventure, February 1, 2011
Rick Anthony's "Red Smoke Rising" was more than I had even imagined. The author brought a world to life that I would visit again. A beautiful blend of fantasy and science fiction, the author skillfully filled each chapter with excitement and adventure. I have always loved the idea of shape shifting and Anthony uses it masterfully in this book, especially with the character Mia. The incredible drug, Ku, with its powerful side effects is at the heart of the invasion of Muoro. I heartily recommend "Red Smoke Rising" to anyone that wants a sci fi fantasy adventure that really delivers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced, entertaining book, September 21, 2011
By 
shajilge (Oklahoma, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Red Smoke Rising (Kindle Edition)
This is a fast paced fantasy novel that has a cast of characters that includes shapeshifters, ogres, soldiers, golems and even a minotaur. The action starts about 10 pages in and keeps going right until the end. This is a quickly read novel and the storyline keeps you engaged.
There are a few things that keep the novel from being rated higher but none of them are enough to keep one from enjoying this book. A backstory that was more developed and more in depth character portrayal would really add to this story. As it stands, the reader knows that the land is ruled by an evil empire and they are given a few glimpses of their brutality but we aren't ever given more details about why Mia, Kale and the others are fighting. It is easy to root for the underdogs, but having characters that were fleshed out a bit more would make the story more engrossing.
I would also have liked a more refined writing style. The book is easy to read but there are sections that seem to be edited hastily. There are also a few spots that use overly simplistic sentences "Kale's face turned red. His eyes bulged." These tend to stick out mainly because they appear in the middle of text that is written well.
The last point that bothered me- and I know this might seem trivial- is the cussing that seems like it was thrown in on a whim. It's not that I mind the swear words, but the words felt like they were added to make it seem edgy. Instead, I was reminded of hearing teenagers swearing to impress their friends.
To summarize. . . very entertaining book, not a literary classic but I look forward to more from Rick Anthony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for Science Fiction Fans, February 4, 2011
By 
Jennifer S (Ball Ground, GA United States) - See all my reviews
"Red Smoke Rising" by Rick Anthony is everything science fiction should be. You will pick up this book and not want to stop until the very last page. Anthony draws you in with his intense main character Mia, what an amazing woman she is and you will immediately love reading about her adventures. Anthony is very talented when it comes to character development and there so many characters you will enjoy. Anthony also captures your attention with the usual science fiction elements. Pick up this book and plan on spending the rest of the evening reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Action-packed, January 4, 2012
This review is from: Red Smoke Rising (Kindle Edition)
Action-packed and quite enjoyable! There were some gory and disturbing parts, but overall I really liked this novel. I especially loved all of the various shifts, but Mia's especially, of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast-Paced, Highly Entertaining Sci-Fi Fantasy Novel, November 16, 2011
This review is from: Red Smoke Rising (Kindle Edition)
I do not read a lot of sci-fi fantasy novels these days. So I was pleasantly surprised I enjoyed Rick Anthony's "Red Smoke Rising." Very fast-paced novel. The reader is tossed into the action right at the beginning of the book without the usual tedious introductory background information. The characters and plot are original and interesting. For example, in the fantasy world presented by Rick Anthony, the main character Mia uses a drug called Ku to allow her to shape shift. Please note: I found I was glued to the computer screen and up all night reading "Red Smoke Rising." So be sure to set aside a weekend to enjoy this book. I should also mention this book does include graphic violence scenes as well as a few curse words.

I reviewed this book as part of the Reader's Spoils rewards program but I was not required to write a favorable review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Action packed Sci-Fi, October 4, 2011
This review is from: Red Smoke Rising (Kindle Edition)
This sci-fi book by Rick Anthony, "Red Smoke Rising", is fast paced with almost non-stop action. The villains are evil, the magic is believable, and the ogres are massive! The main characters and the description of Ku, the drug that enhances abilities and enables shape-shifting, are so realistic in his story-telling.

A fast read, but a lot of brutality. A true sci-fi thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy read, great book!, September 26, 2011
This review is from: Red Smoke Rising (Kindle Edition)
This book was a great read, I absolutely loved it! This is a story about a land where there is a lot of oppression by the Empire, and a small group of vigilantes use the power of ku to help them break free from the Empire and reclain their freedom. They have to do this for not just themselves, for everyone throughout the lands who suffer under the Empire soldiers. This book starts right when the action begins and stays action packed throughout the journey of Mia, Grere, Lio, and all the others who took a stand and fought for what they wanted. I highly recommend this book for not only those who enjoy sicence fiction, but anyone who loves an action packed story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Red Smoke Rising
Red Smoke Rising by Rick Anthony
$4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.