Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
59
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 31, 2011
Sometimes placing your faith in God's Hands, uncertain of where the outcome might be is a true test of a believer.

Just when life seemed to have settled down for Deborah Vandermark and her soon to be husband, Dr. Christopher Clayton Kelleher, that it's about to be thrown for a loop. Just a week before their wedding is planned, Christopher receives a telegram from his family in Kansas City. A tragedy has occurred and he is needed quick. No other details are known since sending a telegram can be quite expensive and his family wouldn't be able to afford much.

Placing trust in God's Hands, Deborah does her best to provide confidence and assurance to Christopher that she will wait for him, no matter what, and that his presence is needed with his family now, whatever has happened. Although she begins to question what will happen to them and their plans for a wedding and a future.

When Christopher arrives in Kansas City, he is more than shocked to see that his family home is nothing more than a pile of smoldering ash. His home has burned to the ground and claimed the life of his mother and father, leaving his five younger siblings behind as orphans. Not knowing how Deborah will handle the responsibility of having a ready made family, he offers up a prayer to God and rests knowing that whatever will happen, won't be a surprise for God.

While Vandermark Logging struggles financially now that the sawmill has burned to the ground, they await the decision of Stuart Albright and Mr. Longstreet to determine whether or not it will be rebuilt. The Vandermarks are locked into a contract with Stuart that prohibits them from selling their logs to anyone but Stuart and right now, he isn't in any hurry to make a decision. He makes it known to Deborah Vandermark, that since her family interferred with his plans to wed Lizzie, his goals are to make them suffer even if it means killing someone in her family, including her.

In the latest book in the Striking A Match series, Hope Rekindled by Tracie Peterson, picks up the story of the Vandermark's once more in book three. This one is a true testament of where the faith of one family and the community of Perkinsville will be tested and the battle between good and evil will be waged.

This series has been such a great one to be a part of for the entire journey and this one will hold the reader to the very end to see how it will all play out. From the complicated, love-less marriage between Stuart Albright and his wife Jael, to the financial struggles of Vandermark Logging when people are leaving town in hopes of a better life someone else. In addition, Deborah and Christopher have their own struggles in dealing with their upcoming marriage and the addition of five children to their soon-to-be family.

I received this book compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review, and can say once more I fell in love with all the characters. Deborah is my favorite because she struggles with her personal faith more than once in deciding what God's will is for her life, becoming a wife, a doctor or a mom with Christopher. She also is challenged in dealing with her families financial struggles as well as supporting the black community in Perkinsville, while racial tension runs rampant with The Hand of God controlling the law in the town. This one rates a perfect 5 out of 5 stars!!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Historical accuracy in a compelling 1887 small town story. A business clash, primarily between the rich, evil, Stuart Albright and the Vandermark Logging Co. family. Setting is Texas but this is NOT a western. It's a story of business intrigue and community loss. This conclusion of a trilogy hints at exciting, dramatic aspects of the past books, BUT...accomplished best-selling author Tracie Peterson has included ample information into the dialogue, events, and descriptions that the entire family of protagonist Deborah. Past is revealed for those who have not read books 1 & 2. It is her typical historical action packed way, including a romantic plot, and a historic sub-plot to entangle with the main theme. That is HOPE, and the rekindling of a town's hope.

You will learn to hate, in this book primarily dealing with a God-believing community. Some Bible teaching is scripted into the story, but not in a preachy way. It's more of a way to demonstrate the extreme faith of a few characters. Others struggle with their beliefs, especially in the times of suffering. And suffering is included. There are hooded vigilantes known as the "White Hand of God" (historically known by 3 letters) who attempt to rid the town of unwanteds, or at least keep them in their place. The Vandermark family is suffering from the fire-loss of the Perkinsville mill (fire in book 2) with whom they are solely contracted to. Bad Albright, mill owner/leader, is also on a revenge mission against this family.

Romance plot is Deborah about to marry a doctor who suddenly has his own family crisis which leads to catastrophic wedding alterations that could lead a Christian bride to drinking. It's all tied neatly together, alternating between the logging fiasco, ethnic attacks, and hopeless situations needing Hope Rekindled. The farther into the read you get the more active the action gets. I'll not spoil, but know the dramatic ending is more relevant to early 2011 than could have been imagined by the author at the time of it's writing. A page turner for a GREAT conclusion to this "Striking a Match" series.

Don't be surprised, even though this book can serve as a stand-alone, that you WILL be seeking the earlier books: "Embers of Love" & "Hearts Aglow". You'll enjoy reading all, in order.
.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2016
Very very very good book. Clean, no sex. An excellent history lesson within the plot. Interesting and entertaining as well. I really enjoyed this series, the books were all very good. The only thing that would make it perfect would be if the author would ease up on the passionate premarital kissing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2016
I have enjoyed the Striking the Match series. I received the first one (Kindle edition) free and purchase books 2 and 3 just to see how the characters developed. This book was very interesting with a few plot twists but nothing too surprising. It is refreshing to read without having to confront foul language and sexual innuendo or scenes. Each book can definitely stand alone if that is what the reader would prefer. Overall I would recommend this book (and the series) to anyone who wants to read for enjoyment and be reminded that God is definitely in control if we allow him to be. Blessings to all who read this review.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2014
Hope Rekindled, the last book in Striking a Match series, VERY good! There was so many good people living in Perkinsville, such good Christians, so very faithful! It is so heart warming to read stories where the people read the bible and try to follow God's teaching,, to try to walk in His path! If you love to read good clean stories filled with suspense and romance anything written by Tracie Peterson is for you! I appreciate the fact that most of her stories are reasonably priced. Some are priced above what I will pay, and that's too bad as I love her books so much. But I have been able to buy and download at least half of her series. I highly recommend anything written by this author!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2012
Book 1--Embers of Love (Striking a Match)
Book 2--Hearts Aglow (Striking a Match)
Book 3--Hope Rekindled (Striking a Match)
-----------------------------------------
I loved this series! Typical Tracie Peterson who weaves a fantastic story that you feel you are living right beside of the characters. I like the realistic things she puts in her novels, makes you realize she just isnt writing a book but writing a history of the characters and it makes them dear to the heart.

I like her style of writing also because she isnt 'in your face with God'. Some people get put off by it and will not finish the book if you are constantly throwing things in. Friends of mine who were not christians read these and they call me asking me questions that the book makes them think, which brings out the 'God' questions and answers and they are not offended.

One thing about this book is it ended way to quickly. Again, the secondary characters (his family, her family and the love matches with all of them and how they came to be) could have been much more in depth. Now this doesnt mean she left things hanging or it didnt make sense, just wished those people had their own story as you are left wanting to know about them also.

Tracie's books are all a good and easy read. They flow and there really are no 'dead' spots. I have been a Peterson fan since her Alaska series (which they are all fantastic!--go and read those as well, get the whole series if you can as you wont be able to put it down!) Yukon Quest, Alaskan Quest and Song of Alaska Series. Who am I kidding, all her books are the best, hope she never stops writing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 6, 2011
This book is pretty much what you expect when you read a Tracie Peterson book. That's good if you like her previous books. It's not so good if you were hoping for something new. I noticed while reading that the entire story of Deborah and Christopher could have easily been told in one volume. It just seems stretched out by putting it in a three book series and the couple gets a lot of drama happening to them for such a small amount of time.

In this book, yet another incident happens to make Deborah and Christopher almost rethink that maybe this marriage isn't the best idea for them. His parents end up getting killed in a fire and Christopher decides that it's his duty to take care of his brothers and sisters by bringing them home....without telling Deborah first. I don't blame her for getting annoyed with him throughout the book for decisions such as this. Yes I understand that he pretty much had no choice but at the very least he needed to discuss things with her instead of giving her two choices: you accept or you don't.

I did find it interesting that this book tackles the subject of divorce because it seems to be popping up a lot lately in the Christian fiction books that I've been reading. A character threatens her husband with a divorce for the way he's been treating her. He refuses and pretty much says he will kill her friend if she doesn't drop it. Disappointingly she gives up on this idea and instead comes to the conclusions that she'll stay married with him but separately so he can keep having his mistresses. Nothing is ever fully resolved between the couple so it's disappointing to see that this is how she will continue to live unhappily ever after.

I felt that the ending was a bit abrupt. I would have liked people to have gotten their due and to turn around even just a little bit. That being said, it didn't end all cookie cutter happy-ish so I was a bit pleased with that. The story leaves a few plot lines open for future sequels. The story feels very much like it's written strictly for the Christian reader. There is a LOT of talk about God and his will and doing what he wants. If you enjoyed the other books in the series you'll want to pick up this one to find out what happens to everyone. However if you are looking for a Peterson series to start with, I would recommend her Ladies of Liberty series over this one.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2016
I found the story very touching g. One of the things I like about her books are the verses that she quotes. Often I find !myself going to the chapter of the bible that touches Mr. I'm going to reread the series and write down the verses as I go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2012
Well, my goodness. I've finished the third in the series--can't believe it's over so quickly. Unless...No, I'm thinking that Tracie is not going to write another in the "Match" series. I just wanted to thank the author for a wonderful ride with plot, character, and inspirational scripture woven in so expertly. I really appreciated all the scripture. I love historical romance but I also love a fully developed plot with strong character development. If it's possible, almost too much happened in Hope Rekindled. But, even though some of the action toward the end was almost not believable, I still enjoyed the fantasy because all of it could have happen--maybe not as soon as it did--but eventually.
I've just discovered Tracie recently and look forward to reading another of her series--but where to start? There are so many. I'm so thrilled that she is so prolific. Authors like this don't come along every day!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2012
Tracie Peterson has written some of my favorite series. This one was not a disappointment either. A great theme of trusting God carried through out each book. A reminder that sometimes life does not turn in the direction we want it to go, but He always has our best interest in mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.