Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stephen Marley Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro

  • Red
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
31
Format: Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 29, 2010
I got this book after I saw the trailer and naturally expected something different then what I ended up getting. It's a great read, short and to the point. If you're getting this because of the movie, then you might want to know it's about only one character, namely Bruce Willis' and there's not really an ounce of humor in the whole thing.The art is crisp, the fight scenes brutal and the storytelling is swift and on right on the money for a tale like this. It's bleak and gritty like you would expect from Warren Elli, so good news if you want to pick it up because you're a fan of him. I recommend getting it even if it is a bit short, you won't be disappointed.
11 comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2010
This is a great comic book. If you saw the movie and want to read the comic, be aware, this comic tells a story slightly similar to the movie but amazingly different in its structure. You have the ex-CIA being chased and its vendetta against the company, that's all.
The tale told here is amazing, is a story about a man that had only one purpose when active and after the retirement wanted to be left alone, that's all. You understand his morals, his trainning and his mind. It's more about the psychological state of someone that killed all his life than the killings or the vendetta.
It is a great comic book, amazing writing and drawing, and something that should be read by everyone who's interested in comics.
But it's not the movie, not at all.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2010
This one grabs you by the lapels. There is relatively little exposition here, just straight story. And the action? It his hurled at you in a visually arresting way, with hard and fast pacing. And boy, it is almost shockingly violent (this one is not for the kiddies). It will be interesting to see how they expand the relatively sparse story for the upcoming Bruce Willis - Helen Mirren - Morgan Freeman film.
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2015
I grabbed Ellis's RED after finding out it was the original source for the movies - of which I very much enjoyed (big Bruce Willis fan). The art is crisp and the story is simple. CIA operator is VERY good at his job, wants to retire, but knows too much so must be silenced. Of course, Paul Moses is able to REACH retirement because he's VERY good at his job; and not appreciating trying to be killed, takes it out on the CIA. Without giving away the books ending, I felt it was just getting started! I was just getting into it and BOOM! the book ends??

Now it really seems this is a book in search of a sequel, but the 1st part of the ride was pretty cool. A good buy if you can get a deal on it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2012
It's a pretty good book. Nothing fancy. Kinda cool. Very dark. Though it's not what you might think. It's short as hell, for starters. I mean Half the page count is just extras like scripts, concept designs, and things like that. Secondly I must say, that if you want to read this because of the movie, you might be disappointed. The film was much longer, and had alot more to it, and much was changed from the book you see here. The book is virtually humourless, by comparison, and it's just a straightforward story about what happens when you wake up a monster that was content to just live out his life, and leave the world in peace. I'd say this is an OK read if you like Ellis, and have 10-15 minutes to kill, but I would not advise paying more than five dollars for it. I would also not advise reading this if the movie had any motivation for you to seek out this book. Three Stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2014
The movie (admittedly brain candy) is all about the characters and the fun interplay between them. This book is far grittier and the main character is a 'haunted and blood thirst killer'. It isn't a bad graphic novel, but don't buy it if you are first a fan of the movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2013
While I enjoyed this graphic novel a lot, it was not worth the money charged. Took all of 20 minutes to read through it and while the graphics and storyline were fantastic, overall I was disappointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2013
Excellent story, about the world's best killer. Moses is forced from retirement by an appointed political flunky who's afraid of the world ever learning an operative like Moses exists. If your only exposure to this character is through the movie then you MUST read this book. You'll discover a deeper insight into the assassin who's so deadly that the CIA classified him R.E.D. (Retired Extremely Dangerous).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2010
I'll start this review by saying that I've see the movie adaptation of Warren Ellis's RED, and I loved it. And because I saw the movie, I thought I'd check out the graphic novel on which it is based. So I came into this book biased from the start. I'll begin by reviewing the graphic novel, and then I'll compare the novel and the movie.

RED's premise is simple. The new director of the CIA finds out about some dirty deal that a retired agent, Paul Moses, was involved in. He decides the man knows too much, so has him killed. Problem is, Paul Moses still has his moves, and kills the men sent to kill him. Moses is angry with the CIA, so goes on a rampage to try and kill everyone in the CIA who knows his name.

That's all. There are no subplots, no other characters--just Moses and a couple of CIA guys, and the myriad of agents Moses kills in as bloody a way as possible. That's what made me dislike RED so much. The lack of plot and characterization. Paul Moses was just a killing machine who did nothing but kill, which added nothing to his character. Toward the end, it seemed like Ellis tried to throw in a slight attempt to bring the plot to somewhat of a resolution and a measly effort to tie some loose character ends into a conclusion, but what it turned out to be was a mess of random ideas that didn't make any sense in the context of what already happened.

So, in the end, RED was nothing more than an excuse to make a killing machine brutalize the pages with splashes of mindless gore and violence to the end of shallow to no character development and lack of plot and just generally good storytelling.

The movie, on the other hand, brought out all of the potentially brilliant elements of the graphic novel and created an amazing story brought together by a plethora of fantastically cast actors to play characters that not only added wonderful touches to the movie, but supported the entire movie just by being there.

The movie had everything that the graphic novel should have had.

If the graphic novel had taken the time to pace itself and to at least create believable and likable characters, it could have achieved something worthy enough to say that the movie RED was based off it.

A huge disappointment.
44 comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2011
Red is a short story about Paul Moses, a retired CIA assassin who is reactivated after a new CIA director sees what he's capable of and wants him killed.

Red is a well-written, well-drawn story dealing with the over-reactive and spoiled attitude of bureaucrats in today's government. It works well as an action-thriller about twisted bureaucrats getting their just desserts. It felt too short and there were a lot of things that could have been expanded which, while great for the movie adaptation, is a detriment to the original comic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.