Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable book
I just finished reading Redemption. Words fail me. It is remarkable. I'm a survivor of various kinds of abuse, and as I read I was struck by so many parallels between the way the Lord has led me into increasingfreedom over the last 34 years, and the teachings in Redemption. How I could have used this resource as a young believer! It will be very helpful for the many, many...
Published on January 31, 2011 by Dr. Laura Hendrickson

versus
2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's really about sin
It starts with 1)you have suffered 2)as a result you have sinned so 3)the real issue is your sin. Maybe a better title would have been "Dealing With Your Sin". It's helpful to some extent but it's not really about redemption.
Published on April 11, 2012 by my lawyer has all my money


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable book, January 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Redemption: Freed by Jesus from the Idols We Worship and the Wounds We Carry (Re:Lit) (Paperback)
I just finished reading Redemption. Words fail me. It is remarkable. I'm a survivor of various kinds of abuse, and as I read I was struck by so many parallels between the way the Lord has led me into increasingfreedom over the last 34 years, and the teachings in Redemption. How I could have used this resource as a young believer! It will be very helpful for the many, many believers who are still struggling!

I have absolutely no doubt that this book will be incredibly useful in individual and small group counseling ministry. I've wished for a resource like this for years. I'll be using it in my own counseling ministry. Very highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jesus frees us from the shame of sin and the futility of idolatry, April 18, 2011
By 
This review is from: Redemption: Freed by Jesus from the Idols We Worship and the Wounds We Carry (Re:Lit) (Paperback)
Christians sometimes have an odd relationship with the Old Testament. Some simply avoid it, due to its particularly nasty depiction of humanity (well deserved at that). Others moralize it, treating everything as an object lesson. "David overcame his giant, what's yours," and that sort of thing. And still others seek to discover where the Old Testament bears witness to Christ. as He Himself said it did (cf. John 5:39; Luke 24:13-35). From the first word of Genesis to the last word of Malachi, it's all about Jesus.

That includes the exodus. This momentous event in the history of the Jewish people became the archetype of God's saving work as the writers of Scripture in both Testaments referenced it again and again. Indeed, Pastor Mike Wilkerson writes, "When it comes to understanding redemption, the key back story in the Bible is the exodus" (p. 33). But what does the Exodus tell us about Jesus--and how does reading it help me, practically? In Redemption, Wilkerson offers thoughtful answers as he examines the exodus account and shows us how through it Jesus frees us from the shame of sin and the futility of idolatry.

The challenge with many books of this nature is that it's very easy for solid, biblical answers to some of life's toughest questions to ring hollow.

"If God is really good, why did this happen to me?"

"Why does God feel so far away?"

"I thought this addiction was behind me--why does it keep coming back?"

"Do I really have to forgive him?"

"Am I destined to be alone for the rest of my life?"

Our anger at others, our anger at God, our frustration over besetting sin... these are not subjects handled lightly. It's easy to say, "God loves you and has a wonderful plan for your life," but what do you do when you have a stepfather who treated you as something less than human (see Sarah's story, pp. 41-53)? In a situation like that, it's difficult to see God's love, despite the reality that "whether our misery is big or small, we all find ourselves under the fountain of God's mercy" (p. 43).

The Israelites, who suffered as slaves under Pharaoh, couldn't see it either. Yet, even in the midst of their suffering, God was not unaware of their suffering. He was facing it.

"He heard, saw, and knew their suffering. He invites us to do the same. The problem isn't that God has abandoned us in our pain, but that sometimes we refuse to face it with him." (p. 49)

Like Israel, God's "firstborn son" (Ex. 4:22), and like so many of us who are adopted as sons (cf. Gal 4:5), God the Son experienced great suffering, yet He did not turn away. Instead, He faced it with God the Father, and in doing so purchased our redemption.

For those who have trusted in Christ, who have suffered greatly, facing our pain is a great struggle, something we must be careful not to minimize. Yet face it we must if we are to be free of our wounds and our idols. But, like Jesus, we can be confident that God will deliver us.

As Wilkerson examines the exodus account, he weaves in the personal stories of men and women who have suffered from various forms of abuse--sexual, physical, mental, and chemical. Some were victims, others victimized themselves. But in each and every circumstance, they experienced redemption through faith in Christ. It didn't make everything better; they still had to face the consequences of sins committed by and against them, but they were able to walk into their new life in Christ, confident in God's steadfast love. He had redeemed them and He would never leave them, nor forsake them.

These stories tell readers that, ultimately, Redemption is about one thing: Renewed worship. In the fall, we turned from worshipping the Creator to worshipping His creation, and it ruined everything. Every problem that exists in the world, every injustice committed, every person defiled by abuse, every marriage that is devastated by adultery... all of it is a worship issue.

Yet so often, even after we have been redeemed, we find ourselves volunteering for slavery to idols. Like the Israelites in the wilderness who built for themselves the golden calf, we build for ourselves functional saviors and deceive ourselves every day. For example, many men (and an increasing number of women) are enslaved to pornography--an idol of their own making. Yet even in the midst of our voluntary enslavement, we are not without hope. Just as Moses interceded for the people of Israel, Jesus intercedes for us. And, "if it were not for this intercession on our behalf, we would not even have the opportunity to repent" (p. 130).

Genuine repentance, moving us from conviction of sin to, ultimately, rejoicing in God's favor, persevering day by day in faithfulness, is a great gift of redemption. It allows us to "trade hates and loves, hating the sin you once loved and loving the God you've hated by your sin. It trades the lie of idolatry for worship in spirit and truth" (p. 133). No matter how grave my sin, it is not too big for Jesus to forgive. No matter how deep the idol, it's not so deep that Jesus can't uproot it.

And He will do it.

The exodus was God's redeeming act of calling out a people from the land of Egypt so that they might worship and obey Him. In Jesus, the greater exodus has come; from among all the nations of the earth, God is saving for Himself a people that will worship Him by faith in Jesus Christ, whose death on the cross paid the great price for the redemption of their sins. With new hearts and new desires, we have been redeemed, freed from our idols, freed from the stain of sin, freed to see God as our promised land. Redemption is a wonderful reminder of all of these great truths.

Churches, married couples and individuals will greatly benefit from reading Redemption and wrestling through its questions and implications. Individuals will be greatly challenged and blessed as they do the same. Let this book's insights minister to you and free you to minister to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, February 1, 2011
By 
Joel Holtz (Vadnais Heights, MN) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Redemption: Freed by Jesus from the Idols We Worship and the Wounds We Carry (Re:Lit) (Paperback)
This is simply one of the best books I've ever read. Wilkerson does an outstanding job of using the story of the Exodus from the Bible to illustrate God's plan of ultimate redemption.

He tells us that ultimately, redemption is all about God's presence. Wilkerson also shows us that redemption isn't just about deliverance..it also includes ransom and renewal.

Chapter 5, DEMANDING MANNA, is nothing short of brilliant.

Really more than a resource book for those wanting to break free of idols in their lives..every Christian will benefit from reading REDEMPTION, and become free of wounds they've accumulated along the way.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, Practical, Gospel-Centered, Life-Changing, February 15, 2011
This review is from: Redemption: Freed by Jesus from the Idols We Worship and the Wounds We Carry (Re:Lit) (Paperback)
I expected Redemption to strengthen the way that I do ministry and help me develop a plan for healing the brokenness in our church community. I did not expect it to confront my idolatry. But it did.

One of the things that I often pray is, "Break me where I need broken and heal me where I need healed". There are certain books that have a tendency to be used by God to do both. Wilkerson's book confronts our idolatry (breaks us) but it also displays the beauty of Christ and provides substantial healing.

As stated earlier this is an adaptation of what Mars Hill uses for their redemption groups. Their redemption groups are an interesting concept. Rather than having specific groups for various addictions they have one specific group. But what is even more interesting is that they not only combine the various forms of addiction, they also have those that are victims go through the same material in the same group. This book is essentially what they use.

How can something possibly tie together victims and addicts? The thread that holds these two together is the biblical theme of Redemption. In this book Wilkerson uses the biblical story of the Exodus as a framework for God's pattern of redemption. One thing that addicts and victims have in common is a desperate need for redemption (freedom).

Wilkerson uses the story of the Exodus to both break and heal sinners in the name of Jesus. The book is eight chapters long. Stories of real people is interwoven with the real biblical story of the Israelite Exodus. God redeems people today just as He redeemed the Israelites, and he does it through Christ. Wilkerson shows his firm commitment to the Scriptures and solid biblical scholarship. But he also shows that he is a physician of the soul as well. He shows how the gospel heals real life sinners.

I heartily recommend this book to everyone. In fact I am trying to figure out ways to use this book in our congregation. Immediately after reading it I told my wife to put down all my other book suggestions (I have a tendency to suggest way too many books for people to read) and to focus on this one. In the coming months we are going to slowly go through this book and use the discussion questions at the end of each chapter.

Crossway was kind enough to provide a free copy of this book in exchange for a review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for Individuals, Better for Churches, August 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Redemption: Freed by Jesus from the Idols We Worship and the Wounds We Carry (Re:Lit) (Paperback)
This is a powerful book that any Christian can profit from. It is extremely well written and engaging. I cannot recommend it high enough.

I have just completed a weekend intensive with my church. We used this book, and it was life changing. The format called for each of the participants to read the book before the weekend started. We then had a session for each chapter. The session would consist of 15 minutes of worship, 45 minutes of teaching (The teaching was 100% based on the chapter in the book. Even the same illustrations were used.), then we had an hour and a half of group time to share our thoughts, struggles, sins, and sadness. I cannot imagine doing that without the aid of this book.

The content of the book looks at the ways people have suffered and have often turned that suffering to sin. It seeks to break us free of both and uses the story of the Exodus to do so.

At very least, try the Kindle Sample. It won't cost you anything. If you don't like the into/first chapter, don't buy it. However, I would be surprised if that is possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Redemption Book Review, February 17, 2011
This review is from: Redemption: Freed by Jesus from the Idols We Worship and the Wounds We Carry (Re:Lit) (Paperback)
We live in a sin-stained, idol-filled, addiction-prone world and humanities' greatest need is for redemption. However, for many Christians, bridging the gap that often exists between the Bible and the trial is incredibly difficult. Even those who are well-trained in hermeneutics struggle from time to time to apply God's Word in a relevant way that speaks powerfully to the human condition.

With this in mind, Mike Wilkerson, counseling pastor at Mars Hill Church in Seattle, has written a brilliant book entitled Redemption: Freed by Jesus from the Idols We Worship and the Wounds We Carry. Drawing upon the Exodus event and real-life stories of addictions, hurt and idolatry, Wilkerson paints a vivid picture on how Jesus leads us to freedom. Some of the stories Wilkerson tells are absolutely gut-wrenching and will make even the most jaded reader wince. Yet that makes the picture of the redemption we have in Christ all the more beautiful.

After an introduction that orients the reader to the reason why sin exists, the first chapter, entitled "When You Suffer, God is Near" outlines how just as Israel suffered under the brutality of the Egyptians, we too suffer. Yet it is in our darkest hour of suffering that we can see the evidences of God most clearly.

The second chapter, entitled "Bricks Without Straw: How Long Oh Lord" encourages believers and those who are hurting most to cry out honestly to God in the midst of our hurt. We may not always receive an answer for why we suffer, yet the Christian can place his or her faith in a God who is always faithful.

Chapter three, entitled "The Passover: At Your Worst, God Gives His Best" Wilkerson shows how the Passover becomes a picture of the cross and a model for God's dealings with us. This chapter centers on our need for forgiveness.

Chapter four, entitled "Crossing the Red Sea: Into a New Life Free from Shame" is really, in many ways, the hallmark chapter of the book. Here, Wilkerson describes how the actual event of the Exodus serves as a paradigm for our own freedom. We are remade because our Creator was unmade. Due to this process of recreation, we are not defined by our past struggles but by our new identity with Christ.

Chapter five, entitled "Demanding Manna: The Subtle Significance of Everyday Desires" was, for me, arguably the most convicting chapter because it deals with an issue that virtually every person struggles with: good desires turning into idols. Here, Wilkerson discusses how even the most basic, natural desires can and often do become idols when they take the place of God. This is a brilliant chapter and full of insight that every pastor needs.

Chapter six, entitled "The Golden Calf: Volunteering for Slavery" is an outstanding chapter on idolatry. While much of this can be read in Tim Keller's Counterfeit Gods, Wilkerson nevertheless brings his own unique spin to the discussion. Ultimately, however, this chapter feels too borrowed from Driscoll's own Death by Love and Counterfeit Gods by Keller. That said, it is nice to see both Driscoll's and Keller's works synthesized into a coherent system.

Chapter seven, entitled "The Covenant-Keeping God: Our Only Hope for Lasting Change" warns the reader that change and freedom is not possible by a simple act of the will. Our redemption is ultimately found in resting in the God who is faithful to His covenant. In many ways, freedom rests not in "doing" but in "being". This chapter provides several needed warnings against such things as "idol-hunting" and "morbid introspection". It is a brilliant chapter and will provide much food for thought.

Chapter 8 is entitled "Is God Your Promised Land" and asks the reader to consider that question very closely. Freedom from sin is not just for the sake of freedom--it is freedom to know God better. If God is not our "Promised Land" we are elevating freedom from a particular sin to the level of an idol. This too is an excellent chapter and is a tremendous reminder for many who find themselves in counseling situations.

Finally, the epilogue and appendix provide short exhortations as well as a helpful summary and synthesis of the book. My only regret here is that another chapter was not devoted to Wilkerson for the very heavy topic of religious addiction, which he covers in a mere page and a half in the appendix. Overall, however, the epilogue and the appendix serve their purpose well.

In conclusion, Wilkerson's book is a tremendous book that covers the some much needed ground in truly biblical counseling. Redemption is highly readable and practical. I found myself repeatedly needing to place the book down and worship our God who has redeemed us. While the book is short, clocking in at 176 pages, it is a heavy book and is not light reading. In many ways, I wish this book was made mandatory for every believer taking a hermeneutics class because it teaches one how to apply the Bible accurately and practically. It is my prayer that Wilkerson's book finds its way into the hands of many pastors.

*Thanks to Crossway Publishers for providing me a free review copy of this book*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars life as we know it, February 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Redemption: Freed by Jesus from the Idols We Worship and the Wounds We Carry (Re:Lit) (Paperback)
This book radically changed how I viewed my life. I used to believe that my life was my story that it sucked and that pain was about being a victim and learning how to never get hurt again. Reading this book I learned that it isn't my story but God's great story being acted out in my life. I am not alone. I do not have to be a victim or an abuser, my identity is as a child of God. Through the Redemption book I learned about forgiveness and restoration not a ceasing of pain but understanding that Jesus walks with me in it. I highly recommend this book to anyone who has suffered whether from something you've done or had done to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shackled by the Past, May 24, 2011
This review is from: Redemption: Freed by Jesus from the Idols We Worship and the Wounds We Carry (Re:Lit) (Paperback)
Redemption: Freed by Jesus from the Idols We Worship and the Wounds We Carry by Mike Wilkerson (Crossway Books, 2011) is an incredible application of gospel work applied to the darkest parts of our being. It is a must read! It is a necessary resource for recovery ministries and groups. It is essential to marriage and family health. It applies to men and women of all ages and is vital for individual healing and church health. The most amazing aspect of this book is that although it focuses primarily on recovery ministries the message applies to everyone redeemed by the cross of Christ:

We are shackled by the past. Our bodies may be free but our hearts remain in Egypt.

The message of Redemption begins in slavery in Egypt and uses the Exodus event to show how Jesus Christ is your redemption. The message is fully God-centered showing that God's story is about God and how God's story answers real life questions. How does the cross apply to my past abuse? How does the cross apply to my past addictions? How does the cross apply to other problems in my life: marriage, family, eating disorders, depression, and any other issue I am dealing (or have dealt) with? Why is my life out of balance? Why can't I find peace?

Mike Wilkerson masterfully winds the exodus narrative through personal testimonies and illustrations to show how this major event in Israel's history is our model to understand our redemption in Jesus. This is established by the three main themes of redemption throughout the exodus: deliverance, ransom, and renewal. Through the cross, God delivers us from the bondage of our sin. Through the cross, God pays the ransom for our redemption from the penalty of our sin. Through the cross, God renews and restores us to our pre-fall condition into the image and likeness of his Son Jesus Christ. "When redemption is complete, God's original purpose for all creation will be completely restored" (36).

Like Pharaoh held the Israelites, Wilkerson shows how our abusers, addictions and shame hold us in captivity. He addresses bondage that is against our will well as our tendency to volunteer ourselves for slavery. He shows how we fail to trust in God by not placing our faith entirely in Christ just like the Israelites did not trust God's provision while wandering in the wilderness. In addition, he shows how our faith in Christ is usually not true, biblical faith but rather it is an agreement to trust God as long as he provides for us on our terms (Chapter 5: Demanding Manna).

The wounds of our past, self-inflicted or other-inflicted, define and determine who we are today. We hold onto them. We live in the past. We even long for the days of slavery back in Egypt over an unknown future. We have been set free from bondage and slavery but we are not yet to the Promised Land. We are wandering in the wilderness. We are pilgrims on the way. Every trial and test we face in life is an opportunity to trust God or run back into slavery in Egypt. Redemption helps us see this from God's perspective. God is renewing us. This is redemption. We cannot be the people God created us to be until we stop looking back and run to the cross. Redemption teaches us how. We bring all of our baggage from the past into all we do today. Once the shackles break off and we are truly free, our lives and relationships can begin to be what God intended. Redemption is the answer.

Read it. You will be transformed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christ-Centered Care, March 8, 2011
By 
Robert W. Kellemen "Doc. K." (Crown Point, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Redemption: Freed by Jesus from the Idols We Worship and the Wounds We Carry (Re:Lit) (Paperback)
Pastor Mike Wilkerson has penned a truly unique contribution both to small group literature and to the Christian "recovery" movement. His gosple-centered focus using the Exodus theme of redemption provides an unparralled biblical approach to facing our past face-to-face with Christ.

The combination of gripping real-life vignettes, biblical narratives applied to sin and suffering, and the thought-provoking discussion/application guide makes "Redemption" the premier all-in-one book for small group "recovery" ministry.

Reviewer: Dr. Bob Kellemen, author of six books, inlcuding God's Healing for Life's Losses: How to Find Hope When You're Hurting (Grief Share Presents)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Stuff from a Pastor in the Trenches, February 23, 2011
Review: I want to thank Crossway for the review copy of this book. I was looking forward to reading this after a heavy dose of mostly Biblical theology and systematic theology works. I would say that this book falls under the "Applied Theology" or "Practical Theology" category and I usually don't see much in this category worth reading but was optimistic about this release.

Wilkerson uses the exodus of Israel from Egypt as a paradigm for understanding our own redemption and sanctification as Christians. There are obvious parallels between the exodus of Israel and the exodus of the New Israel under Christ as the greater mediator who delivers His people from a more severe bondage than Egypt. Sanctification, which involves the purging of our past idols, is not instantaneous but involves the process of renouncing sin and finding God as more precious and worthy of our affections. Wilkerson does a good job applying this message to the many common issues that believers face by way of real life examples...real life testimonies of redemption. You are bound to find yourself in many of these characters and therefore relate to the same fear, bondage, and disbelief that is found in many of the characters. Wilkerson also fairly balances the dynamics of being the victim of sin and the perpetuator of sin.

Israel was clearly sinned against while in Egypt, but they also found themselves to struggle just as much with their own sin while separated from the Egyptians in the wilderness, and eventually in the promised land. Certainly they were scarred, just like many of us, but this vicious cycle of sin then fuels our own rebellion and sins against others. I appreciate Wilkerson's honesty in mentioning how he has applied some of the concepts of this book into his ministry at Mars Hill in Seattle. He noted that they once employed specialized recovery groups, but was convinced to scrap the model in favor of the more general "Redemption Group", which more effectively ministers to a broader group of folks who all share the same need of redemption. Wilkerson also noted how people's identities would sometimes become attached with the former specialized groups and that it was much healthier to identify our issues within the more broader category of sin. Wilkerson is not denying the need for specialized care for certain issues of bondage as much as he is confidently applying the spectacular message of redemption in Christ as sufficient to lead many people to freedom and growth in God's grace.

I will potentially use the "Redemption Group" model in our own church should we find a sizeable group of folks who wish to intentionally deal with various sin issues. Here is a helpful insight of many into the book:

"Some put their hope in Christian "accountability," thinking that as long as others are keeping an eye on them, they won't stray too far. Of course, it is essential to walk in the light of Christian community, confessing our sins to one another (see James 5:16; 1 John 1:7). But a wayward heart is never truly restrained by the accountability of others. If all that keeps you from sinning are watchful eyes, you won't last long. If you want to sin, you will."

Wilkerson is realistic with the limitations of an "accountability partner" when you are bent on sinning. I appreciate Wilkerson's realism as he does not prop up the group as the lone means for people's growth, but ultimately points people to find true redemption in Christ as the sufficient means for growth in grace.

I have already recommended this book to some folks and have loaned out a copy. I would also recommend this book as an introductory volume for new Christians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Redemption: Freed by Jesus from the Idols We Worship and the Wounds We Carry (Re:Lit)
$15.99 $13.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.