Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I learned a lot about being a Red Sox fan!!
My daughter gave me this book for my birthday-I am a 50 year old lifelong Sox Fan who has suffered a lot during my life. This book tells the history of the team without pulling any punches, and really explains a lot of why they have been a troubled franchise through the years. Yes, the Curse is finally over, but the stories about how the franchise started, why they really...
Published on July 17, 2005 by Michael Solakian

versus
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed...
My dad, Sammy White played for the Red Sox 1949-1960, as a catcher. In this book the author says that my dad came up in 1952-1953, and was traded shortly thereafter. "Their two best talents from the farm system, Jimmy Piersall and Sammy White, were traded". Page 211.

My dad was part of the "All Star Team" in 1953...and continued to play til he was traded in...
Published on February 5, 2010 by Deborah L. White


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I learned a lot about being a Red Sox fan!!, July 17, 2005
This review is from: Red Sox Nation: An Unexpurgated History of the Boston Red Sox (Hardcover)
My daughter gave me this book for my birthday-I am a 50 year old lifelong Sox Fan who has suffered a lot during my life. This book tells the history of the team without pulling any punches, and really explains a lot of why they have been a troubled franchise through the years. Yes, the Curse is finally over, but the stories about how the franchise started, why they really got rid of Babe Ruth, why they didn't sign Jackie Robinson or Willie Mays, well, it all makes sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Own Book If You're A Bosox Fan.., August 15, 2007
By 
Mark (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Red Sox Nation: An Unexpurgated History of the Boston Red Sox (Hardcover)
I've been a Red Sox fan since the early 1960's - around the time that Carl Yastzemski, my all time favorite player, came up - and in common with all Red Sox fans, have suffered through some of the most heart-breaking losses imagineable..

And, unfortunately, this book does not pull any punches or try to sugar coat the losses. It's all there - the loss to the Cardinals in 1967 after Yaz almost single-handedly carried the Red Sox to the Impossible Dream and took the Cards and the brilliant Bob Gibson to a 7th game.

Or the 1975 World Series against the Big Red Machine - the Cincinnati Reds. Again, the Sox went the distance only to lose in Game 7. But they gave us a win in Game 6 which, in my opinion, was the greatest game ever played in the best series ever played.

But it also brings back the heartbreak of the 1978 season when they blew a huge lead in August and ending up losing to the Yankees after Bucky F*****ing Dent's homerun.

Or the 1986 World Series against the Mets when they lost Game 6 after being just 1 strike away from winning. Thanks Bill Buckner / Calvin Schiraldi and Bob Stanley.

And let's not forget the 2003 "Cowboy Up" season..!!

You know, I never bought the "curse of the Bambino" nonsense and this book only confirmed what I always suspected / knew. The ONLY thing that the Red Sox were cursed with were Managers who, at times, were clearly brain dead - they were simply in over their heads and couldn't do the little things that separate the great coaches from the merely good or "mortal" ones.

For example, Don Zimmer sticking with Mike Torrez late in the one game playoff with the NY Yankees back in 1978 when he should have gone with Bill Lee's fresh arm. Unfortunately, Zimmer thought "Spaceman" Lee was a flake and so he decided to keep him on the bench. Between this bonehead play - and Zimmer's decision to get rid of one of the greatest pinch hitters around (remember Bernie Carbo's heroics in Game 6 of the 1975 World Series..??), is it any wonder that the player's couldn't get the job done..??

Or in 1986, John McNamara elected to keep a gimpy kneed Bill Buckner at first instead of pulling him for a healthier, better fielding replacement.
And we all know what happened..!!

And, of course, we can't forget Grady Little staying with Pedro Martinez late in the game in the 2003 ALCS when every Red Sox fan - alive and dead - was screaming at Grady through their TV to "pull this guy and get a fresh, strong arm in there..!!!??. After giving up a bunch of hits, Little pulled Martinez, but by then the damage was done..! And when Boone hit that home run, it was deja vu all over again..!

No - there never was a "curse" - just some of the most incredibly inept and stupid managing in the history of this great game. Some day, Zimmer and Little and McNamara should all get together and compare notes on who the biggest bonehead is..!

But enough of the negative stuff.

I loved the commentary from the players /fans / reporters etc that are sprinkled thorughout the book. It really gives you a flavour of the time and the emotions that we all experience when you're a Red Sox fan. The bookj talks about the beaning of Tony Conigliaro, who never properly recovered from that terrible accident. We can only wonder how great his numbers and career might have been had he been healthy.

Or the numerous stories of Ted Williams - or the Yawkey's (Tom and Jean), Luis Tiant , Jim Rice, Freddie Lynn and on and on it goes.

Of course, we all know that it has an incredibly happy ending with their World Series win in 2004. Yes,three years later in August 2007 as I'm writing this, it still feels great to be able to sit back and know that these guys won it all in our lifetime...!!

And to win it the way they did against the Yankees is still the BEST memory I will ever have in baseball. No matter how many incredibly painful ways the Red Sox found to lose throughout the years, ONLY the Yankees have been ahead 3 games to 0 in the ALCS and then proceed to lose the next 4 games. Yes - the Red Sox have had some bitter losses, but only the NY Yankees have choked so bad that no other team in baseball history has ever equalled it. The World Series win was the BEST cake in the world - and beating the Yankees the way they did was the best icing on the cake a Red Sox fan could possibly ask for..!!

I hope the Yankees and their fans still choke on that thought from time to time.

Anyways, if you're a Red Sox fan - and you should be if you're not - you MUST own this book. it's a great read from the first to last page and it's a pleasure to read about the teams and players that pre-dated your own interst.

It's a pleasure being a Red Sox fan..!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest books I've read, November 11, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Red Sox Nation: An Unexpurgated History of the Boston Red Sox (Hardcover)
A long time Red Sox fan, I've been let down countless times. The biggest being in 1985. But, after the 2004 season, all my anguish and woe as a Sox fan diminished after they swept the Cardinals in the World Series. When this book came out, I immediately picked it up and read it as fast as I could. From the first page on, the book just grabbed me and I couldn't let it go. The pictures are well taken and well represented in the book. After the 1970s, I could remember these moments in Sox history. Then I read about the 1990s, about Pedro and D-Lowe. Then the forgettable 2003 ALCS. Then the greatest pages of all, the 2004 season, with the book ending on a high note, for once! All the Red Sox books I've read, all of them have ended badly, this one though, ended great! Read this book, you won't regret it.

As they say in the book

"And when Red Sox fans in the future travel to stadiums around the country, they "1918" caps and taunts of "Bucky Dent" or "Bill Buckner" will ring hollow. Bucky who? Who cares? Bill who? Doesn't matter.

"History starts today" became the battle cry. The Red Sox had done it. Red Sox fans, like Humphrey Bogart, will always have Paris."

- Red Sox Nation: An Unexpurgated History Of The Red Sox
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read For All Sox Fans, August 7, 2005
This review is from: Red Sox Nation: An Unexpurgated History of the Boston Red Sox (Hardcover)
This is one of those books that you take with you to the beach or the pool. Before you know it, five hours have passed and you're sunburned and sore. A great, fun book that every Red Sox fan should read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete History, April 5, 2008
This review is from: Red Sox Nation: An Unexpurgated History of the Boston Red Sox (Hardcover)
This book is a fascinating read to see how everything started. It explains what baseball was like B.R. (before Red Sox) and gives us a sense of our fandom ancestors. It truly is like a family history with all the crazy characters and situations that come with every family.
I'm most amazed to find that the past is very similar to the present in that the team was formed by luring great players, including Cy Young, away from other teams (today's free agency), and dumping salaries. Not to mention the parallels between the fans and their taunting of the Pirates players in 1903 as today's fans mock Yankees players.
The only problem is that there is SO much to talk about, everything is given equal time, and if you want to immerse yourself in more detail about specific moments, then you're out of luck. But that's why there are books on each subject like the selling of Babe Ruth or the Impossible Dream, etc.
This book gives you the overview. It's up to you to take your education further. -- Andy Wasif, author Green Monster University: Creating Die-Hahd Fans Since 1901
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, October 3, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Red Sox Nation: An Unexpurgated History of the Boston Red Sox (Hardcover)
When I finished "Red Sox Century" of Glenn Stout, I felt that no book could match that strong, accurate telling.

But... "Red Sox Nation" could do it. And add to it a "happy end".

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book explaining the detailed history of the franchise, December 8, 2012
This review is from: Red Sox Nation: An Unexpurgated History of the Boston Red Sox (Hardcover)
Peter Golenbock wrote a terrific book about the history of the Red Sox franchise. He interviewed many former players and the work is excellent because it has many credible primary source accounts. This book is well-researched and explains all the significant events in franchise history from the early Sox dynasty before the Babe Ruth sale until the historic World Series championship in 2004.

Golenbock was not afraid to address the controversies of the franchise, especially the failure of the team to add an African-American player to the roster during the Tom Yawkey years. Pumpsie Green became the first black player on the Red Sox and Boston was the last MLB franchise to add an African-American player. Golenback provides balance by highlighting some of the charitable works of the Yawkey family.

Overall, this is a very good book. It is a must-read account of the Red Sox franchise. I enjoyed the book tremendously and learned a lot about the franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for Red Sox fans, February 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Red Sox Nation: An Unexpurgated History of the Boston Red Sox (Hardcover)
Great history of the team from it's inception to the end of 2004. I have a copy and bought a copy for my father who loves it. Stops after the '04 World Series win, so an update is in order to capture the '07 and '13 championships.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History of Boston Red Sox & Red Sox Nation, January 9, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Red Sox Nation: An Unexpurgated History of the Boston Red Sox (Hardcover)
Must read for the followers of RED SOX NATION

What else can be said but win another RING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed..., February 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Red Sox Nation: An Unexpurgated History of the Boston Red Sox (Hardcover)
My dad, Sammy White played for the Red Sox 1949-1960, as a catcher. In this book the author says that my dad came up in 1952-1953, and was traded shortly thereafter. "Their two best talents from the farm system, Jimmy Piersall and Sammy White, were traded". Page 211.

My dad was part of the "All Star Team" in 1953...and continued to play til he was traded in 1960.

Poor representation of my father's career in baseball. Sorry. Facts are not correct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Red Sox Nation: An Unexpurgated History of the Boston Red Sox
Red Sox Nation: An Unexpurgated History of the Boston Red Sox by Peter Golenbock (Hardcover - April 1, 2005)
$24.95 $19.13
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.