Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful information, Highly informative
I work for an agency that supports people who have someone they love recovering from schizophrenia, bipolar, psychosis, and/or other forms of mental distress. I have found this guide to be very helpful as both an education tool, and as a supportive manual. The information complied in this book can help families and people coming off drugs feel less afraid, less alone,...
Published on November 12, 2007 by K. MacKinnon

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Excellent common sense guide.
Published 5 months ago by Cindy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful information, Highly informative, November 12, 2007
This review is from: Harm Reduction Guide to Coming Off Psychiatric Drugs (Paperback)
I work for an agency that supports people who have someone they love recovering from schizophrenia, bipolar, psychosis, and/or other forms of mental distress. I have found this guide to be very helpful as both an education tool, and as a supportive manual. The information complied in this book can help families and people coming off drugs feel less afraid, less alone, and more informed about choices regarding medications. Traditionally, good information about coming off psychiatric medications has been difficult to find- This book fills a much needed gap. It is accessible, well-written, and highly informative. Anyone considering going off their medication would find the material useful and thought provoking. Anyone who works in the mental health field needs to have this book in their organization as a resource. For years people have been trying to go off their medications with little or no support from the system- let's change that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent, Important, Useful Work--For Consumers and Clinicians Alike, January 9, 2010
This review is from: Harm Reduction Guide to Coming Off Psychiatric Drugs (Paperback)
This is an excellent and important work. I am a therapist in New York City and, for the past ten years, I have worked with many clients coming off all sorts of different psychiatric medications--from antipsychotics to antidepressants to mood stabilizers to anti-anxiety meds. I wish I'd had this book ten years ago! It puts into words so many of the hard-won lessons I've learned--lessons that simply aren't taught in school and aren't known by most supervisors or psychiatrists.

Some other positives:

1) This guide is well-written, to the point, and lacking in jargon.

2) It's full of important insights, tips, and personal experience from people who themselves have been medicated. It truly translates peer support into the written word.

3) Perhaps most importantly, it's respectful. It is neither anti-meds nor pro-meds, and thus does not pressure anyone to do anything. It simply gives the facts--and provides support for people who wish to come off their meds in the safest way possible.

4) It's full of spunky art. This is no dull academic book.

Kudos to its creators!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Important Topic--But Somewhat Lacking, October 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harm Reduction Guide to Coming Off Psychiatric Drugs (Paperback)
Hell hath no fury like a client whose psychiatrist tells him or her that they do not see a time when the client will ever be able to not need psychiatric drugs. I was angry for at least three weeks and maybe more. So I bought this booklet hoping to see some of the details of what coming off my meds would involve. As another reviewer has stated this booklet is neither pro-meds nor anti-meds. Like one of the churches in Asia discussed in the book of Revelation, it is neither cold nor hot. Lukewarm.
So be prepared to do some of the homework on your own, letting this pamphlet just be your starting point. Psychiatrists chained to their prescription pad get no respect from their clients. Clients whose primary status with their disability income is due to a psychiatric labelling may jeopardize their check if no longer considered disabled. It is a real fog of an issue and I wish the author had gone into greater depth to clear up some of the muddle? If you are into this issue at all you definitely need to have a copy of this in your possession.Harm Reduction Guide to Coming Off Psychiatric Drugs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can Get This For Free You Know, September 22, 2013
This review is from: Harm Reduction Guide to Coming Off Psychiatric Drugs (Paperback)
Anyone who happens to run across this and is considering buying it should know that the authors from the Icarus Project and Freedom Center are offering this book in PDF form for free.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a vital guide, July 12, 2012
This review is from: Harm Reduction Guide to Coming Off Psychiatric Drugs (Paperback)
as a person with experience in coming off of psychiatric drugs successfully, i can definitely say that this guide is a vital source of resources, support, information, and hope for people interested in changing their relationship to psychiatric drugs. i have tremendous respect for will hall, the icarus project, and the freedom center, and am so glad they came together to create this guide-- it provides a lot of helpful tools in an organized, accessible way for a process that can be scary, difficult, and confusing. the decision to come off these drugs is one not often supported by doctors, family, and friends, and thus it can be a lonely experience. this guide shows that one does not need to be alone with it, and that there is so much out there to help the person through it successfully. i highly recommend this guide to anyone who is thinking about or who has already decided to come off of psychiatric drugs. it is a very important piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Provides understanding of Drug withdrawal from Psychiatric Drugs, April 16, 2014
This review is from: Harm Reduction Guide to Coming Off Psychiatric Drugs (Paperback)
This doctor tells it like it is since he was put on the drugs and had a lot of side effects coming off the drugs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dr. Watson recommends this purchase! Great information on how to reduce their risk when coming off psych drugs, September 9, 2014
This review is from: Harm Reduction Guide to Coming Off Psychiatric Drugs (Paperback)
This is a well written and practical guide for those who want more information on how to reduce their risk when coming off psychiatric medications. Too often patients are left to their own accord when trying to find the lowest dose and or completely remove themselves from relying upon psychiatric drugs. A must read for anyone interested in this subject. Highly recommend. Dr. Watson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harm Reduction Guide to Coming Off Psychiatric Drugs (Paperback)
Very helpful, gives suggestions and resources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Open Minded and Safe, March 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harm Reduction Guide to Coming Off Psychiatric Drugs (Paperback)
What I love about this book is it was easy to read while coming off meds since that can be hard with the withdrawl especially since I read alot. But I loved that there was this feeling like this information was to say to everyone "we understand you and you are not alone" because it is really hard to take that jump if it was needed like in my case. Even if you dont want to read much there are plenty of resources in the book if you need to get some serious help so it was worth it.The only thing I wasnt to happy with was that it is a tiny book. But a must read. Very positive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doctors doing more harm than good, January 29, 2013
This review is from: Harm Reduction Guide to Coming Off Psychiatric Drugs (Paperback)
This book should be required reading.The doctors are not doing the right thing when they prescribe these extremely addictive meds.They almost killed a friend of mine.they prescribe to the symptoms the psych and pain meds create there own symptoms.It's criminal really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Harm Reduction Guide to Coming Off Psychiatric Drugs
Harm Reduction Guide to Coming Off Psychiatric Drugs by Will Hall (Paperback - December 4, 2007)
$8.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.