Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best album
The second side of Ghost is genius, and all of their records are four stars at least, but Regatta created the template for everything that followed. Reggae grooves mixed with rock energy, incredible open-throated singing from Sting, fabulous pop songs mixed with dialogues of internal turmoil, Copeland's tremendous drumming, Summers' brilliant rhythm concepts and use of...
Published on January 12, 2008 by K. Swanson

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promising but Patchy
1979. The Police's second album was due. Would it be good - better than Outlandos? Were they a flash in the pan or something special? They had a new single due for release, and this would be the sign. One listen of the new single - "Message In A Bottle" - was enough to confirm that the Police were going to be a force to be reckoned with (no pun intended). That...
Published on August 5, 1998


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best album, January 12, 2008
The second side of Ghost is genius, and all of their records are four stars at least, but Regatta created the template for everything that followed. Reggae grooves mixed with rock energy, incredible open-throated singing from Sting, fabulous pop songs mixed with dialogues of internal turmoil, Copeland's tremendous drumming, Summers' brilliant rhythm concepts and use of heavy compression, delay, and chorusing; no other band ever got this funky and yet uniquely poppy on a massive scale.

When Walking On The Moon came out, it was the best single for years, and is still one of the great pop songs. Simple and yet so full of character.

Every song on this record is good, even the non-Sting tunes (SC and AS are not great songwriters, as evidenced by their solo careers). Bring On The Night and Bed's Too Big are among the all-time classics.

I'm listening to a live tape of their 11.24.80 Toronto show, right when Zenyatta came out, and as good as it is, you can tell that they're already plateaued. But to plateau at the very top of your game and stay there for four years is no shame! I saw them a few times at this point and on the next few tours, and they always made audiences very happy indeed, creating a huge sound for a three-piece band by using space wisely.

Sting's politics are often right on, but when he kept his lyrics pointed at interpersonal politics, as on here, he was at his very best.

Ignoring all of the above, this album rocks and bops and is full of catchy melodies...that's enough reason to love it forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Their best next to Zenyatta Mondatta (4.5 stars), October 19, 2006
By 
John Alapick (Harveys Lake, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Although The Police's second album, Reggatta De Blanc, doesn't receive the recognition of their other albums, it is a very underrated release and their best album next to Zenyatta Mondatta. Sting's tenor and bass playing were in fine form, Stewart Copeland's drumming continued to be very creative, and Andy Summers' distinctive guitar work was more upfront than on their future releases. Even though none of the songs hit the U.S. Top 40, the melodic "Message in a Bottle" and the sparse "Walking on the Moon" have now become timeless classics and continue to receive steady rotation on classic rock radio. While these songs are top notch, several tracks like the power-pop of "It's Alright for You", the solemn piano-driven "Does Everyone Stare", and the driving instrumental title track are just as good. In fact, the best track on the album is the seldom played melancholy love song "The Bed's Too Big Without You." Other strong tracks include the reggae tracks "Deathwish" and "Bring on the Night", the frantic rocker "No Time This Time", and the humorous "On Any Other Day", which is the only Police track to feature a lead vocal from Copeland. All told, Reggatta De Blanc is a great album that would pave the way for the Police to become international superstars. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their 2nd Best Album! One of My All-Time Favourites!, February 11, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This digipak version of this great album is a real treat because they did a great job remastering this. The sound quality is very good and seems to have given the whole album a whole new lease of life; it's almost as if I'm listening to this for the first time.

Although many people like "Synchronicity" and probably first started being Police fans after that album, I was a fan from the early days when I first heard "Don't Stand So Close To Me" from the "Zenyatta Mondatta" album. The sounds I heard just blew me away; the uniqueness of the music and the fact that the band, almost zen-like, used like the Eastern artists do, no sound or silence as an important part of their music.

If you look at Eastern, Chinese or Japanese art, the space that is not painted on is just as important as the part that is painted. One could "over-paint" and destroy what would have been a great piece of art. Similarly in the music of the Police, you'll notice that the space or the parts without any music allows the tracks to breathe and the "spaci-ness" actually is a Police trademark and works very well for them; too many notes and it just wouldn't work.

Perfect examples of this are on "Walking On the Moon" and "The Bed's Too Big Without You." Contrast this with the more "busy" tracks like "Message In a Bottle" and "No Time This Time" and you'll see what I mean about like fine wine, letting the music breathe to attain maximum aural effect and The Police were masters at doing this.

From an overall great complete, coherent, flowing album perspective, this album is second only to "Zenyatta Mondatta" but miles ahead of "Synchronicity" which had great singles but sounds very disjointed as an overall album and truth be told had some pissed poor tracks like "Mother" and "Synchronicity 1" and if ever an album would have been better off with one less track, that one was it as "Murder By Numbers" although a great track on its own, should never have been on the album.

No weak tracks on this baby, though and given the great digipak packaging and the great remastered sound, this is the version that you should get. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Police's Finest Hour, July 10, 2002
By 
Kevin Caffrey (Fredericksburg, VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reggatta De Blanc (Audio CD)
Their 2nd album, _Regatta de Blanc_ is my favorite Police album. In addition to containing the landmark "Message in a Bottle" (Sting's favorite song from the group, as well as Andy Summers' fav) and "Walking on the Moon", the album also features the extraordinary "Bring on the Night." The production on this song is amazing - a crisp, melodic bassline lays beneath Sting's vocal delivery of lines such as "The afternoon has gently passed me by/the evening spreads itself against the sky." Songs like "Bring on the Night" indicate where Sting was headed with The Police as well as his own solo career. The 'punk' aspects of The Police's early work is evident on the Dylan-esque vocal delivery of "It's Alright For You" and one of the most aggressive Police songs, "No Time This Time." The Stewart Copeland-written tracks, "Does Everyone Stare" and "On Any Other Day" are fun and melodic, if not as memorable and riveting as the Sting-penned tunes. Another highlight on the album is the reggae-tinged "The Bed's Too Big Without You." In addition to a representation of Sting's songwriting growing stronger, _Regatta De Blanc_ is also a nice example of how great a bass player Sting is. He's far from flashy - but does anyone write better pop bass lines? This is an excellent album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of their best, seriously, very seriously indeed, July 9, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Reggatta De Blanc (Audio CD)
'Ahhh, Grasshopper. The record cover is indeed a strange and misnamed thing: for verily it reveals more than it covers.' That's what my old Shaolin master used to say back at the monastery, and boy was he right. You only have to glance at the unsmiling faces of Messrs. Sumner, Summers and Copeland (shot in equally serious black-and-white) to realise that the contents of 'Regatta de Blanc' are going to be neither bright nor breezy.
The radio-friendly opener 'Message in a Bottle' throws you off for a while, but thankfully it's mainly pessimism from there on in. The core of this album is brilliant, dark songs like 'Bring on the Night', 'Does Everyone Stare', 'Deathwish', 'Contact' and 'The Bed's Too Big Without You'. The playing is sparse and Sting's voice as subdued as the music. Sandwiched around these are the classic 'Walking on the Moon, the goofy 'On Any Other Day' (which I quite like, but no-one else this side of Betelgeuse cares for) and the unremarkable 'It's Alright For You' and 'No Time This Time'. The title track is musically interesting and has the merit of not having too many lyrics to memorise (sing along, now: 'ee-yoh, ee-yeh, ee-yeh-yoh').
Mind you, even my old Shaolin monk couldn't tell me what the hell the album's title means (not to mention 'Zenyatta Mondatta' or 'Outlandos D'Amour'). I can just see it now on Letterman: 'TOP TEN REJECTED NAMES FOR THE POLICE'S FIRST THREE ALBUMS. No. 10: Achtung Der Chihuahua... No. 9: Eau d'Tourette... Anyway, this is an album that I feel deserves a wider audience (and maybe even an Amazon.com review?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sonic masterpiece, March 4, 2007
By 
Damian P. Gadal (Santa Barbara, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This album has held up well to the test of time. Just as much a treat to listen to today as when it was released. Not a bad track. A very innovative musical outing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably Their Best, April 3, 2003
By 
"gratefuldoc" (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reggatta De Blanc (Audio CD)
While The Police's juggernaut, Outlandos d'Amour woke the world up to a fresh, new sound, it was their sophomore effort that proved they were the real deal. Led by the radio hits "Message In A Bottle" and "Walking On The Moon," Regatta De Blanc started the snowball that would culminate in 1983's Synchronicity. Where Outlandos introduced the band, Regatta was the second date that made you believe this could be the one.
The "White Reggae" kicks off in what each member of the band calls the quintessential Police song, "Message In A Bottle." It captures everything right about The Police. Stewart Copeland's manic, driving, syncopated beat; Andy Summers' arpeggio and flange chords and crying responses to the lyric; Sting's counter-melodic lead bass, simple-yet poetic words tied together with harmonized vocals.
Throwing all the rules out the window, they follow up with the instrumental piece "Regatta De Blanc" (with an occasional Sting shout and trademark "Yo") The Grammy-award winning song resulted from live performances and was originally a musical bridge between songs.
"It's Alright For You" is a driving rocker featuring the usual quick-and-soaring Summers solo and excellent guitar work, while "Bring On The Night" takes the mood down several notches to prepare you for suicidal speeding driver and his careening car in "Deathwish."
Not to take you any further down, Sting brings the beat and the mood up to start the second side of the album with "Walking On The Moon." Another catchy lyric and melody lead by the bass with accentuation from the guitar and the reggae beat to wrap it all up.
"You want something corny?/Well you got it." That's the intro to Stewart Copeland's "On Any Other Day." A song about one hell-ish day for our hero. It's fun, upbeat and yes, corny. A very underrated, but great song. Sting returns to his longing ways with the clever and beautiful "The Bed's Too Big Without You."
The final three songs on Regatta are my favorite. They're not the "hits" that most remember, but they are well crafted songs that maybe don't have the pop hook, but each has its own moment that makes it a great tune. "Contact" is strange and dark, it smacks of the same slightly stalking theme to come later in "Every Breath You Take. " Likewise, "Does Everyone Stare" could be considered the precursor to "Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic." Our hero can't get the nerve up to ask out the girl of his dreams. Once again, clever lyrics and a great "clunky" melody put you in the shoes of the unrequited. The album wraps up with hectic "No Time This Time." I don't know how many times I played the air drums along with Stewart on this one!
Perhaps the most "reaggae-ish" of The Police albums, Regatta does not disappoint. You should buy every album The Police put out, but if you can afford only one, Regatta gives you the best taste of what The Police had to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the most fun on a Police album, January 3, 2006
I first listened to the two main singles from this album, "Message in a Bottle" and "Walking on the Moon," when I bought the greatest hits album. "Walking on the Moon" has slowly become my favorite Police song mainly for its simplistic yet hypnotic rhythm and its quirky yet intriguing lyrics. I had heard the track "The Bed's Too Big Without You" some time later, and I decided to buy this album. The same time, I bought Synchronicity, being as that is their final proper album and had some great tracks on it. The funny thing is this: I found Synchronicity to be a let-down and Regatta de Blanc to be a triumph.

The key to this whole album is what the title of is means: White Reggae. With a heavy influence of reggae, all of the songs come together in a nice fashion. The lyrics have some bite to it and the music can be fierce when it needs to be, but the Police finally sit back and develop intricate rhythms too all of their songs. Sting said that he used the spacious reggae bass style because it gave him room to sing, and it absolutely shows here. He beats the hell out of UB40 when it comes to white reggae singing. His voice is absolutely unique, a true instrument rather than just a voice. Summers develops a cool, collected style of guitar, loud when it needs to be, but never too flashy. Copeland encompasses everything and becomes one of the greatest drummers to walk the planet. Nothing shows that cohesion more than the instrumental title track, and it deservedly won a Grammy for Best Rock Instrumental Performance. That track sums up the album very nicely: a straight rock album with the intricacies of reggae, and it stands just underneath Zenyatta Mondatta as the best of the Police.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the top 25 greatest albums ever made, January 7, 2006
Everytime that I listen to this CD, or any other Police album, I think what if....What if Sting didn't want to go on and pursue other interest? What if the Police were still around today?? The Police might be one of the greatist rock and roll bands of all time, and thats saying alot since they only released 5 albums (that contained orginal material) This happens to be my favorite of the bunch, even though they are all equally good. Since I figure that most people that are reading this are Police fans, the ones that aren't or are only familer with the songs that you hear on the radio, then you are missing out, because on this CD there isnt one bad song. If you want to hear one of the best 3 man bands, then this is right up your alley. I believe fans of all music will treasure this, and even if you can't stand Sting, pick this one up just to listen to Stewart Copeland, one of the best and most under-rated drummers of all time..ENJOY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably The Police's best album!.., September 2, 2001
By 
"lion_65" (Istanbul, Turkey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reggatta De Blanc (Audio CD)
I still remember the first time I heard "Message In a Bottle" back in 1980, and how much I loved it, and influenced by the powerful sound of this (at that time) new band.
Not only the above stated opening song, but all the 11 tracks are excellent.
My favourites are "Message In a Bottle" (for sure), "Bring On the Night" (one of the best songs of the band), "Deathwish", "Walking On The Moon", "The Bed's Too Big Without You" (a truly melancholic and touching one), and the most "heavy" song of the Police: "No Time This Time".
"Regatta De Blanc" is also a very good album showing the Police as a real trio, and not a Sting-owned band.
This album is definitely a collectors item!..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Reggatta De Blanc
Reggatta De Blanc by The Police
Buy MP3 Album$9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.