Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A quick, easy and fun read.
As a big fan of the Buffy show, and it's new spinoff Angel, I'm always leery of picking up books on the shows. It seems as though some books based on tv shows lose something in the transalations (no, I'm not just talking about the visuals :), but this one gets it right.
I liked all elements of this novel. The characterizations of Angel, Cordy and Doyle were spot...
Published on June 29, 2000 by Amazon Customer

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story, good dialogue, some weaknesses in narrative
Overall, this was a pretty good book. The story was interesting, the dialogue true to the characters (for the most part) and the pacing good. The problem I had with the book is that it read like the author wrote it in one draft and then submitted it for printing without editing. You would read along for a couple of pages, really getting into it, and then a sentence...
Published on August 1, 2003 by Linda Picardo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A quick, easy and fun read., June 29, 2000
This review is from: Redemption (Angel) (Mass Market Paperback)
As a big fan of the Buffy show, and it's new spinoff Angel, I'm always leery of picking up books on the shows. It seems as though some books based on tv shows lose something in the transalations (no, I'm not just talking about the visuals :), but this one gets it right.
I liked all elements of this novel. The characterizations of Angel, Cordy and Doyle were spot on and the original characters were interesting. I really did like the Blood Cadre.
I liked how Angel's inner struggle was shown. He has to constantly fight his urges and live with his guilt.
The flashbacks were handled well, I think. I usually don't like flashbacks, but they worked here. They were exciting and fun. A vampire pirate, now that's something different!
All in all, an exciting story that moved along at a good pace and keep the feel of the series. Some suprises here and there make for a very enjoyable book indeed. Good job, Mel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story, good dialogue, some weaknesses in narrative, August 1, 2003
By 
This review is from: Redemption (Angel) (Mass Market Paperback)
Overall, this was a pretty good book. The story was interesting, the dialogue true to the characters (for the most part) and the pacing good. The problem I had with the book is that it read like the author wrote it in one draft and then submitted it for printing without editing. You would read along for a couple of pages, really getting into it, and then a sentence would pop up that was awkwardly written or a descriptive word thrown in that would harshly snap you back to reality. An example of this would be during a fight scene where all of a sudden the author Odom describes Angel as scampering along. Angel may do may things, but he doesn't scamper.
The other problem that I had was with Doyle's character meeting up with a loan shark and a seer. Both of these characters were interesting to a point, and the scenes were well written, but they ultimately had nothing to do with the story. They could have been written out completely and the rest of the story would have remained the same. In fact, the loan shark storyline is completely left dangling. He forgives Doyle's loan as long as Doyle agrees to introduce him to Angel. Interesting, you might think. And then you would read the rest of the book wondering what business this loan shark would have with Angel. But you would never find out, because Odom never goes back to this subplot. It is just left dangling at the end. Very disappointing.
But getting past the occasional misplaced word or sentence and the subplot that goes nowhere, there was a lot of good in this book as well. For the most part the characters read like those in the show (which isn't always the case in tv tie-in novels)and the rest of the plot is pretty tight. The introductory scene hooks you right in, and for a while at least you are intrigued by the mystery woman who Angel had met and fought over a century ago and who is now not only still alive and well, but doesn't seem to recognize him.
I bought this book at a garage sale for a quarter. I got my money's worth. I don't know if I would feel the same if I had picked it up at cover price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, keeps you guessing to the end, May 13, 2002
By 
"scotsmen" (Manchester , North West England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Redemption (Angel) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have to say this is soooooo much better than "Not Forgotten!"
It took me a while to get into it, but once the action started I couldn't put it down! The plot is full of twists and keeps you guessing untill the end. This book has more of a mystery element to it and I like the way the present day story fits in with flashbacks to Angel's past.
It centres around a young, pretty hollywood actress - Whitney Tyler who stars in her own T.V series - Dark Midnight about a female vampire detective. However, the actress soon starts receiving death treats from a cult who believe she is a real live vampire. Angel is called on to get to the bottom of the mysterious threats and deaths - while protecting the woman from further harm. Angel somehow feels Whitney Tyler is very familliar, and he begins to have flashbacks to his past. The actress is identical to a young woman the evil Angelus fought on The Handsome Jack, a ship, hundreds of years ago.
Angel must somehow find what links the two very different women together, and he must do it fast before even more people die at the hands of an evil creature from his past...
I really enjoyed this book. The plot is gripping and is very well thought out - if you enjoy mystery stories this is the Angel book for you. You can also rely on Cordelia and Doyle to bring some humour and comic moments into the book too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TV vampires have never been better., June 9, 2000
By 
This review is from: Redemption (Angel) (Mass Market Paperback)
A battle to the death in the 18th century drives Angel to protect a lovely innocent actress who is not a vampire but plays one on TV. The intense hunger for her blood, her life which once drove him to destroy her is now replaced by an irrational desire for atonement. But is she the same woman who had vowed to kill the vicious Angelus? Has her hate kept her alive for 200 years for one purpose and one purpose alone...to kill the vampire who took her life? The story ripples with action and danger. Cults,spirits, bookies and the LAPD insist on interferring in Angel's quest for redemption. Doyle and Cordelia provide the comic relief with their friendly bickering. Especially amusing is Cordelia suggesting that they make a TV series out of Angel's life. I strongly recommend this book. I read it all in one sitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reads like an episode of the series..., May 30, 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Redemption (Angel) (Mass Market Paperback)
Great tie-in novel, that stays close to the tone, and spiritofthe series, but tells a new story. Odom really captures thepersonalities of Angel, Doyle, and Cordelia in this latest tie-in novel, and I felt like I was watching an episode of the series. In fact, I wish I had been--Odom gave Doyle in particular some fantastic scenes that I wish the viewers could have seen Glenn Quinn perform... The plot moves along at a great clip, and Angel's compassion for Whitney felt spot on. I read it all in one sitting, and couldn't put it down. Great original novel for fans of the show, particularly those who enjoyed the early episodes best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feels like an episode of the series!, June 5, 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Redemption (Angel) (Mass Market Paperback)
Great tie-in novel, that stays close to the tone, and spirit of the series, but tells a new story. Odom really captures the personalities of Angel, Doyle, and Cordelia in this latest tie-in novel, and I felt like I was watching an episode of the series. In fact, I wish I had been--Odom gave Doyle in particular some fantastic scenes, that I wish the viewers could have seen Glenn Quinn perform... The plot moves along at a great clip, and Angel's compassion for Whitney felt spot on. I read it all in one sitting, and couldn't put it down. Great original novel for fans of the show, particularly those who enjoyed the early episodes best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Redemption, June 14, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Redemption (Angel) (Mass Market Paperback)
Easily the best of the series so far. Even the flashbacks were interesting, Doyle got to be an integral part of the plot, and Cordy was at her brilliantly tactless best. The whole "I'm not a vampire, I just play one on tv" plot could have been really badly done, but Mel Odom gave it just the right ironically funny twist considering that Angel is both a "real" vampire and a "real" television show. The humor was dead-on and the story was actually a fun read. Makes me wish Odom was writing the next book too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Acting the Part, June 13, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Redemption (Angel) (Mass Market Paperback)
Whitney Tyler has a bit of a problem. She has gotten so good at playing the vampire in Dark Midnight (her TV show) that they has more people trying to stake her then there are chasing Angel. As the problem escalates from a few crackpots to a serious team of assassins intent on major damage, Whitney's producer panics and interrupts Angel's usual vampire slaying to ask him to help keep Whitney's heart in one piece.
Intertwined with Whitney's story is Angel's memory of Moira O'Braonain, who he first encountered in his Angelus the Vampire Pirate days (bet you didn't know that Angel used to swashbuckle a bit). While taking over a ship, Angelus and Darla run into Moira, a deadly fighter who Angel kills. And then has to kill several times over. Whitney and Moira are nearly identical, but it will take time for Angel to work out the connection, and people around Whitney keep dying unpleasantly.
Mel Odom does a great job on his first Angel novel, capturing not only Angel's character perfectly, but the interactions between Cordelia and Doyle as well. The make an interesting counter to what is building between Whitney and Angel. Despite being pure fantasy, Odom's style adds the touch of believability that is necessary if a reader is to stay interested.
This story comes from the short period of time when every Angel story seems to depend on undoing the vampire's actions during the Angelus period, where amends and redemption had a very specific meaning. Unfortunately, the constant flashbacks wear thin after a while. Redemption spends as much time in the past as it does in the present and, despite Odom's writing stills, I'm beginning to twitch every time I see Angelus in a frilly shirt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Angel Book To Date! :), July 19, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Redemption (Angel) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is for all types of people. Even if you have never watched a single Buffy or Angel show. Even though I can't image a person who has not! Mr. Odom is a wonderful author and anyone can read and understand this book. This book stands on it's own. Fan's of both shows will love this book. Even Fans of Forever Knight will enjoy this book. If you like Vampires or just want to read a well written book then, stop looking because this is the book for you! This book is GREAT in every way and I can't wait to see more books by Mel Odom. He does a Perfect job with getting everything right and the flash backs are great and reminded me of my other favorite show Forever Knight. IT is just so wonderful and a book for all ages. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellant addition to the Angel series., May 20, 2000
This review is from: Redemption (Angel) (Mass Market Paperback)
During his early days as a vampire, Angelus encourted a young woman, Moira, who hunted vampires with extradinary skill. Yet when he killed her, she seemingly came back from the dead, not one, but two, times. 240 years later, Angel is working for his redemption. He is hired to protect an actress who portrays a vampire on TV. Some people seem to believe she is a real vampire, and have made attempts on her life. When he meets the actress, Whitney Tyler, he is amazed - she looks exactly like Moira. When Angel meets some of the creepy guys after Whitney, the tell him she is evil. Angel doesn't believe so. But then what connects her to Moira? I highly reccomend this excellant edition to the Angel novel series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Redemption (Angel)
Redemption (Angel) by Mel Odom (Mass Market Paperback - June 1, 2000)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.