Buy Used
$3.99
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Eligible for Amazon's FREE Super Saver/Prime Shipping, 24/7 Customer Service, and package tracking. 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. Cover has some rubbing. Small tears/creases on spine/cover. Cover has some edge wear. Text pages show modest aging/yellowing.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Reflections of a Vampire Mass Market Paperback – February 12, 2002


Amazon Price New from Used from
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
$5.14 $0.01
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Rahu Books; Stated First Edition edition (February 12, 2002)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0971855056
  • ISBN-13: 978-0971855052
  • Product Dimensions: 0.8 x 4.2 x 6.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 10.4 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (24 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #4,603,170 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

A delicious mix of humor and horror filled with surprising twists and turns up until the very last page. -- Anne Holden, February 2, 2002

Cross into a spine tingling world where nothing is as it appears. A riveting dark adventure. -- Alex P. Trayborn, January 4, 2002

Follow the undead as they walk the line between desire and dawn. Sure to be an instant cult classic. -- Janet Gooding, January 29, 2002

From the Publisher

If you're interested in the enlightening side of the dark side we highly recommend purchasing a copy of REFLECTIONS OF A VAMPIRE.

In St. Laurue, Damion has created an anti-hero who does nothing less than reflect back to ourselves our own all too human egos. In fact, all of the characters represent many different aspects of the vulnerable human psychological condition.

We dare you to enjoy this vampire book and also learn a little about your own self!

REFLECTIONS OF A VAMPIRE was recommended for the Brams Stoker Award in the catagories of Best First Novel as well as the catagory of Best Novel 2002. We thank the HWA for this wonderful nod for our favorite vampire.

RahuBooks


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

This story is filled with twists to keep its readers on their toes.
Huntress Reviews
That Mr. Kirk has created such memorable characters is wonderful, that they share such a rich story is incredible.
Rheena Kole
From the first page to the last page this book grabbed my attention.
Lesley Benitez

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful By Paul Holden on March 10, 2002
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I must confess I was a little worried in the beginning of the book when St. Laurue (Mr. Kirk's main vampire) invaded a publisher's office. I said to myself, "Here we go, now the vampire talks his story out in flashbacks to the media man, just like in Anne Rice's "Interview with the Vampire." I'm happy to report that I couldn't have been further from the truth! Don't be fooled by any surface similarities. No flashbacks here. Mr. Kirk masterfully unfolds his own distinct real-time, tightly woven dark adventure.
This is the story of vampires and humans and how little difference there is once you scratch the surface. A "Don't want to stop" and a "Don't want it to end" storyline. It gives nothing away to say that interesting things are happening as vampires tap into the modern blood supply. Clues are left, citizens can't help but notice that things are getting a bit gruesome, and something has to be done. The police are brought in as well as some other, more shadowy figures. Everyone is searching for something or someone and it all produces a maelstrom of love, death, and desire. No way to figure it out. You just gasp, along for the ride.
The vampires are the coolest I've ever come across. There are many of them each with their own distinct personality. They are scary, clever, sometimes funny, and even tender. One is nothing short of masterful. There are many human characters, all of whom you care about, and some of whom manage to stay un-undead.
The story is modern and opens up a new universe of plots and intrigues, some pointing to the past and others pointing to the future. After reading "Reflections of a Vampire," it is satisfying to this reader to contemplate how Mr. Kirk will satisfy the inevitable demand for more.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful By Huntress Reviews on March 19, 2002
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Every one thousand years a vampire must take the millennium rest. A vampire must find minions that can be trusted to watch over their place of rest for eighteen months. Gérard Arnaud St. Laurue had one week to find such minions. He chose a teenage boy named Fury and a lovely girl named Elka for the task. But he still had to change them and be sure he could trust them. During that week he intended to write his memoirs and have a publisher tell his story as well.
Brigitte was Gérard's younger sister. They had been blood feuding with their father, Marquis Antoine DeMalberet, for centuries. Their father had always been a major thorn in their sides. But for now, Bigitte thought little of Antoine. For now, she had to make Gérard realize he was spreading a disease. She also had to convince him that he was slipping. Human homicide detectives and not-so-human agents from Motherhospice were on his trail. She had to be quick! The full moon was coming!
***** Fans of Anne Rice and Dean Koontz will love this book! I found myself to be attracted and repelled at the same time! This story is filled with twists to keep its readers on their toes. I was unable to put it down, having to know what was going to happen next! Recommended for all vampire fans who dare to take a good look at what the night's shadows conceal! Excellent! *****
Reviewed by Detra Fitch
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
26 of 31 people found the following review helpful By Victoria Tarrani on April 22, 2002
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Gerard Arnaud St. Laurue, an ancient vampire, wants to publish his memoirs. If Damion Kirk writes a sequel, maybe he will reveal some of these adventures -- Reflections of a Vampire is not an interview filled with flashbacks. This book is pure action with people (both undead and alive) whom you care about.
St. Laurue has not written this manuscript, but his deadline is less than one week, when he must take his millennium rest where he will sleep below the ground for 18 months. Also, he must have minions to keep him safe, but he has not found those to whom he must trust his existence either.
These vampires have human qualities such as family ties -- a blood feud between St. Laurue, his sister Brigitte and their father the Marquis Antoine DeMalberet, who has ancient tricks to keep the kids in check. There is the Daemonion Council operatives with special powers who inadvertently get involved with the police who are searching for a serial killer.
I do not want to reveal too many details, but there are so many characters and sub-plots that each page is filled with an adventure. Kirk's descriptions are vivid with images that are memorable and frightening. Some of the scenes you might not want to "see," but you will. I shuddered, checked the closets for anything amiss -- such as a vampire hiding among my clothes, and came right back to reading. He is a master storyteller, and has written a true page-turner!
By the way, as I write this review, I want to be sure the vampires know that I respect them... just in case... and hopefully that will get rid of the chill down my spine... that feeling that someone is looking over my shoulder...
Though I do not normally mention the publisher, I am making an exception. The publishing company is RahuBooks.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful By Rodney Powell on June 9, 2002
Format: Mass Market Paperback
those are the adjectives that come to mind when I turned the last page of this incredible vampire novel! Damion Kirk has created a memorable anti-hero in the vampire Arnaud St. Laurue, a thousand year old vampire who must enlist some minions to protect him while he takes a millennium rest that all ancient blood drinkers do and he decides to write his memoirs too! Our rather "evil" hero's mission is jeopardize on two fronts: one is shadowy organization of shape-shifters called Daemonion Council who believe that St.Laurue is passing a deadly aids-like virus and the other is possessive vampire father who has his own agenda.Kirk's gruesome vampire saga has it all:characters like Brigitte, St.Laurue' sister who helps him and battle the council and their father. Fury- a teenage St. Laurue selects to become his minion, Elke another would be vampire that St. Laurue wants and who has some deadly secrets of her own! Bevan Preston, a book publisher who's life is turned upside down by St.Laurue. This novel gives us a rather chilling "bat and mouse" game between the vampires, shape-shifting agents and wily retiring homicide det named Solomon Wiese.Gruesome scenes of bloodletting carnage will shock you as St.Laurue lets nothing stand in his way and pity the poor mortal who knows too much.St.Laurue is character who does some truly horrible deeds but still very likable and charming!the plot twist are ingenious because in St.Laurue's world nothing is what appears to be and appearances could be deadly and last surprise awaits you on the last paragraph that should "I hope" lead to a sequel.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews