Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First off, it's a Great Story
Rarely do I read one of these "type" books. It's hard to take them out in public or, if you live in a populated household, leave out on the nightstand. Itn my family, if you do either, it's a guarantee of plenty of teasing. To order a book like this, it has to have a trusted author. I just finished the authors'other traditional books and was impressed-- so I took the...
Published on October 17, 2009 by ChefCheyanne

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rees
I enjoyed several aspects of this Shareem tale. I love reading futuristic sci fi with a healthy dose of smut. Rees really delivers on that front. The Shareem were created in a lab to fulfill the sexual fantasies of the sexually deviant on the planet of Bor Narga. The problem on Bor Narga is that fulfilling the carnal needs of the flesh is considered barbaric and...
Published on September 16, 2012 by Vanessa


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First off, it's a Great Story, October 17, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Rarely do I read one of these "type" books. It's hard to take them out in public or, if you live in a populated household, leave out on the nightstand. Itn my family, if you do either, it's a guarantee of plenty of teasing. To order a book like this, it has to have a trusted author. I just finished the authors'other traditional books and was impressed-- so I took the risk and ordered this ONE. It was so excellently written I returned and ordered the other two in the series. This book is a fascinating science fiction story of another world. Then the characters are well developed (ahem...), with distinct personalities,even believeable. The secret message in this book is a typical R&J romance from two opposing sides. To learn aabout each side, on this different planet, is fascinating. Yes, the sensuality is as promised. Without that component, this would still be a lovely romance and an excellent read. Just keep it hidden.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Shareem are erotic and deeply satisfying!, September 8, 2008
In a future society dominated by women, The Shareem are designed for sexual fulfillment. These enhanced males specialize in bringing women to ecstasy and have been programmed to perform at one of three levels. Level one offers pure sensual pleasure. Level two provides games and wicked fun. Level three is the ultimate barbarian. Tall, muscular, and beautiful, The Shareem are designed to be pleasing to the eyes as well as the body.

Lady Talan d'Urvey is seeking enlightenment. Adopted into high society she is ready to take a vow of celibacy. But after discovering the diary of a woman who spent one blissful week with a Shareem, Talan sets out to experience for herself what pleasure of the flesh feels like. When her research leads her to Rees, she finds herself drawn to him immediately. She knows right away she wants him for her experiment.

Rees is not your standard issue Shareem. Born of a unique experiment, he is all three levels in one. Deemed unstable and dangerous, his programmers abandoned the experiment and feared Rees' unpredictable nature. Now that he is free, Rees has managed to hide in plain sight - Though Rees himself isn't quite sure what he is capable of should he ever lose control.

Allyson James has created a futuristic series that will have readers wishing for a time machine! Rees and Talan set the pages ablaze as one of the most perfectly matched pairs this reader has come across. This first book of the series does not disappoint. Not only will readers find the Shareem deeply satisfying, these hot men will leave them panting for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant surprise!, January 17, 2011
I found this series quite by accident on my new kindle. I held my breath and squirmed through every book in this series.I've loved each character Allyson James has introduced, and have become vested in their individual pursuit of happiness and fulfillment.The shareem's erotic sexual encounters have been added to my list of guilty pleasures! I can't think of a better way to enjoy "me" time then to be curled up in my pjs with an Allyson James novel! I can hardly wait for the newest book in this series!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rees, September 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoyed several aspects of this Shareem tale. I love reading futuristic sci fi with a healthy dose of smut. Rees really delivers on that front. The Shareem were created in a lab to fulfill the sexual fantasies of the sexually deviant on the planet of Bor Narga. The problem on Bor Narga is that fulfilling the carnal needs of the flesh is considered barbaric and taboo.

After growing up in a world where modern philosophy teaches that the mind and body are separate and sex is not physically necessary Talen finds a very scandalous diary. The diary belonged to one of the upper class higher born ladies. She recounts her affair with a Shareem. Talen's curiosity is piqued. For research purposes only Talen wants to find out what this big fuss is all about. Rees is the lucky Shareem that gets to show Talen what the big fuss is all about and he takes (and gives) immense pleasure in doing so.

If you enjoy reading dominance, spanking and light bondage I highly recommend this book. James has done a wonderful job of tastefully writing this very erotic read. The only reason I did not enjoy the book more is because dominance and trusted control in a sexual situation is not my cup of eroticism. I did enjoy the story and the world that make up the life of the Shareem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I want one!, May 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rees (Tales of the Shareem Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Oh, man (if you've ever read any of my other reviews, you might notice that there are very few times I begin one with "Oh, man". If I do, I usually feel very strongly about the review, good or bad.) - this was a hot one.

I tend to have the habit of reading the less favorable reviews over favorable ones when I'm thinking about reading a prospective story and what I noticed about the few "blah" reviews this one received was that the readers felt like it was senseless, straight to the point sex - like a something from a cheap porn or something of the such with an underdeveloped storyline and what not.

Alright, I respect those reviewers opinion - for everyone is entitled to one. But after reading this one for myself, I have my own and I'm going to have to respectfully disagree. It wasn't that this story didn't have a story line - it's just that the sex in this story was so fully integrated and concentrated in the overall story that some people might have found it hard to separate the story from the sex itself. By that, this story had a lot of sex in it. In fact, this story was one of the most sexual I've ever read.

Oh, but the author did it so well. I first took an interest in Ms. Ashley when I read a delicious excerpt from one of her Tales of the Shareem stories (Justin) in an erotic sampler (Ten Shades of Sexy). Hers had been the absolute only that appealed to me in the entire book and I was kind of miffed with that and I had said so in that book's review. Anyway, because of that I had bought this one about Rees since this was said to be the first in the series and because I did I now have a interest in reading this author's other books outside of the ones written under her pseudonym. One reviewer said that her other books are better than these and if that's true, than I need to get to those ASAP because I'm already loving this author's style.

Ms. Ashley appears to know what women want to read - at least she does this one. Rees and his other Shareem Playmate Rio (Oh, man - I can't wait to read that one - I already bought it after starting this one; he was super hot!) were the epitome of sexy, as they were created to be. This series appeals to me on so many levels. But on the surface, it appealed to me because its unique in the idea that it is the men who are submitting to us, the women, and to our ideals of what is pleasurable to us. I read plenty of erotica in all of its forms, but its an unfortunate fact that there appears to be a shortage in the genre of male submission. It's usually we women who do the submitting - and, hey, that's fine if that's what the woman wants and if you enjoy reading it (I like reading it myself). But it is still a relief to find that there are some writers out there in the genre who aren't afraid to shift the balance in our favor.

Of this story of Rees, it's pretty simple. He was the prototype of his kind and was actually meant to be terminated because he had been deemed too unpredictable as a Shareem, but he used his appeal to his favor to manipulate the women around him and found he was able to escape his confines before he could be eradicated. In any case, the story from there just shifts to his love interest, which was a high-born girl named Talan who was part of a religious sect that encouraged women to hide and ignore their sexuality in a bout of celibacy. When she stumbles upon the diary of another high-born woman who once experienced a Shareem for herself, Talan decides she wants to experience one for herself. She just so stumbles upon Rees and the rest is a real sexual rodeo into the sublime...

The sex in this book was esoteric almost. It left me feeling high like I was the one being pleasured and both hands were on my kindle the whole time - I promise. The scenes were graphic - everything from the descriptive scenes themselves to the dirty talk that Rees was sinfully good at really did serve to drive you crazy. It was scary - I felt like Rees was getting in my head, too.

In a nutshell, the sex in this story is gratuitous. It was a real sex show. If you bought this or are thinking about buying this thinking that you're going to get some safe drawn out romantic love story - you might be disappointed. This one isn't for shy girls and I suspect the others aren't as well. Warning, ladies - the Shareem will leave you breathless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Much All I Did Today Was Read This Book...And It Was Freakin' Great, June 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rees (Tales of the Shareem Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
About me: Longtime rabid reader of PNR, erotica, SciFi Romance ... First time with this author.

The best way for me to review this book is by telling you about my day: All I did was read this book, sit in the sun on my deck, ignore my husband, take a bath (while still reading this book), and read this book.

I may have also eaten a delicious omelette my husband made, while (you guessed it) still reading this book.

You don't need me to tell you what the book's about (many other reviewers have done so), so I'll just say that the world-building is well done, the characters and their emotions feel real, the dialogue is engaging, and the men are blindingly hot.

As someone who writes professionally (news ... **snore**) I am sometimes pulled out of the story by grammatical errors and the like -- but there's nothing amateurish about what James does here.

One last thing (off-topic a tiny bit)... I had never heard of this series until last night. I was turned on to it by a fanfiction author (of all things!) who is obsessed with actor Jason Momoa. To any fellow fans of JM who read this book, you'll know what I mean when I say that if any man on this earth might be a real life Shareem, it's him.

Enough of my babbling. Go read this book and enjoy. I'm about to give my husband a quick kiss to pacify him before I begin the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Romance and sci fi, November 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love romance and sci fi, so I thought I would give this book a go. It was well written, had great characters and a great story. I love the sci fi setting, it was exciting and evocative and really well done. All the characters were unique and engaging and the romance was sweet and well executed. I love the fast pace of the book too. Wasn't too keen on some of the sexual aspects, but I guess this is part of the territory with this genre and comes down to personal taste. Overall, I give it a 4 as the story and characters were really good and the romance aspect was fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tales of the shareem, September 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rees (Tales of the Shareem Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I did it enjoy this book just not my style I have enjoyed other books by this author this just to out their for me in the sexual scene but started of interesting i recommend you read the reviews on this book before ordering unless what you looking for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No real story, June 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rees (Tales of the Shareem Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is the frist in the series and i had purchased other books by this author so thought i would try this. Not for me! no real story no connection made to the characters, the sex was ho hum
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Little Plot and Disappointing Sex Scenes, April 1, 2013
This review is from: Rees (Tales of the Shareem Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
So, in a world ruled by women, you have forbidden/disapproved of dominant male sex toys. I'm good with that; it sounded like there might actually be some story in the erotica. However, the author never really does anything with her ideas. Mostly, she gives you the bare minimum of plot necessary to drape the sex scenes on. That would generally merit between three or four stars for me, as I don't require erotica to have great stories to enjoy it.

Unfortunately, however, the sex scenes are underwhelming, or perhaps the plot description misled me into expecting something different. If you tell me that you have an off-the-charts dominant sex toy, I expect some off-the-charts dominant sex, with pain as a moderate to significant factor in the partners' enjoyment. I plan to enjoy some crazy, off-the-wall stuff that would require hours of setup and a ton of luck to pull off in real life. In actuality, it's a romance with a bit of role-playing thrown in. If that's what you're looking for, you might enjoy this, but I was disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rees (Tales of the Shareem Book 1)
$0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.