Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PME Fire TV Stick Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars45
Format: MP3 Music|Change
Price:$8.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 21, 2012
Ok, I do admit that I have a strangelove for indie music duos (the Kills, Matt & Kim, White Stripes, the Raveonettes, etc.) but this entire weekend I could barely pull myself away from obsessing over the Sleigh Bell's new album `Reign of Terror' - epically heavy guitars, sick drum beats, highlighted with catchy neon tinted 90s vocals. Its crazy to think that Derek Miller (formerly of Poison the Well) and Alexis Krauss (a Rhodes scholar nominee) could forge such a captivatingly FRESH brand of noise-pop, but on this record they've managed to give a big F-U to the sophomore curse that plagues so many artists. While their debut `Treats' had a far more raw unfocused party nihilism quality about it, here they shine with polished tracks that sparkle like the blue eyes of an illegitimate love child of a headbanger who boinked one of the Go-Go's.

From the title of the LP, in addition to the various namesakes along its tracklisting, you can perceive that Miller dove deep into the dark catharsis that always seems to generate incredible work (he has recently dealt with the death of his father - motorcycle crash, and his mother's diagnosis with cancer). In the semi-live opening track `True Shred Guitar' Alexis evokes the semblance of a punk siren princess, whilst Derek wails on his instrument in true guitar god fashion = a mashup that is an epic WIN in my book. What's more, the album fluctuates nicely between almost industrial beat-laden rock anthems (Demons) assorted lighthearted fare dressed up in a dreary and more mature context (Leader of the Pack, Born to Lose) with a few more upbeat distortion tracks thrown in for good measure (Comeback Kid, Crush). It has been awhile since I could listen to an album through and through and be this excited about it, they've done a stellar job here! Playing to sold-out venues in LA and San Fran this week, Sleigh Bell's second album drops this Tuesday, February 21st CHECK.IT.OUT!!!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2012
I've been looking forward to Reign Of Terror. Seeing them rock SNL last week...made me feel like a teenager again, watching a favorite band. And you know....Alexis.

There's an excitement to their sound, an energy and jolt of fun. I believe it's a case of opposites attracting. He from the punk-metal background, she from pop. They make it work. The aggressive guitar riffs, pounding keyboards, and the girly vocals over top. Just listen to "Comeback Kid" 2-3 times. If that doesn't hook you, move on to something safer.

There's a lot of loud sounds on this album, but it's both noisy and beautiful. That's it....it's a beautiful noise.

The booklet has no pics of Alexis which is a crime. However I love the small print that says "Derek exclusively plays Jackson guitars", then it says "Alexis exclusively eats strawberry Pop Tarts". Good stuff.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2012
Multi-instrumentalist Derek Miller and vocalist Alexis Krauss kick serious noise-pop ass on their sophomore album "Reign of Terror", starting with my favorite song "True Shred Guitar" which delivers on its title in spades. Amped-up, overdriven guitars carry Alexis' chanted vocals into the sonic stratosphere. The duo slows down with the mournful "Born To Lose" before bouncing back with "Crush" with classic Alexis cheer leading vocals and Derek's exploding-bomb percussion and reverb-heavy guitars. My other favorites include "Leader of the Pack" (an original, not a cover of the old Shangri-Las hit); the fabulous "Comeback Kid" with sweet, pretty vocals accompanied by bone-crushing percussion and some great guitar licks; the thrashy, pummeling, cheerleader-powered "Demons"; the slower, very melodic "You Lost Me" with its swooping lead guitar lines and the addictively repetitive "Never Say Die".
Tons of credit go to Shane Stoneback for a spot-on mix regardless of the fact that some critics found it too clean or too `produced'.

The images in the accompanying booklet perfectly convey Sleigh Bells' essence and sound- wildfires, Derek's beloved Jackson guitars, rifles, warfare paraphernalia and effects boxes (similar to the the ones I use as a songwriter/performer!) are all lovingly depicted here.

Viva Jackson guitars and strawberry Pop Tarts!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2012
I LOVED Treats. I went to my local record store the day it was supposed to be released, found it was delayed, waited, it finally came out, what an amazing album. Saw them at the tiny sweaty Detroit Bar in Costa Mesa, CA after waiting through three opening bands. Jumped up and down, sang along, had my ear drums blown, loved it.

Then comes Reign Of Terror. First, the vocals, they are fine, Alexis' limited range is as you'd expect. For her, this is Treats part 2. Second, Derek on guitar, he has two settings: Queen (Yes!) and Whitesnake (Oh God, Why?!?). When he's channeling Brian May (over-dubbed guitar lines) it works like a dream, but when he's just crunching through power chords, I'm bored and want it to end ASAP. Where are the carefully crafted riffs from your last album? Third, the "drums" are horrific. You've heard better synth drums from Prince in 1984. How many times will Derek keep returning to the same well of fake hand claps, finger snaps, and insanely fast kick drums? Even with the primitive sounds, could you please be more inventive? After the first track (which is quite good, but merely half a song), I feel like I'm hearing the same drum loop over and over.

I'm not looking for Treats part two, but it seems that that the guitarist/producer has been replaced with a record exec from the 80's, maybe someone who worked with Poison or Warrant. Reign of Terror could have been great. It's not. It's 80's nostalgia at its worst.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2012
This album is perfect. More put together than Treats but still the same loud, messy Sleigh Bells. The albm relies less on looping beats and more on Derek Miller's extreme guitar playing. Alexis' voice is still tha cutsie, soft voice that probabl doesn't belong with the shreding music behind her but somehow it works. My personal favorites are "end of the line" which shows of a.... "softer" side of the musical duo and I also love "you lost me" who's lyrics are chilling but beautiful.
If you're thinking of buying the actual physical disc.... do it. The package is awesome. The cd is cased in a 6 panel digipak with a 24 page book with the lyrics (strangely out of order) and cool pictures. The only drawback is that the true tracklist is nowhere except for the cd.
Buy the cd if you like noisy, punkish pop rock. The bad is truely one of a kind and they deserve some goo recognition!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2012
After being thoroughly impressed with Treats, I must say that this is a great follow up. Without Alexis's vocals, the guitar would just be too much chaos. However, it's somehow balanced with her beautiful, grounded voice. It's hard to describe why I like this album so much, but I do. It's somewhat of a testament that beauty can survive within chaos and be expressive at the same time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2012
Sleigh Bells pick up from their first full-length CD, Treats, and continue with their by now trademarked ethereal dance punk psycho schoolgirl sound. As much as I love Treats, it is so over-distorted in some places that almost all you year is staticky fuzzy distortion. Reign of Terror is somewhat less distorted, the guitar sounds cleaner, but the vocals are still buried under layers of fuzz and primitive drumbeats. Simple repetitive melodies and lyrics layered over with drilling guitar sounds -- it's almost like an excercise in pop punk meditation. Completely addictive.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2012
I enjoyed their performance on Saturday Night Live, and thought I'd take a chance on buying their album. I enjoy it quite a bit. Mostly, I would compare it to a newer, cleaner version of Lush (in terms of production quality). All the stuff about the guitar-shredding, hard-core stuff seems to be overplayed, because I think the album is pretty mellow overall. My favorite songs are #3, #6.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2012
Kind of a let down after the Treats album. I really thought they developed an awesome sound and had great catch to them. But none of these songs really blew me away. it's still good to listen to just not as amazing as any of the big songs of Treats
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2013
Love Sleigh Bells.

Fresh sound. They rock hard. The entire album is solid. If you haven't seen them live, you owe it to yourself to try. Saw them in Oklahoma City, and they were awesome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$0.89
$9.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.