Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$14.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 7, 2012
EDIT TO ADD: Regular Show: Season 1 & Season 2 are now available as a combined set!

Now here's my review...

Okay: First they gave us just a handful of episodes in "The Slack Pack" release. Now we're up to sixteen episodes in this latest offering.

Is this an improvement?

Yes.

Would I, and indeed, most fans prefer it if they just skipped to the part where they start selling us whole seasons?

Also yes.

I'm not going to try to tell you whether you should or shouldn't buy this disk. You stand where you stand on that kind of thing. All I am going to say is that this is a seriously good cartoon. Although nominally only a kid's show, it's every bit as smart as most cartoons aimed solely at adults. While barely a year old as of the time of writing, it's already quite clear that it's well on its way to becoming a cult classic.

The ironically named "Regular Show" deals with the adventures of two young adult slackers whose main aim in life seems to be coasting through their jobs as park groundskeepers while doing as little actual work as possible. Given that this is a cartoon, it isn't terribly surprising that these characters are anthropomorphic animals: the central pair are Mordecai, a blue-jay, and Rigby, a racoon. However, once we depart from that launching point things grow progressively more strange. For example, their boss at the park is Benson: a walking, talking gumball machine. Occasionally we even get to hear the gumballs rattling around inside this decidedly sour personality! Nevertheless, ordinary humans too are also often found wandering through this rather odd universe.

The stories generally start out with Mordecai and Rigby facing a relatively mundane problem, such as wanting to slack off work and go play video games. However, things quickly spiral into surreal, and potentially even apocalyptic madness. If this series has a flaw, it is that many of the episodes can be a bit formulaic in this regard. That said, they are certainly no more formulaic than most shows on television, and in any event, it would probably be fair to say that this formulaic quality only stands out because the show really is so original and exceptional on just about every other level.

The artwork in Regular Show is also rather interesting. In many ways it quite clearly takes its cues from some of the better quality, hipper animation from the early 1970's. We're not quite talking Fritz the Cat here, but we're also light-years away from the old Hanna Barbera stuff. On a purely visual level it actually bears more than a passing similarity to many of the very early original animated segments used in Sesame Street. Sesame Street aside, for many viewers the most familiar reference point will be the old 1990's Nicktoon Hey Arnold!, which likewise clearly alluded to this same artistic linage. The style of art in Regular Show is very similar to that found in Hey Arnold!, except that in Regular Show the colors tend to be lighter, the coloring more solid, and the overall composition less dense. Of course, this lighter, more spacious composition is entirely fitting for a cartoon set largely in parkland rather than urban sprawl.

What's also interesting about this show is that contrasted against the 1970's influenced artwork, many of the technological and pop cultural references within the show are drawn from the 1980's. For example, audio and VHS cassettes feature prominently, and in one episode we even get to revisit the New Kids on the Block. The video games Mordecai and Rigby are forever so focused upon also tend to have a decidedly 1980's feel to them. If you're a mature viewer, I think you'll find that it's a show that repackages and reimagines many of your old memories, often in quite surprising ways.

Overall, I would say that if you have any interest in animation at all, you HAVE to check out this show. The show itself I'd give five stars in a heartbeat. But as for whether you should part with some cash and buy this particular release..?

That's up to you.

Theo.
66 comments|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2012
I love this show it is hilarious but I am NOT going to waste money buying bits and pieces of seasons. I am going to continue to record episodes on my DVR until they release a full season DVD. I recommend we all boycott this crap because its just ridiculous. If we dont buy this trash they wont sell it like this. Wait for a full season DVD release.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2012
They appear to be set on following the same pattern that Adventure Time did for its' DVD releases. Two compilation DVDs, then a season set (hopefully a set that includes both seasons one and two (like Shout! Factory's first Angry Beavers set), as season one could fit on a single disc). I'm sure that soon after the release of this compilation we'll get some sort of announcement concerning a more complete release.
22 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2015
The Regular show is a popular animated series shown on Cartoon Network. Kids really like this show with all its zany characters and interesting, offbeat storylines. Mordecai and Rigby are the main characters on the show, but there is so much more. It's a smart show that adults will enjoy as much as their kids. Highly recommend. Regarding this DVD, our favorite episodes were Eggscellent and Skips vs. Technology. One important note, this "best of" with only 16 episodes is not the best deal out there. There are full season DVDs available with 40 episodes per year. Much better deal.

Regular Show: The Complete First & Second Seasons
Regular Show: Season 3
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2012
The show has its moments and is enjoyable enough, but I'd really like to see a whole season out. I couldn't bring myself to give it 5 stars because I'm not that into it. It has EGG-CELLENT moments though.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2014
This show...how do I explain this show.
Its a feel good, goofy, and slightly stupid show about 2 friends who happen to be a blue jay and raccoon. They get a job at a park and have odd jobs to do around it every day. They are lazy and act like your average 20 year olds. Getting in constant trouble and finding themselves caught up in CRAZY situations every episode.
I love this show, the hidden adult jokes and down right stupid humor are right up my ally.
The only complaint I have, they didn't do a season, but just a bunch of random episodes on this DVD. Still 5 stars because the show itself makes up for it :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2012
this dvd was awesome every episode on it was 5 stars in my opinion.It even had some of my fav. episodes ever like rap it up,slam dunk,and best burger in the world.who cares if its not a whole season it still has some outstanding episodes.must buy for any regular show fan.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 5, 2012
Since "Regular Show: The Slack Pack" has been released, the animated television series has gone on to win its first Emmy, debuted its first half hour special, and introduced a new character named Thomas, an intern at the park, in its 4th (and currently ongoing) season. While it was glorious that "Regular Show" finally had its first DVD release under its belt, the release was not without its issues. "Regular Show: The Best DVD in the World (At This Moment in Time)" is at least a step in the right direction.

One of the biggest questions every fan of the show had who picked up "The Slack Pack" was what was going on with the episode listing? The first season is only 12 episodes, which is how many episodes are on "The Slack Pack," but the DVD is a mixture of episodes from seasons one and two. "The Best DVD in the World" is just 16 episodes from season 3. The down side is that while great episodes such as "More Smarter," "Trash Boat," and "Eggscellent" are included on the disc, so many are left unreleased from not only previous seasons but also season 3. The biggest crime is leaving off the season 3 episode "The Best VHS in the World," which should have been a must next to "The Best Burger in the World." But epic episodes like "Caffeinated Concert Tickets," "Free Cake," and "Rigby's Body," from season 1, "High Score," "But I Have a Receipt," and "Skunked" from season 2, and "Stick Hockey" and "Fortune Cookie" from season 3 all still remain on the shelf.

The DVD art from "The Slack Pack" was hideous, but the artwork on "The Best DVD in the World" at least looks like it was pulled directly from the show. While all of the specs on "The Best DVD in the World" are exactly the same as they were on "The Slack Pack," the video transfer looks better on "The Best DVD in the World." Maybe it's because of the episodes chosen and the high contrast of color from episode to episode, but the show looks great this time around. Those glitches that plagued certain episodes on "The Slack Pack" are thankfully nonexistent.

The Rah-Ha Ringtone special feature on "The Slack Pack" was at least entertaining despite being incredibly short. All you have this time around are some "Employee Profiles." It's all pretty basic stuff surrounding all of the main characters. The most interesting bit of information lies in Benson's profile where it lists him as a former drummer for rock icon Hair to the Throne. That wasn't revealed until the episode "150-Piece Kit" from season 4, so this DVD is obviously from The Night Owl's collection in the futuristic year of 4224.

It's still a travesty that a soundtrack featuring either completely original music or the actual copyrighted music used in the show has not been released. Actual songs used in this DVD alone include Filter's "Hey Man, Nice Shot," Mountain's "Mississippi Queen," The Beach Boys "I Get Around," Bonnie Tyler's "Holding Out For a Hero," and Lakme's "The Flower Duet." The original music is just as 80's inspired as the show is and is usually very synth heavy and utilized during montages. Movie, TV, and video game references include "Rushmore," "Weekend at Bernie's," "The Terminator," "Judge Dredd," "Back to the Future," "Dragonball Z," "Tron," "Mortal Kombat," the Power Glove, and "Indiana Jones and The Last Crusade."

"Regular Show: The Best DVD in the World (At This Moment in Time)" is a bit of an upgrade from "Regular Show: The Slack Pack" and if it's following the same release schedule as "Adventure Time," then a full season release (that hopefully combines seasons 1 and 2) is right around the corner. The artwork on the DVD alone is a huge improvement and the show looks great for a standard DVD release, but its content leaves you wanting much more. But until a full season of "Regular Show" sees the light of day, this and "The Slack Pack" are all fans have to enjoy in the meantime.

So slap on your mentoring harness and Maximum Glove, never forget the power of poetry, go camping in the sunshiiiiiine, and be sure to take the time to taste the Himalayas because "Regular Show: The Best DVD in the World (At This Moment in Time)" is just under three hours of more smarter entertainment. Tsk tsk! And don't get b-b-b-busted misusing a hoooooooose while changing your name to two completely random words.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2012
Get ready to go "OOOOHHHHHH!" because it's time for the new "Regular Show" DVD featuring 16 episodes from the Emmy-nominated Cartoon Network series such as "The Best Burger in the World" (where our two leads Mordecai and Rigby try to get a taste of a burger with Himalayan ketchup), "Trash Boat" (where Rigby tries to go by a strange new name), "Butt Dial" (where Mordecai leaves an accidental message on his girlfriend Margaret's phone), and "Eggcellent" (where the guys try to win a hat by eating an enormous omelet).

Special feature on this DVD is called "Employee Profiles" which it's more of a character bio feature like on the "Adventure Time" and "Amazing World of Gumball" releases.

It may say that it's "The Best DVD in the World (At This Moment in Time)", I can think of better DVDs than that, however. You'd probably think a better DVD release would be a complete season set for "Regular Show" and who knows ? It could be sometime soon. But for now, look for all new episodes on Cartoon Network.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 6, 2012
Mordecai & Rigby a.k.a. TrashBoat a.k.a. Rigbone are COOLEST anthropomorphic slackers in the PARK! And You know I appreciate THAT! Creator J.G.Quintel voices Mordecai a 6 ft talking bluejay who can't fly or play the guitar, along side his friends: Pops, Skips, Muscle Man, High-Five Ghost and their boss Benson and Rigby his best friend they occasionally learn a life lesson or two like: Snails are BAD. The first DvD was just released with a random selection of 12 eps but this New DvD includes a whopping 16 11 minute eps: Slam Dunk, Cool Bikes, the best burger in the world, more smarter, rap it up weekend at Benson's, camping can be cool, trash boat, butt dial, think positive video being wizards, skips vs technology, eggscellent, muscle mentor, Fists of Justice, trucker Hall of Fame.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.