Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Police Business
Although a bit hokey at some points (see "Jamaican in New York"), this album rocks! Liking the Police is one thing, Regatta Mondatta takes it to the next level. The twisted and turned harmonics, along with lyrics which have been given an "irie" feel make this a welcome addition to any pop-reggae listeners.
Published on February 2, 1999

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shout out to the Babylon
It's not often that you'll find reggae superstars paying tribute to the Babylon (slang term for the police), so this album is certainly unusual in at least that respect.

There are a few stand-out performances by reggae luminaries like Aswad, who does a great version of "Roxanne", and Steel Pulse who perform "Can't Stand Losing You", but Maxi Priest doesn't do...
Published on February 2, 2005 by Amanda Richards


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shout out to the Babylon, February 2, 2005
This review is from: Reggatta Mondatta: A Reggae Tribute to the Police (Audio CD)
It's not often that you'll find reggae superstars paying tribute to the Babylon (slang term for the police), so this album is certainly unusual in at least that respect.

There are a few stand-out performances by reggae luminaries like Aswad, who does a great version of "Roxanne", and Steel Pulse who perform "Can't Stand Losing You", but Maxi Priest doesn't do justice to "Message in a Bottle" at all. Sting also guests on two of the better songs, one with Ziggy Marley.

As Police covers, there's nothing really different other than the reggae rhythms, except perhaps for "Spirits in the Material World" by Pato Banton and Sting, where Pato improvises a bit on the chorus.

An interesting novelty album, and quite listenable, but does nothing to showcase or enhance the music of either The Police or the reggae artistes.

Amanda Richards, Feb 2, 2005
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not that great, August 21, 2004
By 
Anthony (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reggatta Mondatta: A Reggae Tribute to the Police (Audio CD)
As a bonified fan of The Police, and a moderate fan of reggae, I was excited to hear old favorites redone by reggae artists. However, this album is surprisingly bland and unoriginal (aside from the fact that they're a bunch of Police covers--obviously, I didn't expect new lyrics). The arrangements were new to me but the sound was stale. How sad. Put your good money on "Outlandos D'Americas," a tribute to the Police in Spanish: it's far better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Police Business, February 2, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Reggatta Mondatta: A Reggae Tribute to the Police (Audio CD)
Although a bit hokey at some points (see "Jamaican in New York"), this album rocks! Liking the Police is one thing, Regatta Mondatta takes it to the next level. The twisted and turned harmonics, along with lyrics which have been given an "irie" feel make this a welcome addition to any pop-reggae listeners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular island-style interpretation of a great band, December 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Reggatta Mondatta: A Reggae Tribute to the Police (Audio CD)
One of the great cover albums of all time, with the show stopper being Shinehead's "Jamaican in New York." Sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Played 5 times already!, June 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Reggatta Mondatta: A Reggae Tribute to the Police (Audio CD)
waited a long time o find it, then found out that there are een more reggae covers of music, looking forward to getting them when I can
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, February 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm not a fan of compilations but this album combines two things I really like, reggae and the Police. I first heard it drunk in Hermosa Beach while attending a ritual sacrifice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yougetit Forgetit, June 28, 2002
By 
B. Colwin "Realist" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reggatta Mondatta: A Reggae Tribute to the Police (Audio CD)
If you like the Police ... and like good reggae .... you'll be disappointed in this album. Great artists, great tunes and alot of potential -- but falls way short in this overly commercial sounding tribute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I have heard better!, April 24, 2008
This review is from: Reggatta Mondatta: A Reggae Tribute to the Police (Audio CD)
Unfortunately, I purchased this CD after the Spirits of the Material World tribute to the Police, so I was severely dissappointed. It doesn't hold a candle. I would recommend you listen to the songs before committing to spending money to own the album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a simple cd, January 10, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Reggatta Mondatta: A Reggae Tribute to the Police (Audio CD)
like reggae in new waves and new songs, well this cd of various artists is a good music paying tribute to the police.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reggatta Mondatta: A Reggae Tribute to the Police, December 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Reggatta Mondatta: A Reggae Tribute to the Police (Audio CD)
Good product good seller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.